DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs and/or columns and lines in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06.
As per claims 6-7, it is recommended that Applicant amend the claims to avoid the recitation(s) of “determine”.
As per claims 15-16 and 19, it is recommended that Applicant amend the claims to avoid the recitation(s) of “determining”.
Claim Objections
As per claim 10, in ll. 1, “vTPM” should be “virtual trusted platform module (vTPM)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, in ll. 5-6, it is indefinite because it is unclear as to how the vTPM receives a first seed value generated by the computing device from a separate component of the computing device. In other words, how does the separate component obtain the seed value to send to the vTPM if the seed value was generated by the computing device and the computing device is separate from the separate component? It would not make any sense for the computing device to generate the seed value, then send it to the separate component only to receive it back again from the separate component. Appropriate correction and clarification is required.
As per claims 2-9, they depend upon claim 1 and are rejected using the same rationale as claim 1 by virtue of being dependent upon claim 1 without curing any of the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form because the claims do not refer to a preceding claim.
As per claims 4 and 13, Applicant is required to cancel the claims and rewrite them in proper dependent form as referring to a preceding claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Nystrom et al. (US 2015/0178504) (hereinafter Nystrom as previously cited) in view of
Shi et al. (US 2018/0181426) (hereinafter Shi as previously cited) in view of
Meriac et al. (US 2018/0365449) (hereinafter Meriac).
As per claim 1, Nystrom primarily teaches the invention as claimed including a system comprising:
a computing device (fig. 1, block 110) comprising a processor (fig. 1, block 120) and memory (fig. 1, block 130);
the memory comprising program code executable by the processor, the program code comprising an instance of a virtual machine (fig. 5, blocks 208-210) and a virtual trusted platform module (vTPM) (fig. 5, blocks 220-222), the vTPM configured to:
the first key configured to unseal a sealed state of an operating system of the virtual machine ([0071] secret key can decrypt a virtual hard drive of a virtual machine and [0075]-[0076] unseal operation performed by key distribution service and the unseal operation will succeed and the host will be provided with a key to decrypt the virtual machine’s vTPM or virtual hard drive);
utilizing the first key to unseal the sealed state of the operating system ([0071] secret key can decrypt a virtual hard drive of a virtual machine and [0075]-[0076] unseal operation performed by key distribution service and the unseal operation will succeed and the host will be provided with a key to decrypt the virtual machine’s vTPM or virtual hard drive); and
provide the unsealed state to the instance of the virtual machine to cause the instance of the virtual machine to boot the operating system based on the unsealed state ([0076] if the host is in a state compliant with the policy, the unseal will succeed and the host will be provided with a key to decrypt the virtual machine's vTPM or a key to decrypt virtual hard drives directly. At this point the virtual machine may boot, since the vTPM is available to unseal the key necessary to decrypt the virtual hard drives of the virtual machine. If the vTPM state after boot is in accordance with the tenant's policy, an unlock will occur).
Nystrom does not explicitly teach:
receive, from a separate component of the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device and representative of a system feature of the computing device;
generate a first key from the first seed value; and
perform a first cryptographic operation utilizing the first key.
However, Shi teaches:
receive a first seed value representative of a system feature of the system ([0008] the primary seed acquisition request carries information such as a universally unique identifier and [0034] host operating system creates, on the virtual platform by using Libvirt, a virtual machine that has a vTPM configured therein. The virtual machine includes a client operating system and various function components such as a virtual CPU and a hard disk. The client operating system is an operating system that is run by a virtual machine managed by the virtual platform);
generate a first key from the first seed value ([0071] create the root key for the vTPM according to the primary seed and [0073] create a virtual endorsement key for the vTPM based on the endorsement primary seed).
Shi and Nystrom are both concerned with vTPMs and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi because it would provide a way for a physical host to encrypt, by using the public key, a universally unique identifier (UUID) and the other information that are to be sent to a key management center (KMC). This prevents the UUID and the other information from being intercepted by another user in a process of sending to the KMC, and improves information security of the virtual machine. The KMC can encrypt the generated primary seed by using the stored private key, and send the encrypted primary seed to the physical host. When receiving the primary seed that is encrypted by the KMC by using the private key, the physical host invokes the public key from the first TPM, and decrypts the encrypted primary seed by using the public key to obtain the primary seed. By encrypting the primary seed, security of the primary seed is effectively ensured. The KMC can also store the generated primary seed and the UUID in a database. Even if the first TPM or a mainboard of a physical platform is damaged, the virtual machine can still obtain the primary seed from the KMC, and further recover the same root key according to the primary seed and set up a same key system, thereby effectively preventing a loss of data in the virtual machine. This reduces operation complexity and saves resources, without breaking a key hierarchy in the virtual machine.
