DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 4th of March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “it is believed that search and examination of Claims 12-20 will note require different field of search or result in inapplicable prior art across different groups.” And “that it is unlikely examination of Claims 1-20 will raise different non-prior art issues that would otherwise impose a serious burden” (see Applicants Response Page 1-2) This is not found persuasive because, as described in the Office Action “Requirement for Restriction/Election” filed on the 20th of January 2026, search of Group I (Claims 1-11) and Group II (Claims 12-20) would require searches in different CPC classifications and separate unique text searches resulting in a serious search burden. Additionally, The MPEP says “the examiner, in order to establish reasons for insisting upon restriction, must explain why there would be a serious search and/or examination burden on the examiner if restriction is not required” (see MPEP 808.02). Therefore, in the immediate case, the examiner is not required to demonstrate a serious examination burden as a serious search burden has been demonstrated.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method for preparing a brake disc, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4th March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orr (US 20140332330 A1) in view of Facchini et. al. (US 8545994 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Orr discloses a brake disc, comprising: a body (10) having at least one braking surface (24); and a corrosion and wear-resistant coating electrodeposited on the at least one braking surface (see Fig. 1B, [0003], [0007], [0044]).
Orr does not disclose the corrosion and wear-resistant coating comprises a precipitation-hardened cobalt-phosphorus (CoP) alloy and exhibits a Vickers hardness of from about 900 to about 1050 HV.
Facchini teaches an electrodeposited corrosion and wear-resistant coating wherein the corrosion and wear-resistant coating comprises a precipitation-hardened cobalt-phosphorus (CoP) alloy and exhibits a Vickers hardness of from about 900 to about 1050 HV (see 8:10-22, 15: Table-US-00001, 20:1-10).
It would have been obvious to combine the electrodeposited corrosion and wear-resistant coating of Facchini with the brake disk of Orr in order to enhance fatigue performance and eliminate potential environmental issues with previously used electrodeposited coatings (see US 8545994 B2 [Facchini]; 5: 50-63).
Regarding Claim 2, Orr discloses wherein the body (10) comprises a base material selected from: (i) gray cast iron; (ii) an aluminum alloy; (iii) a titanium alloy; and (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii) (see [0022]).
Regarding Claim 3, Facchini teaches wherein the CoP alloy of the corrosion and wear-resistant coating comprises a phosphorous content of from about 8 to about 12 wt.%, based on the total weight of the CoP alloy (see 23: 8-21, Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Facchini teaches wherein the corrosion and wear-resistant coating further comprises wear-resistant particles of: (i) boron carbide (B4C); (ii)tungsten carbide (WC); (iii) titanium nitride (TiN); (iv) aluminum oxide (Al₂O₃); or (v) any combination of (i)-(iv) (see Page 16: Table-US-00003).
Regarding Claim 5, Facchini teaches wherein the corrosion and wear-resistant coating comprises the wear-resistant particles in an amount of from about 10 to about 55 vol.% (see Page 16: Table-US-00003).
Regarding Claim 6, Facchini teaches wherein the corrosion and wear-resistant coating further comprises wear-resistant boron carbine (B4C) particles, where the B4C particles are present in an amount of from about 10 to about 55 vol.% (see Page 16: Table-US-00003).
Regarding Claim 7, Facchini teaches wherein the corrosion and wear-resistant coating further comprises a lubricant compound selected from (i) hexagonal boron nitride (hBN); (ii) molybdenum disulfide (MoS2); (iii) tungsten disulfide (WS2); (iv) graphene; (v) zirconia; and (vi) any combination of (i)-(v) (see Page 16: Table-US-00003).
Regarding Claim 8, Facchini teaches wherein the corrosion and wear-resistant coating has an average thickness of: (i) at least about 100 µm; (ii) less than about 500 µm; or (iii) both (i) and (ii) (see 10: 21-42, Page 15: Table-US-00001).
Regarding Claim 9, Facchini teaches wherein the corrosion and wear-resistant coating maintains a Vickers hardness of at least about 90% of an initial Vickers hardness though at least 50 cycles of being heating to and held at least 500 °C for a time of at least 5 seconds per cycle (see Page 15: Table-US-00001, Page 16: Table-US-00003).
Regarding Claim 10, Facchini teaches wherein the corrosion and wear-resistant coating exhibits substantially no corrosion through at least 14 days of immersion in salt water at a temperature of at least 50°C (see Page 15: Table-US-00001, Page 16: Table-US-00003).
Regarding Claim 11, Facchini teaches wherein: (i) the corrosion and wear-resistant coating exhibits a bond strength to the braking surface of the body of at least about 60 Ksi; (ii) the wear-resistant coating exhibits a coefficient of friction of less than about 0.35; or (iii) both (i) and (ii) (see Page 15: Table-US-00001).
Conclusion
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616