DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendments and arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been entered and made of record.
The Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection because the Applicant has amended independent claims 1, and 7; Furthermore, Applicant's arguments in view of the amendments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Re amended claim 1, Applicant asserts (in pages 9 of the Arguments of 2/13/2026) that cited references, and particularly, Ikemoto do not disclose “modifying a preset region, and, the preset region of the medical image is a mask portion where an observation target does not appear, or an edge portion of a region where the observation target appears, in the medical image”
However, the Examiner disagrees, because:
(see IKEMOTO: e.g., -- acquiring and displaying information on a lesion based on color information of a color endoscope image.--, in abstract, and, -- According to this configuration, since the lesion part is determined in the HSV color space in which the difference between the lesion part and the normal part clearly appears, it is possible to accurately determine the lesion part and the normal part. In addition, by displaying the overlay image in which the color of the pixel of the lesion part is changed, it is possible for the operator to more clearly identify the lesion part, and it is possible to perform more accurate and highly reproducible diagnosis.
The lesion pixel determination means may determine whether or not each of the plurality of types of lesions is a pixel of the lesion part, and the overlay image display means may change the color of the pixel of the lesion part according to the type of the lesion.
According to this configuration, for example, as in inflammatory bowel disease, it is possible to more accurately diagnose a disease accompanied by the expression of a plurality of types of lesions.
In the above-described image processing apparatus, the overlay processing unit may add a predetermined value corresponding to the type of lesion to the pixel value of the pixel determined to be the lesion.
According to this configuration, different types of lesion parts are displayed in different colors, and information related to a more detailed disease state can be intuitively and accurately grasped.
In the image processing apparatus described above, the overlay image display means may simultaneously display the color endoscopic image and the overlay image.--, in [0006]-[0011] {see the English version of JP2017060806 A as provided with this Office Action});
Because the claim limitation does not limit, or specify what is limited to as “observation target”, therefore, it is reasonable to interpret and take above “lesion parts”, or otherwise “normal part” as aligned with the claimed “the preset region”;
Because “observation target” could be “normal component” or any other parts/components/tissues, or a particular/specific lesion, or the overlay area.. etc., that is being observed within “the color endoscopic image and the overlay image”, or read from the medical image.
And IKEMOTO’s above disclosures are consistent with the disclosures of MICHIHATA, and KAMON, as discussed in Office Action:
MICHIHATA (as modified by KAMON) and IKEMOTO are combinable as they are in the same field of endeavor: acquiring, processing and displaying endoscopic images.. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MICHIHATA (as modified by KAMON)’s device using IKEMOTO’s teachings by including according to the type of the medical image, wherein the data constituting the medical image is data constituting a preset region of the medical image, and the preset region of the medical image is a mask portion where an observation target does not appears, or an edge portion of a region where the observation target appears, in the medical image to MICHIHATA( as modified by KAMON) ’s display of medical images in order to simultaneously display the color endoscopic image and the overlay image so that different types of lesion parts are displayed in different colors, and information related to a more detailed disease state can be intuitively and accurately grasped (see IKEMOTO: e.g., abstract, and [0006]-[0011]),
And, for the rest claim amendments including newly added limitations: MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the data constituting the medical image is a pixel value of a preset region of the medical image (see IKEMOTO: e.g., as cited in above quotation:
--it is possible to accurately determine the lesion part and the normal part. In addition, by displaying the overlay image in which the color of the pixel of the lesion part is changed, it is possible for the operator to more clearly identify the lesion part, and it is possible to perform more accurate and highly reproducible diagnosis.
The lesion pixel determination means may determine whether or not each of the plurality of types of lesions is a pixel of the lesion part, and the overlay image display means may change the color of the pixel of the lesion part according to the type of the lesion.--, in [0006]-[0011];
Apparently, the data constituting the medical image is in pixel values, including the preset region, which is a portion of, or within the medical image;
Furthermore, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose the identification information is the pixel value configured to be recognized by a medical image processing device to control a display manner of the medical image based on the type of the medical image (see IKEMOTO: e.g., -- acquiring and displaying information on a lesion based on color information of a color endoscope image.--, in abstract, and, -- According to this configuration, since the lesion part is determined in the HSV color space in which the difference between the lesion part and the normal part clearly appears, it is possible to accurately determine the lesion part and the normal part. In addition, by displaying the overlay image in which the color of the pixel of the lesion part is changed, it is possible for the operator to more clearly identify the lesion part, and it is possible to perform more accurate and highly reproducible diagnosis.
The lesion pixel determination means may determine whether or not each of the plurality of types of lesions is a pixel of the lesion part, and the overlay image display means may change the color of the pixel of the lesion part according to the type of the lesion.
According to this configuration, for example, as in inflammatory bowel disease, it is possible to more accurately diagnose a disease accompanied by the expression of a plurality of types of lesions.
In the above-described image processing apparatus, the overlay processing unit may add a predetermined value corresponding to the type of lesion to the pixel value of the pixel determined to be the lesion.
According to this configuration, different types of lesion parts are displayed in different colors, and information related to a more detailed disease state can be intuitively and accurately grasped.