Nystrom in view of Shi do not explicitly teach:
receive, from a separate component of the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device;
perform a first cryptographic operation utilizing the first key.
However, Meriac teaches:
receive, from a separate component of the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device ([0081] seed value generator is used to generate the temporary key seed value on the computing device and [0116] the device key seed data may be provisioned on/sent to the further device by another device e.g. server/registry associated with a manufacturer of the computing device);
perform a first cryptographic operation utilizing the first key ([0224] perform a cryptographic operation using a key).
Meriac and Nystrom are both concerned with managing trust in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac because it would provide a security device separate from the computing device so that security can be provided to existing computing devices without any additional hardware being incorporated therein other than via the input port. Therefore, computing devices may be retrospectively provided with security functionality using a discrete security device.
As per claim 3, Shi teaches wherein to receive the first seed value, the vTPM is further configured to: transmit, to a host service of the system, a request for the first seed value; and receive, from the host service, the first seed value ([0015] the virtual machine sends a primary seed acquisition request to the physical host, and the primary seed acquisition request carries information such as a universally unique identifier (UUID). The physical host receives the primary seed acquisition request sent by the virtual machine, and sends the UUID carried in the primary seed acquisition request to the key management center (KMC). The KMC generates a primary seed based on the UUID, and sends the generated primary seed to the virtual machine).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Hillier et al. (US 2023/0421389) (as previously cited).
As per claim 2, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac do not explicitly teach wherein to receive the first seed value, the vTPM is further configured to receive the first seed value from a secured portion of the memory.
However, Hillier teaches wherein to receive the first seed value, the vTPM is further configured to receive the first seed value from a secured portion of the memory ([0040] storing seeds in a secure memory).
Hillier and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Hillier because it would provide for a particular advantage of storing data representing a seed rather than storing data representing the actual private initial device identifier key because the seed may have a significantly smaller storage footprint authentication including selecting a hierarchical level of the hierarchy of identifiers. Responsive to the selection, the process includes accessing a part of the certificate, which corresponds to the first logical identifier. A particular advantage is that a secure connection between nodes may be set up responsive to the exchange of certificates between the nodes.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Khare et al. (US 11,924,336) (hereinafter Khare as previously cited).
As per claim 5, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac do not explicitly teach wherein the vTPM is further configured to: receive a second seed value representative of another system feature; and generate the first key from the first seed value and the second seed value.
However, Khare teaches wherein the vTPM is further configured to: receive a second seed value representative of another system feature; and generate the first key from the first seed value and the second seed value (col. 14, ll. 41-47 once the primary seeds are determined for a given hierarchy, a respective set of cryptographic keys or other artifacts may be derived deterministically from the primary seeds. Different deterministically derived keys may be generated using different primary seeds).
Khare and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Khare because it would provide a way of enhancing the security of computations performed at or on behalf of compute instances of a virtual computing service (VCS) by utilizing instance-specific virtualized security devices, e.g., instead of potentially having to share a common hardware security device such as a physical TPM across multiple compute instances, while also ensuring that a single successful attack directed at the VCS resources is insufficient to breach the VSDs, (b) migrating VSD-enabled compute instances from one virtualization server with equivalent ease and speed as during the migration of compute instances which do not utilize VSDs, and/or (c) reducing the amount of network traffic required to migrate compute instances which utilize security devices similar to VSDs.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Kare in view of Smith et al. (US 2009/0169012) (hereinafter Smith as previously cited) in view of Graham (US 2024/0012665) (as previously cited).
As per claim 4, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Khare do not explicitly teach wherein the another system feature is a configuration of the instance of the virtual machine, and to receive the second seed value, the vTPM is further configured to:
transmit, to a server of a cloud service platform associated with the virtual machine, a request for the second seed value; and
receive, from the server, the second seed value.
