DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification recites:
deposited at a volume ratio of 5:5 (page 44, line 3). It appears that the specification describes only one material in the second light emitting layer. However, the volume ratio of 5:5 should mean the ratio of two materials. The descriptions need correction to incorporate a second material or to delete the volume ratio of 5:5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, Applicant recites “a first electron transfer layer”. In claim 5, Applicant recited “a first electron transport layer”. It is suggested to use one of transport and transfer layers to maintain consistency of the claim languages.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, the independent claims 1 and 13 each discloses a light emitting element, wherein each claim requires a first luminescent layer to comprise a first main body material, a second main body material, a first auxiliary material, and a first guest material, wherein the first main body material forms a first excimer complex with the second main body material; and the first excited triplet state energy level (hereafter T1 energy) of the first excimer complex is higher than the T1 energy of the first auxiliary material; and the T1 energy of the first auxiliary material is higher than the T1 energy of the first guest material.
Per MPEP 2163 (II)(A)(3)(ii), the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The instant disclosure does not adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus. The instant specification discloses a list of examples of the first and the second main body materials ([0060]). The instant specification additionally discloses the first excimer complex can be formed by a hole transport compound and an electron transport compound; however, the specification does not disclose which examples are hole and electron transport compounds, respectively, nor provide any guidance on how to select the hole and electron transport compounds, respectively. The instant specification discloses specific examples of the first guest material and the first auxiliary material ([0051]); however, the instant specification does not provide any guidance on how to select the first auxiliary material and the first guest material to satisfy the T1 energy relationships.
While the instant disclosure exemplary compounds which can be the first main body material, the second main body material, the first auxiliary material, and the first guest material, these examples do not adequately represent the full scope of the claimed materials, which may be of many varied classes of compounds including those comprising other class of materials (e.g. inorganic materials, polymer materials, organometallic materials, etc.) Even in a limited condition of the same class of materials (i.e. both main body materials are small molecules), the claimed excimer complex includes unlimited variety of first main body materials and second main body materials having one of them is an electron transport compound and the other is a hole transport compound. In the given list of specific examples ([0060]), there are many compounds having both hole and electron transport properties such as the compounds comprising carbocyclic groups only, indicating that it is unclear how to select a first and a second main body materials among the given examples.
Similarly, while the instant disclosure examples of a first auxiliary material and a first guest material, these examples do not adequately represent the full scope of the claimed materials, which may be of many varied classes of compounds including those comprising other class of materials (e.g. inorganic materials, polymer materials, and small organic molecules comprising no metal atom). Even in a limited condition of the same class of materials (i.e. both first auxiliary material and first guest material are organometallic complexes), the claimed luminescence layer includes unlimited variety of first auxiliary materials and first guest materials.
The instant specification disclose two examples of light emitting elements (Table 1); however, none of the examples are encompassed by the claimed light emitting element because there are only two light emitting layers in each of the examples. Instead, the independent claims 1 and 13 require total three light emitting layers in the element (i.e. a first light emitting layer, a second light emitting layer, … and a first luminescent layer); thus, there is no specific example is disclosed. If the light emitting elements in Table 1 were encompassed by the limitation of claims 1 and 13, there would be only one set of exemplary materials. The materials of the first luminescent layers of both elements in Table 1 are same; thus, the instant specification discloses only one set of examples of first main body material, second main body material, first auxiliary material, and first guest material ([0110]).
The limited number of examples described in the disclosure do not provide a representative number of species sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus of first luminescent layer materials, as described above.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for some of light emitting elements, does not reasonably provide enablement for all light emitting elements in claims 1 and 13. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, the independent claims 1 and 13 each discloses a light emitting element comprising a first light emitting layer, a second light emitting layer, and a first luminescent layer, wherein each claim requires the first luminescent layer to comprise a first main body material, a second main body material, a first auxiliary material, and a first guest material, wherein the first main body material forms a first excimer complex with the second main body material; and the first excited triplet state energy level (hereafter T1 energy) of the first excimer complex is higher than the T1 energy of the first auxiliary material; and the T1 energy of the first auxiliary material is higher than the T1 energy of the first guest material.
The first luminescent layer requires a specific combination of a first main body material, a second main body material, a first auxiliary material, and a first guest material. However, the instant disclosure fails to contain proper written descriptions of the first luminescent layer such that an ordinary skill in the art would not make and use the invention without undue experiment.