In the image processing apparatus described above, the overlay image display means may simultaneously display the color endoscopic image and the overlay image.--, in [0006]-[0011] {so that “the overly image display means” read on “control a display manner” based on the type of the medical image, and herein “lesion parts”, “normal parts” and “diagnose a disease accompanied by the expression of a plurality of types of lesions” read on claimed limitation of “the type of the medical image” {see the English version of JP2017060806 A as provided with this Office Action}).
Therefore, claims 1, 3-19 are still not patentably distinguishable over the prior art reference(s). Further discussions are addressed in the prior art rejection section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MICHIHATA (EP 3841956 A1), in view of KAMON (US 202000305700 A1, as provided in IDS, and claims the priority of JPWO2019130964, Pub.Date 04.07.2019, Appl.Date 28.11.2018), and further in view of IKEMOTO (JP 2017060806 A1, as provided in IDS).
Re Claim 1, MICHIHATA discloses a processor device (see MICHIHATA: e.g., --A medical control device includes a display control unit configured to display,… configured to receive light coming from an observation target; and a brightness control unit configured to control the brightness of the imaging signal in such a way that the display control unit displays the medical image having a predetermined brightness. When the dynamic range of the display device is set to a second value that is greater than a first value, the brightness control unit is configured to perform control to lower the brightness of the imaging signal as compared to the brightness of the imaging signal for displaying the medical image at the predetermined brightness when the dynamic range is set to the first value.--, in abstract, and, --in FIG. 2, the medical observation device 10 can also include one or more processors (not illustrated) configured with an arithmetic circuit such as an MPU (Micro Processing Unit); a ROM (Read Only Memory, not illustrated); a RAM (Random Access Memory, not illustrated); a recording medium (not illustrated); and a communication device (not illustrated). The medical observation device 10 operates, for example, on the electrical power supplied from an internal light source such as a battery installed therein or on the electrical power supplied from an external power source connected thereto.
The processor (not illustrated) functions as the control unit (not illustrated) of the medical observation device 10. The ROM (not illustrated) is used to store programs to be used by the processor (not illustrated) and to store control data such as operation parameters. The RAM (not illustrated) is used to temporarily store the programs executed by the processor (not illustrated).--, in [0032]-[0033], and, --Moreover, the control unit 140 can perform predetermined processing with respect to an imaging signal output from the camera head 136, and can transmit the processed imaging signal to the display device 20. Examples of the predetermined processing with respect to an imaging signal include white balance adjustment, image enlargement/reduction according to the electronic zoom function, and inter-pixel correction.--, in [0048]; and,
--(2) Control unit 110
The control unit 110 is configured with, for example, the processor (not illustrated) explained earlier, and fulfils the role of controlling the medical observation device 10 in entirety. Moreover, the control unit 110 fulfils a leading role in performing an imaging control operation (described later) and the display control operation (described later). The imaging control operation and the display control operation performed by the control unit 110 can be performed in a dispersed manner across a plurality of processing circuits (for example, a plurality of processors).--, in [0059]-[0060]) comprising:
a first processor configured to: acquire at least one medical image selected from plurality of types of medical images with different imaging conditions (see MICHIHATA: e.g., --when an imaging device takes images of the observation target such as the inside of the body of a patient, there can be times when objects other than the observation target, such as forceps or gauze, are captured as part of the photographic subject…to perform HDR (High Dynamic Range) photography in which a plurality of brightness images, which is taken at different timings by varying the shutter speed for imaging--, in [0002]-[0003]; and, --in an endoscope system, since it is demanded to have a compact camera head, it is difficult to use a large-sized image sensor. Moreover, in a photographing method in which a long-exposure image and a short-exposure image--, in [0016]-[0017]; and, --the imaging device emits visible light (for example, white light) onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. Alternatively, for example, it is possible to use an imaging device that emits a special light onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. A medical image that is taken using a special light does not have halation. Hence, if the imaging device uses a special light to take images of the observation target, the control unit 110 decides on the brightness target value by taking into account the fact that the imaging device takes images of the observation target without lowering the brightness and that the display device 20 displays the medical images without increasing the brightness.--, in [0121]; and,
--Meanwhile, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using visible light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness. On the other hand, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using a special light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness.
