DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 9 and 17 are canceled and claims 21-22 are new added. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings, and Claim have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 14-16 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, on page 5 line 17 the phrase “Individual extension…” is recited which is newly added limitation was not present in the application as originally filed. However, the specification does not provide sufficient detail describing how the “individual extension” occurs or is implemented. Detail of how Individual extension is happening is not supported in the specification.
Regarding claim 14, on page 7 line 19 the phrase “individually operate…” is recited which is newly added limitation was not present in the application as originally filed. However, the specification does not provide sufficient detail describing how the “individually operate….” occurs or is implemented. Detail of how Individual extension is happening is not supported in the specification.
Since claims15-16 and 21-22 depend from rejected claims 7 and 14. Therefore, claims 15-16 and 21-22 are rejected too.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 217256302 U in view of Topcan et al. (US20200384905A1, this reference was added on PTO-892 during the previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, CN ‘302 discloses an autonomous robot (See attached annotated fig. 4) , comprising: a body comprising an upper surface onto which a pallet is loaded (See attached annotated fig. 4), the body comprising: at least one wheel driven to move the body (See attached annotated fig. 5), at least one actuator (Pg 13 lines, 37-39), and a controller circuit configured to operate the at least one wheel and the at least one actuator; and two or more forks attached to the body and movable relative to the body according to an operation of the at least one actuator by the control circuit (Pg 16, lines 14-16) , each of the forks comprising one or more lifting devices operated by the controller circuit to lift the pallet to load the pallet onto the upper surface of the body and lower the loaded pallet to unload the pallet from the upper surface of the body (Pg. 14 lines 1-2, Fig. Fig. 4-6).
CN ‘302 fails to explicitly disclose the one or more lifting devices (See page 17, lines 9-12) comprising a jack (scissor assembly is read as a jack) that selectively come into contact with a ground surface to lift the pallet.
Topcan et al. teaching the one or more lifting devices (Fig. 3A) comprising a set of extendable columns (152) that selectively come into contact with a ground surface to lift the pallet (as per Fig. 3A, during the lifting operation extendable columns remains into the contact with a ground surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified CN’302 by incorporating the one or more lifting devices comprising a set of extendable columns or a jack (as per CN’ 302) that selectively come into contact with a ground surface to lift the pallet in view of Topcan et al. in order to actuate the self-lifting of fork (¶0037).
Regarding claim 2, CN ‘302 discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
It also discloses each of the forks is movable between a retracted position and an extended position, each of the forks placed between leg members of the body in the retracted position, and each of the forks extended away from the legs in the extended (See attached annotated fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, CN ‘302 discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
It also discloses the body (See attached annotated Fig. 1) comprises: a first leg member (See attached annotated Fig. 1) of the leg members, the first leg member having a first part of the upper surface (See attached annotated Fig. 2), a second leg member (See attached annotated Fig. 1) of the leg members, the second leg member having a second part of the upper surface, the second leg member extending parallel to the first leg member and spaced away from the first leg member to accommodate a first fork of the two or more forks (See attached annotated Fig. 2); and a third leg member (See attached annotated Fig. 1) of the leg members between the second leg member and the first leg member, the third leg member having a third part of the upper surface, the third leg member extending parallel to the first leg member and the second leg member, the third member spaced away from the first leg member to accommodate a second fork of the two or more forks (See attached annotated Fig. 2).
Regrading claim 4, CN ‘302 discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
It also disclose the controller circuit is configured to (Pg. 16 lines 28-30): lift the pallet by operating the one or more lifting devices with each of the forks in the extended position (Fig. 4 & 5), move the body below the pallet by operating the at least one wheel responsive to lifting the pallet in the extended position (Pg. 16, line 31), move each of the forks into the retracted position from the extended position by operating the at least one actuator responsive to lifting the pallet in the extended position (Fig. 5, Pg. 16 lines 32-33), and lower the pallet onto the upper surface of the body by operating the one or more lifting devices responsive to moving each of the forks into the retracted position (Fig. 5, Pg. 16 line 34).
Regarding claim 6, CN ‘302 discloses all the limitations of the claim 4.
It also discloses the controller circuit is configured to coordinate the moving of the body and the moving of the each of the forks (Pg. 16 lines 14-16) so that the pallet remains in a stationary location until the body is placed below the pallet (Pg. 16 line 31, while body is moving under the pallet, pallet remains stationary on fork).