The claim is drawn towards an exceedingly broad genus of possible combinations of a first main body material, a second main body material, a first auxiliary material, and a first guest material which could conceivably meet the claimed limitation.
(Wands factor A – the breadth of the claims) Applicant claims a luminescent layer comprising a first main body material, a second main body material, a first auxiliary material, and a first guest material, wherein the first main body material forms a first excimer complex with the second main body material; and the T1 energy of the first excimer complex is higher than the T1 energy of the first auxiliary material; and the T1 energy of the first auxiliary material is higher than the T1 energy of the first guest material
Applicant does not provide any additional limitation on the detailed structures of a first main body material, a second main body material, a first auxiliary material, and a first guest material. The possible number of first luminescent layer which meets the claim limitation is exceedingly large.
(Wands factor C – state of the prior art) Prior arts typically provide a specific guidance how to form the claimed first luminescent layer, in specific, such prior arts claim detailed structural formulas for each of the first main body material, the second main body material, the first auxiliary material, and the first guest material.
(Wands factor F – amount of direction provided by Applicant). The instant disclosure does not adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus. The instant specification discloses a list of examples of the first and the second main body materials ([0060]). The instant specification additionally discloses the first excimer complex can be formed by a hole transport compound and an electron transport compound; however, the specification does not disclose which examples are hole and electron transport compounds, respectively, nor provide any guidance on how to select the hole and electron transport compounds, respectively. The instant specification discloses specific examples of the first guest material and the first auxiliary material ([0051]); however, the instant specification does not provide any guidance on how to select the first auxiliary material and the first guest material to satisfy the T1 energy relationships.
While the instant disclosure exemplary compounds which can be the first main body material, the second main body material, the first auxiliary material, and the first guest material, these examples do not adequately represent the full scope of the claimed materials, which may be of many varied classes of compounds including those comprising other class of materials (e.g. inorganic materials, polymer materials, organometallic materials, etc.) Even in a limited condition of the same class of materials (i.e. both main body materials are small molecules), the claimed excimer complex includes unlimited variety of first main body materials and second main body materials having one of them is an electron transport compound and the other is a hole transport compound. In the given list of specific examples ([0060]), there are many compounds having both hole and electron transport properties such as the compounds comprising carbocyclic groups only, indicating that it is unclear how to select a first and a second main body materials among the given examples.
Similarly, while the instant disclosure examples of a first auxiliary material and a first guest material, these examples do not adequately represent the full scope of the claimed materials, which may be of many varied classes of compounds including those comprising other class of materials (e.g. inorganic materials, polymer materials, and small organic molecules comprising no metal atom). Even in a limited condition of the same class of materials (i.e. both first auxiliary material and first guest material are organometallic complexes), the claimed luminescence layer includes unlimited variety of first auxiliary materials and first guest materials.
The instant specification disclose two examples of light emitting elements (Table 1); however, none of the examples are encompassed by the claimed light emitting element because there are only two light emitting layers in each of the examples. Instead, the independent claims 1 and 13 require total three light emitting layers in the element (i.e. a first light emitting layer, a second light emitting layer, … and a first luminescent layer). Additionally, the specification does not disclose the light emitting material of the second light emitting layer (page 44, line 2); thus, no single specific example is disclosed. If an ordinary skill in the art only refers to the luminescent layer materials of the light emitting elements in Table 1, there would be only one set of exemplary materials. The materials of the first luminescent layers of both elements in Table 1 are same; thus, the instant specification discloses only one set of examples of first main body material, second main body material, first auxiliary material, and first guest material ([0110]).
There is no general guidance on which first main body material, which second main body material, which first auxiliary material, and which first guest material should be selected to form the claimed luminescent layer. For example, there are no general structural formulas for the first main body material, the second main body material, the first auxiliary material, and the first guest material are provided.
There could be a massive number of possible combination of the first main body material, the second main body material, the first auxiliary material, and the first guest material. The specification fails to teach the direction of selecting each compound of the claimed luminescent layer.
Compared to the size of the scope of the claims, the direction to select each compound is limited to a portion of examples described, failing to teach the direction for the entire scope of the claimed luminescent layer.