When the imaging device takes images of the observation target by switching between visible light and a special light at regular intervals, the flow of the determination operation is different than the explanation given earlier in the embodiments. Hence, the determination operation is explained below with reference to FIG. 15. As illustrated in FIG. 15, firstly, the control unit 110 confirms the type of the light emitted by the imaging device onto the observation target (Step S3200). Then, the control unit 110 confirms whether or not the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (Step S3202). If the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (YES at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness (Step S3204). On the other hand, if the light emitted onto the observation target is not visible light (NO at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness (Step S3206). Then, the control unit 110 ends the determination operation--, in [0128]-[0129]);
although MICHIHATA discloses generate an identification information-assigned medical image in which a part of data constituting the medical image is assigned as identification information indicating a type of the medical image {in controlling the brightness and a brightness target value deciding} (see MICHIHATA: e.g., -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065]);
MICHIHATA however does not explicitly disclose changing the part of the data constituting the medical image, or by changing the part of the data constituting the medical image in at least one type of the medical image and not changing the part of the data constituting the medical image in another type of the medical image;
KAMON discloses changing the part of the data constituting the medical image, or by changing the part of the data constituting the medical image in at least one type of the medical image and not changing the part of the data constituting the medical image in another type of the medical image (see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]);
MICHIHATA and KAMON are combinable as they are in the same field of endeavor: acquiring, processing and displaying endoscopic images. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MICHIHATA’s processor device using KAMON’s teachings by including changing the part of the data constituting the medical image, or by changing the part of the data constituting the medical image in at least one type of the medical image and not changing the part of the data constituting the medical image in another type of the medical image to MICHIHATA’s presentation of medical images in order to capture, process and display images with different observation wavelength patterns (see KAMON: e.g., abstract, and [0009], [0017], and [0051]);
MICHIHATA and KAMON however still do not explicitly disclose according to the type of the medical image, wherein the data constituting the medical image is pixel value of a a preset region of the medical image, and the preset region of the medical image is a mask portion where an observation target does not appears, or an edge portion of a region where the observation target appears, in the medical image,
IKEMOTO discloses according to the type of the medical image, wherein the data constituting the medical image is pixel value of a preset region of the medical image, and the preset region of the medical image is a mask portion where an observation target does not appears, or an edge portion of a region where the observation target appears, in the medical image (see IKEMOTO: e.g., -- acquiring and displaying information on a lesion based on color information of a color endoscope image.--, in abstract, and, -- According to this configuration, since the lesion part is determined in the HSV color space in which the difference between the lesion part and the normal part clearly appears, it is possible to accurately determine the lesion part and the normal part. In addition, by displaying the overlay image in which the color of the pixel of the lesion part is changed, it is possible for the operator to more clearly identify the lesion part, and it is possible to perform more accurate and highly reproducible diagnosis.
The lesion pixel determination means may determine whether or not each of the plurality of types of lesions is a pixel of the lesion part, and the overlay image display means may change the color of the pixel of the lesion part according to the type of the lesion.
According to this configuration, for example, as in inflammatory bowel disease, it is possible to more accurately diagnose a disease accompanied by the expression of a plurality of types of lesions.
In the above-described image processing apparatus, the overlay processing unit may add a predetermined value corresponding to the type of lesion to the pixel value of the pixel determined to be the lesion.
According to this configuration, different types of lesion parts are displayed in different colors, and information related to a more detailed disease state can be intuitively and accurately grasped.
In the image processing apparatus described above, the overlay image display means may simultaneously display the color endoscopic image and the overlay image.--, in [0006]-[0011] {see the English version of JP2017060806 A as provided with this Office Action});
MICHIHATA (as modified by KAMON) and IKEMOTO are combinable as they are in the same field of endeavor: acquiring, processing and displaying endoscopic images.. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MICHIHATA (as modified by KAMON)’s device using IKEMOTO’s teachings by including according to the type of the medical image, wherein the data constituting the medical image is pixel value of a preset region of the medical image, and the preset region of the medical image is a mask portion where an observation target does not appears, or an edge portion of a region where the observation target appears, in the medical image to MICHIHATA( as modified by KAMON) ’s display of medical images in order to simultaneously display the color endoscopic image and the overlay image so that different types of lesion parts are displayed in different colors, and information related to a more detailed disease state can be intuitively and accurately grasped (see IKEMOTO: e.g., abstract, and [0006]-[0011]); and
MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose the identification information is the pixel value configured to be recognized by a medical image processing device to control a display manner of the medical image based on the type of the medical image (see IKEMOTO: e.g., -- acquiring and displaying information on a lesion based on color information of a color endoscope image.--, in abstract, and, -- According to this configuration, since the lesion part is determined in the HSV color space in which the difference between the lesion part and the normal part clearly appears, it is possible to accurately determine the lesion part and the normal part. In addition, by displaying the overlay image in which the color of the pixel of the lesion part is changed, it is possible for the operator to more clearly identify the lesion part, and it is possible to perform more accurate and highly reproducible diagnosis.
The lesion pixel determination means may determine whether or not each of the plurality of types of lesions is a pixel of the lesion part, and the overlay image display means may change the color of the pixel of the lesion part according to the type of the lesion.
According to this configuration, for example, as in inflammatory bowel disease, it is possible to more accurately diagnose a disease accompanied by the expression of a plurality of types of lesions.
In the above-described image processing apparatus, the overlay processing unit may add a predetermined value corresponding to the type of lesion to the pixel value of the pixel determined to be the lesion.
According to this configuration, different types of lesion parts are displayed in different colors, and information related to a more detailed disease state can be intuitively and accurately grasped. In the image processing apparatus described above, the overlay image display means may simultaneously display the color endoscopic image and the overlay image.--, in [0006]-[0011] {so that “the overly image display means” read on “control a display manner” based on the type of the medical image, and herein “lesion parts”, “normal parts” and “diagnose a disease accompanied by the expression of a plurality of types of lesions” read on claimed limitation of “the type of the medical image” {see the English version of JP2017060806 A as provided with this Office Action}).
Re Claim 3, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the plurality of types of medical images include a display image for display on a display and an analysis image for analysis related to diagnostic information (see IKEMOTO: e.g., -- acquiring and displaying information on a lesion based on color information of a color endoscope image.--, in abstract, and, -- According to this configuration, since the lesion part is determined in the HSV color space in which the difference between the lesion part and the normal part clearly appears, it is possible to accurately determine the lesion part and the normal part. In addition, by displaying the overlay image in which the color of the pixel of the lesion part is changed, it is possible for the operator to more clearly identify the lesion part, and it is possible to perform more accurate and highly reproducible diagnosis.
