DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 11-13, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagai et al. (US20070223449, hereinafter Nagai).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 17 and 20, Nagai discloses a computer-implemented method for transmitting frames of digital content to a client device (see Nagai, at least at Figs. 1, 4 and 12-13, and related text), the method comprising:
transmitting a plurality of encoded frames of digital content to a client device for playback (i.e., video frames encoded into packet data, see Nagai, at least at [0006]-[0009], [0016], [0018], [0023], [0051], and other related text);
determining that a frame loss rate associated with the plurality of encoded frames of digital content satisfies a frame loss condition (see Nagai, at least at [0051]-[0052], [0055], [0058]-[0063], and other related text);
in response to determining that the frame loss condition has been satisfied, determining a new interval for spacing apart reference frames when transmitting additional encoded frames of the digital content to the client device (see Nagai, at least at [0068], [0085]-[0086], [0120]-[0128], and other related text);
generating a new reference frame of digital content based on the new interval (see Nagai, at least at [0120]-[0128], and other related text); and
transmitting the new reference frame of digital content to the client device for playback (see Nagai, at least at [0120]-[0128], and other related text).
Regarding claim 6, Nagai disclose wherein determining that the frame loss rate satisfies the frame loss condition comprises determining that the frame loss rate exceeds a threshold value (i.e. packet loss is 0 or not, see Nagai, at least at [0058], and other related text).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Nagai discloses wherein the new interval is greater than an old interval that was used to generate the plurality of encoded frames of digital content (see Nagai, at least at [0128], and other related text).
Regarding claim 8, Nagai discloses wherein determining that the frame loss rate satisfies the frame loss condition comprises determining that the frame loss rate is less than a threshold value (i.e., the value of the “small number” of errors that is used to determine the GOP interval, see Nagai, at least at [0128], and other related text).
Regarding claim 12, Nagai discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:
generating a second plurality of encoded frames of digital content based on the new interval (see Nagai, at least at [0056], [0128], [0137]-[0139], and other related text); and
transmitting the second plurality of encoded frames of digital content to the client device for playback (see Nagai, at least at [0128], [0137]-[0139], and other related text).
Regarding claim 13, Nagai discloses wherein each encoded frame of digital content included in the second plurality of encoded frames of digital content is decoded based on information included in the new reference frame (see Nagai, at least at [0022]-[0023], [0056], [0128], [0137]-[0139], and other related text).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (previously cited), as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US20060146830, hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 2, Nagai does not specifically disclose receiving a frame loss notification from the client device; and
determining that a first encoded frame of digital content included in the plurality of encoded frames of digital content was lost during transmission based on the frame loss notification.
In an analogous art relating to a system for improving packet loss recovery, Lin discloses receiving a frame loss notification from a client device (see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text); and
determining that a first encoded frame of digital content included in the plurality of encoded frames of digital content was lost during transmission based on the frame loss notification (i.e., encoder uses the notification to determine which packet is lost and which frame to choose for referencing, see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Nagai to include the limitations as taught by Lin for the advantage of more efficiently improving video delivery over a network.
Regarding claim 3, Nagai in view of Lin discloses determining that a first encoded frame of digital content included in the plurality of encoded frames of digital content was lost during transmission (i.e., encoder uses the notification to determine which packet is lost/the initial lost packet and which frame to choose for referencing, see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text);
determining that the first encoded frame of digital content comprises a reference frame (see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text);
in response, generating an I-frame (see Lin, at least at [0065], and other related text); and
transmitting the I-frame to the client device for playback (see Lin, at least at [0065]-[0066] and other related text).
Regarding claim 4, Nagai in view of Lin discloses determining that a first encoded frame of digital content included in the plurality of encoded frames of digital content was lost during transmission (i.e., encoder uses the notification to determine which packet is lost/the initial lost packet and which frame to choose for referencing, see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text);
determining that the first encoded frame of digital content does not comprise a reference frame (i.e., the reference frame/initial lost frame is not an I-frame in this case/does not require an I-frame to be encoded, see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text);
in response, generating a P-frame based on the new interval (see Lin, at least at [0065]-[0066] and other related text); and
transmitting the P-frame to the client device for playback (see Lin, at least at [0065]-[0066] and other related text).