(Wands factor G – number of working examples) Applicant provides total two examples of light emitting elements (Table 1); however, none of the examples are encompassed by the claimed light emitting element because there are only two light emitting layers in each of the examples. Instead, the independent claims 1 and 13 require total three light emitting layers in the element (i.e. a first light emitting layer, a second light emitting layer, … and a first luminescent layer). Additionally, the specification does not disclose the light emitting material of the second light emitting layer (page 44, line 2). Thus, no single working example is disclosed. If an ordinary skill in the art only refers to the luminescent layer materials of the light emitting elements in Table 1, there would be only one set of exemplary materials. The materials of the first luminescent layers of both elements in Table 1 are same; thus, the instant specification discloses only one set of examples of first main body material, second main body material, first auxiliary material, and first guest material ([0110]).
The independent claims 1 and 13 claim a luminescent layer comprising a first main body material, a second main body material, a first auxiliary material, and a first guest material.
There are nearly unlimited number of luminescent layers that read on the claimed limitation. The examples that Applicant provides only read on a minute portion of the exceedingly large scope of potential luminescent layer of the claims.
(Wands factor H – the quantity of experimentation needed to make the invention) As outlined above in Wands factors A-G, there are unlimited number of luminescent layers which are possibly formed by the claimed materials. A person having ordinary skill in the art wound not be able to make the invention without an undue amount of experimentation from the sheer number of possible a first main body material, a second main body material, a first auxiliary material, and a first guest material.
For these reasons, Applicant has not provided sufficient evidence that would enable a person of ordinary skill to make and use the invention as claimed. Accordingly, the specification fails to sufficiently enable a person having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to practice the invention commensurate with the full scope of the claims.
Regarding claims 2-12 and 14-20, claims 2-12 and 14-20 are rejected due to the dependency from claims 1 and 13.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Note that an evidentiary reference by Kalinowski et al. (“Excimers and exciplexes in organic electroluminescence by Kalinowski” as a chapter of a book, “Materials Science-Poland”, 2009, vol. 27, No. 3, page 735-756, hereafter Kalinowski) is included.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, the independent claims 1 and 13 each discloses “a first main body material forms a first excimer complex with the second main body material”.
An excimer is formed in-between same kind of molecules in a single-component organic solid. When a complex is formed in-between two different molecules such as a donor and an acceptor, the complex is called exciplex as evidenced by Kalinowski (page 736 and as reproduced below).
The specification recites “the first excimer complex is formed by the interaction between the first host material molecule in the excited state and the second host material molecule in the excited state. … for example, the first host material is a hole transport organic compound, and the second host material is an electron transport compound.” ([0052]). It appears that the specification states the claimed excimer complex is formed between two different molecules.
It is unclear whether the claimed excimer complex is a complex formed between two different molecules or between the molecules in a single component, rendering this claim indefinite.
For the purpose of prosecution, the Examiner interprets the limitation to mean an excited-state complex formed between a first main body material and a second main body material, wherein the first main body material is different from the second main body material; and one of them is a hole transport compound and the other is an electron transport compound.
Regarding claims 2-12 and 14-20, claims 2-12 and 14-20 are rejected due to the dependency from claims 1 and 13.
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites “the first electron transfer layer”. However, none of claims 1 and 5 claims a first electron transfer layer. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of prosecution, the Examiner interprets the limitation to mean a first electron transport layer.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites “the first hole transport layer”. However, none of claims 1, 6, and 8 claims a hole transport layer. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of prosecution, the Examiner interprets the limitation to mean a first hole transport layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0346029 A1, hereafter Kim ‘029) in view of Liao et al. (US 2006/0040132 A1, hereafter Liao) and Lin et al. (US 2011/0012505 A1, hereafter Lin) as evidenced by Shitagaki et al. (US 2018/0269410 A1, hereafter Shitagaki), Lai et al. (US 20140070194 A1, hereafter Lai), Kim et al. (“Harnessing Triplet Excited States by Fluorescent Dopant Utilizing Codoped Phosphorescent Dopant in Exciplex Host for Efficient Fluorescent Organic Light Emitting Diodes” Adv. Optical Mater. 2017, vol. 5, page 1600749-1 to -6, hereafter Kim ‘2017), Wang et al. (“High-efficiency organic light-emitting diodes with exciplex hosts” J. Mater. Chem. C, 2019, vol. 7, page 11329-11360, hereafter Wang), and Muhammad et al. (“Study of optoelectronic energy bands and molecular energy levels of tris (8-hydroxyquinolinate) gallium and aluminum organometallic materials from their spectroscopic and electrochemical analysis” J. Organometallic Chem. 2010, vol. 695, page 2526-2531, hereafter Muhammad).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11-13, 15-16, and 18-19, Kim ‘029 discloses a light emitting element comprising a luminescent layer (“emission layer”) containing and a hole transporting host and an electron transporting host together of which form an exciplex, a phosphorescent dopant, and a fluorescent dopant ([0004]). Kim ‘029 exemplifies a light emitting element comprising an electrode (ITO), a TAPC layer, a TCTA layer, a luminescent layer (TCTA as a hole transporting host, B4PYMPM as an electron transporting host, Ir(ppy)3 as a phosphorescent dopant, DCJTB as a fluorescent dopant), a B4PYMPM layer, a LiF layer, and an electrode (Al) (Example 1 in [0083] and Table 2).