The lesion pixel determination means may determine whether or not each of the plurality of types of lesions is a pixel of the lesion part, and the overlay image display means may change the color of the pixel of the lesion part according to the type of the lesion.
According to this configuration, for example, as in inflammatory bowel disease, it is possible to more accurately diagnose a disease accompanied by the expression of a plurality of types of lesions.
In the above-described image processing apparatus, the overlay processing unit may add a predetermined value corresponding to the type of lesion to the pixel value of the pixel determined to be the lesion.
According to this configuration, different types of lesion parts are displayed in different colors, and information related to a more detailed disease state can be intuitively and accurately grasped.
In the image processing apparatus described above, the overlay image display means may simultaneously display the color endoscopic image and the overlay image.--, in [0006]-[0011] {see the English version of JP2017060806 A as provided with this Office Action})..
Re Claim 4, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the first processor is configured to assign the identification information to the analysis image by changing a part of data constituting the analysis image, and to assign the identification information to the display image without changing a portion of data constituting the display image, the portion corresponding to the data assigned as the identification information in the analysis image (see IKEMOTO: e.g., --it is determined whether or not the image analysis mode is set (S 2). The image analysis mode according tothe embodiment of the present invention is an operation mode in which color information (in particular, hue andsaturation) is analyzed for each pixel of image data, it is determined from the analysis result of the colorinformation whether or not the pixel is a pixel of a lesion based on a predetermined criterion, and the pixel of thelesion is identified and displayed. The type of lesion to be determined can be selected according to the examinationcontent. In the examples described below, pixels in a specific color gamut are extracted and displayed in anobservation image of ulcers (white lesions including white moss and aeruginolike mucus) which are lesions ofinflammatory bowel disease (IBD) and observation images of inflammation (red lesion including edema and easybleeding).--, in [0044];
also see MICHIHATA: e.g., -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
and further see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 5, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose to assign the identification information to the display image by changing a part of data constituting the display image, and to assign the identification information to the analysis image without changing a portion of data constituting the analysis image, the portion corresponding to the data assigned as the identification information in the display image (see IKEMOTO: e.g., --it is determined whether or not the image analysis mode is set (S 2). The image analysis mode according to the embodiment of the present invention is an operation mode in which color information (in particular, hue and saturation) is analyzed for each pixel of image data, it is determined from the analysis result of the color information whether or not the pixel is a pixel of a lesion based on a predetermined criterion, and the pixel of the lesion is identified and displayed. The type of lesion to be determined can be selected according to the examination content. In the examples described below, pixels in a specific color gamut are extracted and displayed in an observation image of ulcers (white lesions including white moss and aerugino like mucus) which are lesions of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) and observation images of inflammation (red lesion including edema and easy bleeding).--, in [0044];
also see MICHIHATA: e.g., -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
and further see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 6, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the imaging condition is a spectrum of illumination light see MICHIHATA: e.g., -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
also see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 7, claim 7 is the corresponding medical image processing device claim to claim 1, and MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose a second processor configured to: acquire a plurality of types of identification information-assigned medical images in which a part of data constituting a medical image is assigned as identification information; recognize the type of the identification information-assigned medical image based on the identification information (see IKEMOTO: e.g., --it is determined whether or not the image analysis mode is set (S 2). The image analysis mode according to the embodiment of the present invention is an operation mode in which color information (in particular, hue and saturation) is analyzed for each pixel of image data, it is determined from the analysis result of the color information whether or not the pixel is a pixel of a lesion based on a predetermined criterion, and the pixel of the lesion is identified and displayed. The type of lesion to be determined can be selected according to the examination content. In the examples described below, pixels in a specific color gamut are extracted and displayed in an observation image of ulcers (white lesions including white moss and aerugino like mucus) which are lesions of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) and observation images of inflammation (red lesion including edema and easy bleeding).--, in [0044];
also see MICHIHATA: e.g., -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
and further see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]); and
perform control to display the identification information-assigned medical image on a display based on the type of the identification information-assigned medical image, wherein the identification information is data constituting a preset region of the medical image, and the preset region of the medical image is a mask portion where an observation target does not appears, or an edge portion of a region where the observation target appears, in the medical image (see IKEMOTO: e.g., --it is determined whether or not the image analysis mode is set (S 2). The image analysis mode according to the embodiment of the present invention is an operation mode in which color information (in particular, hue and saturation) is analyzed for each pixel of image data, it is determined from the analysis result of the color information whether or not the pixel is a pixel of a lesion based on a predetermined criterion, and the pixel of the lesion is identified and displayed. The type of lesion to be determined can be selected according to the examination content. In the examples described below, pixels in a specific color gamut are extracted and displayed in an observation image of ulcers (white lesions including white moss and aerugino like mucus) which are lesions of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) and observation images of inflammation (red lesion including edema and easy bleeding).--, in [0044];
also see MICHIHATA: e.g., -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
and further see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 8, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the plurality of types of identification information-assigned medical images include a display image for display on the display and an analysis image for analysis related to diagnostic information (see IKEMOTO: e.g., --it is determined whether or not the image analysis mode is set (S 2). The image analysis mode according to the embodiment of the present invention is an operation mode in which color information (in particular, hue and saturation) is analyzed for each pixel of image data, it is determined from the analysis result of the color information whether or not the pixel is a pixel of a lesion based on a predetermined criterion, and the pixel of the lesion is identified and displayed. The type of lesion to be determined can be selected according to the examination content. In the examples described below, pixels in a specific color gamut are extracted and displayed in an observation image of ulcers (white lesions including white moss and aerugino like mucus) which are lesions of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) and observation images of inflammation (red lesion including edema and easy bleeding).--, in [0044];
