DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Hoffman et al. (US 2004/0092900).
With reference to claim 1, Hoffman et al. (hereinafter “Hoffman”) discloses an absorbent body for an absorbent article having a transverse direction, a longitudinal direction, a front end, a back end, a front region, a back region, a center region, a garment facing side, and a wearer facing side (figures 1-3), comprising:
1) a water permeable topsheet (23);
2) a water impermeable backsheet (26);
3) an absorbent core (28) disposed between the topsheet and the backsheet (figure 3);
4) a composite isolation sheet (24) bonded to the wearer facing side of the topsheet [0154], the composite isolation sheet comprising:
a) a front portion in the front region (36) having a front longitudinal end point and a pair of front opening edges, wherein the pair of front opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 2 below);
b) a center portion in the center region having a pair of side edges which are elasticized in the longitudinal direction (see annotated figure 3 below);
c) a back portion in the back region (38) having a back longitudinal end point and a pair of back opening edges, wherein the pair of back opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 2 below);
d) a longitudinal elastic element (31,32) disposed on at least one of the front portion and the back portion, wherein the longitudinal elastic element extends substantially in the longitudinal direction (figure 2); and
e) an opening defined by the pair of front opening edges, the pair of side edges, and the pair of back opening edges, wherein the opening extends between the pair of front opening edges to the pair of back opening edges, and wherein the opening is configured to accommodate an anal and urethal orifice of a wearer as shown in annotated figure 2 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman et al. (US 2004/0092900).
With reference to claim 2, Hoffman teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Hoffman and claim 2 is the provision that the front portion has a longitudinal dimension F1 of from about 22% to about 50% of the longitudinal dimension of the absorbent body.
Hoffman provides an article with a front portion serving as a front waist region and defining a front through hole as shown in figure 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the length of the front portion as desired in order to provide the desired waist length and/or front hole dimension.
As to claims 3 and 8, Hoffman discloses an absorbent body wherein the longitudinal elastic element (31,32) is disposed on the front portion and the back portion (cl. 8) as shown in figure 2.
With reference to claim 4, Hoffman teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Hoffman and claim 4 is the provision that when the front longitudinal elastic element is fully stretched, the opening area in the front region is from about 5% to about 30% of the composite isolation sheet in the front region.
Hoffman provides an article with a longitudinal elastic element (31,32). The elastic element would be expected to be capable of fully stretching as it is an elastic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the percentage of the opening area utilizing the elastic elements as desired because the general concept has already been set forth by the prior art and the change in size and/or shape of the element is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With reference to claim 5, Hoffman teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Hoffman and claim 5 is the provision that a represented as F3 is from about 30% to about 85% of a distance represented as F2.
Hoffman provides an article with a longitudinal elastic element (31,32). The elastic element would be expected to be capable of incremental stretching as well as fully stretching as it is an elastic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the relationship between the distances represented as F2 and/or F3 as desired in order to provide the desired article that remains in close contact with a wearer as taught by Hoffman in [0151].
With reference to claims 6 and 10, Hoffman discloses an absorbent body wherein the front longitudinal elastic element is an elastic body extending along a longitudinal axis between the front longitudinal end point towards the front end and between the back longitudinal end point towards the back end (cl. 10) as shown in figure 2.
With reference to claim 7, Hoffman teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Hoffman and claim 7 is the provision that the back portion has a longitudinal dimension B1 of from about 5% to about 35% of the longitudinal dimension of the absorbent body.
Hoffman provides an article with a back portion serving as a back waist region and defining a back through hole as shown in figure 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the length of the back portion as desired in order to provide the desired waist length and/or back hole dimension.
With reference to claim 9, see the rejection of claim 5.
As to claim 11, Hoffman discloses an absorbent body wherein the back portion is devoid of a longitudinal elastic element at least in opening as shown in figure 2.
Regarding claim 12, Hoffman discloses an absorbent body wherein the composite isolation sheet comprises an inner cuff part and a continuous part, wherein the pair of elasticized side edges are formed by the inner cuff portion, wherein the continuous part forms the front portion and the back portion, and wherein the continuous part is connected in the longitudinal direction along the inner cuff part as shown in annotated figure 1 below.
With reference to claim 13, Hoffman teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Hoffman and claim 13 is the provision that the front part and the back part are not connected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide non-connected front and back parts since it has been held that the mere separation of parts previously taught as integral is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 14, Hoffman discloses fastening members (27,29) as shown in figure 1.
Regarding claim 15, Hoffman discloses an absorbent article comprising an elastic belt [0032] to define the absorbent article as a pant as set forth in [0001].
With respect to claim 16, Hoffman discloses an absorbent body wherein the longitudinal elastic element disposed on at least one of the front portion and the back portion does not extend across a transverse centerline of the absorbent body as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 17, Hoffman discloses an absorbent body wherein each of the pair of front opening edges extend transversely from an outer position distal a longitudinal centerline to an inner position proximate the longitudinal centerline as shown in figure 2.
With reference to claim 18, Hoffman discloses an absorbent body wherein each of the pair of back opening edges extend transversely from an outer position distal a longitudinal centerline to an inner position proximate the longitudinal centerline as shown in figure 2.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. US 18/474,571 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the reference application are directed to an absorbent body including a composite isolation sheet.
The limitations of claims 1-4 of the instant application can be found in claim 8 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 5 of the instant application can be found in claim 9 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 6 of the instant application can be found in claim 10 of the reference application.
The limitations of claims 7-8 and 10 of the instant application can be found in claim 1 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 9 of the instant application can be found in claim 2 of the reference application.
The limitations of claims 12-13 of the instant application can be found in claim 6 of the reference application
The limitations of claim 14 of the instant application can be found in claim 15 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781