Kim ‘029 teaches that the first excited triplet state energies (hereafter T1 energy) of the TCTA:B4PYMPM exciplex, Ir(ppy)3, and DCJTP are each 2.45 eV, 2.4 eV, and 1.75 eV, respectively (Table 1).
The light emitting element of Kim ‘029 does not emit white light nor be a tandem (i.e. stacked) light emitting element.
Liao discloses a tandem light emitting element comprising multiple white EL units, wherein neighboring white EL units are separated by a charge generation layer (“connector”) (Fig. 3, [0023]). Liao teaches that each white EL unit can be formed by stacking multiple luminescent layers having different colors such as RGB, RB, or YB (Figs. 5-6, [0047], [0137]-[0138], and [0158]-[0159]). Liao teaches that each charge generation layer can be formed by staking n-type doped organic layer and a p-type doped organic layer (Fig. 8, [0028]). Liao exemplifies Alq doped with Li as the n-typed doped organic layer and NPB doped with F4TCNQ as the p-type doped organic layer ([0143]). Liao teaches the white tandem device provides high luminance efficiency and high brightness ([0009]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the light emitting element of Kim ‘029 by combining the organic layers of the device with at least a blue luminescent layer and incorporate the combined layers into each of the white EL units of the tandem white light emitting element, as taught by Kim ‘029 and Liao.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide a tandem white light emitting element with high luminance efficiency and high brightness, based on teaching of Liao.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The modification provides Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao comprising an electrode (ITO), a light emitting unit, a charge generation layer (CGL), a light emitting unit, a CGL, a light emitting unit, and an electrode (Al), wherein each light emitting unit comprises a TAPC layer, a TCTA layer, a luminescent layer (TCTA as a hole transporting host, B4PYMPM as an electron transporting host, Ir(ppy)3 as a phosphorescent dopant, DCJTB as a fluorescent dopant), a blue luminescent layer (TCTA as a hole transporting host, B4PYMPM as an electron transporting host, and a blue dopant), a B4PYMPM layer, a LiF layer; and the CGL comprises a first CGL (Alq doped with Li) and a second CGL (NPB doped with F4TCNQ).
A combined layer formed by stacking multiple luminescent layers is equated with a luminescent layer because each sublayers are luminescent layers.
The Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao is equated with a light emitting element comprising a first electrode (ITO), a first light emitting unit (a hole transport layer (TAPC), an electron barrier layer (TCTA), a first light emitting layer (sublayer 1 containing TCTA as a first main body material, B4PYMPM as a second main body material, Ir(ppy)3 as a fist auxiliary material, DCJTB as a first guest material and sublayer 2 containing TCTA, B4PYMPM, and a blue emitter), a hole barrier layer (B4PYMPM), an electron transport layer (LiF)), a CGL, a light emitting unit (a hole transport layer (TAPC), an electron barrier layer (TCTA), a first luminescent layer (sublayer 1 containing TCTA as a first main body material, B4PYMPM as a second main body material, Ir(ppy)3 as a fist auxiliary material, DCJTB as a first guest material and sublayer 2 containing TCTA, B4PYMPM, and a blue emitter), a hole barrier layer (B4PYMPM), an electron transport layer (LiF)), a CGL, a second light emitting unit (a second hole transport layer (TAPC), a second electron barrier layer (TCTA), a second light emitting layer (sublayer 1 containing TCTA as a third main body material, B4PYMPM as a fourth main body material, Ir(ppy)3 as a second auxiliary material, DCJTB as a second guest material and sublayer 2 containing TCTA, B4PYMPM, and a blue emitter), a hole barrier layer (B4PYMPM), an electron transport layer (LiF)), and a second electrode (Al), wherein the CGL comprises a first CGL (Alq doped with Li) and a second CGL (NPB doped with F4TCNQ); and the T1 energy of the TCTA:B4PYMPM exciplex, Ir(ppy)3, and DCJTP are each 2.45 eV, 2.4 eV, and 1.75 eV (Table 1), respectively, meeting all the limitations of claims 1, 7, 9, and 11.