also see MICHIHATA: e.g., -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
and further see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 9, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the second processor is configured to display the display image on a main screen of the display, and to decide whether or not to display the analysis image on a sub screen of the display based on the type of the identification information-assigned medical image and display, on the sub screen of the display, the identification information-assigned medical image that is decided to be displayed (see MICHIHATA: e.g., Fig. 6, and, -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
and also see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 10, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the second processor is configured to perform image processing set for each type of the identification information-assigned medical image on the identification information-assigned medical image based on the type of the identification information-assigned medical image (see MICHIHATA: e.g., Fig. 6, and, -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
and also see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 11, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the second processor is configured to, in a case where the identification information-assigned medical image is the display image, perform display image processing on the display image, and to, in a case where the identification information-assigned medical image is the analysis image, perform analysis image processing on the analysis image (see MICHIHATA: e.g., Fig. 6, and, -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
and also see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 12, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the second processor is configured to perform the analysis image processing using a machine learning-based analysis model (see KAMON: e.g., --[0002] The present invention relates to endoscopic image acquisition system and method and, more particularly, to a technique of collecting training images used in learning of a learning algorithm for making a diagnosis from an endoscopic image.
[0003] There is known an AI (Artificial Intelligence) technique of automatically detecting or automatically discriminating a lesion in an endoscopic image using a computer to make a diagnosis. In particular, the use of a learning algorithm such as a neural network enables a highly accurate diagnosis. On the other hand, collecting training images is necessary for development of a learning algorithm.--, in [0002]-[0003]).
Re Claim 13, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the second processor is configured to create an analysis result image indicating a result of the analysis image processing, and to generate a superimposition image by superimposing the analysis result image on the display image (see MICHIHATA: e.g., Fig. 6, and, -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065];
and also see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 14, claim 14 is the corresponding system claim to claims 1 and 7. Claim 14 thus is rejected for the similar reasons for claims 1 and 7. See above discussions with regard to claims 1, and 7 respectively. MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose a medical image processing system, and wherein the second processor is configured to acquire the plurality of types of identification information-assigned medical images generated by the first processor (see MICHIHATA: e.g., --A medical control device includes a display control unit configured to display,… configured to receive light coming from an observation target; and a brightness control unit configured to control the brightness of the imaging signal in such a way that the display control unit displays the medical image having a predetermined brightness. When the dynamic range of the display device is set to a second value that is greater than a first value, the brightness control unit is configured to perform control to lower the brightness of the imaging signal as compared to the brightness of the imaging signal for displaying the medical image at the predetermined brightness when the dynamic range is set to the first value.--, in abstract, and, --in FIG. 2, the medical observation device 10 can also include one or more processors (not illustrated) configured with an arithmetic circuit such as an MPU (Micro Processing Unit); a ROM (Read Only Memory, not illustrated); a RAM (Random Access Memory, not illustrated); a recording medium (not illustrated); and a communication device (not illustrated). The medical observation device 10 operates, for example, on the electrical power supplied from an internal light source such as a battery installed therein or on the electrical power supplied from an external power source connected thereto.
The processor (not illustrated) functions as the control unit (not illustrated) of the medical observation device 10. The ROM (not illustrated) is used to store programs to be used by the processor (not illustrated) and to store control data such as operation parameters. The RAM (not illustrated) is used to temporarily store the programs executed by the processor (not illustrated).--, in [0032]-[0033], and, --Moreover, the control unit 140 can perform predetermined processing with respect to an imaging signal output from the camera head 136, and can transmit the processed imaging signal to the display device 20. Examples of the predetermined processing with respect to an imaging signal include white balance adjustment, image enlargement/reduction according to the electronic zoom function, and inter-pixel correction.--, in [0048]; and,
--(2) Control unit 110
The control unit 110 is configured with, for example, the processor (not illustrated) explained earlier, and fulfils the role of controlling the medical observation device 10 in entirety. Moreover, the control unit 110 fulfils a leading role in performing an imaging control operation (described later) and the display control operation (described later). The imaging control operation and the display control operation performed by the control unit 110 can be performed in a dispersed manner across a plurality of processing circuits (for example, a plurality of processors).--, in [0059]-[0060];
and, Fig. 6, and, -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065]; and
also see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 15, claim 15 is the corresponding system claim to claims 1, 7 and 13. Claim 15 thus is rejected for the similar reasons for claims 1,7 and 13. See above discussions with regard to claims 1, 7 and 13. respectively. MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose a medical image processing system (see MICHIHATA: e.g., --A medical control device includes a display control unit configured to display,… configured to receive light coming from an observation target; and a brightness control unit configured to control the brightness of the imaging signal in such a way that the display control unit displays the medical image having a predetermined brightness. When the dynamic range of the display device is set to a second value that is greater than a first value, the brightness control unit is configured to perform control to lower the brightness of the imaging signal as compared to the brightness of the imaging signal for displaying the medical image at the predetermined brightness when the dynamic range is set to the first value.--, in abstract, and, --in FIG. 2, the medical observation device 10 can also include one or more processors (not illustrated) configured with an arithmetic circuit such as an MPU (Micro Processing Unit); a ROM (Read Only Memory, not illustrated); a RAM (Random Access Memory, not illustrated); a recording medium (not illustrated); and a communication device (not illustrated). The medical observation device 10 operates, for example, on the electrical power supplied from an internal light source such as a battery installed therein or on the electrical power supplied from an external power source connected thereto.
