DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “… encode information representing the determined cell reselection result for a transmission via a direct wireless communication to a further UE transmit relay reselection indication information to the remote terminal” However, the claim fails to positively show if the encoded information representing the determined measurement result is positively transmitted since “for a transmission via direct wireless communication to a further UE” is an intended use limitation. Absent a transmission of the encoded information, the claim simply states that the information representing the determined cell reselection is encoded and fails to disclose what this encoded information is used for.
In other words, the claimed apparatus obtains channel measurement, determines a cell reselection result, and encodes information representing the determined cell reselection result. However, the apparatus does not transmit the result to a further UE (i.e., … for a transmission via direct wireless communication to a further UE does not mean transmission to the UE).
Therefore, the claim seems to be directed to an abstract idea of receiving data, making a decision, and recording, writing down or saving the decision (for later transmission, but the transmission is not actually carried out), hence does not amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “an apparatus for a user equipment (UE). It is unclear if the claimed “apparatus” is the UE or another and separate “apparatus” The applicant’s specification suggests that the apparatus is actually the UE, and it is the UE carrying out the steps in claim 12 (see fig. 5, and paragraphs [0056]-[0061] below). However, the claim appears to suggest that there is the UE, and then an apparatus for the UE, and it is the apparatus for the UE that is performing the steps in claim 12.
This makes the claim unclear and hence indefinite.
Claims 2-11 and 13-17 are rejected based on their respective dependencies on claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 13 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20230012097 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses an apparatus for a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 6), the apparatus comprising: a processor (processor 3020, Fig. 9 ) configured to:
obtain a channel measurement for a radio communication channel associated with a network access node of a cel (step 606: Performing wireless signal measurement);
determine a cell reselection result based on the obtained channel measurement, wherein the determined cell reselection result represents whether to perform a cell reselection or not (step 607: Determining whether to perform cell reselection); encode information representing the determined cell reselection result for a transmission via a direct wireless communication to a further UE (inherent feature of step 607: Sending a reselection instruction).
Regarding claim 13, Liu further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to encode the information representing the determined cell reselection result, in case the cell reselection result is determined to perform the cell reselection (inherent feature of step 607: Sending a reselection instruction).
Regarding claim 15, Liu further discloses wherein the encoded information further comprises measurement information representative of the obtained channel measurement [(0113] Step 607, the mobile phone, in response to the measurement result indicating that a cell reselection is required, sends a reselection instruction to the wearable device A, the reselection instruction indicating a target cell for reselection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over America et al (US 20180063878 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 20180295497 A1).
Regarding claim 1, America et al discloses an apparatus ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a user equipment (UE 104), the apparatus comprising: a processor configured to: establish (establish a direct wireless connection with a UE: see fig. 4, paragraph 0037) direct wireless connection with a further UE (enable devices to perform D2D communication for communicating messages during an allocated resource slot and a bandwidth; paragraph 0006, 0047); decode (the processor may decode the exchanged information ; paragraph 0039) cellular network information received from the further UE via direct communication over the established direct wireless connection (connection establishment; the UEs 468, 470 are in D2D communication and the UEs 464, 466 are in D2D communication; in addition, LTE-D may enable a wireless device to discover nearby devices, and may enable the wireless device to send location information of the wireless device; fig. 4, paragraph 0045, 0047).
However, America does not specifically teach that the cellular network information comprises information associated with a cell selected by the further UE for cellular communication; configure cellular communications with a cellular network access node of the cell based on the decoded cellular network information.
On the other hand, Kim from the same field of endeavor, teaches that the cellular network information comprises information associated with a cell selected by the further UE for cellular communication (the UE is configured, the UE group is formed, and then the representative UE is selected; furthermore, the UE activates the AS layer and performs cell selection ; if the UE completes the cell selection process successfully, the UE performs a service request procedure, receives the MT call/data, and transmits a paging response message to the network entity; paragraph 0168, 0171, 0173); configure cellular communications with a cellular network access node of the cell based on the decoded cellular network information (a UE may configure the TAI through a tracking area code, which is information broadcast from a cell; when the user initially turns on the UE, the UE searches for a proper cell first, then, the UE establishes RRC connection in the cell and registers information in the core network ; note that remote UE triggers a TAU procedure to align its MME with that of the relay UE ; paragraph 0111-0112, 0178). Note that the Radio Resource Control layer, serves to configure radio bearers and control a logical channel, a transport channel, and a physical channel in relation to reconfiguration and release operations. The radio bearers represent a service provided by the second layer to ensure data transfer between a UE and the E-UTRAN (paragraph 0109). Furthermore, the relay UE and remote UE share the PLMN information, any one of them performs a PLMN selection procedure to register in the PLMN of the o,ther UE. A ProSe layer of the specific UE transmits information on a register PLMN of the other UE to the NAS layer, the NAS layer of the UE transmits, to the AS layer, an indicator indicating that PLMN selection is required, and then the AS layer transmits broadcasted PLMN IDs to the NAS layer by searching E-UTRAN bands (paragraph 0178, 0207-0208). It may be convenient to use the established direct wireless connections to configure cellular communications, transfer channel measurements, offload data packets associated with designated applications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Kim to the communication system of America in order to provide a method for supporting D2D direct communication for the purpose of preventing network entities from wasting radio resources.