Kim ‘029 in view of Liao does not disclose a display panel comprising the Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao; however, Liao does teach that a white light emitting element can be incorporated in a pixel of a full color display ([0004]), and the pixel is employed as a part of a display panel ([0042]), indicating that a white light emitting element can be incorporated in a display panel.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao by incorporating it into a display panel as a part of pixels, as taught by Kim ‘029 and Liao.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of light emitting elements in a display panel would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides a display panel comprising the Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao, meeting all the limitations of claims 13 and 19.
With respect to claims 6 and 18, the electron barrier layers are capable of transporting holes such that the second electron barrier layer (TCTA) in the second light emitting unit is interpreted as a second hole transport layer. The second light emitting unit is equated with a TAPC layer, a second hole transport layer (TCTA), a second light emitting layer, a B4PYMPM layer, a LiF layer), meeting all the limitations of claims 6 and 18.
Kim ‘029 in view of Liao reads on the claimed limitations above but does not disclose the highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) energy and the lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy of the TCTA:B4PYMPM exciplex.
However, it is reasonable to presume that the HOMO energy of the exciplex is same as the HOMO energy of the donor material (i.e. hole transport host, TCTA) and the LUMO energy of the exciplex is same as the LUMO energy of the acceptor material (i.e. electron transport host, B4PYMPM).
Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials which result in the claimed property.
Shitagaki evidences that the HOMO energy of the exciplex is same as the HOMO energy of the donor material (second organic compound in Fig. 17) and the LUMO energy of the exciplex is same as the LUMO energy of the acceptor material (first organic compound in Fig. 17) as evidenced by Shitagaki ([0149]).
Therefore, the HOMO energy of the exciplex is same as the HOMO energy of TCTA and the LUMO energy of the exciplex is same as the LUMO energy of B4PYMPM.
The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once an exciplex of TCTA:B4PYMPM is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977). Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though the rejection is based on Section 103 instead of 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
With respect to claims 2 and 15, as outlined above, the TCTA layer having a direct contact with the light emitting layer is equated with a hole transport layer because the layer is capable of transporting holes. A difference between the HOMO of the first hole transport layer (TCTA) and the HOMO of the first excimer complex (TCTA:B4PYMPM) is less than 0.4 eV because the two HOMO energies are same, meeting all the limitation of claims 2 and 15.
With respect to claim 3, the LUMO energy of the first hole transport material (TCTA) is 2.2 eV as evidenced by Lai ([0055]), the LUMO energy of the excimer complex is same as the LUMO energy of B4PYMPM which is 3.47 eV as evidenced by Kim ‘2017 (Fig. 2b). Thus, difference between the LUMO energies is greater than 0.2 eV, meeting all the limitation of claim 3.
With respect to claim 4, the TCTA layer having a direct contact with the light emitting layer is an electron barrier layer, and the TAPC layer is a hole transport layer. A difference between the HOMO of the first electron barrier layer (TCTA) and the HOMO of the first excimer complex (TCTA:B4PYMPM) is less than 0.4 eV because the two HOMO energies are same, meeting all the limitation of claims 4 and 16.
With respect to claim 12, Muhammad evidences that the LUMO of Alq3 is 3.4 eV (Fig. 9). Wang evidences that the HOMO energy of NPB is 5.4 eV (Fig. 9a). A difference between a LUMO energy of the first CGL (i.e. the LUMO of Alq, 3.4 eV) and a HOMO of the second CGL (i.e. the HOMO of NPB, 5.4 eV) is less than 3 eV, meeting all the limitation of claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, the display panel of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao reads on all the features of claim 13 as outlined above.