The processor (not illustrated) functions as the control unit (not illustrated) of the medical observation device 10. The ROM (not illustrated) is used to store programs to be used by the processor (not illustrated) and to store control data such as operation parameters. The RAM (not illustrated) is used to temporarily store the programs executed by the processor (not illustrated).--, in [0032]-[0033], and, --Moreover, the control unit 140 can perform predetermined processing with respect to an imaging signal output from the camera head 136, and can transmit the processed imaging signal to the display device 20. Examples of the predetermined processing with respect to an imaging signal include white balance adjustment, image enlargement/reduction according to the electronic zoom function, and inter-pixel correction.--, in [0048]; and,
--(2) Control unit 110
The control unit 110 is configured with, for example, the processor (not illustrated) explained earlier, and fulfils the role of controlling the medical observation device 10 in entirety. Moreover, the control unit 110 fulfils a leading role in performing an imaging control operation (described later) and the display control operation (described later). The imaging control operation and the display control operation performed by the control unit 110 can be performed in a dispersed manner across a plurality of processing circuits (for example, a plurality of processors).--, in [0059]-[0060];
and, Fig. 6, and, -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065]; and
also see KAMON: e.g., -- The endoscopic image acquisition system includes a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of irradiation light with which a part to be observed in a body cavity of a patient is irradiated or returning light from the part to be observed. Images of an observation wavelength pattern are captured at a certain frame rate. In response to acceptance of an acquisition instruction, images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are sequentially captured. The images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another are stored in a storage unit. An image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern is set not to be displayed.--, in abstract, and, -- a display control unit that causes the captured images to be sequentially displayed on a display unit; a wavelength pattern changing unit that changes a wavelength pattern of the irradiation light or the returning light; an accepting unit that accepts an acquisition instruction to acquire images; an image capturing control unit that causes images of an observation wavelength pattern to be captured at a certain frame rate and that causes images of a plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be sequentially captured in response to acceptance of the acquisition instruction; and a storage control unit that causes the images of the plurality of wavelength patterns different from one another to be stored in a storage unit, wherein the display control unit sets an image of a wavelength pattern other than the observation wavelength pattern not to be displayed.--, in [0009], and, -- the storage control unit causes the image to be stored in the storage unit in association with information on the wavelength pattern used in capturing of the image. In this manner, a training image associated with information on a wavelength pattern can be collected.--, in [0017], and, -- [0051] The processor device 16 is electrically connected to the display unit 18 and the input unit 20. The display unit 18 is a display device that outputs or displays an image to be observed, information relating to the image to be observed, and so on. The input unit 20 functions as a user interface that accepts input operations of function settings, various instructions, and so on of the endoscope system 10.--, in [0051]).
Re Claim 16, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the processor device is configured to superimpose the analysis result image on the display image (see IKEMOTO: e.g., -- acquiring and displaying information on a lesion based on color information of a color endoscope image.--, in abstract, and, -- According to this configuration, since the lesion part is determined in the HSV color space in which the difference between the lesion part and the normal part clearly appears, it is possible to accurately determine the lesion part and the normal part. In addition, by displaying the overlay image in which the color of the pixel of the lesion part is changed, it is possible for the operator to more clearly identify the lesion part, and it is possible to perform more accurate and highly reproducible diagnosis.
The lesion pixel determination means may determine whether or not each of the plurality of types of lesions is a pixel of the lesion part, and the overlay image display means may change the color of the pixel of the lesion part according to the type of the lesion.
According to this configuration, for example, as in inflammatory bowel disease, it is possible to more accurately diagnose a disease accompanied by the expression of a plurality of types of lesions.
In the above-described image processing apparatus, the overlay processing unit may add a predetermined value corresponding to the type of lesion to the pixel value of the pixel determined to be the lesion.
According to this configuration, different types of lesion parts are displayed in different colors, and information related to a more detailed disease state can be intuitively and accurately grasped.
In the image processing apparatus described above, the overlay image display means may simultaneously display the color endoscopic image and the overlay image.--, in [0006]-[0011] {see the English version of JP2017060806 A as provided with this Office Action}).
