DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 5, and 13 are independent.
This Application was published as US 20250104693.
Apparent priority is 9/26/2023.
The instant Application is directed to a method of generating synthetic speech with prosody characteristics based on the natural language input.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments are considered but are either unpersuasive or moot in view of the new grounds of rejection that, if presented, were necessitated by the amendments to the Claims.
This action is Final.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 101
Applicant’s amendments/arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections under 35 USC 101 are withdrawn.
35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg. 12) that because Liu teaches multiple layers configured for related text-classification tasks, it would not have been obvious to use multiple layers configured for natural language generation and prosody prediction.
Examiner disagrees. Bonar discloses multiple layers ([0005] discloses an LLM which would have multiple layers) which are configured for natural language and prosody prediction (Fig. 3 shows Large Language Model 302 outputs Text Response 318 and Style Cues 322). As noted previously, Bonar does not explicitly disclose that one set of the layers is specific to natural language generation while another set of the layers is specific to prosody prediction.
Liu teaches the application of a multi-task architecture with a specific example of text classification. However, Section 3 discloses shared layer architecture generically. Classification is not mentioned in this section; rather Liu refers only to “tasks” and presents an architecture that could be applied to any neural machine learning model. Furthermore, Liu teaches multi-task learning for a model that classifies sentiment from text. (Section 5.1 lists two sentiment classification tasks.) Bonar also teaches a model that classifies sentiment from text (“[0038]…Similarly, the style cue 410 can be generated by the large language model to augment the text response 408 with one or more selected sentiments 412 to express various emotions (e.g., friendly, inquisitive).”) then further uses the sentiment (style cue) as a prosody prediction in speech synthesis (see [0040]). Examiner argues that given the teaching of Bonar to use a model for both natural language generation and sentiment prediction, and the teaching of Liu to use task specific layers for sentiment prediction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use task specific layers for sentiment prediction as specifically taught by Liu, and use other layers for the other task, as taught generically by Liu. This would have been beneficial as Liu teaches that multi-task learning can improve the performance of a task (Abstract) and help deal with limited training data (pg. 2 last para). Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonar in view of Liu et al. (“Recurrent Neural Network for Text Classification with Multi-Task Learning”).
Regarding claim 1, Bonar discloses: 1. A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving first input data representing a first natural language input; ("Audio Input 110" Fig. 1)
receiving first context data associated with the first natural language input; ("Conversation Prompt 308" Fig. 3)
generating first prompt data including the first input data and the first context data, wherein the first prompt data represents a first request for a first language model to determine a first output responsive to the first natural language input; ("Large Language Model Input 218" Fig. 2)
processing, using a first set of layers of the first language model, the first prompt data to generate first natural language data responsive to the first natural language input, ("Text Response(s) 318" Fig. 3)
wherein the first set of layers is configured for natural language generation; (not explicitly disclosed )
processing, using a second set of layers of the first language model, the first prompt data to generate first prosody data representing at least a first synthetic voice characteristic, ("Style Cue(s) 322" Fig. 3)
wherein the second set of layers is configured for prosody prediction; (not explicitly disclosed )
processing the first natural language data and the first prosody data to generate first output audio data representing first synthetic speech corresponding to the first synthetic voice characteristic and responsive to the first natural language input; and causing presentation of the first output audio data. ("Audio Output 406" Fig. 4)
Bonar does not explicitly disclose multiple task specific layers.
Liu discloses multiple task specific layers. (“Model-II: Coupled-Layer Architecture In Model-II, we assign a LSTM layer for each task, which can use the information for the LSTM layer of the other task.”)
Liu Fig. 2
Bonar and Liu are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose neural networks for NLP. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bonar with a multi-layer shared architecture for Multi-Task learning as taught by Liu for natural language and prosody tasks. Doing so would have been beneficial because features learned from a task may be useful for other tasks. (Liu pg. 3 para 1)
Regarding claim 2, Bonar discloses: 2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein processing the first prompt data to generate the first prosody data comprises: receiving, from a first layer of the first set of layers, first embedding data representing the first prompt data; and processing, by the second set of layers, the first prompt data and the first embedding data to generate the first prosody data. (See claim 1.)
Bonar does not disclose: embedding data that is processed by shared layers.
