DETAILED ACTION
The present office action represents a final action on the merits.
Priority
This application claims the priority date of a Japanese Patent Application JP2021-054150 of March 26, 2021, and continuation of PCT/JP2022/014627 of March 25, 2022.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 5, and 8-10 are amended, claims 3-4, 6-7, and 11 are cancelled, and claims 1-2, 5, and 8-10 are pending. Claim 11 is listed in the claim set with no limitations and in Applicant’s Remarks, claim 11 is cancelled. Examiner is interpreting claim 11 as cancelled. Applicant should note in the claim set that claim 11 is cancelled. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 does not refer to a prior claim and it unclear from which claim it depends because claim 7 is cancelled. Examiner is interpreting claim 8 as referring to claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is drawn to a medication information management system, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., machine), Claims 2, 5, 8 and 10 are drawn to a management control device, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., machine), Claim 9 is drawn to a medication information management method implemented by a system, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., process).
Claim 1 recites a medication information management system comprising:
a management control device, provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network, configured to manage information indicating a status of medication administered to a medication target recipient and a terminal device capable of transmitting and receiving information data to and from the management control device via a network,
wherein the management control device comprises processing circuitry configured to:
generate medication certification information, individually for the medication target recipient, including at least identification information and information indicating a medication history of the medication target recipient, based on the information indicating the status of medication of the medication target recipient;
generate and store a token that has, as an attribute value, management information for managing the medication certification information and includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value;
update the information indicating the usage history in the token to the blockchain platform every time the medication certification information is used; and
upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of a corresponding token, and
the terminal device comprises processing circuitry configured to:
obtain from the management control device the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of the token and execute information processing in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information indicating the usage history,
wherein every time the medication certification information is used, a portable terminal used by a user of the medication certification information automatically adds usage date/time and usage location based on a location sensed by the portable terminal to the medication certification information, and the processing circuitry obtains the information indicating the usage date/time and usage location of the medication certification information from the portable terminal.
Claims 2, 5, 8 and 10 recites a management control device provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P)network, that is configured to obtain and manage information indicating a status of medication administered to a medication target recipient and is capable of transmitting and receiving information data to and from a terminal device via a network, the management control device comprising:
processing circuitry configured to
generate medication certification information, individually for the medication target recipient, including at least identification information and information indicating medication history of the medication target recipient, based on the information indicating the status of medication of the medication target recipient;
generate and store a token that has, as an attribute value, management information for managing the medication certification information and includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value;
update information indicating the usage history in the token to the blockchain platform every time the medication certification information is used; and
upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of a corresponding token,
wherein every time the medication certification information is used, a portable terminal used by a user of the medication certification information automatically adds usage date/time and usage location based on a location sensed by the portable terminal to the medication certification information, and the processing circuitry obtains the information indicating the usage date/time and usage location of the medication certification information from the portable terminal.
Claim 9 recites medication information management method implemented by a system comprising a management control device provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network, configured to obtain and manage information indicating a condition of medication administered to a medication target recipient and a terminal device capable of transmitting and receiving information data to and from the management control device via a network,
wherein the management control device is configured to implement:
a process of generating medication certification information individually for the medication target recipient based on the information indicating a condition of medication of the medication target recipient, the medication certification information including at least identification information and information indicating medication history of the medication target recipient;
a process of generating and storing a token that has, as an attribute value, management information for managing the medication certification information and includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value;
a process of updating the information indicating the usage history in the token to the blockchain platform every time the medication certification information is used; and
a process of, upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmitting to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of a corresponding token, and
the terminal device is configured to implement:
a process of obtaining the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of the token from the management control device and processing information in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information indicating the usage history,
wherein every time the medication certification information is used, a portable terminal used by a user of the medication certification information automatically adds usage date/time and usage location based on a location sensed by the portable terminal to the medication certification information, and the processing circuitry obtains the information indicating the usage date/time and usage location of the medication certification information from the portable terminal.
The bolded limitations, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a certain method of organizing human activity (e.g., gathering patient information; managing patient information, in this case manage information indicating a status of medication administered to a medication target recipient.). The underlined limitations are not part of the identified abstract idea (the method of organizing human activity) and are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Dependent claims 5, 8 and 10 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide an inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination.