However, Smith teaches wherein the another system feature is a configuration of the instance of the virtual machine ([0013] the vTPM key ensures that only an authorized virtual machine configuration may access the key, while the hTPM ensures that only the correct platform configuration may access the key)
Smith and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Khare in view of Smith because it would result in a vTPM which can provide the actual TPM functionality to the VMs. By providing all TPM functionality in the vTPM, the design of the framework follows the principle of least common mechanism while also maximizing the flexibility of the vTPM implementation to balance performance and security. This may result in faster encryption operations or enhanced migration by implementing keys in software within the vTPM.
Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Khare in view of Smith do not explicitly teach to receive the second seed value, the vTPM is further configured to:
transmit, to a server of a cloud service platform associated with the virtual machine, a request for the second seed value; and
receive, from the server, the second seed value.
However, Graham teaches to receive the second seed value, the vTPM is further configured to:
transmit, to a server of a cloud service platform associated with the virtual machine, a request for the second seed value ([0084]-[0085] desktop delivery controller (DDC) can enroll the vTPM for the virtual delivery agent (VDA), and/or the VM hosting the VDA, such as the VM. For example, the DDC can interoperate with the cloud computing service and can request the public keys for the vTPM via API calls to the cloud computing service. The cloud computing service can return the vTPM's public key to the DDC. For example, the vTPM can return the public keys in response to API calls of the cloud computing service initiated by the DDC); and
receive, from the server, the second seed value ([0084]-[0085] desktop delivery controller (DDC) can enroll the vTPM for the virtual delivery agent (VDA), and/or the VM hosting the VDA, such as the VM. For example, the DDC can interoperate with the cloud computing service and can request the public keys for the vTPM via API calls to the cloud computing service. The cloud computing service can return the vTPM's public key to the DDC. For example, the vTPM can return the public keys in response to API calls of the cloud computing service initiated by the DDC).
Graham and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Khare in view of Smith in view of Graham because it would provide a way to address issues when initializing a VM image by retrieving identity data from a metadata service of a cloud computing service, and writing the identity data to a virtual identity disk assigned to the VM. The system can encrypt the identity data in order to secure it, for example with a public key of a vTPM. This can provide advantages over other approaches to initializing a VM image, including by reducing the amount of data that must be transferred, simplifying the VM initialization, and conserving CPU time, network bandwidth, and other computing resources.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Smith in view of Young et al. (US 2018/0006815) (hereinafter Young as previously cited).
As per claim 6, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac do not explicitly teach wherein, subsequent to the vTPM rebooting, the vTPM is further configured to: receive a second seed value representative of the system feature; determine the second seed value does not meet criterion for unsealing the sealed state of the operating system.
However, Smith teaches wherein, subsequent to the vTPM rebooting ([0037] vTPM architecture/design that re-instantiates for each VM).
Smith and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Smith because it would result in a vTPM which can provide the actual TPM functionality to the VMs. By providing all TPM functionality in the vTPM, the design of the framework follows the principle of least common mechanism while also maximizing the flexibility of the vTPM implementation to balance performance and security. This may result in faster encryption operations or enhanced migration by implementing keys in software within the vTPM.
Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Smith do not explicitly teach the vTPM is further configured to: receive a second seed value representative of the system feature; determine the second seed value does not meet criterion for unsealing the sealed state of the operating system.
However, Young teaches the vTPM is further configured to: receive a second seed value representative of the system feature; determine the second seed value does not meet criterion for unsealing the sealed state of the operating system ([0050] each key can have associated with it a particular policy, and, prior to unsealing the key, a check is made to verify that the current policy of the computing device satisfies e.g., matches, or at least includes all the restrictions of the policy associated with the key. If the current policy of the computing device satisfies the policy associated with the key, then the key is unsealed. However, if the current policy of the computing device does not satisfy the policy associated with the key, then the key is not unsealed).
Young and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Smith in view of Young because it would provide for a master key that is specific to the computing device. The master key cannot be reset by the user of the computing device, preventing the operating system secrets from becoming in accessible due to a master key change by the user thus providing improved security for the computing device. The decrypted boot configuration specific key is stored in the decrypted key store. This allows the decrypted boot configuration specific key to be accessed and used by the trusted key service without needing to be re-decrypted.
As per claim 7, Shi teaches generate a second key from the second seed value ([0071] create the root key for the vTPM according to the primary seed and [0073] create a virtual endorsement key for the vTPM based on the endorsement primary seed).
Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac do not explicitly teach wherein to determine the second seed value does not meet the criterion, the vTPM is further configured to determine the second key is unable to unseal the sealed state of the operating system.
