DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19, is a redundant part of claim 18 (see claim 18, last two lines).
Claim 21, lines 2-3, “the polymeric material” is unclear to which one, first or second.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund et al. (EP 2521139) in view of Wannerskog et al. (2021/0163641) and Leon-Giarena et al. (2016/0379737).
Lund et al. discloses a submarine power cable comprising: a plurality elongated elements arranged in a stranded configuration (col. 4, lines 48-49), wherein at least two of the elongated elements are power cores (2), each power core having a conductor (7), an insulation system arranged around the conductor, and a polymeric sheath (10) including a first polymeric material arranged around the insulation system, and a plurality of filler profiles (3) including a second polymeric material, each filler profile being arranged in a respective interstice between two elongated elements of the plurality of elongated elements, wherein the first polymeric material (10) comprises polyethylene ([0016]) (re-claim 1).
Lund et al. does not disclose the first polymeric material and/or the second polymeric material including a slip additive; and the second polymeric material comprising polyethylene (re-claim 1).
Wannerskog et al. discloses a cable jacket comprising a polymeric material which includes a slip additive in an amount of 0.01-5 wt% of the total weight of the polymeric material ([0047]) (re-claims 1 & 2).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include a slip additive, as taught by Wannerskog et al., in the first polymeric material (sheath) of Lund et al. to improve the mechanical properties of the sheath.
Leon-Guarena et al. discloses a filler profile comprising polyethylene ([0036]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use polyethylene for the second polymeric material (filler profile) of Lund et al. since polyethylene is a flexible material which also has high mechanical strength as taught by Leon-Guarena et al.
Re-claims 10-11, Lund et al. discloses the cable comprising a first bedding layer (11) enclosing the elongated elements, wherein the first bedding layer includes a third polymeric material, and wherein the third polymeric material comprises polyethylene. Lund et al. does not disclose the third polymeric material having a slip additive. Wannerskog et al. discloses a cable jacket comprising a polymeric material which includes a slip additive ([0047]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include a slip additive, as taught by Wannerskog et al., in the third polymeric material of Lund et al. to improve the mechanical properties of the sheath, reduced friction.
Re-claim 14, Lund et al. discloses each power core (2) being in direct contact with two of the filler profiles.
Re-claim 15, the modified submarine power cable of Lund et al. is a dynamic submarin power cable since it comprises structure and material as claimed.
Re-claim 17, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use amide, such as erucamide or oleamide, as the slip additive in the modified cable of Lund et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable since such material is known in the art for being used as a slip agent.
Claims 1-9, 14, 15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leon-Guarena et al. in view of Maioli et al. (11177054) and Sasse et al. (2010/0236811).
Leon-Guarena et al. discloses a submarine power cable comprising a plurality of elongated elements (25a-25c) arranged in a stranded configuration ([0050]), wherein at least two of the elongated elements are power cores, each power core having a conductor and an insulation system (not labeled) arranged around the conductor; a plurality of filler profiles (1) including a (second) polymeric material, each filler profile being arranged in a respective interstice between two of the elongated elements, wherein the (second) polymeric material (of filler 1) comprises MDPE (medium density polyethylene, [0036]) (re-claims 1 and 8).
Leon-Guarena et al. does not disclose each power core having a polymeric sheath including a (first) polymeric material arranged around the insulation system; the (first) polymeric material comprising polyethylene; and the (first) and/or (second) polymeric material including a slip additive (re-claim 1).
Maioli et al. discloses a power cable comprising power cores (12) each having a polymeric sheath (127) including a polymeric material arranged around an insulation system, wherein the polymeric material comprises MDPE (col. 8, lines 13-15) (re-claims 1 and 7). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to arrange the polymeric sheath (127) as taught by Maioli et al. around the insulation system of each power core of Leon-Guarena et al. to further protect the conductor.
Sasse et al. discloses a power core (cable) comprising a polymeric sheath including a slip additive ([0038], last three lines) in an amount of 0.01-5 wt% of the total weight of the polymeric material, wherein the slip additive comprises erucamide or oleamide (re-claims 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add the slip additive as taught by Sasse et al. to the first and second polymeric materials in the modified cable of Leon-Guarena et al. to reduce surface coefficient of friction.
Re-claim 6, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use talc as the slip additive in the modified cable of Leon-Guarena et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable since talc is known in the art for being used as a slip agent.
Re-claim 9, Maioli et al. discloses each power core (12) comprising a metallic water blocking layer (126), wherein the polymeric sheath (127) is arranged radially outside the metallic water blocking layer (col. 8 lines 11-15). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include a metallic water blocking layer as taught by Maioli et al. in each modified power core of Leon-Guarena et al. to further protect the conductor and insulation system.
Re-claim 14, Leon-Guarena et al. discloses each power core being in direct contact with two of the filler profiles.
Re-claim 15, the modified power cable of Leon-Guarena et al. is a dynamic submarine power cable since it comprises structure and material as claimed.
Re-claims 18 and 19, Leon-Guarena et al., as modified, discloses the first polymeric material (see sheath 127 of Maioli) being a MDPE and the second polymeric material (filler profile 1) being a MDPE ([0036]).
Re-claim 21, Leon-Guarena et al., as modified, discloses the slip additive being a migrating slip additive, a portion of which has migrated to a surface of the polymeric material in which the slip additive is contained to reduce a friction coefficient of the surface (see Sasse, abstract and [0038]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, 8, and 18 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that Wannerskog teaches composition based on polypropylene, and that the combination of Lund and Wannerskog would therefore fails to render obvious the subject matter of amended claim 1. Examiner would disagree. Wannerskog is relied upon to support the position of adding a slip additive into a polymeric composition or a polyolefin composition to improve the mechanical properties of the same.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841