Remarks
The present application having Application No. 18/473,979 filed on 9/25/2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Paragraph (0018) in the specification recites reference sign 100 but reference sign 100 is not present in Fig. 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 10, 11, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Cardenas et al. (US 20220300340 A1) (hereinafter Cardenas) in view of Hiller et al. (US 20210103863 A1) (hereinafter Hiller).
As per claim 1 Cardenas discloses a method for configuring a workflow to create or manage a specified environment, the method residing as instructions on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the instructions being configured to cause a processor to perform operations including (e.g. Cardenas: (0008) discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform various operations. The operations in this example include receiving first data via an interface, and determining a cloud environment template based on the first data. The operations in this example further include receiving second data via the interface, and updating the cloud environment template based on the second data, to create an updated cloud environment template. Additionally, the operations in this example include receiving a command via the interface to provision a cloud-based computing environment associated with the updated cloud environment template, and in response to receiving the command, executing an application configured to deploy the cloud-based computing environment, via a cloud service provider, based on the updated cloud environment template.): [ ] configuring a second set of parameters associated with the specified environment (e.g. Cardenas: (0020) discloses a GUI 200 is shown corresponding to an environment configuration interface 106 configured to allow operators of an organization to quickly create and provision new cloud environments for the organization. In this example, the current display screen 202 of the GUI 200 includes a number of fields prompting the operator to provide the variable configuration data needed to create and deploy the new environment. As shown in this example, the display screen 202 includes relatively few fields. In this case, it may be assumed that most of the cloud infrastructure and configuration data for creating new cloud environments for this organization are non-variable, and therefore need not be included in the GUI 200. Instead, the GUI 200 may be configured to request and receive only the variable configuration data from the operator that is required to create a new and unique cloud environment for the organization. As shown in this example, the display screen 202 of the GUI 200 may include various user interface fields into which the operator may provide an account name, project name, associated email address, environment type (e.g., Research, Testing, or Production), a listing of authorized credentials and/or administrator aliases associated with the new environment, a cloud service provider for the new environment, a cloud region, a tenant identifier, a listing of network constructs (e.g., IP addresses), and a service control listing.). Cardenas discloses an operator is able to specify fields to fit their business needs for the new environment. These fields inherently imply a set of parameters. Thus, Cardenas discloses a second set of parameters associated with the specified environment; and executing an automation service based on the first and second sets of parameters (e.g. Cardenas: (0044) discloses the cloud environment generator 104 may initiate a CI/CD pipeline (automation service), and at operation 514 the cloud environment generator 104 may use the CI/CD pipeline to execute the files created within the repository. Based on the execution of the files within the repository (e.g., IaC configuration files based on the variabilized templates) (based on the parameters), the cloud provisioning system 110 causes provisioning instructions to be transmitted to one or more cloud service providers in operation 516, deploying the cloud environment. As noted above, in some cases deployment of the cloud environment may correspond to merge of configuration files from the repository into a main branch of the organization within a public cloud environment. Cardenas discloses a CI/CD pipeline which inherently implies an automation service. Cardenas further discloses the pipeline executes based on the variabilized template that holds the set of parameters. Thus, Cardenas discloses executing an automation service based on the first and second set of parameters.).
Cardenas does disclose configuring a first set of parameters (e.g. Cardenas: (0023) discloses the non-variabilized templates stored in the template data store 112 may include placeholder variables, and the variabilized template generator 108 may use pattern matching to replace the placeholder variables with the corresponding variable data received from the environment configuration interface 106. In such cases, the placeholder variables may have specific unique patterns that identify the placeholders as variables to be replaced, and do not occur within the additional constant environment configuration data in the template.). But Cardenas does not expressly disclose associated with one or more environments other than the specified environment.
