DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al. (US 2011/0098666).
With reference to claim 1, Nakajima et al. (hereinafter “Nakajima”) discloses an absorbent body [0054] for an absorbent article having a transverse direction, a transverse centerline, a longitudinal direction, a longitudinal axis, a front end, a back end, a front region, a back region, a center region, a garment facing side, and a wearer facing side (figures 3-4), comprising:
1) a water permeable topsheet (24) comprising a wearer facing side and a garment facing side (figure 2);
2) a water impermeable backsheet (53);
3) an absorbent core (25) disposed between the topsheet and the backsheet (figure 6);
4) a composite isolation sheet (3) bonded to the wearer facing side of the topsheet (figure 2), the composite isolation sheet comprising:
a pair of inner cuffs (30,31) having a pair of elasticized side edges (see annotated figure 4 below);
a back portion in the back region (8) having a back longitudinal end point and a pair of back opening edges, wherein the pair of back opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 3 below);
d) a back longitudinal elastic element (39) disposed on the back portion, wherein the longitudinal elastic element extends substantially in the longitudinal direction and does not extend across the transverse center line as set forth in figure 3.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 1 is the provision that the back portion has a longitudinal dimension B1 of from about 5% to about 35% of the longitudinal dimension of the absorbent body.
Nakajima provides an article with a back portion (8) serving as a back waist region and defining a back through hole as set forth in [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the length of the back portion as desired in order to provide the desired waist length and/or back hole dimension.
With reference to claim 2, Nakajima teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 2 is the provision that a distance represented as B3 is from about 30% to about 85% of a distance represented as B2.
Nakajima provides an article with a longitudinal elastic element (39). The elastic element would be expected to be capable of incremental stretching as well as fully stretching as it is an elastic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the relationship between the distances represented as B2 and/or B3 as desired in order to provide the desired article that remains in close contact with a wearer without causing skin troubles and/or undesirable leakage as taught by Nakajima in [0004-0005].
With reference to claims 3 and 10, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein the longitudinal elastic element (39) is an elastic body [0065] extending along a longitudinal axis between the back longitudinal end point towards the back end and between the front longitudinal end point towards the front end (cl. 10) as shown in figures 3-4.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein the back longitudinal elastic element is an even number of elastic bodies/strands (left and right 39) extending parallel to the longitudinal axis and disposed in a line symmetric position about the longitudinal axis as shown in figures 3-4.
With reference to claim 5, Nakajima teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Nakajima and claim is the provision that the elastic bodies have a density of about 1100 dtex or less, and wherein the elastic strands are disposed in transverse distance with each other of at least about 2mm to no more than about 4mm.
Initially, it is noted that a density of 1100 dtex or less would encompass zero, and therefore, would not require the disclosure of a dtex by the prior art.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the density and distance of the elastic bodies to provide the desired contractile force of the article in view of [0080-0081] of Nakajima which recognizes that the strength and/or the positioning of the elastic bodies is utilized to control the through holes.
As to claim 6, Nakajima teaches an absorbent body wherein the composite isolation sheet comprises an comprises an inner cuff part for forming the inner cuffs, the inner cuff part comprising an inner cuff part material and a back part for forming the back portion, the back part comprising a back part material and wherein the inner cuff part and the back part are made of the same material (i.e., continuous areas) as shown in annotated figure 4 above.
With respect to claim 7, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein the back portion is made by an outer back portion sheet and an inner back portion sheet, and wherein the longitudinal elastic element is sandwiched between the outer back portion sheet and the inner back portion sheet as set forth in [0065].
With reference to claim 8, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body [0054] for an absorbent article having a transverse direction, a transverse centerline, a longitudinal direction, a longitudinal axis, a front end, a back end, a front region, a back region, a center region, a garment facing side, and a wearer facing side (figures 3-4), comprising:
1) a water permeable topsheet (24) comprising a wearer facing side and a garment facing side (figure 2);
2) a water impermeable backsheet (53);
3) an absorbent core (25) disposed between the topsheet and the backsheet (figure 6);
4) a composite isolation sheet (3) bonded to the wearer facing side of the topsheet (figure 2), the composite isolation sheet comprising:
a pair of inner cuffs (30,31) having a pair of elasticized side edges (see annotated figure 4 above);
a front portion in the front region (7) having a front longitudinal end point and a pair of front opening edges, wherein the pair of front opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 3 above);
d) a front longitudinal elastic element (39) disposed on the front portion wherein the longitudinal elastic element extends substantially in the longitudinal direction and does not extend across the transverse centerline as set forth in figure 3.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 8 is the provision that the front portion has a longitudinal dimension B1 of from about 5% to about 35% of the longitudinal dimension of the absorbent body.
Nakajima provides an article with a front portion (7) serving as a front waist region and defining a front through hole as set forth in [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the length of the front portion as desired in order to provide the desired waist length and/or back hole dimension.
With reference to claim 9, Nakajima teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 8.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 9 is the provision that a distance represented as F3 is from about 30% to about 85% of a distance represented as F2.
