Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the camera device (100) according to claim 3”
in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner believes that the dependence should be from claim 3, please correct as follows “the camera device (100) according to claim 3”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minikey et al. (US 20160191863 A1, hereinafter “Minikey”).
Regarding claim 1, Minikey teaches a camera device (100) (Fig. 23: camera assembly 310), comprising
a lens module (3) (Fig. 23: lens unit 312/housing a PCB 320), a front housing (1) (Fig. 23: front housing 328), and a rear housing (2) (Fig. 23: rear housing 324), wherein the front housing (1) has a through hole (6) (Fig. 23: Hole on the front housing 328), and the rear housing (2) is connected to the front housing (1) to form a cavity positioned between the front housing (1) and the rear housing (2) (as illustrated by Fig. 23: cavity formed between the front housing 328 and the rear housing 324), characterized in that
the lens module (3) comprises a lens module block (15) (as illustrated by Figs. 14-17: the lens unit 212, including a lens barrel 314 and a lens 316),
and the camera device (100) further comprises a fastening mechanism fixing the lens module (15) to the front housing (1) (as illustrated by Fig. 23: lens unit receptacle 330 on the front housing 328),
wherein the lens module (15) comprises a lens barrel (7) having a barrel-body front end and a barrel-body rear end, the lens barrel (7) passing through the through hole (6) so that the barrel-body front end is positioned outside the cavity, and the barrel-body rear end is positioned inside the cavity (as illustrated by Fig. 23: the lens barrel 314 inside the cavity and the lens 316 outside the cavity through the lens unit receptacle 330);
and a convex ring (9) extending outwardly in the radial direction of the lens barrel (7) is provided either on the barrel-body front end or on the barrel-body rear end of the lens barrel (7) (as illustrated by Fig. 23: ring on the lens barrel 314),
the fastening mechanism fixing the lens module block (15) to the front housing (1) on one of the barrel-body front end and the barrel-body rear end of the lens barrel (7) that is not provided with the convex ring (9) (as illustrated by Figs. 23-24, [0036]: the lens holder 330 can be configured for retaining the lens unit 312, including the lens barrel 314 and the lens 316. The lens barrel 314 is coupled with the lens holder 330 via an adhesive, by threading, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Minikey teaches the camera device (100) according to claim 1, in addition Minikey discloses characterized in that the lens module block (15) comprises a one-piece lens module block (as illustrated by Fig. 23: the lens unit 312).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey et al. (US 20160191863 A1, hereinafter “Minikey”), in view of Müller et al. (US 20150358605 A1, hereinafter “Müller”).
Regarding claim 2, Minikey teaches the camera device (100) according to claim 1, characterized in that the camera device is further provided with a sensor board (10) (as illustrated by Fig. 23: a light sensor chip 322), except fixedly connected to the lens barrel (7).
However, Müller discloses a sensor board (10) fixedly connected to the lens barrel (7) (as illustrated by Figs. 1-2, [0037]: lens housing 5.1 connected to surface of an image sensor chip 2.1 support plate 4 by means of adhesive connection 9.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a sensor board (10) fixedly connected to the lens barrel (7) as taught by Müller into Minikey image device. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide a fixing means (Müller: [0041]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey and Müller combination as applied above, in view of Huang et al. (US 20160255260 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 3, Minikey and Müller combination teaches the camera device (100) according to claim 2, except characterized in that the camera device is further provided with a printed circuit board (11), the sensor board (10) being connected to the printed circuit board (11) via a flexible flat cable (12).
However, Huang discloses a printed circuit board (11) (as illustrated by Fig. 3: a main board 300), the sensor board (10) (as illustrated by Fig. 3: a circuit board 510) being connected to the printed circuit board (11) (as illustrated by Fig. 3: a main board 300) via a flexible flat cable (12) (as illustrated by Fig. 3: flexible cable 600 connecting the circuit board 510 to the main board 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the camera device is further provided with a printed circuit board (11), the sensor board (10) being connected to the printed circuit board (11) via a flexible flat cable (12) as taught by Huang into Minikey and Müller combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to maintaining accurate arrangement of the lens assemblies and the image sensors (Huang: [0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Minikey Müller and Huang combination teaches the camera device (100) according to claim 3, in addition Müller discloses characterized in that the sensor board (10) and/or the printed circuit board (11) forms a rigid-flexible board with a flexible board present between the sensor board and the printed circuit board (as illustrated by Fig. 3: flexible cable 600 connecting the circuit board 510 to the main board 300).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey et al. (US 20160191863 A1, hereinafter “Minikey”), in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 208924350 U to LI et al. (employing the provided machine translation and hereafter “LI”).
