DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamazaki et al (20030222575), Yamazaki hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki discloses a display panel, comprising a display area (pixel portion, ¶ [77], fig. 1A) and a non-display area (drive circuit portion), and comprising: a substrate (910, ¶ [181], figs. 1A & 11B); a driving circuit layer, disposed on the substrate (910) and comprising a circuit unit (CU, hereinafter as denoted on the figure below) arranged in the non-display area (drive circuit portion); a first organic layer (5, ¶ [77], fig. 1A), comprising a first covering part (CP, hereinafter as denoted on the figure below) and a retaining wall part (RW, hereinafter as denoted on the figure below) both disposed on a side of the circuit unit (CU) away from the substrate (910), wherein the first covering part (CP) is disposed in the display area (pixel portion) and extends to the non-display area (drive circuit portion) (see figure below), and the retaining wall part (RW) is disposed on a lateral side of the first covering part (CP) away from the display area (pixel portion) and spaced apart from the first covering part (CP); a waterproof layer (14, ¶ [85], fig. 1A), covering the retaining wall part (RW); and a sealant (19a, ¶ [90], fig. 1A), disposed in the non-display area (drive circuit portion) and on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the substrate (910) and a side of the waterproof layer (14) away from the substrate (910), wherein an orthographic projection of the sealant (19a) on the substrate (910) overlaps with an orthographic projection of the retaining wall part (RW) on the substrate (910) (see figure below), and an orthographic projection of an end of the circuit unit (CU) away from the display area (pixel portion) on the substrate (910) is located within the orthographic projection of the retaining wall part (RW) on the substrate (910) (see figure below).
Regarding claim 10, Yamazaki discloses that the waterproof layer (14) corresponds to the non-display area (drive circuit portion) and covers a side of the first organic layer (5) away from the substrate (910) (See figs. 1A & 11B).
Regarding claim 11, Yamazaki discloses that a material of the waterproof layer (14) comprises at least one of silicon nitride, silicon oxide, and aluminum oxide (¶ [85]).
Regarding claim 13, Yamazaki discloses that the driving circuit layer further comprises a wiring unit (10, ¶ [83], fig. 1A) on a lateral side of the circuit unit (CU) away from the display area (pixel portion), and the orthographic projection of the sealant (19a) on the substrate (910) covers an orthographic projection of the wiring unit (10) on the substrate (910).
Regarding claim 14, Yamazaki discloses a display device, comprising a display panel (2003, ¶ [195], fig. 12A), wherein the display panel (2003) comprises a display area (pixel portion, ¶ [77], fig. 1A) and a non-display area (drive circuit portion), and comprises: a substrate (910, ¶ [181], figs. 1A & 11B); a driving circuit layer, disposed on the substrate (910) and comprising a circuit unit (CU, hereinafter as denoted on the figure below) arranged in the non-display area (drive circuit portion); a first organic layer (5, ¶ [77], fig. 1A), comprising a first covering part (CP, hereinafter as denoted on the figure below) and a retaining wall part (RW, hereinafter as denoted on the figure below) both disposed on a side of the circuit unit (CU) away from the substrate (910), wherein the first covering part (CP) is disposed in the display area (pixel portion) and extends to the non-display area (drive circuit portion) (see figure below), and the retaining wall part (RW) is disposed on a lateral side of the first covering part (CP) away from the display area (pixel portion) and spaced apart from the first covering part (CP); a waterproof layer (14, ¶ [85], fig. 1A), covering the retaining wall part (RW); and a sealant (19a, ¶ [90], fig. 1A), disposed in the non-display area (drive circuit portion) and on a side of the driving circuit layer away from the substrate (910) and a side of the waterproof layer (14) away from the substrate (910), wherein an orthographic projection of the sealant (19a) on the substrate (910) overlaps with an orthographic projection of the retaining wall part (RW) on the substrate (910) (see figure below), and an orthographic projection of an end of the circuit unit (CU) away from the display area (pixel portion) on the substrate (910) is located within the orthographic projection of the retaining wall part (RW) on the substrate (910) (see figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al (20030222575), Yamazaki hereinafter, in view of Wu (20190067629), Wu hereinafter.
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki discloses that the retaining wall part (RW) comprises a dam (DM, hereinafter as denoted on the figure above), and the waterproof layer (14) covers the dam (DM) and a portion between the dam (DM) and the first covering part (CP).
However, Yamazaki fails to exemplify that the waterproof layer is continuous.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses a waterproof layer (41, ¶ [60], fig. 4) that continuously covers a dam (31, ¶ [63]) and a portion between the dam (31), in order to form a complicated path that retards invasion of water vapor and oxygen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claimed invention to have the waterproof layer to be continuous as taught by Wu in the device of Yamazaki, in order to form a complicated path that retards invasion of water vapor and oxygen.
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki discloses that the retaining wall part (RW) comprises a plurality of dams (DM, hereinafter as denoted on the figure above), and the waterproof layer (14) covers the plurality of dams (DM), portions between any two adjacent ones of the dams (DM), and a portion between the first covering part (CP) and one of the dams (DM) adjacent to the first covering part (CP).
