DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 18/474424 filed on September 26, 2023 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 2, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kato (US 20230144684).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 below) a power tool (title, Abstract, ¶ 6) including an electronic clutch (¶ 63; ¶ 64),
the power tool comprising: a motor (50) (¶ 66);
a power switch (21a) (¶ 65; ¶ 83);
a speed sensor (51) configured to sense a speed of the motor (50) (¶ 95; ¶ 82); and
a controller (60) connected to the power switch (21a) (¶ 87 to ¶ 91; ¶ 83),
the motor (50), and the speed sensor (51), the controller (60) configured to: provide, in response to actuation of the power switch, power to the motor (50) (¶ 83),
determine a first parameter command (Set_du) based on the speed of the motor, determine, while in a first operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105), whether the first parameter command (Set_du) is greater than or equal to a first parameter limit (Max_du), determine, while in the first operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105) and when the first parameter command (Set_du) is greater than or equal to the first parameter limit (Max_du), a pulse width modulation (“PWM”) duty cycle ratio based on the first parameter limit (Max_du) (¶ 145 to ¶ 153),
determine, while in a second operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105), whether a second parameter command (Set_du) is greater than or equal to a second parameter limit (Max_du), determine, while in the second operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105) and when the second parameter command (Set_du) is greater than or equal to the second parameter limit (Max_du), the PWM duty cycle ratio based on the second parameter limit (Max_du), and drive the motor based on the PWM duty cycle ratio (¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the first parameter command (Set_du in drill mode) is one of a first torque command or a first current command; and the second parameter command (Set_du in clutch mode) is one of a second torque command or a second current command (¶ 29; ¶ 80 ¶ 145 to ¶ 152).
Regarding claim 3/1, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the controller (60) is further configured to: determine, based on the speed of the motor (Now_sp) and a speed command signal (Tg_sp), a first parameter command (Set_du) (¶ 140 to ¶ 153);
compare the first parameter command (Set_du) to a torque-current look-up table (value Set_du is compared to value Max_du obtained in look-up table, see ¶ 141; ¶ 151 to ¶ 153);
determine, based on the comparison, an electric current value to provide to the motor; and provide the electric current value to the motor to drive the motor (¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 4/3/1, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) a current sensor (43) configured to provide current signals indicative of a current of the motor (50) (¶ 89),
wherein the controller (60) is further configured to: receive, from the current sensor (43), the current signals indicative of the current of the motor (60), determine the PWM duty cycle ratio based on the current of the motor and the electric current value, and drive the motor according to the PWM duty cycle ratio (¶ 89 to ¶ 97; ¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 5/1, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the controller (60) is further configured to: control, in response to actuation of the power switch (21a), the motor (50) according to the first operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105) for a third period of time (¶ 65; ¶ 83; ¶ 156; ¶ 157).
Regarding claim 6/5/1, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the controller (60) is further configured to: limit, in response to the third period of time being satisfied, a motor current provided to the motor for a fourth period of time (¶ 65; ¶ 83; ¶ 156; ¶ 157).
Regarding claim 7/6/5/1, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the controller (60) is further configured to: control, in response to the fourth period of time being satisfied, the motor according to the first operating mode (¶ 65; ¶ 83; ¶ 156; ¶ 157).
Regarding claim 8/1, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the controller (60) is further configured to: determine, while in the first operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105) and when the first parameter command (Set_du) is less than the first parameter limit (Max_du), the PWM duty cycle ratio based on the first parameter command (Set_du), and determine, while in the second operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105) and when the second parameter command (Set_du) is less than the second parameter limit (Max_du), the PWM duty cycle ratio based on the second parameter command (¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 9, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) a method for operating a power tool including an electronic clutch (¶ 62 to ¶ 66; ¶ 49 to ¶ 55), the method comprising:
providing, in response to actuation of a power switch (21a), power to a motor (50) (¶ 65; ¶ 66; ¶ 83);
determining a first parameter command (Set_du) based on a speed of the motor (50); determining, while in a first operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105), whether the first parameter command (Set_du) is greater than or equal to a first parameter limit (Max_du); determining, while in the first operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105) and when the first parameter command (Set_du) is greater than or equal to the first parameter limit (Max_du), a pulse width modulation (“PWM”) duty cycle ratio based on the first parameter limit (Max_du); determining, while in a second operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105), whether a second parameter command (Set_du) is greater than or equal to a second parameter limit (Max_du); determining, while in the second operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105) and when the second parameter command (Set_du) is greater than or equal to the second parameter limit (Max_du), the PWM duty cycle ratio based on the second parameter limit (Max_du); and drive the motor based on the PWM duty cycle ratio (¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 10/9, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the first parameter command (Set_du in drill mode) is one of a first torque command or a first current command; and the second parameter command (Set_du in clutch mode) is one of a second torque command or a second current command (¶ 29; ¶ 80 ¶ 145 to ¶ 152).