Regarding claim 6, Minikey teaches the camera device (100) according to claim 1, characterized in that
the convex ring (9) has a maximum outer diameter greater than the inner diameter of the through hole (6),
Minikey does not teach the fastening mechanism is a nut (4), the lens barrel (7) further has threads (8) capable of cooperating with the nut (4) and formed on the outer periphery of one of the barrel-body front end and the barrel-body rear end that is not provided with the convex ring (9), wherein the nut (4) has a maximum outer diameter greater than the inner diameter of the through hole (6), and the nut (4) cooperates with the threads (8) and fixes the lens barrel (7) to the front housing (1) with the front housing (1) clamped by the nut (4) and the convex ring (9).
However, LI discloses a fastening mechanism is a nut (4), the lens barrel (7) further has threads (8) capable of cooperating with the nut (4) and formed on the outer periphery of one of the barrel-body front end and the barrel-body rear end that is not provided with the convex ring (9), wherein the nut (4) has a maximum outer diameter greater than the inner diameter of the through hole (6), and the nut (4) cooperates with the threads (8) and fixes the lens barrel (7) to the front housing (1) with the front housing (1) clamped by the nut (4) (as illustrated by Figs. 1-6: a lens mount 12, a nut 3, an outer thread 2 and a ring 122)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fastening mechanism is a nut (4), the lens barrel (7) further has threads (8) capable of cooperating with the nut (4) and formed on the outer periphery of one of the barrel-body front end and the barrel-body rear end that is not provided with the convex ring (9), wherein the nut (4) has a maximum outer diameter greater than the inner diameter of the through hole (6), and the nut (4) cooperates with the threads (8) and fixes the lens barrel (7) to the front housing (1) with the front housing (1) clamped by the nut (4) and the convex ring (9). as taught by LI into Minikey image device. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to improve the using metal fasteners for assembling and fixing the metal buckling deformation, aging caused by camera is easy to loose (LI: Abstract).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey and LI combination as applied above, in view of NAKAMURA et al. (US 20200225439 A1, hereinafter “NAKAMURA”).
Regarding claim 7, Minikey and LI combination teaches the camera device (100) according to claim 6, except characterized in that the fastening mechanism further comprises a spring pad (5) positioned between the nut (4) and the front housing (1) and/or between the convex ring (9) and the front housing (1).
However, NAKAMURA discloses the fastening mechanism further comprises a spring pad (5) positioned between the nut (4) and the front housing (1) and/or between the convex ring (9) and the front housing (1) (as illustrated by Figs. 1-3, [0099]: a lens barrel (3) holding a lens, a holder (1) holding the lens barrel and connected to the substrate, a first urging member (2) located between the holder and the lens barrel to urge the lens barrel relative to the holder in a direction of an optical axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fastening mechanism further comprises a spring pad (5) positioned between the nut (4) and the front housing (1) and/or between the convex ring (9) and the front housing (1) as taught by NAKAMURA into Minikey and LI combination. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to urge the lens barrel relative to the holder rearward in the optical axis direction (NAKAMURA: [0023]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey and LI combination as applied above, in view of RICHTER; Uwe (US 20160252701 A1, hereinafter “RICHTER”).
Regarding claim 8, Minikey and LI combination teaches the camera device (100) according to claim 6, except characterized in that the nut (4) has a pit, a perforation hole or a projection on a surface facing an inner part of the cavity, so that with the pit, the perforation hole or the projection, the nut (4) is cooperatively screwed onto the threads (8) of the barrel-body rear end of the lens barrel (7), with an adjusting jig or manually.
