DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen et al. (US 8,805,618, hereafter Andersen) in view of Houston et al. (US 6,536,272, hereafter Houston)
With respect to claim 1, Andersen teaches a water sensor buoy for use in a water environment, the water sensor buoy comprising: a main buoy assembly sized and configured to float in a water environment, the main buoy assembly including: a buoy hull sized and configured to float in the water environment; and a sensor package (sensor unit 44) being in removable engagement with the main buoy assembly, the sensor package including: a water sensor (temperature sensor 57) disposed in the sensor housing, the water sensor having a sensor casing, a sensing element attached to the sensor casing, and sensor electronics in electrical communication with the sensing element, the sensor casing being attached to the sensor housing, the water sensor being sized and configured to sense an attribute of the water environment and generate sensor data. (col. 5, line 63 – col. 6, line 9; col. 8, line 36, col. 9, line 24; Figs. 3, 5)
Andersen does not explicitly teach a data processing and control unit supported by the buoy hull, the data processing and control unit sized and configured to generate a data signal upon receipt of sensor data from a water sensor; a data transmission unit supported by the buoy hull and in electronic communication with the data processing and control unit, the data transmission unit being sized and configured to wirelessly transmit a data signal generated by the data processing and control unit; and a power source supported by the buoy hull and being in electrical communication with the data processing and control unit and the data transmission unit; wherein the sensor housing is in removable engagement with the buoy hull; and the water sensor being in removable electronic communication with the data processing and control unit and the power source, the water sensor being electronically disengageable from the data processing and control unit and the power source upon the sensor housing being disengaged from the buoy hull; a watertight seal formed between the buoy hull and sensor housing with the sensor housing engaged with the buoy hull; and an electrical conduit disposed through the watertight seal with the sensor housing engaged with the buoy hull, the electrical conduit being electrically connected to the sensor electronics, the electrical conduit being electronically engageable with the data processing and control unit and the power source with the sensor housing being engaged with the buoy hull, the electrical conduit being electronically disengageable from the data processing and control unit and the power source upon the sensor housing being disengaged from the buoy hull.
Houston teaches a water sensor unit for use in a water environment, the water sensor unit comprising: a data processing and control unit (computer module 26) sized and configured to generate a data signal upon receipt of sensor data from a water sensor (instrument module 22); a data transmission unit in electronic communication with the data processing and control unit, the data transmission unit being sized and configured to wirelessly transmit a data signal generated by the data processing and control unit; and a power source supported by the buoy hull and being in electrical communication with the data processing and control unit and the data transmission unit; (col. 14, line 48 – col. 15, line 36, Fig. 16) a water monitoring module (instrument module 22) including: a sensor housing; a water sensor (testing equipment 526,528,530,532) disposed in the sensor housing, the water sensor having a sensor casing, a sensing element attached to the sensor casing, and sensor electronics in electrical communication with the sensing element, the sensor casing being attached to the sensor housing, the water sensor being sized and configured to sense an attribute of the water environment and generate sensor data; the water sensor being in removable electronic communication with the data processing and control unit and the power source; the water sensor being electronically disengageable from the data processing and control unit and the power source upon the sensor housing being disengaged from the buoy hull. (col. 10, lines 22-64; Fig. 13)
Houston also teaches a watertight seal formed between a vessel hull (hull 14) and an external sensor structure housing (scoop 12) with the sensor structure housing engaged with the hull; and an electrical conduit (electrical leads 156) disposed through the watertight seal with the housing engaged with the hull, the electrical conduit being electronically disengageable from the data processing and control unit and the power source upon the sensor housing being disengaged from the buoy hull. (col. 8, lines 30-36)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Andersen to have a data processing and control unit and water sensor structure, as taught by Houston, in order to provide a modular, adaptable testing apparatus.
It should be noted that Andersen teaches the sensor units can be attached to a buoy. (col. 5, lines 63-65) Also, Houston teaches the sampling apparatus can be used with a buoy (col. 5, lines 3-6) and the modular components can be located where it is convenient (col. 5, lines 59-61) but does not specifically address what that arrangement might be within a buoy. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art, desiring to apply the combined sensor unit to a buoy, as is suggested by both references, would find it obvious to arrange the sensors and data processing structures as claimed and to apply a sealed connection between the two such that the computer structures are protected and the elements can be selectively separated.
