DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 25 November 2025 has been considered. New rejections based on applicant’s amendments are recited below. Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12,134,178 to Tong et al (Tong).
Concerning claim 1, Tong discloses a router comprising:
a motor unit (12) including
a housing (12) including a lower housing portion (122, 123) coupled to an upper housing portion (121),
the lower housing portion (122, 123) including an open end (E1 in the figure reproduced below) having a rim (E3 in the figure reproduced below) that defines an opening, a partially closed end (E2 in the figure reproduced below) opposite the open end (E1), and a cylindrical wall (122, 123) extending between the open end and the partially closed end;
an electric motor (11) situated within the housing and configured to provide rotational energy to rotate a tool holder (13) about an output axis;
and a circuit board (181) coupled to the electric motor and including a controller (18) configured to control operation of the electric motor (11);
wherein the rim (E3) defines a straight reference plane, and wherein the electric motor (11) and the circuit board (18, 181) are positioned within the lower housing portion (122, 123) entirely on one side of the straight reference plane.
Concerning claim 2, Tong discloses the electric motor (11) includes a stator (116) affixed to the housing and a rotor (117) configured to rotate relative to the stator (116).
Concerning claim 3, Tong discloses the motor unit further includes an output shaft (111) configured to rotate about an axis, and the rotor (117) is affixed to the output shaft (111) and configured to provide rotational energy to rotate a tool holder (13) about an axis of the output shaft (111).
Concerning claim 4, Tong discloses the tool holder (13) is directly coupled to the output shaft (111).
Concerning claim 5, Tong discloses a base (14) configured to removably receive the motor unit (12) and support the motor unit (12) above a workpiece.
Concerning claim 6, Tong discloses in figure 7 the upper housing portion (121) includes two clamshell housing halves (1212).
Concerning claim 7, Tong discloses the upper housing portion (121) includes a battery receiving portion (1211) configured to selectively and removably couple to a battery pack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,900661 to Thorson et al (Thorson).
Concerning claim 8, Tong does not disclose the motor unit further includes a depth adjustment shaft rotatably supported by each of the upper housing portion and the lower housing portion.
Thorson discloses a router comprising: a motor unit (28) including a housing (48), and
a motor (36) situated within the housing (48) and configured to provide rotational energy to rotate an output device (40) of the motor unit about an output axis;
wherein the motor unit (28) further includes a depth adjustment shaft (52) rotatably supported by each of the upper housing portion (E11 in the figure reproduced below) and the lower housing portion (E12 in the figure reproduced below.
Because both these references are concerned with a similar problem, i.e. a router, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the depth adjustment device of Tong with that of Thorson. In KSR (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)) the courts held that combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. Accordingly a simple substitution of the depth adjustment device of Tong with that of Thorson will obtain predictable results and is therefore obvious and proper combination of the references is made. The predictable results being that the router can be used with different bases as seen in figure 2 of Thorson.
Claim(s) 9-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong in view of Thorson and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,302,406 to Kato et al (Kato).
Concerning claim 9, Tong discloses a router comprising:
a motor unit (12) including a housing (12) including a battery receiving portion (1211) configured to selectively and removably couple to a battery pack, and
a brushless direct current (BLDC) motor (11) situated within the housing and configured to provide rotational energy to rotate an output device (13) of the motor unit about an output axis;
a first base (14) configured to removably receive the motor unit and support the motor unit above a workpiece, the first base including a first lower base portion (142) and an annular sleeve (1411); and
wherein the housing (12) includes a lower housing portion (122, 123) coupled to an upper housing portion (121), the lower housing portion including an open end (E1 in the figure reproduced below), a partially closed end (E2 in the figure reproduced below) opposite the open end (E1).
However, Tong does not disclose a second base nor the cylindrical wall and screw boss.