Regarding claim 11, CN ‘302 discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
It also discloses the body comprises a camera or a proximity sensor at a front portion of the body to detect the pallet (Pg. 14, lines 18-28), wherein the controller circuit is configured to receive signals from the camera or the proximity sensor to operate the at least one wheel (Pg. 16, lines 14-16).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 217256302 U in view of Topcan et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ESA mobile robot (NPL Title: Autonomous pallet robot – YouTube video, 2023, hereinafter ESA mobile robot).
Regrading claim 5, CN ’302 discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Combination of CN’ 302 and Topcan et al. remains silent about unloading process (Pg. 16 line 35, cargo unload).
However, ESA mobile robot teaches lift the pallet from the upper surface of the body by operating the one or more lifting devices with each of the forks in the retracted position (See video at least from 0:33-0:35) move the body away from a location below the pallet by operating the at least one wheel, (See video at least from 0:35-0:36) move each of the forks from the retracted position into the extended position by operating the at least one actuator responsive to lifting the pallet in the retracted position (See video at least from 0:36-0:37), and lower the pallet onto a ground surface by operating the one or more lifting devices responsive to moving each of the forks moving each of the forks into the extended position (See video at least from 0:37-0:38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified unloading operation of combination of CN ‘302 and Topcan et al. by incorporating lift the pallet from the upper surface of the body by operating the one or more lifting devices with each of the forks in the retracted position, move the body away from a location below the pallet by operating the at least one wheel, move each of the forks from the retracted position into the extended position by operating the at least one actuator responsive to lifting the pallet in the retracted position, and lower the pallet onto a ground surface by operating the one or more lifting devices responsive to moving each of the forks moving each of the forks into the extended position further in view of ESA mobile robot to efficiently complete the unloading operation.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 217256302 U in view of Topcan et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 216638816 U.
Regarding claim 8, combination of CN ‘302 and Topcan et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim 1.
CN’ 302 discloses the controller circuit configured to operate the at least one wheel using signal from the at least one lidar to move the autonomous robot (Pg.16 lines 14-16).
Combination of CN ‘302 and Topcan et al. does not disclose the body comprises at least one lidar.
However, CN ‘816 teaches the body comprises at least one lidar (Pg. 23 lines 1-6), the controller circuit configured to operate the at least one wheel using signal from the at least one lidar to move the autonomous robot (Pg. 22 lines 18-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify combination of CN ‘302 and Topcan et al. by incorporating the body comprises at least one lidar further in view of CN ‘816 to improve the navigation of autonomous robot.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 217256302.
Regarding claim 10, combination of US ‘302 and Topcan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 except for lifting devices (extendable columns or the jacks) are movable along a longitudinal direction of each of the forks to balance a weight distribution of the pallet and a load of the pallet on the two or more forks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify lifting devices (extendible columns or jacks) of combination of CN ‘302 and Topcan et al. to moveable along longitudinal direction to adjust the center of gravity for load balancing, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Claim(s) 12-13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESA mobile robot (NPL Title: Autonomous pallet robot – YouTube video, 2023, hereinafter ESA mobile robot) in view of Topcan et al. (US20200384905A1).
Regrading claim 12, ESA mobile robot discloses an autonomous robot, comprising:
moving the autonomous robot to a predetermined location relative to a pallet by operating at least one wheel of a body of the autonomous robot (See video at least from 0:18-0:20);
extending two or more forks from a retracted position into an extended position to place at least portions of the two or more forks under a deck board of the pallet (See video at least from 0:20-0:22);
raising the two or more forks to lift the pallet by operating lifting devices of the two or more forks (See video at least from 0:22-0:24);
and lowering the two or more forks to mount the pallet onto an upper surface of the body of the autonomous robot (See video at least from 0:24-0:27).
It does not disclose extended position to place at least portions of the two or more forks under a deck board of the pallet with lifting devices comprising sets of extendable columns or jacks raised from a ground surface; raising the two or more forks to lift the pallet by operating lifting devices of the two or more forks by extending the set of extendable columns or jacks to come into contact with the ground surface.
Topcan et al. teaches extendable columns (152) are mounted to the forks (104).