The display panel comprises multiple pixels such as R, G, B pixels, each of which comprises the Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao. Thus, the Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao included in a green, red, and blue pixel is equated with a green, red, and blue light emitting element, respectively. In each of Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao, there are three white light emitting units each of which has at least two light emitting layers (i.e. blue and yellow). The yellow light emitting layer can read on all the limitation of a green light emitting layer, because the layer contains an Ir(ppy)3 emitter and/or the broad emission spectrum of the DCJTB emitter includes a green spectral region such that the layer necessarily emits (a portion of) green light.
The Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao is equated with a light emitting element comprising a first green light emitting unit electrode (ITO), a first green light emitting unit (a TAPC layer, a first green light emitting unit hole transport layer (TCTA), a first green light emitting layer (sublayer 1 containing TCTA as a first main body material, B4PYMPM as a second main body material, Ir(ppy)3 as a fist auxiliary material, DCJTB as a first guest material and sublayer 2 containing TCTA, B4PYMPM, and a blue emitter), a B4PYMPM layer, a LiF layer), a CGL, a light emitting unit (a TAPC layer, a TCTA layer, a first luminescent layer (sublayer 1 containing TCTA as a first main body material, B4PYMPM as a second main body material, Ir(ppy)3 as a fist auxiliary material, DCJTB as a first guest material and sublayer 2 containing TCTA, B4PYMPM, and a blue emitter), a B4PYMPM layer, a LiF layer), a CGL, a second green light emitting unit (a TAPC layer, a second green light emitting unit hole transport layer (TCTA), a second green light emitting layer (sublayer 1 containing TCTA as a third main body material, B4PYMPM as a fourth main body material, Ir(ppy)3 as a second auxiliary material, DCJTB as a second guest material and sublayer 2 containing TCTA, B4PYMPM, and a blue emitter), a B4PYMPM layer, a LiF layer), and a second green light emitting electrode (Al), wherein the CGL comprises a first CGL (Alq doped with Li) and a second CGL (NPB doped with F4TCNQ).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, the light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao reads on all the features of claim 1 as outlined above and the display panel of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao reads on all the features of claim 13 as outlined above.
The device comprises an electrode (ITO), a light emitting unit, a charge generation layer (CGL), a light emitting unit, a CGL, a light emitting unit, and an electrode (Al), wherein each light emitting unit comprises a TAPC layer, a TCTA layer, a luminescent layer (TCTA as a hole transporting host, B4PYMPM as an electron transporting host, Ir(ppy)3 as a phosphorescent dopant, DCJTB as a fluorescent dopant), a blue luminescent layer (TCTA as a hole transporting host, B4PYMPM as an electron transporting host, and a blue dopant), a B4PYMPM layer, a LiF layer; and the CGL comprises a first CGL (Alq doped with Li) and a second CGL (NPB doped with F4TCNQ).
The device does not comprise Alq3 as the electron transport material; however, Kim ‘029 does teach the electron transport layer can be formed by Alq3. Alq3 is a well-known and commercially available electron transporting material in the art.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao by incorporating an electron transport layer of Alq3 between the hole barrier layer of B4PYMPM and an electron injection layer of LiF, as taught by Kim ‘029 and Liao.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide the device using a well-known and commercially available electron transport material.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of electron transport layer materials would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao (2) comprises an electrode (ITO), a light emitting unit, a charge generation layer (CGL), a light emitting unit, a CGL, a light emitting unit, and an electrode (Al), wherein each light emitting unit comprises a TAPC layer, a TCTA layer, a luminescent layer (TCTA as a hole transporting host, B4PYMPM as an electron transporting host, Ir(ppy)3 as a phosphorescent dopant, DCJTB as a fluorescent dopant), a blue luminescent layer (TCTA as a hole transporting host, B4PYMPM as an electron transporting host, and a blue dopant), a hole barrier layer (B4PYMPM), an electron transport layer (Alq3), a LiF layer; and the CGL comprises a first CGL (Alq doped with Li) and a second CGL (NPB doped with F4TCNQ).
A difference between the LUMO level of the excimer complex (TCTA:B4PYMPM) and the first hole barrier layer (B4PYMPM) is less than 0.3 eV because the LUMO level of the excimer complex is the same as the LUMO level of B4PYMPM as outlined above.