Re Claim 17, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the processor device is configured to adjust a frame rate of the identification information-assigned medical image (see MICHIHATA: e.g., --when an imaging device takes images of the observation target such as the inside of the body of a patient, there can be times when objects other than the observation target, such as forceps or gauze, are captured as part of the photographic subject…to perform HDR (High Dynamic Range) photography in which a plurality of brightness images, which is taken at different timings by varying the shutter speed for imaging--, in [0002]-[0003]; and, --in an endoscope system, since it is demanded to have a compact camera head, it is difficult to use a large-sized image sensor. Moreover, in a photographing method in which a long-exposure image and a short-exposure image--, in [0016]-[0017]; and, --the imaging device emits visible light (for example, white light) onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. Alternatively, for example, it is possible to use an imaging device that emits a special light onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. A medical image that is taken using a special light does not have halation. Hence, if the imaging device uses a special light to take images of the observation target, the control unit 110 decides on the brightness target value by taking into account the fact that the imaging device takes images of the observation target without lowering the brightness and that the display device 20 displays the medical images without increasing the brightness.--, in [0121]; and, --Meanwhile, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using visible light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness. On the other hand, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using a special light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness.
When the imaging device takes images of the observation target by switching between visible light and a special light at regular intervals, the flow of the determination operation is different than the explanation given earlier in the embodiments. Hence, the determination operation is explained below with reference to FIG. 15. As illustrated in FIG. 15, firstly, the control unit 110 confirms the type of the light emitted by the imaging device onto the observation target (Step S3200). Then, the control unit 110 confirms whether or not the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (Step S3202). If the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (YES at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness (Step S3204). On the other hand, if the light emitted onto the observation target is not visible light (NO at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness (Step S3206). Then, the control unit 110 ends the determination operation--, in [0128]-[0129]), and
the medical image processing device is configured to acquire the identification information-assigned medical image of which the frame rate is adjusted (see MICHIHATA: e.g., --when an imaging device takes images of the observation target such as the inside of the body of a patient, there can be times when objects other than the observation target, such as forceps or gauze, are captured as part of the photographic subject…to perform HDR (High Dynamic Range) photography in which a plurality of brightness images, which is taken at different timings by varying the shutter speed for imaging--, in [0002]-[0003]; and, --in an endoscope system, since it is demanded to have a compact camera head, it is difficult to use a large-sized image sensor. Moreover, in a photographing method in which a long-exposure image and a short-exposure image--, in [0016]-[0017]; and, --the imaging device emits visible light (for example, white light) onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. Alternatively, for example, it is possible to use an imaging device that emits a special light onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. A medical image that is taken using a special light does not have halation. Hence, if the imaging device uses a special light to take images of the observation target, the control unit 110 decides on the brightness target value by taking into account the fact that the imaging device takes images of the observation target without lowering the brightness and that the display device 20 displays the medical images without increasing the brightness.--, in [0121]; and,
--Meanwhile, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using visible light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness. On the other hand, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using a special light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness.
When the imaging device takes images of the observation target by switching between visible light and a special light at regular intervals, the flow of the determination operation is different than the explanation given earlier in the embodiments. Hence, the determination operation is explained below with reference to FIG. 15. As illustrated in FIG. 15, firstly, the control unit 110 confirms the type of the light emitted by the imaging device onto the observation target (Step S3200). Then, the control unit 110 confirms whether or not the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (Step S3202). If the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (YES at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness (Step S3204). On the other hand, if the light emitted onto the observation target is not visible light (NO at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness (Step S3206). Then, the control unit 110 ends the determination operation--, in [0128]-[0129]).
Re Claim 18, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose wherein the processor device or the medical image processing device is configured to adjust a frame rate of an image for display on a display (see MICHIHATA: e.g., --when an imaging device takes images of the observation target such as the inside of the body of a patient, there can be times when objects other than the observation target, such as forceps or gauze, are captured as part of the photographic subject…to perform HDR (High Dynamic Range) photography in which a plurality of brightness images, which is taken at different timings by varying the shutter speed for imaging--, in [0002]-[0003]; and, --in an endoscope system, since it is demanded to have a compact camera head, it is difficult to use a large-sized image sensor. Moreover, in a photographing method in which a long-exposure image and a short-exposure image--, in [0016]-[0017]; and, --the imaging device emits visible light (for example, white light) onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. Alternatively, for example, it is possible to use an imaging device that emits a special light onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. A medical image that is taken using a special light does not have halation. Hence, if the imaging device uses a special light to take images of the observation target, the control unit 110 decides on the brightness target value by taking into account the fact that the imaging device takes images of the observation target without lowering the brightness and that the display device 20 displays the medical images without increasing the brightness.--, in [0121]; and,
--Meanwhile, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using visible light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness. On the other hand, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using a special light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness.
When the imaging device takes images of the observation target by switching between visible light and a special light at regular intervals, the flow of the determination operation is different than the explanation given earlier in the embodiments. Hence, the determination operation is explained below with reference to FIG. 15. As illustrated in FIG. 15, firstly, the control unit 110 confirms the type of the light emitted by the imaging device onto the observation target (Step S3200). Then, the control unit 110 confirms whether or not the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (Step S3202). If the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (YES at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness (Step S3204). On the other hand, if the light emitted onto the observation target is not visible light (NO at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness (Step S3206). Then, the control unit 110 ends the determination operation--, in [0128]-[0129]).