Thorson discloses a router comprising:
a motor unit (28) including a housing (48), and
a brushless direct current (BLDC) motor (36) situated within the housing and configured to provide rotational energy to rotate an output device (40) of the motor unit about an output axis;
a first base (32) configured to removably receive the motor unit (28) and support the motor unit above a workpiece, the first base (32) including a first lower base portion (E14 in the figure reproduced below) and an annular sleeve (E15 in the figure reproduced below); and
a second base (24) configured to removably receive the motor unit (28) and support the motor unit above a workpiece, the second base including a second lower base portion (80), a base support component (84), and a guide post (88) coupling the second lower base portion (80) to the base support component (84).
Because both these references are concerned with a similar problem, i.e. a router, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the second base of Thorson to the router of Tong. In KSR (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)) the courts held that combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. Accordingly a simple addition of the second base of Thorson to the router of Tong will obtain predictable results and is therefore obvious and proper combination of the references is made. The predictable results being that the router can be used with different bases as seen in figure 2 of Thorson.
Kato discloses a router comprising:
a motor unit (15) including a housing, and
a motor (40) situated within the housing and configured to provide rotational energy to rotate an output device (58) of the motor unit about an output axis;
a first base (60) configured to removably receive the motor unit (15) and support the motor unit (15) above a workpiece (W), the first base (60) including a first lower base portion (61) and an annular sleeve (72); and
wherein the housing includes a lower housing portion (21) coupled to an upper housing portion (36), the lower housing portion (21) including an open end (E21 in the figure reproduced below), a partially closed end (E22 in the figure reproduced below) opposite the open end (top of 20), and a cylindrical wall (25) extending between the open end (E21) and the partially closed end (E22) and
wherein the lower housing portion further includes a screw boss (54) that protrudes inwardly from the cylindrical wall (25), and wherein the motor (40) includes a stator (43) that abuts the screw boss (54).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add the cylindrical wall and screw boss of Kato to the router of Tong, in view of Thorson, because as disclosed by Kato the wall allows for having insulation (both electrical and thermal) while also having an external housing that has a higher mechanical strength (column 6, lines 38-60) and the screw boss allows for fixedly attaching the stator to the internal housing i.e. the cylindrical wall (column 5, lines 50-53).
Concerning claim 10, Kato, as applied to Tong in view of Thorson, does not disclose the cylindrical wall defines an outer diameter that is less than or equal to 82 millimeters.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Kato, as applied to Tong in view of Thorson, such that the cylindrical wall defines an outer diameter that is less than or equal to 82 millimeters as such determination would result during routine engineering practices and experimentation.
Further, Applicant has not positively recited any criticality to the exact sizing.
Accordingly, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Concerning claim 11, Kato, as applied to Tong in view of Thorson, discloses the lower housing portion defines an internal cavity, and wherein the motor (of Tong) is positioned within the internal cavity and surrounded by the cylindrical wall (25).
Concerning claim 13, Tong in view of Thorson and further in view of Kato does not disclose wherein the stator defines an outer diameter that is less than or equal to 60 millimeters.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Tong in view of Thorson and further in view of Kato such the stator defines an outer diameter that is less than or equal to 60 millimeters as such determination would result during routine engineering practices and experimentation.
Further, Applicant has not positively recited any criticality to the exact sizing. Accordingly, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Concerning claim 14, Kato, as applied to Tong in view of Thorson, discloses an output shaft (43) rotatably supported by the housing and configured to support the output device (58); and a fan (53) fixedly coupled to the output shaft (43); wherein the motor (40) is positioned between the fan (53) and the battery receiving portion (as when combined with Tong the top of the device is the battery receiving portion and thus would be above the motor which would then be above the fan) along a direction of the output axis.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add the fan of Thorson to the output shaft of Tong because, as disclosed by Thorson the fan blows air from the lower end to the upper end of the housing (column 6, lines 5-10) which is well known in the art to provide cooling to the motor.