Liu discloses: embedding data (“In all of our experiments, the word embeddings are trained using word2vec [Mikolov et al., 2013] on the Wikipedia corpus (1B words).” Pg. 4, Section 5.2)
Liu also discloses a shared architecture where information is shared between task layers. (See claim 1)
Bonar and Liu are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose deep neural networks for NLP. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bonar with word embedding as taught by Liu. This combination falls under combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Regarding claim 3, Bonar does not disclose a shared layer architecture.
Liu discloses: 3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the first embedding data is received at a second layer of the second set of layers, (“In Model-II, we assign a LSTM layer for each task, which can use the information for the LSTM layer of the other task.” Pg. 3, section Model-II))
and the method further comprises: processing, by the second layer of the second set of layers, the first prompt data and the first embedding data to generate second embedding data representing the first prompt data and the first embedding data; and (Fig. 2, (b) shows that each layer has an output)
processing the second embedding data using a third layer of the second set of layers to generate third embedding data representing the first prompt data, (Fig. 2(b) shows at least 4 layers for each task.)
wherein the first prosody data is generated based at least in part on the third embedding data. (Fig. 2(b) shows the task specific outputs are based on at least a third embedding data.)
Bonar and Liu are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose deep neural networks for NLP. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bonar with a shared architecture for Multi-Task learning as taught by Liu for natural language and prosody tasks. Doing so would have been beneficial because features learned from a task may be useful for other tasks. (Liu pg. 3 para 1)
Note that the specification of the instant application discloses: “[0064] … data representing a latent representation (e.g., embedding data) representing synthesized speech…” Based on this, “embedding data” is interpreted to mean any latent representation of data that has been embedded.
Regarding claim 4, Bonar does not disclose a shared layer architecture.
Liu discloses: 4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein processing the first prompt data to generate the first natural language data comprises: receiving, from a first layer of the second set of layers and at a second layer of the first set of layers, first embedding data representing the first prompt data, and processing, by the first set of layers, the first prompt data and the first embedding data to generate the first natural language data. (Fig. 2, (b) discloses that embeddings from both tasks are shared with the layers for both tasks.)
See claim 3 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 5, Bonar discloses: 5. A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving first input data corresponding to a user input; ("Audio Input 110" Fig. 1)
determining first prompt data including the first input data, wherein the first prompt data represents a first request for a first language model to determine an output responsive to the user input; ("Large Language Model Input 218" Fig. 2)
processing, using a first portion of the first language model, the first prompt data to generate first natural language data responsive to the user input, wherein the first portion of the first language model is configured for natural language generation; ("Text Response(s) 318" Fig. 3)
processing, using a second portion of the first language model, the first prompt data to generate first prosody data representing at least a first voice characteristic, wherein the second portion of the first language model is configured for prosody prediction; ("Style Cue(s) 322" Fig. 3)
using the first natural language data and the first prosody data to generate first output audio data representing first synthetic speech corresponding to the at least first voice characteristic; and causing presentation of the first output audio data. ("Audio Output 406" Fig. 4; see also “Translate the text response and the style cue to generate an audio output response to the user input 514” Fig. 5)
Bonar does not explicitly disclose different portions of the language model configured for different tasks.
Liu discloses multiple task specific portions of a language model (layers). (“Model-II: Coupled-Layer Architecture In Model-II, we assign a LSTM layer for each task, which can use the information for the LSTM layer of the other task.”)
Bonar and Liu are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose neural networks for NLP. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bonar with a multi-layer shared architecture for Multi-Task learning as taught by Liu for natural language and prosody tasks. Doing so would have been beneficial because features learned from a task may be useful for other tasks. (Liu pg. 3 para 1)
Regarding claim 6, Bonar discloses: 6. The computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein: the first portion of the first language model corresponds to a first set of layers of the first language model, ; and the second portion of the first language model corresponds to a second set of layers of the first language model.
Bonar does not explicitly disclose multiple task specific layers.
Liu discloses multiple task specific layers. (“Model-II: Coupled-Layer Architecture In Model-II, we assign a LSTM layer for each task, which can use the information for the LSTM layer of the other task.”)