Regarding claim 5, Nagai in view of Lin discloses determining that the client device has not acknowledged receipt of the new reference frame of digital content (i.e., the continued sending of the packet loss reports until the arrival of a new reference frame, see Lin, at least at [0067], and other related text);
in response, generating an I-frame (see Lin, at least at [0067], and other related text); and
transmitting the I-frame to the client device for playback (see Lin, at least at [0067], and other related text).
Regarding claim 14, Nagai in view of Lin discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:
receiving a frame loss notification from the client device indicating that a first encoded frame of digital content included in the second plurality of encoded frames of digital content was lost during transmission (i.e., RTP performs transferring data to completion and therefore must include performing corrections for subsequently generated data, see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text);
determining that the first encoded frame of digital content comprises a reference frame (see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0067], and other related text) based on the new interval (see Nagai, at least at [0128], [0137], and other related text) and latency data (i.e., timestamp data, see Lin, at least at [0063], [0066], and other related text) associated with a network to which the client device is connected (see Lin, at least at [0063], [0066], and other related text);
in response, generating an I-frame (see Lin, at least at [0065], and other related text); and
transmitting the I-frame to the client device for playback (see Lin, at least at [0065]-[0066] and other related text).
Regarding claim 15, Nagai in view of Lin discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:
receiving a frame loss notification from the client device indicating that a first encoded frame of digital content included in the second plurality of encoded frames of digital content was lost during transmission (i.e., RTP performs transferring data to completion and therefore must include performing corrections for subsequently generated data, see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text);
determining that the first encoded frame of digital content does not comprise a reference frame based on information included in the frame loss notification that identifies the first encoded frame of digital content(i.e., the reference frame/initial lost frame is not an I-frame in this case/does not require an I-frame to be encoded, see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text);
in response, generating a P-frame based on the new interval (see Lin, at least at [0065]-[0066] and other related text); and
transmitting the P-frame to the client device for playback (see Lin, at least at [0065]-[0066] and other related text).
Regarding claim 16, Nagai in view of Lin discloses wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:
receiving a frame loss notification from the client device indicating that a first encoded frame of digital content included in the second plurality of encoded frames of digital content was lost during transmission (i.e., RTP performs transferring data to completion and therefore must include performing corrections for subsequently generated data, see Lin, at least at [0063]-[0066], and other related text);
in response, determining a new frame loss rate associated with the second plurality of encoded frames of digital content (see Nagai, at least at [0051]-[0052], [0055], [0058]-[0063], and other related text);
determining a second new interval based on the new frame loss rate (i.e., RTP performs transferring data to completion and therefore must include performing corrections for subsequently generated data (see Nagai, at least at [0068], [0085]-[0086], [0120]-[0128], and other related text), wherein the second new interval is different than the new interval (see Nagai, at least at [0068], [0085]-[0086], [0120]-[0128], and other related text);
generating a second new reference frame of digital content based on the second new interval (see Nagai, at least at [0068], [0085]-[0086], [0120]-[0128], and other related text); and
transmitting the second new reference frame of digital content to the client device for playback (see Nagai, at least at [0068], [0085]-[0086], [0120]-[0128], and other related text).
Claims 9-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (previously cited), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Horowitz et al. (US20060056519, hereinafter Horowitz).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Nagai does not specifically disclose wherein the new interval is less than an old interval that was used to generate the plurality of encoded frames of digital content.
In an analogous art relating to a system for improving packet loss recovery, Horowitz discloses wherein a new interval is less than an old interval that was used to generate a plurality of encoded frames of digital content (see Horowitz, at least at [0012]-[0015], [0047], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the system of the system of Nagai to include the limitations as taught by Horowitz for the advantage of more efficiently improving video delivery over a network in consideration of various network factors.
Regarding claim 10, Nagai in view of Horowitz discloses generating a non-reference frame of digital content based on the new interval (see Horowitz, at least at [0012]-[0015], [0035]-[0036], and other related text); and
transmitting the non-reference frame of digital content to the client device for playback (see Horowitz, at least at [0012]-[0015], [0035]-[0036], and other related text).
Conclusion
/CHENEA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421