However, Yamazaki fails to exemplify that the waterproof layer is continuous.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses a waterproof layer (41, ¶ [60], fig. 4) that continuously covers a plurality of dams (31, ¶ [63]) and portions between any two adjacent ones of the dams (DM), in order to form a complicated path that retards invasion of water vapor and oxygen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claimed invention to have the waterproof layer to be continuous as taught by Wu in the device of Yamazaki, in order to form a complicated path that retards invasion of water vapor and oxygen.
Regarding claim 15, Yamazaki discloses that the retaining wall part (RW) comprises a dam (DM, hereinafter as denoted on the figure above), and the waterproof layer (14) covers the dam (DM) and a portion between the dam (DM) and the first covering part (CP).
However, Yamazaki fails to exemplify that the waterproof layer is continuous.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses a waterproof layer (41, ¶ [60], fig. 4) that continuously covers a dam (31, ¶ [63]) and a portion between the dam (31), in order to form a complicated path that retards invasion of water vapor and oxygen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claimed invention to have the waterproof layer to be continuous as taught by Wu in the device of Yamazaki, in order to form a complicated path that retards invasion of water vapor and oxygen.
Regarding claim 16, Yamazaki discloses that the retaining wall part (RW) comprises a plurality of dams (DM, hereinafter as denoted on the figure above), and the waterproof layer (14) covers the plurality of dams (DM), portions between any two adjacent ones of the dams (DM), and a portion between the first covering part (CP) and one of the dams (DM) adjacent to the first covering part (CP).
However, Yamazaki fails to exemplify that the waterproof layer is continuous.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses a waterproof layer (41, ¶ [60], fig. 4) that continuously covers a plurality of dams (31, ¶ [63]) and portions between any two adjacent ones of the dams (DM), in order to form a complicated path that retards invasion of water vapor and oxygen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claimed invention to have the waterproof layer to be continuous as taught by Wu in the device of Yamazaki, in order to form a complicated path that retards invasion of water vapor and oxygen.
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al (20030222575), Yamazaki hereinafter, in view of Yamazaki et al (20050073247), Yamazaki’247 hereinafter.
Regarding claim 12, Yamazaki discloses a package substrate (18, ¶ [90], figs. 1A & 11B) disposed opposite to the substrate (910), wherein the sealant (19a) is arranged between the substrate (910) and the package substrate (18) and is located in a boundary area (fig. 3A), an enclosed area (907, ¶ [179], fig. 11B) is defined between the substrate (910) and the package substrate (18) and surrounded by the sealant (19a).
However, Yamazaki fails to exemplify that a filling glue is filled in the enclosed area.
Meanwhile, ¶ [186] of Yamazaki discloses that the space (907) may be included with the substance having an effect of absorbing oxygen of water
In the same field of endeavor, Yamazaki’247 discloses an enclosed area that is filled with a resin (8001, ¶ [123], fig. 8) in which a desiccant (8002) is dispersed, a resin is well known in the art to be used as glue.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claimed invention to have a filling glue been filled in the enclosed area as taught by Yamazaki’247 in the device of Yamazaki, since a resin is well known in the art to be used as glue.
Regarding claim 20, Yamazaki discloses that the display panel comprises a package substrate (18, ¶ [90], figs. 1A & 11B) disposed opposite to the substrate (910), wherein the sealant (19a) is arranged between the substrate (910) and the package substrate (18) and is located in a boundary area (fig. 3A), an enclosed area (907, ¶ [179], fig. 11B) is defined between the substrate (910) and the package substrate (18) and surrounded by the sealant (19a).
However, Yamazaki fails to exemplify that a filling glue is filled in the enclosed area.
Meanwhile, ¶ [186] of Yamazaki discloses that the space (907) may be included with the substance having an effect of absorbing oxygen of water
In the same field of endeavor, Yamazaki’247 discloses an enclosed area that is filled with a resin (8001, ¶ [123], fig. 8) in which a desiccant (8002) is dispersed, a resin is well known in the art to be used as glue.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the claimed invention to have a filling glue been filled in the enclosed area as taught by Yamazaki’247 in the device of Yamazaki, since a resin is well known in the art to be used as glue.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if at least one the limitations indicated below were included in the base claim.
Regarding claim 4, the references of Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim 4, and specifically comprising the limitation directed to a second organic layer disposed on a side of the waterproof layer away from the first organic layer, wherein the second organic layer comprises a second covering part and a filling part, the second covering part is disposed in the display area and extends to the non-display area, the filling part is disposed on a lateral side of the second covering part away from the display area, and the filling part is disposed between any two adjacent ones of the dams and between the first covering part and the one of the dams adjacent to the first covering part.
Regarding claims 5-9, the claims are allowable for the reasons given in claim 4 because of their dependency status from claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the references of Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim 17, and specifically comprising the limitation directed to the display panel comprises a second organic layer disposed on a side of the waterproof layer away from the first organic layer, the second organic layer comprises a second covering part and a filling part, the second covering part is disposed in the display area and extends to the non-display area, the filling part is disposed on a lateral side of the second covering part away from the display area, and the filling part is disposed between any two adjacent ones of the dams and between the first covering part and the one of the dams adjacent to the first covering part.
Regarding claims 18-19, the claims are allowable for the reasons given in claim 17 because of their dependency status from claim 17.
Conclusion
/JOSE M DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ANNE M HINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875