With respect to claim 2, Andersen, as modified by Houston, teaches an O-ring disposed between the buoy hull and the sensor housing for forming the watertight seal. (Houston, col. 8, lines 30-36)
With respect to claim 3, Andersen, as modified by Houston, teaches the sensor housing has a sensor cover sized and configured to engage the buoy hull, the watertight seal is disposed between the sensor cover and the buoy hull, the electrical conduit is disposed through the sensor cover. (this is a direct result of the combination)
With respect to claim 4, although Andersen, as modified by Houston, does not explicitly teach the sensor cover is sized and configured to be circumferentially received by the buoy hull for engagement of the buoy hull and the sensor housing, this would be an obvious arrangement in order to provide the sensor housing on the hull in a manner which is easily sealed.
With respect to claim 5, Andersen, as modified by Houston, teaches the sensor housing has an exit port, the electrical conduit being disposed through the exit port. (this is a direct result of the combination)
With respect to claim 6, Andersen, as modified by Houston, teaches the electronic conduit includes an exit port coupling sized and configured to electronically engage and disengage with the data processing and control unit and the power source. (this is a direct result of the combination)
With respect to claim 7, Andersen, as modified by Houston, teaches the buoy hull includes a chamber, the chamber is watertight upon the buoy hull being engaged with the sensor housing. (this is a direct result of the combination)
With respect to claim 8, Andersen, as modified by Houston, teaches the water sensor is a pH sensor. (Andersen, col. 3, lines 32-45)
With respect to claim 9, Andersen, as modified by Houston, teaches the water sensor is an optical fluorescence sensor. (Houston, col. 11, lines 28-34)
With respect to claim 10, Andersen, as modified by Houston, teaches the water sensor is a hydrophone. (Andersen, col. 3, lines 32-45)
With respect to claim 11, Andersen, as modified by Houston, teaches a method of using a water sensor buoy for use in a water environment, the method comprising the steps of:
a) floating the water sensor buoy in the water environment, the water sensor buoy including: a main buoy assembly sized and configured to float in a water environment, the main buoy assembly including: a buoy hull sized and configured to float in the water environment; a data processing and control unit supported by the buoy hull, the data processing and control unit sized and configured to generate a data signal upon receipt of sensor data from a water sensor; a data transmission unit supported by the buoy hull and in electronic communication with the data processing and control unit, the data transmission unit being sized and configured to wirelessly transmit a data signal generated by the data processing and control unit; and a power source supported by the buoy hull and being in electrical communication with the data processing and control unit and the data transmission unit; a sensor package being in removable engagement with the main buoy assembly, the sensor package including: a sensor housing in removable engagement with the buoy hull; and a water sensor disposed in the sensor housing, the water sensor having a sensor casing, a sensing element attached to the sensor casing, and sensor electronics in electrical communication with the sensing element, the sensor casing being attached to the sensor housing, the water sensor being in removable electronic communication with the data processing and control unit and the power source, the water sensor being sized and configured to sense an attribute of the water environment and generate sensor data for receipt by the data processing and control unit, the water sensor being electronically disengageable from the data processing and control unit and the power source upon the sensor housing being disengaged from the buoy hull; a watertight seal formed between the buoy hull and sensor housing with the sensor housing engaged with the buoy hull; and an electrical conduit disposed through the watertight seal with the sensor housing engaged with the buoy hull, the electrical conduit being electrically connected to the sensor electronics, the electrical conduit being electronically engageable with the data processing and control unit and the power source with the sensor housing being engaged with the buoy hull, the electrical conduit being electronically disengageable from the data processing and control unit and the power source upon the sensor housing being disengaged from the buoy hull;
b) removing the water sensor buoy from the water environment;
c) disengaging the sensor housing from the buoy hull; and
d) electronically disengaging the electrical conduit from the data processing and control unit and the power source.
Although the references do not explicitly teach the method of disengaging, this must take place at some point and therefore it is considered to be taught by the references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 4,157,657; GB 2507158; US 10,653,027; AU 2020203828; and US 20250100651 each teach an invention having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
/JILL E CULLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853