(it is noted that these extended columns can be operated forks under a deck board of the pallet with lifting devices comprising sets of extendable columns or jacks raised from a ground surface; raising the two or more forks to lift the pallet by operating lifting devices of the two or more forks by extending the set of extendable columns or jacks to come into contact with the ground surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified ESA mobile robot by replacing the one or more lifting devices comprising a set of extendable columns or a jack in such way that contact with a ground surface to lift the pallet in view of Topcan et al. in order to actuate the self-lifting of fork (¶0037).
Regarding claim 13, combination of ESA mobile robot and Topcan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
It also discloses moving the body below the pallet by operating the at least one wheel responsive to raising the two or more forks (See video at least from 0:24-0:27); and
moving the two or more forks from the extended position into the retracted position responsive to raising the two or more forks (See video at least from 0:24-0:27), wherein the operating of the at least one wheel and the moving of the two or more forks are coordinated so that the pallet remains in a stationary location until the body is located below the pallet (See video at least from 0:24-0:27, in this operation pallet remains stationary).
Regrading claim 19, combination of ESA mobile robot and Topcan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
It also discloses the two or more forks are accommodated in space between leg members of the body of the autonomous robot in the retracted position. (See video at least at 0:12-0:14 and in entire video, it is disclosing that the two or more forks are accommodated in space between leg members of the body of the autonomous robot in the retracted position).
Regarding claim 20, ESA mobile robot discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (See video, it shows that, an autonomous robot is performing all the operations, it means it has some form of a non-transitory computer readable storage medium to store the information) thereon, the instructions when executed by a processor cause the processor to:
move an autonomous robot to a predetermined location relative to a pallet by operating at least one wheel of a body of the autonomous robot (See video at least from 0:18-0:20);
extend two or more forks from a retracted position into an extended position to place at least portions of the two or more forks under a deck board of the pallet (See video at least from 0:20-0:22);
raise the two or more forks to lift the pallet by operating lifting devices of the two or more forks (See video at least from 0:22-0:24); and
lower the two or more forks to mount the pallet onto an upper surface of the body of the autonomous robot (See video at least from 0:24-0:27).
It does not disclose extended position to place at least portions of the two or more forks under a deck board of the pallet with lifting devices comprising sets of extendable columns or jacks raised from a ground surface; raising the two or more forks to lift the pallet by operating lifting devices of the two or more forks by extending the set of extendable columns or jacks to come into contact with the ground surface.
Topcan et al. teaches extendable columns (152) are mounted to the forks (104).
(it is noted that these extended columns can be operated forks under a deck board of the pallet with lifting devices comprising sets of extendable columns or jacks raised from a ground surface; raising the two or more forks to lift the pallet by operating lifting devices of the two or more forks by extending the set of extendable columns or jacks to come into contact with the ground surface).
For motivation purpose see rejection of claim 12.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESA mobile robot (NPL Title: Autonomous pallet robot – YouTube video, 2023, hereinafter ESA mobile robot).
Regrading claim 18, combination of ESA mobile robot and Topcan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 12 except for the lifting devices in a longitudinal direction of the two or more forks before lifting the two or more forks to balance a weight distribution of the pallet and a load of the pallet on the two or more forks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify lifting devices of ESA mobile robot to moveable along longitudinal direction to adjust the center of gravity for load balancing, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7,14-16, 20 and 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12 and 13 (lines 1-8) filed 02/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 11-13, 17 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. §102 and claims 5, 8, 10 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Topcan et al. (US 20200384905 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 14 line 9- page 14 of remark lines 9-11 “the Office Action cites CN '816 as disclosing a camera in page 22, lines 15-19, pages 23, lines 18-25, and Figures 2 and 3). However, the cited portions of CN '816 do not mention any camera. CN '816 at best describes TOF depth sensor emitter, for example, in page 23, line 1-13. However, a TOF depth sensor is not a camera that captures images”. This argument is not persuasive.
The TOF (Time to flight) is well known as a type of camera.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references Wang et al. (US 20240025716 A1) is also teaching lifting device comes into contact with a ground surface to lift the pallet (see Fig. 14-16) and CN 114684749 A is also teaching lifting device comes into contact with a ground surface to lift the pallet (see Fig.6-7).
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652