However, Young teaches wherein to determine the second seed value does not meet the criterion, the vTPM is further configured to determine the second key is unable to unseal the sealed state of the operating system ([0050] each key can have associated with it a particular policy, and, prior to unsealing the key, a check is made to verify that the current policy of the computing device satisfies e.g., matches, or at least includes all the restrictions of the policy associated with the key. If the current policy of the computing device satisfies the policy associated with the key, then the key is unsealed. However, if the current policy of the computing device does not satisfy the policy associated with the key, then the key is not unsealed).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Novak et al. (US 2016/0140343) (hereinafter Novak)
As per claim 8, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac do not explicitly teach wherein the system feature is a firmware disk of the virtual machine.
However, Novak teaches wherein the system feature is a firmware disk of the virtual machine ([0321] within the VM's boot environment the firmware enumerates the disks including the SCRATCH disk containing the file with the recover key).
Novak and Nystrom are both concerned with managing trust in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Novak because it would provide a way for a target OS disk to be encrypted and protected with a unique TPM key so that it would be safe to write sensitive data to the protected VM's OS volume without concern that it may be compromised. Re-encrypting the template to the target machine as part of verifying the template to prevent tampering with the template after portions of the template have been verified includes re-encrypting the template to the target machine by performing a TPM sealing.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Ferguson et al. (US 2016/0357988) (hereinafter Ferguson as previously cited).
As per claim 9, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac do not explicitly teach wherein the instance of the virtual machine comprises the vTPM.
However, Ferguson teaches wherein the instance of the virtual machine comprises the vTPM ([0071] the VM contains, as part of its metadata, the encrypted vTPM, as well as the protection key for the vTPM encrypted as required for the secure operations).
Ferguson and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Ferguson because it would provide a way for a VMM to deploy a guest VM to an appropriate host without doing anything security-critical with regard to deploying keys. The VMM can perform its normal management operations with normal considerations and actions, such as scheduling, optimization of placement and resource allocation, without significant change due to the protected nature of the VM. The VM can contain, as part of its metadata, the encrypted vTPM, as well as the protection key for the vTPM encrypted as required for the secure operations, but all this metadata is handled together as part of the standard deployment operations without special security-related handling by the VMM.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar (US 2009/0307689).
As per claim 10, Nystrom primarily teaches the invention as claimed including a method performed by a vTPM (fig. 5, blocks 220-222) executing on a computing device of a system (fig. 1, block 110), the computing device configured to host an instance of a virtual machine (fig. 5, blocks 208-210), the method comprising:
the first key configured to unseal a sealed state of an operating system of the virtual machine ([0071] secret key can decrypt a virtual hard drive of a virtual machine and [0075]-[0076] unseal operation performed by key distribution service and the unseal operation will succeed and the host will be provided with a key to decrypt the virtual machine’s vTPM or virtual hard drive);
utilizing the first key to unseal the sealed state of the operating system ([0071] secret key can decrypt a virtual hard drive of a virtual machine and [0075]-[0076] unseal operation performed by key distribution service and the unseal operation will succeed and the host will be provided with a key to decrypt the virtual machine’s vTPM or virtual hard drive); and
provide the unsealed state to the instance of the virtual machine to cause the instance of the virtual machine to boot the operating system based on the unsealed state ([0076] if the host is in a state compliant with the policy, the unseal will succeed and the host will be provided with a key to decrypt the virtual machine's vTPM or a key to decrypt virtual hard drives directly. At this point the virtual machine may boot, since the vTPM is available to unseal the key necessary to decrypt the virtual hard drives of the virtual machine. If the vTPM state after boot is in accordance with the tenant's policy, an unlock will occur).
Nystrom does not explicitly teach:
receiving, from a virtual machine manager executing on the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device and representative of a system feature of the computing device;
generating a first key from the first seed value; and
performing a first cryptographic operation utilizing the first key.
However, Shi teaches:
receiving a first seed value representative of a system feature of the system ([0008] the primary seed acquisition request carries information such as a universally unique identifier and [0034] host operating system creates, on the virtual platform by using Libvirt, a virtual machine that has a vTPM configured therein. The virtual machine includes a client operating system and various function components such as a virtual CPU and a hard disk. The client operating system is an operating system that is run by a virtual machine managed by the virtual platform);
generating a first key from the first seed value ([0071] create the root key for the vTPM according to the primary seed and [0073] create a virtual endorsement key for the vTPM based on the endorsement primary seed).