Nakajima provides an article with a longitudinal elastic element (39). The elastic element would be expected to be capable of incremental stretching as well as fully stretching as it is an elastic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the relationship between the distances represented as F2 and/or F3 as desired in order to provide the desired article that remains in close contact with a wearer without causing skin troubles and/or undesirable leakage as taught by Nakajima in [0004-0005].
Regarding claim 12, see the rejection of claim 5.
As to claim 13, Nakajima teaches an absorbent body wherein the composite isolation sheet comprises an comprises an inner cuff part for forming the inner cuffs, the inner cuff part comprising an inner cuff part material and a back part for forming the back portion, the back part comprising a back part material and wherein the inner cuff part and the back part are made of the same material (i.e., continuous areas) as shown in annotated figure 4 above.
With respect to claim 14, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein the front portion is made by an outer front portion sheet and an inner front portion sheet, and wherein the front longitudinal elastic element is sandwiched between the outer back portion sheet and the inner back portion sheet as set forth in [0065].
As to claim 15, Nakajima discloses an absorbent article comprising a back region (8), and wherein the absorbent article comprises a fastener comprising a pair of elongate members (57) each of which transversely protruding from respective left and right side edges of the back region (figure 5) and a receiving member disposed on the front region for accepting the pair of elongate members as set forth in [0086].
Regarding claim 16, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein each of the pair of back opening edges (near element 52) extend transversely from an outer position distal a longitudinal centerline to an inner position proximate the longitudinal centerline as shown in figure 5.
As to claim 17, Nakajima discloses the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 17 is the explicit recitation that the absorbent article comprises an elastic belt.
Nakajima provides the article with front and rear elastic waist bands as shown in figure 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the article of Nakajima with an elastic belt because Nakajima teaches the use of an elastic waistband and also anticipates the inclusion of toilet training pants and incontinent briefs as set forth in [0001]. The inclusion of a belt structure would allow for a improved fit for the pant and brief type articles to accommodate various sized wearers.
As to claim 18, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein each of the pair of front opening edges (near element 51) extend transversely from an outer position distal a longitudinal centerline to an inner position proximate the longitudinal centerline as shown in figure 5.
With reference to claim 19, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body [0054] for an absorbent article having a transverse direction, a transverse centerline, a longitudinal direction, a longitudinal axis, a front end, a back end, a front region, a back region, a center region, a garment facing side, and a wearer facing side (figures 3-4), comprising:
1) a water permeable topsheet (24) comprising a wearer facing side and a garment facing side (figure 2);
2) a water impermeable backsheet (53);
3) an absorbent core (25) disposed between the topsheet and the backsheet (figure 6);
4) a composite isolation sheet (3) bonded to the wearer facing side of the topsheet (figure 2), the composite isolation sheet comprising:
a) a front portion in the front region (7) having a front longitudinal end point and a pair of front opening edges, wherein the pair of front opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 3 above);
b) a front longitudinal elastic element (39) disposed on the front portion wherein the longitudinal elastic element extends substantially in the longitudinal direction and does not extend across the transverse centerline (figure 3);
c) a back portion in the back region (8) having a back longitudinal end point and a pair of back opening edges, wherein the pair of back opening edges are not elasticized (see annotated figure 3 above);
d) a back longitudinal elastic element (39) disposed on the back portion, wherein the longitudinal elastic element extends substantially in the longitudinal direction and does not extend across the transverse center line as set forth in figure 3.
The difference between Nakajima and claim 19 is the provision that the front and back portions have specific dimensions and that the front portion and the back portion are separate and distinct components that are not attached directly to one another.
Initially, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the dimensions of the front and/or back portions as desired in order to provide the desired waist length and/or back hole dimension.
With respect to the portions being separate and distinct components, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the front and back portions of Nakajima to provide separate and distinct components since it has been held that the mere separation of elements that were previously integral is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 20, Nakajima discloses an absorbent body wherein neither the front longitudinal elastic element nor the back longitudinal elastic element extends across the transverse centerline as shown in figure 3.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. US 18/474,560 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the reference application are directed to an absorbent body including a composite isolation sheet.
The limitations of claims 1 and 8 of the instant application can be found in claims 1-2 of the reference application.
The limitations of claims 2 and 9 of the instant application can be found in claim 5 of the reference application.
The limitations of claims 3 and 10 of the instant application can be found in claim 1 of the reference application.
The limitations of claims 6-7 and 13-14of the instant application can be found in claims 12-13 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 9 of the instant application can be found in claim 2 of the reference application.
The limitations of claim 15 of the instant application can be found in claim 14 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument regarding the elastic elements of Nakajima extending across the transverse centerline is not persuasive because the elastic elements (39) of Nakajima are disclosed as extending along the sides of the central element as shown in figure 5. The elastics elements extend longitudinally, not extending across (i.e., in a horizontal direction) a transverse centerline.
Additionally, it noted that the elastic elements are intermittent. Therefore, there is at least some area of the transverse centerline in which the elastic elements do not extend.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781