The dependent claims include additional limitations but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 1, 2, and 9.
The additional elements from claim 1 include:
a medication information management system (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements from claims 1 and 2 include:
a management control device (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
processing circuitry (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a terminal device (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
via a network (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
store a token (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
the corresponding token (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements from claim 9 include:
a system (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a management control device (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a terminal device (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
via a network (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
store a token (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
the corresponding token (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a portable terminal (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f))
The dependent claims contain additional elements including from claims 5 and 10 include:
a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a processor of the management control device (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-10 are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e., the limitations not identified as part of the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception – for example, the recitation of a “medication information management system”, “processing circuitry”, “a management control device”, “a terminal device”, “a network”, “a token”, “a corresponding token”, “a system”, “a portable terminal”, “a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network”, “a program storage medium that stores a program”, “a processor of the management control device”, which amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea e.g. see Specification Paragraphs [0008]-[0011], [0033], [0037]-[0039], [0051], [0073], [0075], [0092] (see MPEP 2106.05(f));
Furthermore, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception because, the additional elements (i.e., the elements other than the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrated by:
The Specification discloses that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in nature (i.e., Paragraphs [0008]-[0011], [0033], [0037]-[0039], [0051], [0073], [0075], [0092] of the Specification discloses that the additional elements (i.e., a medication information management system, processing circuitry, a management control device, a terminal device, a network, store a token, the corresponding token, a system, the corresponding token, a portable terminal, a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network, a program storage medium that stores a program, a processor of the management control device, a processor of the terminal device) comprise a plurality of different types of generic computing systems that are configured to perform generic computer functions that are well understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry (i.e., healthcare);
Relevant court decisions: The following are examples of court decisions demonstrating well-understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II):
Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g. see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec – similarly, the current invention acquires medication administered data.
Dependent claims 5, 8 and 10 include other limitations, but none of these functions are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements recited in the aforementioned dependent claims similarly represent no more than those found in the independent claims.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to “significantly more” than the above identified abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves a medication information management system, management control device, terminal device, management method, and program storage medium for medication information or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claims 1-2, 5, and 8-10 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0185994 A1) in view of Swarnam (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0183480 A1), Jarvis (U.S. Pat. No. 12093403 B1), and Paixao (U.S Pub. No. 2016/0180022 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a medication information management system comprising a management control device, configured to manage information indicating a status of medication administered to a medication target recipient and a terminal device capable of transmitting and receiving information data to and from the management control device via a network (Paragraph [0008] discusses vaccination management including transmitting, by a medical institution device, a vaccination certificate issuance request, to a trusted institution server; and issuing, by the trusted institution server, a vaccination certification VC.),
wherein the management control device comprises processing circuitry configured to (Paragraphs [0008], [0068], [0071], and [0075] discuss the medical institution device and a processor, a memory, a communication circuit.):
generate medication certification information, individually for the medication target recipient, including at least identification information and information indicating a medication history of the medication target recipient, based on the information indicating the status of medication of the medication target recipient (Paragraphs [0042], [0079], and Table 5 discuss the vaccination management server may issue a vaccination certificate based on the received vaccine information, personal information, and vaccination information, the vaccination certificate issuance module may generate a vaccination certificate including at least a part of data included in the vaccine DB, the vaccination agency DB, and the vaccination history DB, the information may include identifier of vaccinated person, vaccine type, vaccine serial number, vaccination medical institution ID, vaccination information, follow-up information.);
generate and store a token that has, as an attribute value, management information for managing the medication certification information and includes information of the medication certification information in the attribute value (Paragraphs [0051], [0112], and [0129]-[0128] discuss a system operated based on a blockchain network with key values of the identifiers of subjects stored in the blockchain network, the identity authentication server may receive and store the push notification token from the second application of the personal electronic device, the identity authentication server may send a push notification to the personal electronic device through the push notification token and the second application and the vaccination management server may receive and store a push notification token from the first application of the medical institution electronic device, the vaccination management server may send a push notification to the medical institution electronic device through the push notification token and the first application; the vaccination management server may store a Verifiable Credential (VC) issuance history in the vaccination agency DB and record, the fact that the vaccination agency certification VC for the medical institution identifier has been issued and may be verified through the blockchain network.);
