DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments of 11/19/2025
The examiner has carefully considered the applicant’s amendments and arguments in the 11/19/2025 communication but finds them unpersuasive.
The examiner maintains that the prior art teaches the core inventive concept of the instant invention, namely (a) selecting tracking devices according to whether they have a battery life suitable to make it to a destination, and (b) re-deploying the tags at a receiving location that becomes a sending location.
Cova et al. (US 2012/0303498) teaches para 0700:
“As another example, if the length of the journey is short, the system can select a tag type with a small battery capacity, while if the length of the journey is long, the system can select a tag type with a larger battery capacity.”
Para 0068 and 0069 teach: “The system receives a request for a tag, the request specifying a origin location for the tag (602). The system can receive the request, for example, through a portal such as the portal 402. In some implementations, the request specifies a particular type of the tag. In other implementations, the request specifies one or more requirements for the requested tag that the system can use to determine acceptable tag types.
The system selects the tag in response to the request (604). In general, each tag has various properties, including, for example, size of the tag, method of connecting to an asset, monitoring capabilities, battery life, size, weight, methods of communicating with the event server, etc. In various implementations, the system selects a tag of a type whose properties will satisfy the request.”
Implicit in selecting a tracking device with sufficient properties such as battery life is comparing among different tracking device and NOT choosing, or rejecting a tracking device that lacks the necessary properties.
In other words, the examiner maintains that the differences that the applicant alleges for the claims are just different ways of saying the same thing. If a tracking device is selected based on properties such as battery life, it is implicit that (1) available tracking devices are compared on the relevant property such as battery life, and (2) a tracking device that fails to satisfy the relevant properties is rejected or not chosen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cova et al. (US 2012/0303498) in view of Waterhouse et al. (US 7,049,963).
Cova et al. teaches reusable tags that can be deployed multiple times on various items and products. See para 0063, which makes re-usability clear.
The most crucial aspect of Cova et al., that teaches the crux of the invention, is seen at para 0700:
“As another example, if the length of the journey is short, the system can select a tag type with a small battery capacity, while if the length of the journey is long, the system can select a tag type with a larger battery capacity.”
The key aspect above that mirrors the central idea of the instant invention is above. The length of a journey of an asset is determined and tags are judged against their ability to handle a particular journey, based on battery life.
Thus, tags can be reused many times, but only if they meet a journey’s requirements, particularly for battery life but for other things as well.
Para 0068 and 0069 teach: “The system receives a request for a tag, the request specifying a origin location for the tag (602). The system can receive the request, for example, through a portal such as the portal 402. In some implementations, the request specifies a particular type of the tag. In other implementations, the request specifies one or more requirements for the requested tag that the system can use to determine acceptable tag types.
The system selects the tag in response to the request (604). In general, each tag has various properties, including, for example, size of the tag, method of connecting to an asset, monitoring capabilities, battery life, size, weight, methods of communicating with the event server, etc. In various implementations, the system selects a tag of a type whose properties will satisfy the request.”
Lacking in Cova et al. is a teaching of re-deploying a tag at a first destination in order to re-use in making a second deliver to a second destination.
Waterhouse et al. teaches (column 7, lines 59-61): “Alternatively the tag can stay with the freight and the recipient can take the tag, reprogram it for a return or for another shipment.”
In view of the teachings of Waterhouse et al., it would have been obvious that a tag can be re-used by the recipient for the next shipment, for the sake of avoiding the cost and delay of re-sending the tag elsewhere. In this case, the test of the tag’s properties can still be performed as per Cova et al.
Regarding dependent claims, these are generally taught or are obvious within the framework of Cova et al.’s tagging system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL A HESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876