However, Hiller discloses configuring a first set of parameters associated with one or more environments other than the specified environment (e.g. Hiller: (0036) discloses the operation of workflow 106.sub.11 is established in execution environment 102.sub.1, enterprise 101.sub.1 publishes a sharable instance (e.g., workflow 106.sub.1) of workflow 106.sub.11 to a set of shared workflows 107 hosted in an exchange 110 managed by content management system 104 (operation 2). (0037) discloses at some later moment in time, enterprise 101.sub.2 may be seeking a workflow having characteristics that match the characteristics of workflow 106.sub.1. After browsing the shared workflows 107 hosted by exchange 110, enterprise 101.sub.2 selects the workflow 106.sub.1 to execute in execution environment 102.sub.2 (operation 3). As shown, workflow 106.sub.1 is uploaded to execution environment 102.sub.2 as an initial local instance (e.g., workflow 106.sub.12A) of the workflow. Workflow 106.sub.12A is analyzed to identify any environment-specific parameters associated with the workflow (operation 4). For example, execution of workflow 106.sub.12A can be emulated by traversing the workflow and identifying enterprise-specific parameters in the workflow that are in conflict with the local environment attributes (e.g., file and folder structures, usernames, and roles, etc.). The outcome of the foregoing analysis and/or emulation is an instance (e.g., workflow 106.sub.12B) of workflow 106.sub.1 that has some or all environment-specific parameters identified (e.g., marked, flagged, etc.) for modification. Hiller discloses a workflow is generated in one environment. Hiller further discloses the workflow is then used to create a template workflow to be uploaded to a shared exchange. Hiller further discloses the workflow can be discovered by another user and selected to execute in a new environment. This inherently implies the values in the workflow template are common to another environment other than the specified environment. Thus, Hiller parameters associated with one or more environments other than the specified environment.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method/system of selecting shareable workflows/workflow template across multiple environments as taught by Hiller into the single environment configuration of Cardenas because it would reduce computer resource utilization, both memory usage and CPU cycles would be significantly less as compared to legacy approaches. (See Hiller: (0009)).
As per claim 2, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the method of claim 1 (See rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the first set of parameters is a set of static parameters (e.g. Cardenas: (0023) discloses the non-variabilized templates stored in the template data store 112 may include placeholder variables, and the variabilized template generator 108 may use pattern matching to replace the placeholder variables with the corresponding variable data received from the environment configuration interface 106. In such cases, the placeholder variables may have specific unique patterns that identify the placeholders as variables to be replaced, and do not occur within the additional constant environment configuration data in the template. Cardenas discloses ‘additional constant configuration data in the template’ in addition to the placeholder values. The constant configuration data inherently implies the data is static. Thus, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller discloses the first set of parameters is static.).
As per claim 3, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the method of claim 2 (See rejection to claim 2 above), wherein the set of static parameters includes logic and static values common to the one or more environments (e.g. Cardenas: (0023) discloses the non-variabilized templates stored in the template data store 112 may include placeholder variables, and the variabilized template generator 108 may use pattern matching to replace the placeholder variables with the corresponding variable data received from the environment configuration interface 106. In such cases, the placeholder variables may have specific unique patterns that identify the placeholders as variables to be replaced, and do not occur within the additional constant environment configuration data in the template. Cardenas discloses ‘additional constant configuration data in the template’ in addition to the placeholder values. The constant configuration data inherently implies the data is static. Cardenas discloses a template which inherently implies the configuration data is common to one or more environments. The configuration values dictate the operational ‘logic’ of the resulting environment. Thus, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the set of static parameters includes logic and static values common to the one or more environments.).
As per claim 4, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the method of claim 1 (See rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the second set of parameters is a set of dynamic parameters (e.g. Cardenas: (0023) discloses the non-variabilized templates stored in the template data store 112 may include placeholder variables, and the variabilized template generator 108 may use pattern matching to replace the placeholder variables with the corresponding variable data received from the environment configuration interface 106. In such cases, the placeholder variables may have specific unique patterns that identify the placeholders as variables to be replaced, and do not occur within the additional constant environment configuration data in the template. As an example, the placeholder variables in a template may be identified by a hashtag character (“#”) followed by the variable name. To generate the variabilized template, the variabilized template generator 108 may use a regular expression tool to find and replace each placeholder variable with the corresponding variable data received from the environment configuration interface 106. Cardenas discloses placeholder values that are replaced with variable data. The replacing inherently implies the data is dynamic. Thus, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller discloses the second set of parameters is a set of dynamic parameters.).
As per claim 5, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the method of claim 4 (See rejection to claim 4 above), wherein the set of dynamic parameters includes execution level parameters specific to the specified environment (e.g. Cardenas: (0018) discloses The environment configuration interface 106 may include any interface through which the cloud environment generator 104 receives one or more cloud environment configuration data (e.g., configuration variables) from an operator of the organization. The configuration variables may include any data associated with a configuration (and/or any other attribute) of a cloud deployment. For instance, configuration variables may include any selection made by operator or any input provided during the creation, configuration, and/or deployment of a cloud environment. Examples of configuration variables may include, but are not limited to, account names and/or alias associated with the environment, the organizations and/or projects associated with the environment, and contact information associated with the environment (e.g., administrator(s), email addresses, etc.). Additional examples of configuration variables may include the type/functionality of the environment (e.g., production or non-production), aprrnd roles associated with the account (e.g., identification of administrators, product developers, etc.). Additional configuration variables may include the specifications for network constructs to be used in the environment, such as the IP addresses and/or configuration data of the virtual private network, routing tables, routing rules, security policies/groups, and/or network access controllers associated with the environment. Additional examples of configuration variables may include data identifying the cloud service provider and/or cloud region for the environment, the continuous integration and continuous deployment (CI/CD) pipeline associated with the environment, the encryption component(s) to be used within the environment, the logging component(s) to be used, and/or any other automation components tools, or services to be used in the environment. It can be understood from the context of this disclosure that the examples of configuration variables described herein are illustrative and non-limiting, and that any attribute of a cloud deployment/environment may be represented as configuration variable in some examples. Cardenas discloses configuration variables may include data identifying the cloud service provider and/or cloud region for the environment. These values are inherently execution level parameters. Thus, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the set of dynamic parameters includes execution level parameters.).