Shi and Nystrom are both concerned with vTPMs and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi because it would provide a way for a physical host to encrypt, by using the public key, a universally unique identifier (UUID) and the other information that are to be sent to a key management center (KMC). This prevents the UUID and the other information from being intercepted by another user in a process of sending to the KMC, and improves information security of the virtual machine. The KMC can encrypt the generated primary seed by using the stored private key, and send the encrypted primary seed to the physical host. When receiving the primary seed that is encrypted by the KMC by using the private key, the physical host invokes the public key from the first TPM, and decrypts the encrypted primary seed by using the public key to obtain the primary seed. By encrypting the primary seed, security of the primary seed is effectively ensured. The KMC can also store the generated primary seed and the UUID in a database. Even if the first TPM or a mainboard of a physical platform is damaged, the virtual machine can still obtain the primary seed from the KMC, and further recover the same root key according to the primary seed and set up a same key system, thereby effectively preventing a loss of data in the virtual machine. This reduces operation complexity and saves resources, without breaking a key hierarchy in the virtual machine.
Nystrom in view of Shi do not explicitly teach:
receiving, from a virtual machine manager executing on the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device;
performing a first cryptographic operation utilizing the first key.
However, Meriac teaches:
perform a first cryptographic operation utilizing the first key ([0224] perform a cryptographic operation using a key).
Meriac and Nystrom are both concerned with managing trust in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac because it would provide a security device separate from the computing device so that security can be provided to existing computing devices without any additional hardware being incorporated therein other than via the input port. Therefore, computing devices may be retrospectively provided with security functionality using a discrete security device.
Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac do not explicitly teach receiving, from a virtual machine manager executing on the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device.
However, Sudhakar teaches receiving, from a virtual machine manager executing on the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device ([0033] create a secure hash of selected file content by accessing a file that may be used to pass a random seed from the hypervisor to the VM, and the random seed may be used to make a secure hash of selected file content).
Sudhakar and Nystrom are both concerned with managing security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar because it would provide not only a way to detect the presence of a hypervisor from within VMs, but a convenient mechanism to facilitate communications between the hypervisor and the VMs as well. This type of communication may be enabled even when the hypervisor is para-virtualized or fully-virtualized.
As per claim 12, Shi teaches wherein said receiving the first seed value comprises: transmitting, to a host service of the system, a request for the first seed value; and receiving, from the host service, the first seed value ([0015] the virtual machine sends a primary seed acquisition request to the physical host, and the primary seed acquisition request carries information such as a universally unique identifier (UUID). The physical host receives the primary seed acquisition request sent by the virtual machine, and sends the UUID carried in the primary seed acquisition request to the key management center (KMC). The KMC generates a primary seed based on the UUID, and sends the generated primary seed to the virtual machine).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Hillier.
As per claim 11, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar do not explicitly teach wherein said receiving the first seed value comprises receiving the first seed value from a secured portion of the memory of the computing device.
However, Hillier teaches wherein said receiving the first seed value comprises receiving the first seed value from a secured portion of the memory of the computing device ([0040] storing seeds in a secure memory).
Hillier and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Hillier because it would provide for a particular advantage of storing data representing a seed rather than storing data representing the actual private initial device identifier key because the seed may have a significantly smaller storage footprint authentication including selecting a hierarchical level of the hierarchy of identifiers. Responsive to the selection, the process includes accessing a part of the certificate, which corresponds to the first logical identifier. A particular advantage is that a secure connection between nodes may be set up responsive to the exchange of certificates between the nodes.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Khare.
As per claim 14, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar do not explicitly teach receiving a second seed value representative of another system feature; and generating the first key from the first seed value and the second seed value.
However, Khare teaches receiving a second seed value representative of another system feature; and generating the first key from the first seed value and the second seed value (col. 14, ll. 41-47 once the primary seeds are determined for a given hierarchy, a respective set of cryptographic keys or other artifacts may be derived deterministically from the primary seeds. Different deterministically derived keys may be generated using different primary seeds).
Khare and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Khare because it would provide a way of enhancing the security of computations performed at or on behalf of compute instances of a virtual computing service (VCS) by utilizing instance-specific virtualized security devices, e.g., instead of potentially having to share a common hardware security device such as a physical TPM across multiple compute instances, while also ensuring that a single successful attack directed at the VCS resources is insufficient to breach the VSDs, (b) migrating VSD-enabled compute instances from one virtualization server with equivalent ease and speed as during the migration of compute instances which do not utilize VSDs, and/or (c) reducing the amount of network traffic required to migrate compute instances which utilize security devices similar to VSDs.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Khare in view of Graham.