Concerning claim 15, Tong, in view of Thorson and further in view of Kato, does not explicitly disclose the battery pack has a nominal voltage of less than 21 volts, and wherein the BLDC motor is configured to output at least 1800 W in response to receiving power from the battery pack. However, the router of the combination is capable of being used with the battery pack has a nominal voltage of less than 21 volts and the BLDC motor is capable to output at least 1800 W in response to receiving power from the battery pack.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong in view of Kato.
Concerning claim 16, Tong discloses a router comprising:
a motor unit (12) including a housing (12) including a battery receiving portion (1211) configured to selectively and removably couple to a battery pack, and
a brushless direct current (BLDC) motor (11) situated within the housing and configured to provide rotational energy to rotate an output device (13) of the motor unit about an output axis;
a base (14) configured to removably receive the motor unit and support the motor unit above a workpiece, the first base including a first lower base portion (142) and an annular sleeve (1411); and
wherein the housing (12) includes a lower housing portion (122, 123) coupled to an upper housing portion (121), the lower housing portion including an open end (E1 in the figure reproduced below), a partially closed end (E2 in the figure reproduced below) opposite the open end (E1).
However, Tong does not disclose the cylindrical wall and screw boss.
Kato discloses a router comprising:
a motor unit (15) including a housing, and
a motor (40) situated within the housing and configured to provide rotational energy to rotate an output device (58) of the motor unit about an output axis;
a first base (60) configured to removably receive the motor unit (15) and support the motor unit (15) above a workpiece (W), the first base (60) including a first lower base portion (61) and an annular sleeve (72); and
wherein the housing includes a lower housing portion (21) coupled to an upper housing portion (36), the lower housing portion (21) including an open end (E21 in the figure reproduced below), a partially closed end (E22 in the figure reproduced below) opposite the open end (top of 20), and a cylindrical wall (25) extending between the open end (E21) and the partially closed end (E22) and
wherein the lower housing portion further includes a screw boss (54) that protrudes inwardly from the cylindrical wall (25), and wherein the motor (40) includes a stator (43) that abuts the screw boss (54).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add the cylindrical wall and screw boss of Kato to the router of Tong, in view of Thorson, because as disclosed by Kato the wall allows for having insulation (both electrical and thermal) while also having an external housing that has a higher mechanical strength (column 6, lines 38-60) and the screw boss allows for fixedly attaching the stator to the internal housing i.e. the cylindrical wall (column 5, lines 50-53).
Tong, in view of Kato, does not explicitly disclose the battery pack has a nominal voltage of less than 21 volts, and wherein the BLDC motor is configured to output at least 1800 W in response to receiving power from the battery pack. However, the router of the combination is capable of being used with the battery pack has a nominal voltage of less than 21 volts and the BLDC motor is capable to output at least 1800 W in response to receiving power from the battery pack.
Concerning claim 17, Tong in view of Kato does not disclose wherein the stator defines an outer diameter that is less than or equal to 60 millimeters.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Tong in view of Kato such the stator defines an outer diameter that is less than or equal to 60 millimeters as such determination would result during routine engineering practices and experimentation.
Further, Applicant has not positively recited any criticality to the exact sizing. Accordingly, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Concerning claim 14, Kato, as applied to Tong, discloses an output shaft (43) rotatably supported by the housing and configured to support the output device (58); and a fan (53) fixedly coupled to the output shaft (43); wherein the motor (40) is positioned between the fan (53) and the battery receiving portion (as when combined with Tong the top of the device is the battery receiving portion and thus would be above the motor which would then be above the fan) along a direction of the output axis.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add the fan of Thorson to the output shaft of Tong because, as disclosed by Thorson the fan blows air from the lower end to the upper end of the housing (column 6, lines 5-10) which is well known in the art to provide cooling to the motor.
Concerning claim 19, Kato, as applied to Tong in view of Thorson, discloses the lower housing portion defines an internal cavity, and wherein the motor (of Tong) is positioned within the internal cavity and surrounded by the cylindrical wall (25).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 13-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew Katcoff/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725
03/10/2026