DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh electrodes relative to the first, second and third flanges. Claims 2-6 inherit the defect of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. [CN 109036799 A].
Regarding claim 1, Xie et al. discloses an integrated coil structure [figures 1-3] comprising:
- an iron core body, wherein the iron core body comprises a first wire-winding portion [31, figures 1-3] and a second wire-winding portion [31, figures 1-3], the iron core body being provided with a first flange [32] and a second flange [33] respectively at two sides of and a third flange [34] arranged between the first flange and the second flange, the first wire-winding portion being arranged between the first flange and the third flange [figures 1-3], the second wire-winding portion being arranged between the second flange and the third flange [figures 1-3], a first electrode [40] and a second electrode [41 or 42] being arranged on the first flange, a third electrode [46] and a fourth electrode [47] being arranged on the second flange, a fifth electrode [43], a sixth electrode [45], and a seventh electrode [44] being arranged on the third flange;
- a first coil [S1] wounds around the first wire-winding portion, wherein the first coil comprises a first terminal and a second terminal [figures 1-3], where the first terminal of the first coil is electrically connected with the first electrode [40, figure 2] and the second terminal of the first coil is electrically connected with the fifth electrode [43, figure 2]
- a second coil [S2 or S3/S4] wounds around the first wire-winding portion, wherein the second coil comprises a first terminal and a second terminal [figures 1-3], where the first terminal of the second coil is electrically connected with the second electrode [42];
- a third coil [S5] wounds around the second wire-winding portion, wherein the third coil comprises a first terminal and a second terminal [figures 1-3], where the first terminal of the third coil is electrically connected with the sixth electrode [43, figures 2-3] and the second terminal of the third coil is electrically connected with the third electrode [46, figures 2-3]; and
- a fourth coil [S6] wounds around the second wire-winding portion, wherein the fourth coil comprises a first terminal and a second terminal [figures 1-3], where the first terminal of the fourth coil is electrically connected with the seventh electrode [44, figures 2-3] and the second terminal of the fourth coil is electrically connected with the fourth electrode [47, figures 2-3].
Xie et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific connection of the second terminal of the second coil relative to the electrode(s).
Xie et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific connection of the second coil relative to the terminal.
Xie et al. further disclose that the coils and terminals connections is not limited to figures 1-3 but also can make several improved and variations within the scope of the inventions.
The specific connection of the second coil relative to the terminal [electrodes] would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of reducing size and improving manufacturing and/or assembling.
Regarding claim 2, Xie et al. disclose the first coil and the second coil are arranged in parallel on the first wire-winding portion [figures 2-3].
Regarding claims 3-6, Xie et al. further disclose the integrated coil structure mounted on a PCB with traces/patterns [external circuits] formed thereon.
The specific traces/patterns [external circuits] arrangement and/or connections relative to the terminals/electrodes would have been an obvious design consideration based on the intended applications and/or environments.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837