Bonar and Liu are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose neural networks for NLP. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bonar with a multi-layer shared architecture for Multi-Task learning as taught by Liu for natural language and prosody tasks. Doing so would have been beneficial because features learned from a task may be useful for other tasks. (Liu pg. 3 para 1)
Regarding claim 7, Bonar does not disclose a shared layer architecture with embeddings.
Liu discloses: 7. The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein processing, using the second set of layers of the first language model, the first prompt data comprises: receiving, from a first layer of the first set of layers and at a second layer of the second set of layers, first embedding data representing the first prompt data, wherein the first prosody data is generated based at least in part by processing the first embedding data. (Fig. 2, (b) discloses that embeddings from both tasks are shared with the layers for both tasks.)
See claim 3 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 8, Bonar does not disclose a shared layer architecture with embeddings.
Liu discloses: 8. The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein processing, using the first set of layers of the first language model, the first prompt data comprises: receiving, from a first layer of the second set of layers and at a second layer of the first set of layers, first embedding data representing the first prompt data, and processing, by the first set of layers, the first prompt data and the first embedding data to generate the first natural language data. (Fig. 2, (b) discloses that embeddings from both tasks are shared with the layers for both tasks.)
See claim 3 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 9, Bonar does not disclose a shared layer architecture with embeddings.
Liu discloses: 9. The computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising: processing, by the second layer of the second set of layers, the first prompt data and the first embedding data to generate second embedding data representing the first prompt data and the first embedding data; and processing the second embedding data using a third layer of the second set of layers to generate third embedding data representing the first prompt data, wherein the first prosody data is generated based at least in part on the third embedding data. (Fig. 2(b) shows at least 4 layers for each task, and each layer receives the data from the previous data as well as shared data.)
See claim 3 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 11, Bonar discloses: 11. The computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the first prosody data represents a natural language description of the at least first voice characteristic. (“Style Cue(s) 322” (“Friendly”) Fig. 3- “friendly” is a natural language description of the characteristic.)
Regarding claim 12, Bonar discloses: 12. The computer-implemented method of claim 5, further comprising: receiving context data associated with the user input, wherein the first prompt data represents a further instruction for the first language model to generate prosody data associated with the first natural language data based on the first input data and the context data. (See Fig. 3 – the “Conversation Prompt 308” (“Be friendly and good at conversation”) reads on context data and is included in the prompt to the LLM.
See also: "[0031] Furthermore, the large language model 302 can be configured with a conversational profile 312 which can enable the large language model 302 to not only respond to individual inputs but rather carry on a conversation in which context can persist and change over time. Consequently, what constitutes an appropriate response can be nebulous and depend heavily on implications of previous statements, the current mood, and other indefinite factors. ... As such, the large language model 302 can appropriately respond to user inputs while accounting for conversational history, mood, and other context clues."
See also: “[0034] The word selection and phrasing of the text response 318 can be determined by the large language model 302 based on a context derived from the speech-to-text translation 306 in combination with the instructions of the conversation prompt 308 and/or the style prompt 310…”
Claim 13 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 5 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally, at least one processor; and at least one memory including instructions of the Claim are taught by Bonar. ( Processing Unit(s) 602; Memory 604, Fig. 6)
Claim 14 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 6 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 7 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 8 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 9 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 11 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 12 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonar in view of Calapodescu et al. (US 20230215421 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Bonar discloses: 10. The computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the first prosody data corresponds to a spectrogram, ([0040] discloses that style cues can include a sentiment)
and generating the first output audio data comprises: processing, using a vocoder, the spectrogram. ( Vocal Synthesizer 422, Fig. 4 )
Bonar does not disclose that the prosody data is a spectrogram.
Calapodescu discloses: wherein the first prosody data corresponds to a spectrogram, and generating the first output audio data comprises: processing, using a vocoder, the spectrogram. ("[0045] Speech representations may additionally or alternatively be embodied in a speech signal that can be processed downstream by a voice synthesizer, vocoder, etc. to generate speech. An example of such speech signals is a spectrogram, such as a Mel-spectrogram." )
Bonar and Calapodescu are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of TTS with prosody control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bonar to use a spectrogram for the prosody data. Doing so would have been beneficial to achieve fast speed with comparable voice quality. (Calapodescu [0063].) This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim 18 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 10 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON CHRISTOPHER MEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654