Regarding claim 11/9, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) determining, based on the speed of the motor (Now_sp) and a speed command signal (Tg_sp), the first parameter command (Set_du) (¶ 140 to ¶ 153);
comparing the first parameter command (Set_du) to a torque-current look-up table (value Set_du is compared to value Max_du obtained in look-up table, see ¶ 141; ¶ 151 to ¶ 153);
determining, based on the comparison, an electric current value to provide to the motor; and providing the electric current value to the motor to drive the motor (¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 12/11/9, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) receiving current signals indicative of the current of the motor, determining the PWM duty cycle ratio based on the current of the motor and the electric current value, and driving the motor according to the PWM duty cycle ratio (¶ 89 to ¶ 97; ¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 13/9, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) controlling, in response to actuation of the power switch, the motor according to the first operating mode for a third period of time; limiting, in response to the third period of time being satisfied, a motor current provided to the motor for a fourth period of time; and controlling, in response to the fourth period of time being satisfied, the motor according to the first operating mode (¶ 65; ¶ 83; ¶ 156; ¶ 157).
Regarding claim 14/9, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) determining, while in the first operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105) and when the first parameter command (Set_du) is less than the first parameter limit (Max_du), the PWM duty cycle ratio based on the first parameter command (Set_du), and determining, while in the second operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105) and when the second parameter command (Set_du) is less than the second parameter limit (Max_du), the PWM duty cycle ratio based on the second parameter command (¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 15, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) a power tool (title, Abstract, ¶ 6) including an electronic clutch (¶ 63; ¶ 64),
the power tool comprising: a motor (50) (¶ 66);
a speed sensor (51) configured to sense a speed of the motor (50) (¶ 95; ¶ 82);
a current sensor (43) configured to sense a current of the motor (50) (¶ 89); and
a controller (60) connected to the motor (50), the speed sensor (51), and the current sensor (¶ 87 to ¶ 91; ¶ 83)
the controller (60) configured to: drive, while in a first operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105), the motor (50) based on the speed of the motor and a torque limit value (¶ 63; ¶ 64; ¶ 145 to ¶ 153),
receive a user input indicative of a request to operate in a second operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105, ¶ 64), and
drive, while in the second operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105), the motor (50) based on the speed of the motor (50) and the current of the motor (¶ 111; ¶ 112; ¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 16/15, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the controller (60) is further configured to: determine, while in the first operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105), a torque command based on a speed command and the speed of the motor (50); determine, while in the first operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105), whether the torque command is greater than or equal to the torque limit value; determine, while in the first operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105) and when the torque command is greater than or equal to the torque limit value, a pulse width modulation (“PWM”) duty cycle ratio based on the first torque limit; and drive the motor based on the PWM duty cycle ratio (¶ 63; ¶ 64; ¶ 107; ¶ 108; ¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 17/15, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the controller (60) is further configured to: determine, while in the second operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105), a current command based on a speed command, the speed of the motor, and the current of the motor; determine, while in the second operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105), whether the current command is greater than or equal to a current threshold; determine, while in the second operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105) and when the current command is greater than or equal to the current threshold, a pulse width modulation (“PWM”) duty cycle ratio based on the current threshold, and drive the motor based on the PWM duty cycle ratio (¶ 63; ¶ 64; ¶ 107; ¶ 108; ¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 18/17/15, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the controller (60) is further configured to: determine, while in the second operating mode (in drill mode, see ¶ 105) and when the current command is less than the current threshold, the PWM duty cycle ratio based on the speed of the motor and the current of the motor; and drive the motor based on the PWM duty cycle ratio (¶ 63; ¶ 64; ¶ 107; ¶ 108; ¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 19/15, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) while in the first operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105), the controller (60) is further configured to: determine, based on the speed of the motor (Now_sp) and a speed command signal (Tg_sp), a torque command (Set_du) (¶ 140 to ¶ 153);
compare the torque command (Set_du) to a torque-current look-up table (value Set_du is compared to value Max_du obtained in look-up table, see ¶ 141; ¶ 151 to ¶ 153);
determine, based on the comparison, an electric current value to provide to the motor; and provide the electric current value to the motor to drive the motor (¶ 145 to ¶ 153).
Regarding claim 20/15, Kato teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 7 above) the controller (60) is further configured to: control, in response to actuation of a power switch (21a), the motor according to the first operating mode (in clutch mode, see ¶ 105) for a first period of time (¶ 65; ¶ 83; ¶ 155; ¶ 156);
limit, in response to the first period of time being satisfied, a motor current provided to the motor for a second period of time; and control, in response to the second period of time being satisfied, the motor according to the first operating mode (¶ 65; ¶ 83; ¶ 155; ¶ 156).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834