As per claim 6, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the method of claim 1 (See rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters are combined as a single workflow during the executing (e.g. Cardenas: (0022) discloses after receiving the variable data via the environment configuration interface 106, the cloud environment generator 104 may use the variabilized template generator 108 to create one or more variabilized templates. For example, the variabilized template generator 108 may retrieve a non-variabilized template from the template data store 112, and incorporate the variable data received via the interface 106 into the template, to make a variabilized template. As used herein, a template (or cloud environment template) may refer to a set of files or other data structures storing data that defines at least a portion of the infrastructure and/or configuration data for a cloud environment. As noted above, organizations may include pre-existing templates defining the specifications of new cloud environments to be created for the organization. In some examples, cloud environment templates may include software instructions that can be directly executed by a cloud provisioning system. For instance, templates may be stored as configuration files (e.g., infrastructure as code (IaC) configuration files) which may be executable and/or used by executable software to create and provision cloud environments. (0026) discloses the cloud provisioning system 110 may execute as a containerized application on the cloud environment generator 104, and/or may use a continuous integration and continuous deployment (CI/CD) pipeline to execute the repositories and provision the cloud environment. For example, the cloud provisioning system 110 may trigger a CI/CD pipeline to execute the configuration templates within a repository, to provision the new cloud environment. The CI/CD pipeline may be integrated natively into a version control system, and may be configured to execute the configuration templates a predetermined execution sequence. Additionally, in some cases the cloud provisioning system 110 may execute multiple CI/CD pipelines in parallel, where each CI/CD pipeline is associated with different repository (or repository subfolder) corresponding to a different cloud environment. As an example, multiple CI/CD pipelines may be executed in parallel to create different cloud environments for research, test, and production at the same time. In some examples, the cloud provisioning system 110 may leverage a clustering solution, in which a single CI/CD pipeline (or multiple CI/CD pipelines) may use different computing devices to perform the cloud provisioning instructions of different templates. Cardenas discloses the non-variable template holds ‘additional constant configuration data’. Cardenas further discloses the non-variable template may be retrieved and incorporate the variable data received via the interface into the template to make a ‘variabilized template’. The incorporation of variable data into the non-variable template inherently implies the sets of data are combined. Then the variable template is used by a CI/CD pipeline during execution. Thus, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller discloses the first set of parameters and the second set of parameters are combined as a single workflow.).
As per claim 10, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the automation service is a single execution point service (e.g. Cardenas: (0017) discloses the cloud environment generator 104 includes an environment configuration interface 106, a variabilized template generator 108, and a cloud provisioning system 110. (0025) discloses to provision the requested cloud environment, the cloud provisioning system 110 may execute the templates in the repository, causing cloud provisioning instructions to be transmitted to the appropriate cloud service provider 116 or 118. As noted above, in some examples the templates may include executable code that can be executed directly by the cloud provisioning system 110.).
As per clam 11, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of parameters or the second set of parameters is formatted as a JSON file (e.g. Hiller: (0027) discloses a workflow is codified in a structured form (e.g., a JSON-based template) having one or more environment-specific variables. In certain embodiments, a workflow configuration requirement is addressed by assigning a value to an environment-specific variable. In certain embodiments, a workflow configuration requirement can be addressed and resolved either with or without human interaction.).
As per claim 13, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose a system for configuring a workflow to create or manage a specified environment, the system comprising: a memory; a processor, which when executing instructions from the memory (e.g. Cardenas: (0008) discloses a computer system comprises one or more processors, and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform various operations. The operations in this example include receiving first data via an interface, and determining a cloud environment template based on the first data. The operations in this example further include receiving second data via the interface, and updating the cloud environment template based on the second data, to create an updated cloud environment template. Additionally, the operations in this example include receiving a command via the interface to provision a cloud-based computing environment associated with the updated cloud environment template, and in response to receiving the command, executing an application configured to deploy the cloud-based computing environment, via a cloud service provider, based on the updated cloud environment template.). The remaining limitations corresponds to the method steps recited in claim 1, which are taught by the combination of Cardenas and Hiller as discussed above in the rejection of method claim 1.