As per claim 13, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Khare do not explicitly teach wherein said receiving the second seed value comprises:
transmitting, to a server of a cloud service platform associated with the virtual machine, a request for the second seed value; and
receive, from the server, the second seed value.
However, Graham teaches wherein said receiving the second seed value comprises:
transmitting, to a server of a cloud service platform associated with the virtual machine, a request for the second seed value ([0084]-[0085] desktop delivery controller (DDC) can enroll the vTPM for the virtual delivery agent (VDA), and/or the VM hosting the VDA, such as the VM. For example, the DDC can interoperate with the cloud computing service and can request the public keys for the vTPM via API calls to the cloud computing service. The cloud computing service can return the vTPM's public key to the DDC. For example, the vTPM can return the public keys in response to API calls of the cloud computing service initiated by the DDC); and
receiving, from the server, the second seed value ([0084]-[0085] desktop delivery controller (DDC) can enroll the vTPM for the virtual delivery agent (VDA), and/or the VM hosting the VDA, such as the VM. For example, the DDC can interoperate with the cloud computing service and can request the public keys for the vTPM via API calls to the cloud computing service. The cloud computing service can return the vTPM's public key to the DDC. For example, the vTPM can return the public keys in response to API calls of the cloud computing service initiated by the DDC).
Graham and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Khare in view of Graham because it would provide a way to address issues when initializing a VM image by retrieving identity data from a metadata service of a cloud computing service, and writing the identity data to a virtual identity disk assigned to the VM. The system can encrypt the identity data in order to secure it, for example with a public key of a vTPM. This can provide advantages over other approaches to initializing a VM image, including by reducing the amount of data that must be transferred, simplifying the VM initialization, and conserving CPU time, network bandwidth, and other computing resources.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Smith in view of Young.
As per claim 15, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar do not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises, subsequent to the vTPM rebooting, receiving a second seed value representative of the system feature; and determining the second seed value does not meet criterion for unsealing the sealed state of the operating system.
However, Smith teaches wherein, subsequent to the vTPM rebooting ([0037] vTPM architecture/design that re-instantiates for each VM).
Smith and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Smith because it would result in a vTPM which can provide the actual TPM functionality to the VMs. By providing all TPM functionality in the vTPM, the design of the framework follows the principle of least common mechanism while also maximizing the flexibility of the vTPM implementation to balance performance and security. This may result in faster encryption operations or enhanced migration by implementing keys in software within the vTPM.
Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Smith do not explicitly teach receiving a second seed value representative of the system feature; and determining the second seed value does not meet criterion for unsealing the sealed state of the operating system.
However, Young teaches receiving a second seed value representative of the system feature; and determining the second seed value does not meet criterion for unsealing the sealed state of the operating system ([0050] each key can have associated with it a particular policy, and, prior to unsealing the key, a check is made to verify that the current policy of the computing device satisfies e.g., matches, or at least includes all the restrictions of the policy associated with the key. If the current policy of the computing device satisfies the policy associated with the key, then the key is unsealed. However, if the current policy of the computing device does not satisfy the policy associated with the key, then the key is not unsealed).
Young and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Smith in view of Young because it would provide for a master key that is specific to the computing device. The master key cannot be reset by the user of the computing device, preventing the operating system secrets from becoming in accessible due to a master key change by the user thus providing improved security for the computing device. The decrypted boot configuration specific key is stored in the decrypted key store. This allows the decrypted boot configuration specific key to be accessed and used by the trusted key service without needing to be re-decrypted.
As per claim 16, Shi teaches generating a second key from the second seed value ([0071] create the root key for the vTPM according to the primary seed and [0073] create a virtual endorsement key for the vTPM based on the endorsement primary seed).
Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Smith do not explicitly teach wherein said determining the second seed value does not meet the criterion comprises determining the second key is unable to unseal the sealed state of the operating system.
