DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to objections to the claims and rejections under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection and rejection under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 as rejected under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over ASSAAD (US 20220126677; previously cited) in view of WANG (CN 111959252; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, ASSAAD discloses a cooling system for an electric traction machine (10) for a motor vehicle (see Abstract), comprising:
a circuit system (30) for conducting a first coolant (32, oil) to be circulated;
a first circulation pump (34, oil pump) for conveying the first coolant (32) in the circuit system (30);
a motor inlet connection (37) for fluidically connecting the circuit system (30) on an inlet side with a first winding head region (right side, Fig. 1) of an electric traction machine (10) to be temperature-controlled;
a motor outlet connection (33) for fluidically connecting the circuit system (30) on an outlet side with a second winding head region (left side, Fig. 1) of the electric traction machine (10) to be temperature-controlled;
a first heat exchanger (36) for dissipating heat from and/or supplying heat to the first coolant (32) to be circulated in the circuit system (30); and
a bypass line (38), by which the first heat exchanger (36) via at least one connection (37) and the second winding head region are directly fluidically connected to one another via a further connection (39).
However, ASSAAD fails to teach the motor inlet connection on a first axial end of a stator, the motor outlet connection on a second axial end of the stator, or wherein the circuit system comprises a direct fluidic connection from the motor inlet connection axially through the stator to the motor outlet connection.
WANG discloses a motor inlet connection on a first axial end of a stator, a motor outlet connection on a second axial end of the stator, and a circuit system comprises a direct fluidic connection from the motor inlet connection axially through the stator to the motor outlet connection (Fig. 1 and machine translation ‘DESCRIPTION WO2022007884A1’ para [0153]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the cooling system of ASSAAD with the motor inlet connection on a first axial end of a stator, the motor outlet connection on a second axial end of the stator, or wherein the circuit system comprises a direct fluidic connection from the motor inlet connection axially through the stator to the motor outlet connection, similar to WANG.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve heat dissipation efficiency of the motor, as taught by WANG (para [0153]).
Regarding claim 3, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the cooling system according to claim 1.
WANG teaches an AC housing for an AC connection (see para [0003]; the inverter 11 is an AC housing as broadly claimed) for an electric traction machine; and a first main line (171), by which the first heat exchanger and the AC housing are fluidically connected to each other (see para [0077]).
Regarding claim 5, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the cooling system according to claim 3.
WANG discloses the first main line (171) is branched off from a second main line (172).
Regarding claim 12, ASSAAD in view of WANG discloses the cooling system according to claim 5.
WANG discloses the first main line is branched off from the second main line (22) behind a filter (1305).
Regarding claim 4, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the cooling system according to claim 1, wherein
ASSAAD teaches a second main line (22) is provided, by which the first heat exchanger (36) and/or the filter are fluidically connected to the first winding head region.
Regarding claim 6, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches a thermal management module for a powertrain of a motor vehicle (see ASSAAD Abstract),
ASSAAD teaches a transmission (20), an oil circuit having a second circulation direction (43) and having a second heat exchanger (42);
for at least one vehicle component, a water circuit (50) having a third circulation direction (52) and having a third heat exchanger (53); and
for an electric traction machine (10), the cooling system according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the thermal management module according to claim 6, wherein
ASSAAD teaches the water circuit (50) is connected to the first heat exchanger (36) of the cooling system for an electric traction engine for heat transfer, wherein a pulse inverter (57) for the electric traction engine is arranged before the first heat exchanger (36) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the thermal management module according to claim 7, wherein
ASSAAD teaches the water circuit (50) is connected to the first heat exchanger (36) of the cooling system for heat transfer as the only liquid-bound heat transfer of the cooling system to the environment (via radiator 53).