upon receipt of a reference request for the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information included in the attribute value of a corresponding token (Paragraph [0008] discusses transmitting, by the medical institution device, a vaccination certificate issuance request including vaccination information, an identity certification verifiable credential (VC) for the user received from the user device, a vaccination agency VC for the medical institution, and a digital signature of the medical institution, to the trusted institution server, verifying, by the trusted institution server, the vaccination agency VC based on a digital signature of a VC issuer included in the vaccination agency VC and the identifier of the trusted institution stored in the public distributed ledger, in response to the vaccination certificate issuance request.), and
the terminal device comprises processing circuitry configured to (Paragraphs [0008], [0068], [0071], and [0075] discuss the medical institution device and a processor, a memory, a communication circuit):
obtain from the management control device the information indicating the information included in the attribute value of the token and execute information processing in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information (Paragraphs [0008] and [0051] discuss transmitting, by the medical institution device, a vaccination certificate issuance request including vaccination information, an identity certificate verifiable credential (VC) for the user received from the user device and a system operated based on a blockchain network with key values of the identifiers of subjects stored in the blockchain network.);
wherein every time the medication certification information is used, a portable terminal used by a user of the medication certification information provides data of the medication certification information from the portable terminal (Paragraphs [0008], [0050], and [0068] discuss a processor may control the overall operation of the identity authentication server and a personal electronic device may generate a certificate, transmit it to a third party electronic device; in response to the vaccination certificate issuance request, issuing, by the trusted institution server, a vaccination certification VC including the vaccination information, at least some data included in the identity certification VC, and a digital signature of the trusted institution, based on the verification result and the determination result, and transmitting, by the trusted institution server, the vaccination certification VC to the user device.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network;
includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value;
a token update processing unit configured to update the information indicating the usage history in the token every time the medication certification information is used; and
upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history;
the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of the token and execute information processing in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information indicating the usage history;
the medication certification information automatically adds usage date/time and usage location based on a location sensed by the portable terminal to the medication certification information, and the processing circuitry obtains the information indicating the usage date/time and usage location of the medication certification information from the portable terminal.
Swarnam teaches:
provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network (Paragraphs [0001], [0008], [0034] discuss blockchain is a distributed ledger that using a peer-to-peer network, there are peer nodes that host chaincodes and one or more instances of one or more distributed ledgers, the distributed ledgers enable automatic enforcement of these terms, rules, etc. and each contain immutable records of transactions generated by one or more of the chaincodes.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include, provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network, as taught by Swarnam, in order to provide a secure infrastructure for smart cities and to facilitate the creation of a marketplace of social data where people share their private data for public benefit. (Swarnam Paragraph [0002].).
Jarvis teaches:
includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value (Column 3 lines 16-19 discuss all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger.);
a token update processing unit configured to update the information indicating the usage history in the token every time the medication certification information is used (Column 16-24 and Column 3 lines 16-23 discuss the credential data maintained by the wallet can be updated to indicate that access was validated, and the wallet can transmit an indication that access was validated to the distributed ledger, which can update a time stamp associated with the medical status to indicate that access was validated and all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger; records can be added to the distributed ledger as transactions and include a hashed record of the transaction, what was exchanged, the signatures of the parties, and may include additional detailed information depending on the type of distributed ledger used.); and
upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history (Column 3 lines 16-19 discuss all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger.), and
the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of the token and execute information processing in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information indicating the usage history (Column 3 lines 16-19 discuss all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include, includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value, a token update processing unit configured to update the information indicating the usage history in the token every time the medication certification information is used, upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history, and the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of the token and execute information processing in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information indicating the usage history, as taught by Jarvis, in order to permit users to provide credential data that can be validated in order to be granted access. (Jarvis Column 1 lines 16-18.).
