DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-14) and species (b) (illustrated in Figure 4) (claims 1-6, 8, 13 and 14)1 in the reply filed on June 22, 20226 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: pressure control member in claim 1.
Claims 1-6, 8, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “pressure control member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. While the specification refers to the pressure control member being a valve in at least one instance, the specification as well as the claim here leaves room for the pressure control member being more than merely a valve. Whatever more there may be is unclear. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishiyama (US Patent No. 7,455,213 B2).
(Claim 1) Nishiyama discloses an adsorption device (10B) that includes: a main body (Fig. 7A) that includes an inner space portion (61; Figs. 6B-7D), a bottom portion (Figs. 6B-7D - a portion below a median plane between an upper surface and a lower surface of the body), and a substrate adsorption portion (Figs. 6B-7D - a portion above the inner space portion 61) that protrudes from the bottom portion. The substrate adsorption portion is configured to adhere to a first surface of a substrate by a negative pressure (Figs. 6A-7D). A pressure control member (62) maintains a pressure of the inner space portion.
(Claim 2) One or more adsorption holes (60) are formed in the substrate adsorption portion (Figs. 6A-7D).
(Claim 3) The pressure control member (62) maintains the inner space portion in a vacuum state (Figs. 6B-7D; Col. 11, Lines 52-67; Col. 12, Lines 1-24). The adsorption device maintains adherence to the substrate during a reflow process, and separates from the substrate by breaking the vacuum of the inner space portion subsequent to the reflow process (Col. 12, Lines 1-53). It is worth noting, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
(Claim 4) The substrate adsorption portion is capable of adhering to the first surface of the substrate to be a dummy chip or an artificial chip in a reflow process. Again, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
(Claim 5) The substrate is capable of having a plurality of semiconductor chips on the first surface (Fig. 6A). The substrate adsorption portion is capable of adhering between a dummy region each adjacent pair of the plurality of semiconductor chips (Figs. 6A-7D). An adhesion area of the substrate adsorption portion is capable of being 50 % to 95 % of the dummy region. Again, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
(Claim 6) The pressure control member includes a valve (62).
(Claim 8) In this interpretation, a chip adsorption hole (61) is formed in the bottom portion (a portion below mid-plane in Figs. 6B-7D). The bottom portion is configured to adhere to a semiconductor chip on the substrate (at least indirectly, Figs. 6A-7D). In an alternative interpretation, the bottom portion may be the bottom surface of a receiving portion (12).
(Claim 13) The adsorption device has a long axis edge and a short axis edge that intersect (with each other - Fig. 6A). The pressure control member (62) is fluidly connected to the short axis edge (Figs. 6A-7D).
(Claim 14) The main body includes stainless steel (Col. 8, Lines 41-52).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Huang et al. (US Patent No. 11,605,554 B2) (discloses a vacuum chuck for gripping a semiconductor package configured for reflow of solder bumps (14)); and Cheng et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0027431 A1) (discloses vacuum chuck for semiconductor package with internal space and valve for controlling suction).
/RYAN RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
1 The election of species was done in the interview dated July 1, 2026.