Regarding claim 15, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the thermal management module according to claim 7, wherein
ASSAAD teaches the pulse inverter (57) is arranged before the first heat exchanger (36) in the third circulation direction of the water circuit (50) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the thermal management module according to claim 6,
ASSAAD teaches a pulse inverter (57) for the electric traction machine (10) arranged in the water circuit (50) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches a powertrain for a motor vehicle (see ASSAAD para [007]):
ASSAAD teaches at least one electric traction machine (10) for providing a torque;
at least one propulsion wheel (the disclosed rear axle contains a wheel as broadly claimed; see para [0007]) for propelling the motor vehicle by a torque of the electric traction machine (10);
at least one transmission (20) for conducting a torque between the electric traction machine (10) and at least one of the at least one propulsion wheels; and
the cooling system according to claim 1 for at least one of the at least one electric traction machine (10), at least one of the at least one transmission (20), and at least one vehicle component (e.g. radiator 53, charger 55, inverter 57, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches a motor vehicle:
ASSAAD teaches a chassis having a transport cell (the vehicle has, at minimum, a drivetrain and a hood, constituting a chassis as broadly claimed. The disclosed hood is a transport cell as broadly claimed; see para [0007]); and
the powertrain according to claim 9 for driving the motor vehicle forward (see para [0007]).
Regarding claim 18, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the powertrain according to claim 9, wherein
ASSAAD teaches the at least one vehicle component includes a pulse inverter (57) for at least one of the at least one electric traction machines (10).
Regarding claim 19, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the cooling system according to claim 1, wherein
ASSAAD teaches the bypass line (38) is arranged outside of the stator between the at least on connection and the further connection, and wherein the bypass line (38) bypasses the first winding head region (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the cooling system according to claim 1, wherein
WANG teaches the motor inlet connection comprises an inlet housing 125 that encloses the first winding head region 122 and the motor outlet connection comprises an outlet housing 125 that encloses the second winding head region 122 (Fig. 1 and para [0084]).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASSAAD in view of WANG and further in view of KUNATHARAJU (US 20230125205).
Regarding claim 2, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the cooling system according to claim 1. However, ASSAAD in view of WANG does not teach a filter is provided downstream of the first heat exchanger, and the filter and the second winding head region are directly fluidically connected to one another via a third connection of the bypass line.
KUNATHARAJU discloses a cooling system for an electric traction machine (100) with a filter (101) is provided downstream of a first heat exchanger (104), and the filter (101) and a second winding head region (113) are directly fluidically connected to one another via a third connection of a bypass line (105).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the cooling system of ASSAAD in view of WANG with a filter provided downstream of a first heat exchanger, and the filter and a second winding head region are directly fluidically connected to one another via a third connection of a bypass line, similarly to KUNATHARAJU.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to protect the integrity of the oil and protect system components and as oil filters are well-known to those of skill in the art as taught by KUNATHARAJU (see para [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, ASSAAD in view of WANG and further in view of KUNATHARAJU teaches the cooling system according to claim 2.
ASSAAD discloses [the] third connection (39) of the bypass line (38) is the further connection.
Claims 8, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASSAAD in view of WANG and further in view of LEFEBVRE (FR 3078389).
Regarding claim 8, ASSAAD in view of WANG teaches the thermal management module according to claim 7.
However, ASSAAD in view of WANG does not teach the water circuit is further connected to the second heat exchanger of the oil circuit for heat transfer, wherein the first heat exchanger is arranged before the second heat exchanger.
LEFEBVRE discloses a thermal management module with a water circuit (5) connected to a first heat exchanger (4a) of the oil circuit and a second heat exchanger (12) of the oil circuit for heat transfer, wherein the first heat exchanger (4a) is arranged before the second heat exchanger (12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the cooling system of ASSAAD in view of WANG with the water circuit further connected to the second heat exchanger of the oil circuit for heat transfer, wherein the first heat exchanger is arranged before the second heat exchanger, similar to LEFEBVRE.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to maintain a minimum level of coolant flow on a high-temperature housing, as taught by LEFEBVRE (see para [0048]).
Regarding claim 16, ASSAAD in view of WANG and further in view of LEFEBVRE teaches the thermal management module according to claim 8.
LEFEBVRE discloses the water circuit (5) is further connected to the second heat exchanger (42) of the oil circuit for heat transfer as the only liquid-bound heat transfer of the cooling system to the environment (i.e., through the air heater 5a; see para [0050]).
Regarding claim 17, ASSAAD in view of WANG and further in view of LEFEBVRE teaches the thermal management module according to claim 8.
LEFEBVRE discloses the first heat exchanger (4a) is arranged before the second heat exchanger (12) in the third circulation direction of the water circuit (5) (see para [0051]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834