Re Claim 19, claim 19 is the corresponding endoscope system claim to claims 1, 7 and 14. Claim 19 thus is rejected for the similar reasons for claims 1,7 and 14. See above discussions with regard to claims 1, 7 and 14. respectively. Furthermore, MICHIHATA as modified by KAMON and IKEMOTO further disclose ndoscope system comprising: a plurality of light sources that emit light rays having wavelength ranges different from each other; an endoscope that images a subject illuminated with illumination light emitted from the plurality of light sources (see MICHIHATA: e.g., --A medical control device includes a display control unit configured to display,… configured to receive light coming from an observation target; and a brightness control unit configured to control the brightness of the imaging signal in such a way that the display control unit displays the medical image having a predetermined brightness. When the dynamic range of the display device is set to a second value that is greater than a first value, the brightness control unit is configured to perform control to lower the brightness of the imaging signal as compared to the brightness of the imaging signal for displaying the medical image at the predetermined brightness when the dynamic range is set to the first value.--, in abstract, and, --in FIG. 2, the medical observation device 10 can also include one or more processors (not illustrated) configured with an arithmetic circuit such as an MPU (Micro Processing Unit); a ROM (Read Only Memory, not illustrated); a RAM (Random Access Memory, not illustrated); a recording medium (not illustrated); and a communication device (not illustrated). The medical observation device 10 operates, for example, on the electrical power supplied from an internal light source such as a battery installed therein or on the electrical power supplied from an external power source connected thereto.
The processor (not illustrated) functions as the control unit (not illustrated) of the medical observation device 10. The ROM (not illustrated) is used to store programs to be used by the processor (not illustrated) and to store control data such as operation parameters. The RAM (not illustrated) is used to temporarily store the programs executed by the processor (not illustrated).--, in [0032]-[0033], and, --Moreover, the control unit 140 can perform predetermined processing with respect to an imaging signal output from the camera head 136, and can transmit the processed imaging signal to the display device 20. Examples of the predetermined processing with respect to an imaging signal include white balance adjustment, image enlargement/reduction according to the electronic zoom function, and inter-pixel correction.--, in [0048]; and,
--(2) Control unit 110
The control unit 110 is configured with, for example, the processor (not illustrated) explained earlier, and fulfils the role of controlling the medical observation device 10 in entirety. Moreover, the control unit 110 fulfils a leading role in performing an imaging control operation (described later) and the display control operation (described later). The imaging control operation and the display control operation performed by the control unit 110 can be performed in a dispersed manner across a plurality of processing circuits (for example, a plurality of processors).--, in [0059]-[0060]); and the medical image processing system according to claim 14,
wherein the processor device includes a light source processor that is configured to perform control to emit each of a plurality of types of the illumination light having different combinations of light intensity ratios between the plurality of light sources from each other (see MICHIHATA: e.g., --when an imaging device takes images of the observation target such as the inside of the body of a patient, there can be times when objects other than the observation target, such as forceps or gauze, are captured as part of the photographic subject…to perform HDR (High Dynamic Range) photography in which a plurality of brightness images, which is taken at different timings by varying the shutter speed for imaging--, in [0002]-[0003]; and, --in an endoscope system, since it is demanded to have a compact camera head, it is difficult to use a large-sized image sensor. Moreover, in a photographing method in which a long-exposure image and a short-exposure image--, in [0016]-[0017]; and, Fig. 6, and, -- controlling the brightness when the imaging device takes images of the observation target. More particularly, the brightness control unit 112 identifies the dynamic range of the display device 20 based on determination information that enables determination of the display device 20. Then, the brightness control unit 112 decides on the brightness target value corresponding to the identified dynamic range of the display device 20… The dynamic range information represents information indicating the dynamic range of the display device 20. For example, the brightness control unit 112 obtains the dynamic range information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10. Alternatively, the brightness control unit 112 can obtain identification information from the display device 20 connected to the medical observation device 10; and then can obtain the dynamic range information of the display device 20 based on the identification information. For example, based on the obtained identification information, the brightness control unit 112 refers to the dynamic range information of the display device 20 as registered in advance in the memory unit of the medical observation device 10, and obtains the dynamic range information of the display device 20.--, in [0062]-[0065]; and, --the imaging device emits visible light (for example, white light) onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. Alternatively, for example, it is possible to use an imaging device that emits a special light onto the observation target at the time of taking images of the observation target. A medical image that is taken using a special light does not have halation. Hence, if the imaging device uses a special light to take images of the observation target, the control unit 110 decides on the brightness target value by taking into account the fact that the imaging device takes images of the observation target without lowering the brightness and that the display device 20 displays the medical images without increasing the brightness.--, in [0121]; and,
--Meanwhile, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using visible light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness. On the other hand, when the imaging device takes images of the observation target using a special light, the control unit 110 makes the imaging device take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness.
When the imaging device takes images of the observation target by switching between visible light and a special light at regular intervals, the flow of the determination operation is different than the explanation given earlier in the embodiments. Hence, the determination operation is explained below with reference to FIG. 15. As illustrated in FIG. 15, firstly, the control unit 110 confirms the type of the light emitted by the imaging device onto the observation target (Step S3200). Then, the control unit 110 confirms whether or not the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (Step S3202). If the light emitted onto the observation target is visible light (YES at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target by lowering the brightness (Step S3204). On the other hand, if the light emitted onto the observation target is not visible light (NO at Step S3202), then the control unit 110 decides to make the imaging unit 100 take images of the observation target without lowering the brightness (Step S3206). Then, the control unit 110 ends the determination operation--, in [0128]-[0129]).
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/WEI WEN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662