However, Young teaches teach wherein said determining the second seed value does not meet the criterion comprises determining the second key is unable to unseal the sealed state of the operating system ([0050] each key can have associated with it a particular policy, and, prior to unsealing the key, a check is made to verify that the current policy of the computing device satisfies e.g., matches, or at least includes all the restrictions of the policy associated with the key. If the current policy of the computing device satisfies the policy associated with the key, then the key is unsealed. However, if the current policy of the computing device does not satisfy the policy associated with the key, then the key is not unsealed).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Beveridge et al. (US 2025/0028843) (hereinafter Beveridge as previously cited).
As per claim 17, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar do not explicitly teach wherein the system feature is a geographic region the computing device is located in.
However, Beveridge teaches wherein the system feature is a geographic region the computing device is located in ([0040] nodes are located in different geographic sites).
Beveridge and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Beveridge because it would provide a way to ensure that virtual disks that have previously been encrypted and stored continue to be encrypted with optimal policy-compliant encryption techniques. For examples, crypto provider may determine whether a given virtual disk is encrypted with a cryptographic technique that best complies with applicable policies and contextual information, and may change the cryptographic technique used to encrypt the virtual disk if a more optimal or compliant technique is available.
As per claim 18, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar do not explicitly teach: receiving, from an application executed by the instance of the virtual machine, a request to perform a second cryptographic operation to modify an object by utilizing the first key to: seal the object, unseal the object, sign the object, verify the object, decrypt the object, or encrypt the object.
However, Beveridge teaches receiving, from an application executed by the instance of the virtual machine, a request to perform a second cryptographic operation to modify an object by utilizing the first key to: seal the object, unseal the object, sign the object, verify the object, decrypt the object, or encrypt the object ([0069] virtual disks encrypted using techniques dynamically selected by crypto provider may be stored in object store. When data from such an encrypted virtual disk is retrieved from the object store, such as via a read request sent by an application or VM to the hypervisor, the encrypted data is retrieved and decrypted e.g., by crypto provider using the one or more cryptographic techniques that were used to encrypt the data in the virtual disk prior to storage).
Beveridge and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Beveridge because it would provide a way for decoupling cryptographic logic from a virtual storage area network that relies upon cryptographic functionality. This could provide flexibility and extensibility, thus allowing cryptographic algorithms to be continually updated, changed, and otherwise configured without requiring modifications to the virtual storage area network or associated applications e.g., hypervisor components themselves. Accordingly, changing circumstances and new threats may be addressed in a dynamic and efficient manner, and computing security may thereby be improved.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Kim (US 2023/0152987) (as previously cited).
As per claim 19, Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar do not explicitly teach: determining a second cryptographic operation is to be performed; determining whether a lifetime of the first key has expired; if the lifetime of the first key has not expired, attempting to utilize the first key to perform the cryptographic operation; and if the lifetime of the first key has expired, failing to perform the cryptographic operation.
However, Kim teaches determining a second cryptographic operation is to be performed; determining whether a lifetime of the first key has expired; if the lifetime of the first key has not expired, attempting to utilize the first key to perform the cryptographic operation; and if the lifetime of the first key has expired, failing to perform the cryptographic operation ([0038]-[0039] when it is determined that the lifetime of the first cryptographic key does not expire, the security module may allow the storage controller to perform a normal operation such as encoding or decoding data by using the first cryptographic key. The storage controller may store the encoded data in the nonvolatile memory device or may send the decoded data to the host. However, when it is determined that the lifetime of the first cryptographic key expires, the security module may allow the storage controller to return an error or a dummy response to the first command. In this case, even in a case in which, for example, the host is hacked, data stored in the storage device may be protected).
Kim and Nystrom are both concerned with security in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Kim because it would provide for a storage device that may set up a lifetime or durability for each cryptographic key. Accordingly, even though a host is hacked, data stored in the storage device may be prevented from being leaked and damaged thus resulting in a storage device with increased security.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Misoczki et al. (US 2022/0078024) (hereinafter Misoczki).