Paixao teaches:
the medication certification information automatically adds usage date/time and usage location based on a location sensed by the portable terminal to the medication certification information, and the processing circuitry obtains the information indicating the usage date/time and usage location of the medication certification information from the portable terminal (Paragraphs [0011] discuss maintain a log wherein audit trails include records of transactions in an electronic medical record that provides verification of the activity, track information about who accessed the record, when the record was accessed, and indications about wat was done.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include the medication certification information automatically adds usage date/time and usage location based on a location sensed by the portable terminal to the medication certification information, and the processing circuitry obtains the information indicating the usage date/time and usage location of the medication certification information from the portable terminal, as taught by Paixao, in order to permit users to provide credential data that can be validated in order to be granted access. (Paixao Column 1 lines 16-18.).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses management control device, that is configured to obtain and manage information indicating a status of medication administered to a medication target recipient and is capable of transmitting and receiving information data to and from a terminal device via a network, the management control device comprising (Paragraph [0008] discusses vaccination management including transmitting, by a medical institution device, a vaccination certificate issuance request, to a trusted institution server; and issuing, by the trusted institution server, a vaccination certification VC.):
processing circuitry configured to generate medication certification information, individually for the medication target recipient, including at least identification information and information indicating medication history of the medication target recipient, based on the information indicating the status of medication of the medication target recipient (Paragraphs [0042], [0068], [0079], and Table 5 discuss a processor, a memory, a communication circuit and the vaccination management server may issue a vaccination certificate based on the received vaccine information, personal information, and vaccination information, the vaccination certificate issuance module may generate a vaccination certificate including at least a part of data included in the vaccine DB, the vaccination agency DB, and the vaccination history DB, the information may include identifier of vaccinated person, vaccine type, vaccine serial number, vaccination medical institution ID, vaccination information, follow-up information.);
generate and store a token that has, as an attribute value, management information for managing the medication certification information and includes information of the medication certification information in the attribute value (Paragraphs [0051], [0112], and [0129]-[0128] discuss a system operated based on a blockchain network with key values of the identifiers of subjects stored in the blockchain network, the identity authentication server may receive and store the push notification token from the second application of the personal electronic device, the identity authentication server may send a push notification to the personal electronic device through the push notification token and the second application and the vaccination management server may receive and store a push notification token from the first application of the medical institution electronic device, the vaccination management server may send a push notification to the medical institution electronic device through the push notification token and the first application; the vaccination management server may store a Verifiable Credential (VC) issuance history in the vaccination agency DB and record, the fact that the vaccination agency certification VC for the medical institution identifier has been issued and may be verified through the blockchain network.);
upon receipt of a reference request for the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information included in the attribute value of a corresponding token (Paragraph [0008] discusses transmitting, by the medical institution device, a vaccination certificate issuance request including vaccination information, an identity certification verifiable credential (VC) for the user received from the user device, a vaccination agency VC for the medical institution, and a digital signature of the medical institution, to the trusted institution server, verifying, by the trusted institution server, the vaccination agency VC based on a digital signature of a VC issuer included in the vaccination agency VC and the identifier of the trusted institution stored in the public distributed ledger, in response to the vaccination certificate issuance request.);
wherein every time the medication certification information is used, a portable terminal used by a user of the medication certification information provides data of the medication certification information from the portable terminal (Paragraphs [0008], [0050], and [0068] discuss a processor may control the overall operation of the identity authentication server and a personal electronic device may generate a certificate, transmit it to a third party electronic device; in response to the vaccination certificate issuance request, issuing, by the trusted institution server, a vaccination certification VC including the vaccination information, at least some data included in the identity certification VC, and a digital signature of the trusted institution, based on the verification result and the determination result, and transmitting, by the trusted institution server, the vaccination certification VC to the user device.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P)network;
includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value
update the information indicating the usage history in the token to the blockchain platform every time the medication certification information is used; and
upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history;
the medication certification information automatically adds usage date/time and usage location based on a location sensed by the portable terminal to the medication certification information, and the processing circuitry obtains the information indicating the usage date/time and usage location of the medication certification information from the portable terminal.
Swarnam teaches:
provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network (Paragraphs [0001], [0008], [0034] discuss blockchain is a distributed ledger that using a peer-to-peer network, there are peer nodes that host chaincodes and one or more instances of one or more distributed ledgers, the distributed ledgers enable automatic enforcement of these terms, rules, etc. and each contain immutable records of transactions generated by one or more of the chaincodes.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include, provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network, as taught by Swarnam, in order to provide a secure infrastructure for smart cities and to facilitate the creation of a marketplace of social data where people share their private data for public benefit. (Swarnam Paragraph [0002].).