However, RICHTER discloses providing a screw 5 on a mounting to secure the lens (as illustrated by Figs. 1-5, [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply RICHTER fastening technique to Minikey and LI combination to secure the lens such that “the nut (4) has a pit, a perforation hole or a projection on a surface facing an inner part of the cavity, so that with the pit, the perforation hole or the projection, the nut (4) is cooperatively screwed onto the threads (8) of the barrel-body rear end of the lens barrel (7), with an adjusting jig or manually”. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to radially secure the lens (RICHTER: [0019]).
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey et al. (US 20160191863 A1, hereinafter “Minikey”), in view of Müller et al. (US 20150358605 A1, hereinafter “Müller”), and in view of case Law St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 13, Minikey teaches the camera device according to claim 1, except characterized in that further comprises a second lens modules (3), the front housing (1) having a second through hole, the second lens module (3) comprises a second lens module block (15), and the camera device (200) further comprises a second fastening mechanism, the second lens module (15) comprises a second lens barrel (7) having a second barrel-body front end and a second barrel-body rear end, the second lens barrel (7) passing through the second through hole (6) so that the second barrel-body front end is positioned outside the cavity, and the second barrel-body rear end is positioned inside the cavity; a second convex ring extending outwardly in the radial direction of the second lens barrel (7) is provided either on the second barrel-body front end or on the second barrel-body rear end of the second lens barrel (7), the second fastening mechanism fixing the second lens module block (15) to the front housing (1) on one of the second barrel-body front end and the second barrel-body rear end of the second lens barrel (7) that is not provided with the second convex ring (9), and at least one of the fastening mechanism and the second fastening mechanism allows the corresponding lens module (15) thereof or the second lens module to be rotated around an optical axis thereof before being fixed to the front housing (1).
However, Müller discloses a stereo camera module 1 by providing an optical system with two identical lens modules 6.1 and 6.2 as illustrated in Fig.1. Taking the combination teaching of Müller in view of Minikey as a whole, after considering the concept of providing two lens modules in a camera module as taught by Müller, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further comprises a second lens modules (3), the front housing (1) having a second through hole, the second lens module (3) comprises a second lens module block (15), and the camera device (200) further comprises a second fastening mechanism, the second lens module (15) comprises a second lens barrel (7) having a second barrel-body front end and a second barrel-body rear end, the second lens barrel (7) passing through the second through hole (6) so that the second barrel-body front end is positioned outside the cavity, and the second barrel-body rear end is positioned inside the cavity; a second convex ring extending outwardly in the radial direction of the second lens barrel (7) is provided either on the second barrel-body front end or on the second barrel-body rear end of the second lens barrel (7), the second fastening mechanism fixing the second lens module block (15) to the front housing (1) on one of the second barrel-body front end and the second barrel-body rear end of the second lens barrel (7) that is not provided with the second convex ring (9), and at least one of the fastening mechanism and the second fastening mechanism allows the corresponding lens module (15) thereof or the second lens module to be rotated around an optical axis thereof before being fixed to the front housing (1), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to create a stereo camera module (Müller: [0007]).
Regarding claim 16, Minikey and Müller combination teaches camera device according to claim 13, in addition Müller discloses characterized in that the structure of the second lens module is the same with that of the lens module (two identical lens modules 6.1 and 6.2 as illustrated in Fig.1).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey and Müller combination as applied above, in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 107462259 A to CHEN et al. (employing the provided machine translation and hereafter “CHEN”).
Regarding claim 14, Minikey and Müller combination teaches the camera device of claim 13, except characterized in that the second through hole is an elongate through hole (6′), the second fastening mechanism allowing the second lens module block (15) to be fixed to the front housing (1) at different positions of the second through hole (6′).
However, CHEN discloses a front panel is provided with a long strip of the left window 39 and right window 40 where are respectively placed in a left camera 4 and a right camera 5 (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Minikey and Müller combination such that the second through hole is an elongate through hole (6′), the second fastening mechanism allowing the second lens module block (15) to be fixed to the front housing (1) at different positions of the second through hole (6′) as taught by CHEN. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to adjust the baseline between two cameras (CHEN: [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 has been analyzed with regard to claims 13&14 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
/ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638