As per claims 14-18, these are system claims having similar limitations as cited in method claims 2-6. Thus, claims 14-18 are also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of rejected claims 2-6.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardenas in view of Hiller and in further view of John et al. (US 20210132947 A1) (hereinafter John).
As per claim 8, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller discloses the method of claim 6 (See rejection to claim 6 above), but does not expressly disclose wherein the operations further include checking a status of the single workflow.
However, John discloses wherein the operations further include checking a status of the single workflow (e.g. John: (0067) discloses the task execution configuration may be informed by an optimizer system, e.g., as described in more detail with regard to FIG. 4. The launch engine can also contain a monitor process that monitors the current state of the workflow at given time intervals and makes available the information to the user. The monitor process can also save statistics about the launch to the internal database.).
It would have been obvious, under KSR, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cardenas and Hiller with John because both are directed to methods of executing automated services in cloud computing environments and use known, complementary techniques to do so. A POSITA, seeking to improve the combination of Cardenas and Hiller’s method of executing an automated service would have been motivated to apply John’s established practice of monitoring the state of a workflow, and would yield the predictable result of ensuring users’ awareness of automated systems and helping identify bottlenecks or problems within the system.
As per claim 9, the combination of Cardenas, Hiller, and John discloses the method of claim 8 (See rejection to claim 8 above), wherein checking the status of the single workflow includes recursively checking the status for a predetermined amount of time (e.g. John: (0067) discloses the task execution configuration may be informed by an optimizer system, e.g., as described in more detail with regard to FIG. 4. The launch engine can also contain a monitor process that monitors the current state of the workflow at given time intervals and makes available the information to the user. The monitor process can also save statistics about the launch to the internal database.).
As per claim 12, the combination of Cardenas, Hiller, and John discloses the method of claim 1 (See rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the operations further include providing, by the automation service, a log (e.g. John: (0067) discloses the task execution configuration may be informed by an optimizer system, e.g., as described in more detail with regard to FIG. 4. The launch engine can also contain a monitor process that monitors the current state of the workflow at given time intervals and makes available the information to the user. The monitor process can also save statistics about the launch to the internal database. John discloses the current state of the workflow is monitored over a given time interval. John further discloses the statistics of the monitoring is saved to a database. Under BRI, a log is a time-ordered, persistent sequence of records. The statistics saved in the database inherently implies persistence. Thus, the combination of Cardenas, Hiller, and John disclose providing a log).
As per claim 20, this is a system claim having similar limitations as cited in method claim 8. Thus, claim 20 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of rejected claim 8.
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardenas in view of Hiller and in further view of Pechacek et al. (US 11593383 B1) (hereinafter Pechacek).
As per claim 7, the combination of Cardenas and Hiller disclose the method of claim 1 (See rejection to claim 1 above), but does not expressly disclose wherein the operations further include outputting a trigger status by the automation service.
However, Pechacek discloses wherein the operations further include outputting a trigger status by the automation service (e.g. Pechacek: (Col. 10 Lines 11-21) discloses the term “workflow trigger notification” refers to one or more data items and or elements transmitted to one or more computing devices that indicates that one or more component workflows has been triggered. For example, a workflow trigger notification may be transmitted to a client device to convey to a user associated with the client device that a particular component workflow has been triggered. In some embodiments, workflow trigger notification includes textual representation and or graphical representation. For example, in some embodiments, a workflow notification may include an icon and/or text. Pechacek discloses a workflow trigger notification is transmitted when a workflow has been triggered. This notification inherently implies a status. Thus, the combination of Cardenas, Hiller, and Pechacek disclose outputting a trigger status.).
It would have been obvious, under KSR, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cardenas and Hiller with Pechacek because both are directed to methods of executing automated services in cloud computing environments and use known, complementary techniques to do so. A POSITA, seeking to improve the combination of Cardenas and Hiller’s method of executing an automated service would have been motivated to apply Pechacek’s established practice of outputting a trigger notification for a workflow, and would yield the predictable result of ensuring user awareness of automated systems.
As per claim 19, this is a system claim having similar limitations as cited in method claim 7. Thus, claim 19 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of rejected claim 7.
Conclusion
/A.M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2196
/HIREN P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196