Jarvis teaches:
includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value (Column 3 lines 16-19 discuss all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger.);
update the information indicating the usage history in the token every time the medication certification information is used (Column16-24 and Column 3 lines 16-23 discuss the credential data maintained by the wallet can be updated to indicate that access was validated, and the wallet can transmit an indication that access was validated to the distributed ledger, which can update a time stamp associated with the medical status to indicate that access was validated and all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger; records can be added to the distributed ledger as transactions and include a hashed record of the transaction, what was exchanged, the signatures of the parties, and may include additional detailed information depending on the type of distributed ledger used.); and
upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history (Column 3 lines 16-19 discuss all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include, includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value, update the information indicating the usage history in the token every time the medication certification information is used and upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmit to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history, as taught by Jarvis, in order to permit users to provide credential data that can be validated in order to be granted access. (Jarvis Column 1 lines 16-18.).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses wherein the processing circuitry of the terminal device executes, based on the obtained information, at least one of a process for generating information for managing post-medication behavioral history individually for the medication target recipient, a process for generating information for managing a health condition individually for the medication target recipient, a process for generating statistical information and a process for generating dynamic information indicating a behavioral tendency of a plurality of medication target recipients (Paragraphs [0008], [0068], [0192]-[0194], and Table 5 discuss a processor, a memory, a communication circuit and vaccination management server including transmitting, by a medical institution device, a vaccination certificate issuance request, to a trusted institution server; and personal electronic device may transmit a result of self-diagnosis to the vaccination management server and update the vaccination history database and update the follow-up information for an individual.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
based on the obtained information indicating the usage history, a process for generating statistical information indicating usage status of the medication certification information.
Jarvis teaches:
based on the obtained information indicating the usage history, a process for generating statistical information indicating usage status of the medication certification information (Column 16-24 and Column 3 lines 16-23 discuss the credential data maintained by the wallet can be updated to indicate that access was validated, and the wallet can transmit an indication that access was validated to the distributed ledger, which can update a time stamp associated with the medical status to indicate that access was validated and all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger; records can be added to the distributed ledger as transactions and include a hashed record of the transaction, what was exchanged, the signatures of the parties, and may include additional detailed information depending on the type of distributed ledger used.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include, based on the obtained information indicating the usage history, a process for generating statistical information indicating usage status of the medication certification information, as taught by Jarvis, in order to permit users to provide credential data that can be validated in order to be granted access. (Jarvis Column 1 lines 16-18.).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses medication information management method implemented by a system comprising a management control device, configured to obtain and manage information indicating a condition of medication administered to a medication target recipient and a terminal device capable of transmitting and receiving information data to and from the management control device via a network (Paragraphs [0007]-[0008] discuss method and system for vaccination management including transmitting, by a medical institution device, a vaccination certificate issuance request, to a trusted institution server; and issuing, by the trusted institution server, a vaccination certification VC, the system operated on a blockchain network.),
wherein the management control device is configured to implement (Paragraph [0008] discusses the medical institution device):
a process of generating medication certification information individually for the medication target recipient based on the information indicating a condition of medication of the medication target recipient, the medication certification information including at least identification information and information indicating medication history of the medication target recipient (Paragraphs [0042], [0079], and Table 5 discuss the vaccination management server may issue a vaccination certificate based on the received vaccine information, personal information, and vaccination information, the vaccination certificate issuance module may generate a vaccination certificate including at least a part of data included in the vaccine DB, the vaccination agency DB, and the vaccination history DB, the information may include identifier of vaccinated person, vaccine type, vaccine serial number, vaccination medical institution ID, vaccination information, follow-up information.);
a process of generating and storing a token that has, as an attribute value, management information for managing the medication certification information and includes information of the medication certification information in the attribute value (Paragraphs [0051], [0112], and [0129]-[0128] discuss a system operated based on a blockchain network with key values of the identifiers of subjects stored in the blockchain network, the identity authentication server may receive and store the push notification token from the second application of the personal electronic device, the identity authentication server may send a push notification to the personal electronic device through the push notification token and the second application and the vaccination management server may receive and store a push notification token from the first application of the medical institution electronic device, the vaccination management server may send a push notification to the medical institution electronic device through the push notification token and the first application; the vaccination management server may store a Verifiable Credential (VC) issuance history in the vaccination agency DB and record, the fact that the vaccination agency certification VC for the medical institution identifier has been issued and may be verified through the blockchain network.);