Regarding claim 2, America as modified discloses an apparatus ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a user equipment (UE 104), wherein the processor is further configured to discover UEs that are capable of ProSe direct communications based on a ProSe discovery service (D2D discovery resources) wherein the processor is further configured to select (the UE may select a more relaxed discovery period from the discovery periods of the available tx pools, where the channel utilization may be a percentage of resources that is used for transmission; paragraph 0033) the further UE from discovered UEs based on obtained public land mobile network information associated with the discovered UEs (the discovery message 510 may include a message type field 530 and a proximity service application code field 540; the ProSe application code field 540 may be a 184 bit string that includes a 24 bit PLMN ID 550 and a 160 bit temporary identifier (ID) 560; the PLMN ID 550 includes a mobile country code, and a mobile network code ;the PLMN ID 550 may depend on a cell where the UE is camped; paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 3, America as modified discloses an apparatus ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a user equipment (UE 104), wherein the processor is further configured to establish the direct wireless connection according to one of a wireless-fidelity (Wi-Fi) Direct communication technology, a Bluetooth communication technology, a near field communication (NFC) technology, a cellular D2D communication technology (D2D communications system 460), or a further D2D communication technology provisioned by the ProSe services (the UE selects a transmit resource pool among the plurality of transmit resource pools for a D2D transmission within the discovery epoch based on the estimated channel utilizations; paragraph 0045, 0047, 0050).
Regarding claim 4, America as modified discloses an apparatus ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a user equipment (UE 104), wherein the cellular network information comprises cell information comprising at least one of: an identifier of the cell, an identifier of the cellular network access node (the secondary synchronization channel is within symbol 5 of slot 0 within subframes 0 and 5 of a frame, and carries a secondary synchronization signal that is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number; based on the physical layer identity and the physical layer cell identity group number, the UE can determine a physical cell identifier; paragraph 0067), an identifier of a mobile network operator (the application code may include 160 bits which may be mapped to a proximity-service application identifier). A device using LTE-D may communicate with an LTE-D server to determine the mapping between the application code and a structured string ; paragraph 0048, 0068), PLMN information (), available and/or used frequency bands for the cellular connection, mobile network code and/or mobile country code, availability of radio access technologies associated with the cellular connection, availability of other radio access technologies that are available to the further UE, received location area information, and/or received tracking area information (the discovery message 510 may include a message type field 530 and a proximity service application code field 540; the ProSe application code field 540 may be a 184 bit string that includes a 24 bit PLMN ID 550 and a 160 bit temporary identifier (ID) 560; the PLMN ID 550 includes a mobile country code, and a mobile network code ;the PLMN ID 550 may depend on a cell where the UE is camped; paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 7, America as modified discloses an apparatus ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a user equipment (UE 104), wherein the cellular network information further comprises neighbor cell information representative of neighbor cell measurements performed by the further UE during an idle mode; wherein the processor is further configured to configure the cellular communications based on the neighbor cell information (a user device may broadcast messages to nearby devices within proximity of the user device, and thus a nearby device may receive the broadcasted message; for example, in LTE-D, a discovery slot in a resource may be allocated for a device to perform a D2D communication after a certain period of time corresponding to a large portion of the resource; furthermore, the discovery message 510 may include a message type field 530 and a proximity service application code field 540; the ProSe application code field 540 may be a 184 bit string that includes a 24 bit PLMN ID 550 and a 160 bit temporary identifier 560 ; paragraph 0047, 0048, 0050).
Regarding claim 9, America as modified discloses an apparatus ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a user equipment (UE 104), wherein the cellular network information further comprises a common message for a group received by the further UE from the cellular network; wherein the processor is further configured to configure the cellular communication in case the UE is a member of the group (the secondary synchronization channel carries a secondary synchronization signal that is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number; based on the physical layer identity and the physical layer cell identity group number, the UE can determine a physical cell identifier ; paragraph 0028, 0035).
Regarding claim 10, America as modified discloses an apparatus ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a user equipment (UE 104), wherein the cell comprises a cell on which the further UE is camped (the ProSe application code field 540 may be a 184 bit string that includes a 24 bit PLMN ID 550 and a 160 bit temporary identifier (ID) 560; the PLMN ID 550 includes a mobile country code, and a mobile network code ;the PLMN ID 550 may depend on a cell where the UE is camped; paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 11, America as modified discloses an apparatus ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a user equipment (UE 104), wherein the processor is further configured to select the further UE from discovered UEs based on obtained public land mobile network (PLMN) information associated with the discovered UEs (a UE can rely on proximity services to discover and identify further cellular communication devices that are registered to the ProSe within a proximity; paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 18, America discloses a method ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a UE (UE 104), the method comprising: establishing (establish a direct wireless connection with a UE: see fig. 4, paragraph 0037) a direct wireless connection with a further UE (enable devices to perform D2D communication for communicating messages during an allocated resource slot and a bandwidth; paragraph 0006, 0047); decoding (the processor may decode the exchanged information ; paragraph 0039) cellular network information received via direct wireless communication over the established direct wireless connection from the further UE (connection establishment; the UEs 468, 470 are in D2D communication and the UEs 464, 466 are in D2D communication; in addition, LTE-D may enable a wireless device to discover nearby devices, and may enable the wireless device to send location information of the wireless device; fig. 4, paragraph 0045, 0047).