As per claim 20, Nystrom primarily teaches the invention as claimed including a computer-readable storage medium encoded with program instructions that, when executed by a processor circuit of a computing device configured to host an instance of a virtual machine, performs a method comprising:
the first key configured to unseal a sealed state of an operating system of the virtual machine ([0071] secret key can decrypt a virtual hard drive of a virtual machine and [0075]-[0076] unseal operation performed by key distribution service and the unseal operation will succeed and the host will be provided with a key to decrypt the virtual machine’s vTPM or virtual hard drive);
utilizing the first key to unseal the sealed state of the operating system ([0071] secret key can decrypt a virtual hard drive of a virtual machine and [0075]-[0076] unseal operation performed by key distribution service and the unseal operation will succeed and the host will be provided with a key to decrypt the virtual machine’s vTPM or virtual hard drive); and
providing the unsealed state to the instance of the virtual machine to cause the instance of the virtual machine to boot the operating system based on the unsealed state ([0076] if the host is in a state compliant with the policy, the unseal will succeed and the host will be provided with a key to decrypt the virtual machine's vTPM or a key to decrypt virtual hard drives directly. At this point the virtual machine may boot, since the vTPM is available to unseal the key necessary to decrypt the virtual hard drives of the virtual machine. If the vTPM state after boot is in accordance with the tenant's policy, an unlock will occur).
Nystrom does not explicitly teach:
receiving, from a hardware component of the computing device configured to generated seed values representative of features of the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device and representative of a system feature of the computing device;
generating a first key from the first seed value; and
performing a first cryptographic operation utilizing the first key.
However, Shi teaches:
receiving a first seed value representative of a system feature of the system ([0008] the primary seed acquisition request carries information such as a universally unique identifier and [0034] host operating system creates, on the virtual platform by using Libvirt, a virtual machine that has a vTPM configured therein. The virtual machine includes a client operating system and various function components such as a virtual CPU and a hard disk. The client operating system is an operating system that is run by a virtual machine managed by the virtual platform);
generating a first key from the first seed value ([0071] create the root key for the vTPM according to the primary seed and [0073] create a virtual endorsement key for the vTPM based on the endorsement primary seed).
Shi and Nystrom are both concerned with vTPMs and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi because it would provide a way for a physical host to encrypt, by using the public key, a universally unique identifier (UUID) and the other information that are to be sent to a key management center (KMC). This prevents the UUID and the other information from being intercepted by another user in a process of sending to the KMC, and improves information security of the virtual machine. The KMC can encrypt the generated primary seed by using the stored private key, and send the encrypted primary seed to the physical host. When receiving the primary seed that is encrypted by the KMC by using the private key, the physical host invokes the public key from the first TPM, and decrypts the encrypted primary seed by using the public key to obtain the primary seed. By encrypting the primary seed, security of the primary seed is effectively ensured. The KMC can also store the generated primary seed and the UUID in a database. Even if the first TPM or a mainboard of a physical platform is damaged, the virtual machine can still obtain the primary seed from the KMC, and further recover the same root key according to the primary seed and set up a same key system, thereby effectively preventing a loss of data in the virtual machine. This reduces operation complexity and saves resources, without breaking a key hierarchy in the virtual machine.
Nystrom in view of Shi do not explicitly teach:
receiving, from a hardware component of the computing device configured to generated seed values representative of features of the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device;
performing a first cryptographic operation utilizing the first key.
However, Meriac teaches:
performing a first cryptographic operation utilizing the first key ([0224] performing a cryptographic operation using a key).
Meriac and Nystrom are both concerned with managing trust in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac because it would provide a security device separate from the computing device so that security can be provided to existing computing devices without any additional hardware being incorporated therein other than via the input port. Therefore, computing devices may be retrospectively provided with security functionality using a discrete security device.
Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac do not explicitly teach receiving, from a hardware component of the computing device configured to generated seed values representative of features of the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device.
However, Misoczki teaches receiving, from a hardware component of the computing device configured to generated seed values representative of features of the computing device, a first seed value generated by the computing device (abstract and fig. 3, blocks 310 and 331 receive, from a subset of hardware security modules of a computing device, a subset of private keys, wherein at least a first hardware security module in the plurality of hardware security modules comprises processing circuitry to generate a first plurality of pairs of cryptographic key pairs).
Misoczki and Nystrom are both concerned with managing trust in computing environments and are therefore combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nystrom in view of Shi in view of Meriac in view of Sudhakar in view of Misoczki because it would provide for cryptography logic that can generate and/or utilize various cryptographic keys e.g., symmetric/asymmetric cryptographic keys to facilitate encryption, decryption, signing, and/or signature verification as well as to facilitate establishment of a secure connection with remote devices over communication link.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Ryman et al. (US 2023/0106879) disclose virtualized applications on managed virtual machines.
Kani et al. (US 2023/0247023) disclose configuring instances with instance metadata stored in virtual security processors.
Challener et al. (US 2008/0244569) disclose reporting the trusted state of a virtual machine.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Adam Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198 May 28, 2026