a process of, upon receipt of a reference request for the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmitting to the terminal device of a request source the information included in the attribute value of a corresponding token (Paragraph [0008] discusses transmitting, by the medical institution device, a vaccination certificate issuance request including vaccination information, an identity certification verifiable credential (VC) for the user received from the user device, a vaccination agency VC for the medical institution, and a digital signature of the medical institution, to the trusted institution server, verifying, by the trusted institution server, the vaccination agency VC based on a digital signature of a VC issuer included in the vaccination agency VC and the identifier of the trusted institution stored in the public distributed ledger, in response to the vaccination certificate issuance request.), and
the terminal device is configured to implement (Paragraph [0008] discusses medical institution device.):
a process of obtaining the information included in the attribute value of the token from the management control device and processing information in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information (Paragraphs [0008] and [0051] discuss transmitting, by the medical institution device, a vaccination certificate issuance request including vaccination information, an identity certificate verifiable credential (VC) for the user received from the user device and a system operated based on a blockchain network with key values of the identifiers of subjects stored in the blockchain network.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network;
includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value;
a process of updating the information indicating the usage history in the token to the blockchain platform every time the medication certification information is used; and
upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmitting to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history;
the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of the token from the management control device and processing information in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information indicating the usage history, wherein every time the medication certification information is used, a portable terminal used by a user of the medication certification information automatically adds usage date/time and usage location based on a location sensed by the portable terminal to the medication certification information, and the processing circuitry obtains the information indicating the usage date/time and usage location of the medication certification information from the portable terminal.
Swarnam teaches:
provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network (Paragraphs [0001], [0008], [0034] discuss blockchain is a distributed ledger that using a peer-to-peer network, there are peer nodes that host chaincodes and one or more instances of one or more distributed ledgers, the distributed ledgers enable automatic enforcement of these terms, rules, etc. and each contain immutable records of transactions generated by one or more of the chaincodes.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include, provided in a blockchain platform in which a plurality of distributed ledgers are connected via a peer-to-peer (P2P) network, as taught by Swarnam, in order to provide a secure infrastructure for smart cities and to facilitate the creation of a marketplace of social data where people share their private data for public benefit. (Swarnam Paragraph [0002].).
Jarvis teaches:
includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value (Column 3 lines 16-19 discuss all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger.);
a process of updating the information indicating the usage history in the token every time the medication certification information is used (Column 16-24 and Column 3 lines 16-23 discuss the credential data maintained by the wallet can be updated to indicate that access was validated, and the wallet can transmit an indication that access was validated to the distributed ledger, which can update a time stamp associated with the medical status to indicate that access was validated and all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger; records can be added to the distributed ledger as transactions and include a hashed record of the transaction, what was exchanged, the signatures of the parties, and may include additional detailed information depending on the type of distributed ledger used.); and
upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmitting to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history (Column 3 lines 16-19 discuss all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger.), and
the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of the token from the management control device and processing information in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information indicating the usage history (Column 3 lines 16-19 discuss all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include, includes information indicating usage history of the medication certification information in the attribute value, a process of updating the information indicating the usage history in the token every time the medication certification information is used, upon receipt of a reference request for the usage history of the medication certification information from the terminal device, transmitting to the terminal device of a request source the information indicating the usage history, and the information indicating the usage history included in the attribute value of the token from the management control device and processing information in accordance with a predetermined purpose based on the obtained information indicating the usage history, as taught by Jarvis, in order to permit users to provide credential data that can be validated in order to be granted access. (Jarvis Column 1 lines 16-18.).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a non-transitory program storage medium that stores a program by which operations of the processing units of the management control device according to claim 2 are implemented by a processor of the management control device (Paragraph [0206] discusses a processor of the electronic device may invoke at least one of the one or more instructions stored in the storage medium, and execute it; the machine-readable storage medium may be provided in the form of non-transitory storage medium.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Swarnam, Jarvis, and Paixao and in further view of Sparks (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0326474 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain consent information prior to use of the medication certification information from at least one of the medication target recipient corresponding to the medication certification information and a user of the medication certification information, the consent information indicating whether or not a consent is achieved to usage of the usage date/time and the usage location, wherein when the consent to the usage is confirmed based on the consent information, the token update processing unit updates the information indicating the usage history in the token.
