DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the inner cuff portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Van Gompel et al. (US 6,132,410).
With reference to claim 1, Van Gompel et al. (hereinafter “Van Gompel”) discloses an absorbent body for an absorbent article having a transverse direction, a longitudinal direction, a front end, a back end, a front region, a back region, a center region, a garment facing side, and a wearer facing side (figure 1), comprising:
1) a water permeable topsheet (28);
2) a water impermeable backsheet (30);
3) an absorbent core (48) disposed between the topsheet and the backsheet (figure 1A);
4) a composite isolation sheet (52,53) bonded to the wearer facing side of the topsheet (col. 4, lines 59-67), the composite isolation sheet comprising:
a) a front portion in the front region having a front longitudinal end point and a pair of front opening edges, wherein the pair of front opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 1 below);
b) a center portion in the center region having a pair of side edges which are elasticized (90) in the longitudinal direction (figure 1);
c) a back portion in the back region having a back longitudinal end point and a pair of back opening edges, wherein the pair of back opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 1 below);
d) a longitudinal elastic element (35) disposed on at least one of the front portion and the back portion, wherein the longitudinal elastic element extends substantially in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the longitudinal elastic element does not longitudinally extend across the transverse centerline (figure 1); and
e) an opening defined by the pair of front opening edges, the pair of side edges, and the pair of back opening edges, wherein the opening extends between the pair of front opening edges to the pair of back opening edges, and wherein the opening is configured to accommodate an anal and urethal orifice of a wearer as shown in annotated figure 1 below.
Regarding claim 12, Hoffman discloses an absorbent body wherein the composite isolation sheet comprises an inner cuff part and a continuous part, wherein the pair of elasticized side edges are formed by the inner cuff portion, wherein the continuous part forms the front portion and the back portion, and wherein the continuous part is connected in the longitudinal direction along the inner cuff part as shown in annotated figure 1C below.
With reference to claim 13, see the rejection of claim 12.
Additionally, Van Gompel discloses that the front part and the back part are not connected as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 14, Van Gompel discloses fastening members (36) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 17, Van Gompel discloses an absorbent body wherein each of the pair of front opening edges extend transversely from an outer position distal a longitudinal centerline to an inner position proximate the longitudinal centerline as shown in figure 1.
With reference to claim 18, Van Gompel discloses an absorbent body wherein each of the pair of back opening edges extend transversely from an outer position distal a longitudinal centerline to an inner position proximate the longitudinal centerline as shown in figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Gompel et al. (US 6,132,410).
With reference to claim 2, Van Gompel teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Van Gompel and claim 2 is the provision that the front portion has a longitudinal dimension F1 of from about 22% to about 50% of the longitudinal dimension of the absorbent body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the length of the front portion as desired in order to provide the desired waist length and/or front hole dimension.
As to claims 3 and 8, Van Gompel discloses an absorbent body wherein the longitudinal elastic element (35) is disposed on the front portion and the back portion (cl. 8) as shown in figure 1.
With reference to claim 4, Van Gompel teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Van Gompel and claim 4 is the provision that when the front longitudinal elastic element is fully stretched, the opening area in the front region is from about 5% to about 30% of the composite isolation sheet in the front region.
Van Gompel provides an article with a longitudinal elastic element (35). The elastic element would be expected to be capable of fully stretching as it is an elastic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the percentage of the opening area utilizing the elastic elements as desired because the general concept has already been set forth by the prior art and the change in size and/or shape of the element is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With reference to claim 5, Van Gompel teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Van Gompel and claim 5 is the provision that a represented as F3 is from about 30% to about 85% of a distance represented as F2.
Van Gompel provides an article with a longitudinal elastic element (35). The elastic element would be expected to be capable of incremental stretching as well as fully stretching as it is an elastic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the relationship between the distances represented as F2 and/or F3 as desired in order to provide the desired article that remains in close contact with a wearer.
With reference to claims 6 and 10, Van Gompel discloses an absorbent body wherein the front longitudinal elastic element is an elastic body extending along a longitudinal axis between the front longitudinal end point towards the front end and between the back longitudinal end point towards the back end (cl. 10) as shown in figure 1.
With reference to claim 7, Van Gompel teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Van Gompel and claim 7 is the provision that the back portion has a longitudinal dimension B1 of from about 5% to about 35% of the longitudinal dimension of the absorbent body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the length of the back portion as desired in order to provide the desired waist length and/or back hole dimension.
With reference to claim 9, see the rejection of claim 5.
As to claim 11, Van Gompel discloses an absorbent body wherein the back portion is devoid of a longitudinal elastic element at least in the areas designated as end points as shown in figure 1.
With reference to claim 15, Van Gompel teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Van Gompel and claim 15 is the provision that the absorbent article comprising an elastic belt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the article of Van Gompel with a belt since it has been held that the substitution of one type of fastener for another is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 17-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. US 18/474,571 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the reference application are directed to an absorbent body including a composite isolation sheet.
The limitations of claims 1-4 of the instant application can be found in claim 8 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 5 of the instant application can be found in claim 9 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 6 of the instant application can be found in claim 10 of the reference application.
The limitations of claims 7-8 and 10 of the instant application can be found in claim 1 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 9 of the instant application can be found in claim 2 of the reference application.
The limitations of claims 12-13 of the instant application can be found in claim 6 of the reference application
The limitations of claim 14 of the instant application can be found in claim 15 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 17-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781