DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 1 appears to recite a human body part. Line 22 of the claim requires the opening to accommodate the anal and urethral orifice. This language appears to positively recite human body parts and is therefore impermissible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
"the wearer facing side of the topsheet" in line 7
“the anal and urethral orifice” in line 22
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the following limitations:
"the front longitudinal elastic element" in line 1
“the opening area in the front region” in line 2
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the following limitations:
"the distance" in lines 1 and 3
"the front longitudinal elastic element" in line 2
“the front longitudinal elastic body” in lines 3-4
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the front longitudinal elastic element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the following limitations:
"the distance" in lines 1 and 3
"the back longitudinal elastic element" in line 2
“the back longitudinal elastic body” in lines 3-4
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the back longitudinal elastic element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the pair of elasticized side edges" in line 2.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 14, claim limitation “fastening means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The instant application discloses that “fastening means” comprises elongate members transversely protruding from left and right side edges of the back region and fastenable with a receiving member.
The structure described in the specification does not perform the entire function in the claim. While the structure is mentioned, it does not set forth any elements which fasten. The structure is only deemed fastenable with no clear linkage between the structure and the act and/or function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Nakajima et al. (US 2011/0098666).
With reference to claim 1, Nakajima et al. (hereinafter “Nakajima”) discloses an absorbent body [0054] for an absorbent article having a transverse direction, a longitudinal direction, a front end, a back end, a front region, a back region, a center region, a garment facing side, and a wearer facing side (figures 3-4), comprising:
1) a water permeable topsheet (24);
2) a water impermeable backsheet (53);
3) an absorbent core (25) disposed between the topsheet and the backsheet (figure 6);
4) a composite isolation sheet (3) bonded to the wearer facing side of the topsheet (figure 2), the composite isolation sheet comprising:
a) a front portion in the front region (7) having a front longitudinal end point and a pair of front opening edges, wherein the pair of front opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 3 below);
b) a center portion in the center region having a pair of side edges which are elasticized in the longitudinal direction (see annotated figure 3 below);
c) a back portion in the back region (8) having a back longitudinal end point and a pair of back opening edges, wherein the pair of back opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 3 below);
d) a longitudinal elastic element (39) disposed on at least one of the front portion and the back portion, wherein the longitudinal elastic element extends substantially in the longitudinal direction (figure 3); and
e) an opening (33,34) defined by the pair of front opening edges, the pair of side edges, and the pair of back opening edges, wherein the opening, upon wear, accommodates the anal and urethal orifice of a wearer as set forth in [0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al. (US 2011/0098666).
With reference to claim 2, Nakajima teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 2 is the provision that the front portion has a longitudinal dimension F1 of from about 22% to about 50% of the longitudinal dimension of the absorbent body.
Nakajima provides an article with a front portion (7) serving as a front waist region and defining a front through hole as set forth in [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the length of the front portion as desired in order to provide the desired waist length and/or front hole dimension.
As to claims 3 and 8, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein the longitudinal elastic element (39) is disposed on the front portion and the back portion (cl. 8) as shown in figure 3.
With reference to claim 4, Nakajima teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 4 is the provision that when the front longitudinal elastic element is fully stretched, the opening area in the front region is from about 5% to about 30% of the composite isolation sheet in the front region.
Nakajima provides an article with a longitudinal elastic element (39). The elastic element would be expected to be capable of fully stretching as it is an elastic material. Nakajima also discusses the relationship between the longitudinal elastic element and the front and/or rear openings and the influences of the elastic elements on the openings as set forth in [0064-0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the percentage of the opening area utilizing the elastic elements as desired because the general concept has already been set forth by the prior art and the change in size and/or shape of the element in view of the teachings of Nakajima is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With reference to claim 5, Nakajima teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 5 is the provision that a represented as F3 is from about 30% to about 85% of a distance represented as F2.
Nakajima provides an article with a longitudinal elastic element (39). The elastic element would be expected to be capable of incremental stretching as well as fully stretching as it is an elastic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the relationship between the distances represented as F2 and/or F3 as desired in order to provide the desired article that remains in close contact with a wearer without causing skin troubles and/or undesirable leakage as taught by Nakajima in [0004-0005].
With reference to claims 6 and 10, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein the front longitudinal elastic element (39) is an elastic body [0065] extending along a longitudinal axis between the front longitudinal end point towards the front end and between the back longitudinal end point towards the back end (cl. 10) as shown in figures 3-4.
With reference to claim 7, Nakajima teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 7 is the provision that the back portion has a longitudinal dimension B1 of from about 5% to about 35% of the longitudinal dimension of the absorbent body.
Nakajima provides an article with a back portion (8) serving as a back waist region and defining a back through hole as set forth in [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the length of the back portion as desired in order to provide the desired waist length and/or back hole dimension.
With reference to claim 9, see the rejection of claim 5.
As to claim 11, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein the back portion is devoid of a longitudinal elastic element at least in opening (34) as shown in figure 3.
Regarding claim 12, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein the composite isolation sheet comprises an inner cuff part and a continuous part, wherein the pair of elasticized side edges are formed by the inner cuff portion, wherein the continuous part forms the front portion and the back portion, and wherein the continuous part is connected in the longitudinal direction along the inner cuff part as shown in annotated figure 4 below.
With respect to claim 13, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein the composite isolation sheet comprises an inner cuff part, a front part (33) for forming the front portion, and a back part (34) for forming the back portion, and wherein the front part and the back part are not connected as shown in figure 4 above.
As to claim 14, Nakajima discloses fastening members (57) as set forth in [0086].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. US 18/474,571 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the reference application are directed to an absorbent body including a composite isolation sheet.
The limitations of claims 1-4 of the instant application can be found in claim 8 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 5 of the instant application can be found in claim 9 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 6 of the instant application can be found in claim 10 of the reference application.
The limitations of claims 7-8 and 10 of the instant application can be found in claim 1 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 9 of the instant application can be found in claim 2 of the reference application.
The limitations of claims 12-13 of the instant application can be found in claim 6 of the reference application
The limitations of claim 14 of the instant application can be found in claim 15 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki et al. (US 2009/0005752) discloses an absorbent article capable of separating urine and feces.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781