Jarvis teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain the usage date/time and the usage location, wherein when the usage is confirmed based on the information, the token update processing unit updates the information indicating the usage history in the token (Column 1 lines 23-25, Column 3 lines 16-23, and Column 16-24 discuss the access validation system includes one or more processors that cause a distributed ledger to generate a record data structure regarding a user; the credential data maintained by the wallet can be updated to indicate that access was validated, and the wallet can transmit an indication that access was validated to the distributed ledger, which can update a time stamp associated with the medical status to indicate that access was validated and all exchanges can be logged in the distributed ledger for audit tracking, etc. and verification of information can be used with information in the distributed ledger; records can be added to the distributed ledger as transactions and include a hashed record of the transaction, what was exchanged, the signatures of the parties, and may include additional detailed information depending on the type of distributed ledger used.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain the usage date/time and the usage location, wherein when the usage is confirmed based on the information, the token update processing unit updates the information indicating the usage history in the token, as taught by Jarvis, in order to permit users to provide credential data that can be validated in order to be granted access. (Jarvis Column 1 lines 16-18.).
Sparks teaches:
a consent information obtainment processing unit configured to obtain consent information prior to use of the medication certification information from at least one of the medication target recipient corresponding to the medication certification information and a user of the medication certification information, the consent information indicating whether or not a consent is achieved to usage, wherein when the consent to the usage is confirmed based on the consent information (Paragraphs [0063], [0071], and [0169] discuss with the user's permission, the vaccination record system will query the state immunization registries (SIRs) where you or your minor children have received vaccinations and allows users to allow their data in the system and accessed by authorized EMR personnel, for example, the subscriber signs an agreement that authorizes a First Responder or an Emergency Medical Doctor or Nurse to access their vault in an emergency situation. An Emergency Code would be entered in the subscriber's mobile phone, for example, to open the subscriber's vault. The First Responder or ER licensed physician or nurse would then input information such as their name, their employer, the reason(s) for accessing the subscriber's vault, and date and time of review of the records. For example, a First Responder could arrive at a subscriber's home and find a subscriber, such an elderly person, in severe respiratory distress. The first responder could immediately review the subscriber's immunization records and COVID-19 health status records stored in vault.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include, a consent information obtainment processing unit configured to obtain consent information prior to use of the medication certification information from at least one of the medication target recipient corresponding to the medication certification information and a user of the medication certification information, the consent information indicating whether or not a consent is achieved to usage, wherein when the consent to the usage is confirmed based on the consent information, as taught by Sparks, in order to ensure that patients have all of their immunizations and that the information is available when your doctor needs it to help decide which shots should be given and when. (Sparks Paragraph [0004].).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112:
Examiner withdraws the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation:
Examiner withdraws the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101:
With respect to claim 1 and the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, Applicant’s amendment fails to overcome the previous rejection. Claim 1 as amended recites an abstract idea, a method of organizing human activity. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People. Applicant states, “the claims acquire information indicating the usage history of the medication certification information by referring to the token of the medication certification information and updating it to a blockchain platform. The update of a use based on sensed date/time and location is also generated automatically from a terminal of a user of the medication certification information. Therefore, the present claims as a whole provide an improvement to this technological environment and also integrate any interpreted judicial exception into a clear practical application.” (Remarks, page 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here, there is no technical improvement, only an improvement to the abstract idea.
While practical application is a way to overcome the Prong 2 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, here, claim 1 fails to integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. Here, acquiring information indicating the usage history of the medication certification information by referring to the token of the medication certification information and updating it to a blockchain platform, does not result in a practical application as it is recited as part of the abstract idea, as stated above. All components in the claims are being used for their intended purpose and as written do not result in a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea. For the reasons stated above, claims 2 and 9 similarly fail to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103:
With respect to claim 1 and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, Applicant’s amendment overcomes the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered and the Examiner’s rejection has been updated to address Applicant’s claim amendments and additions. Similarly, Examiner’s rejection related to claims 2 and 9 has been amended.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWN T. HAYNES/
Art Unit 3686
/RACHELLE L REICHERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686