However, America et al, does not specifically teach that the cellular network information comprises information associated with a cell selected by the further UE for cellular communication; configure cellular communications with a cellular network access node of the cell based on the decoded cellular network information.
On the other hand, Kim et al, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that the cellular network information comprises information associated with a cell selected by the further UE for cellular communication (the UE is configured, the UE group is formed, and then the representative UE is selected; furthermore, the UE activates the AS layer and performs cell selection ; if the UE completes the cell selection process successfully, the UE performs a service request procedure, receives the MT call/data, and transmits a paging response message to the network entity; paragraph 0168, 0171, 0173); configure cellular communications with a cellular network access node of the cell based on the decoded cellular network information (a UE may configure the TAI through a tracking area code, which is information broadcast from a cell; when the user initially turns on the UE, the UE searches for a proper cell first, then, the UE establishes RRC connection in the cell and registers information in the core network ; note that remote UE triggers a TAU procedure to align its MME with that of the relay UE ; paragraph 0111-0112, 0178). Note that the Radio Resource Control layer, serves to configure radio bearers and control a logical channel, a transport channel, and a physical channel in relation to reconfiguration and release operations. The radio bearers represent a service provided by the second layer to ensure data transfer between a UE and the E-UTRAN (paragraph 0109). Furthermore, the relay UE and remote UE share the PLMN information, any one of them performs a PLMN selection procedure to register in the PLMN of the other UE. A ProSe layer of the specific UE transmits information on a register PLMN of the other UE to the NAS layer, the NAS layer of the UE transmits, to the AS layer, an indicator indicating that PLMN selection is required, and then the AS layer transmits broadcasted PLMN IDs to the NAS layer by searching E-UTRAN bands (paragraph 0178, 0207-0208). It may be convenient to use the established direct wireless connections to configure cellular communications, transfer channel measurements, offload data packets associated with designated applications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Kim to the communication system of America in order to provide a method for supporting D2D direct communication for the purpose of preventing network entities from wasting radio resources.
Regarding claim 19, America et al as modified discloses a method ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a UE (UE 104), wherein the cell comprises a cell on which the further UE is camped, or to which the further UE is connected (the ProSe application code field 540 may be a 184 bit string that includes a 24 bit PLMN ID 550 and a 160 bit temporary identifier (ID) 560; the PLMN ID 550 includes a mobile country code, and a mobile network code ;the PLMN ID 550 may depend on a cell where the UE is camped; paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 20, America et al as modified discloses a method ( fig. 1, fig. 4) for a UE (UE 104), further comprising discovering UEs that are capable of ProSe direct communications based on a ProSe discovery service according to radio parameters stored in a memory (a UE can rely on proximity services to discover and identify further cellular communication devices that are registered to the ProSe within a proximity; paragraph 0050).
Claims 5, 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over America et al (US 20180063878 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 20180295497 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al (US 20220078801A1).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 8, America and Kim disclose everything claimed as explained above except the feature of the decoded cellular network information comprises reselection information representative of a cell reselection decision of the further UE; wherein the processor is further configured to perform a cell reselection based on the reselection information, wherein the cellular network information further comprises beamforming information representative of a beam direction; wherein the processor is further configured to configure the cellular communications by selecting the beam.
However, Huang et al discloses a reselection information representative of a cell reselection decision of the further UE (MME selection for handovers to E-UTRAN 3GPP access network ; for intra-frequency cell reselection, the UE 1401 tries to camp on the best cell; paragraph 0161, 0285); wherein the processor is further configured to perform a cell reselection based on the reselection information (cell search (for initial synchronization and handover purposes); receiving an Initial Context Setup Request message, the NG-RAN 1410 may be allowed to apply some provisional/local policies, based on awareness of a particular slice that the UE 1401 is requesting to access ; for inter-frequency cell reselection, dedicated priorities can be used to control the frequency on which the UE 1401 camps ; paragraph 0173, 027, 0285), wherein the cellular network information further comprises beamforming information representative of a beam direction (performing the measurements using the narrow beams pattern may include performing a beam- search up to the network configuration; paragraph 0009); wherein the processor is further configured to configure the cellular communications by selecting the beam (MME selection for handovers ; the electronic device may perform an SCell activation procedure of an SCell with the radio node; narrow beam pattern and the second measurements may be based at least in part on an SCell configuration ; paragraph 0015, 0126, 0172-0173).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Huang to the modified system of Kim and America in order to provide a
method for activating an SCell with a narrow beam pattern in a wireless communication system.
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641