The LUMO energy of B4PYMPM is 3.47 eV as evidenced by Kim ‘2017 (Fig. 2b). The LUMO energy of Alq3 is 3.4 eV as evidenced by Muhammad (Fig. 9); thus, the difference is less than 0.3 eV.
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0346029 A1) in view of Liao et al. (US 2006/0040132 A1) as applied to claims 1-7, 9, and 11-19 above, further in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0092887 A1, hereafter Lee).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8, 10, and 20, the Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao reads on all the features of claim 6 as outlined above, and the display panel of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao reads on all the features of claim 13 as outlined above.
The device comprises an electrode (ITO), a light emitting unit, a charge generation layer (CGL), a light emitting unit, a CGL, a light emitting unit, and an electrode (Al), wherein each light emitting unit comprises a TAPC layer, a TCTA layer, a luminescent layer (TCTA as a hole transporting host, B4PYMPM as an electron transporting host, Ir(ppy)3 as a phosphorescent dopant, DCJTB as a fluorescent dopant), a blue luminescent layer (TCTA as a hole transporting host, B4PYMPM as an electron transporting host, and a blue dopant), a B4PYMPM layer, a LiF layer; and the CGL comprises a first CGL (Alq doped with Li) and a second CGL (NPB doped with F4TCNQ).
Kim ‘029 in view of Liao does not teach the mobility of the second hole transport layer is greater than a mobility of the first hole transport layer (claim 8), and the mobility of the second electron transfer layer is smaller than a mobility of the first electron transfer layer (claim 10).
Lee discloses a tandem light emitting element (Fig. 2, [0013]), wherein the hole mobility of the second HTL (222 in Fig. 2; i.e. the hole transport layer of the inner light emitting unit) is lower than the hole mobility of the first HTL (212 in Fig. 2; the hole transport layer of the light emitting unit closer to the first electrode in [0099]-[0100]), which provides high luminous efficiency ([0013]). Lee further teaches that a charge balance of the second luminescent layer can be regulated by the second ETL (226 in Fig. 2) having a high electron mobility such that the luminous efficiency of the second luminescent layer can be improved ([0104]). Similarly, an ordinary skill in the art would regulate the electron mobility of the first ETL being low since the hole mobility of the first HTL is high to regulate a charge balance of the first luminescent layer.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao by substituting the hole transport materials such that the hole transport layer of the inner light emitting unit has lower hole mobility than the hole transport layer of the light emitting unit closer to the bottom electrode (i.e. anode), and substituting the electron transport materials such that the electron transport layer of the inner light emitting unit has higher electron mobility than the electron transport layer of the light emitting unit closer to the bottom electrode (i.e. anode) as taught by Kim ‘029, Liao, and Lee.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide high luminous efficiency and regulated charge balance based on the teaching of Lee.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The modification provides Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao and Lee comprising a first electrode (ITO), a light emitting unit (hole transport layers, a luminescent layer (sublayer 1 containing TCTA as a first main body material, B4PYMPM as a second main body material, Ir(ppy)3 as a fist auxiliary material, DCJTB as a first guest material and sublayer 2 containing TCTA, B4PYMPM, and a blue emitter), electron transfer layers), a CGL, a first light emitting unit (a first hole transport layer, a first light emitting layer (sublayer 1 containing TCTA as a first main body material, B4PYMPM as a second main body material, Ir(ppy)3 as a fist auxiliary material, DCJTB as a first guest material and sublayer 2 containing TCTA, B4PYMPM, and a blue emitter), a first electron transfer layer), a CGL, a second light emitting unit (a second hole transport layer, a second light emitting layer (sublayer 1 containing TCTA as a first main body material, B4PYMPM as a second main body material, Ir(ppy)3 as a fist auxiliary material, DCJTB as a first guest material and sublayer 2 containing TCTA, B4PYMPM, and a blue emitter), a second electron transfer layer), and a second electrode (Al), wherein the CGL comprises a first CGL (Alq doped with Li) and a second CGL (NPB doped with F4TCNQ); a mobility of the second hole transport layer is greater than a mobility of the first hole transport layer; and a mobility of the second electron transfer layer is smaller than a mobility of the first electron transfer layer, meeting all the limitations of claims 1, 6, 8, and 10.
The modification also provides a display panel comprising the Light emitting element of Kim ‘029 as modified by Liao and Lee, meeting all the limitations of claim 20.
Conclusion
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786