DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahoney (US 4930903).
Regarding Claim 1, Mahoney discloses a reinforced flowerpot cover comprising:
a bag (bag 12) including having a base defining an interior surface (bottom 30), an exterior surface (outside of bag; Figure 1), and a periphery (Figures 1-3), a sidewall extending upwardly from the periphery (sidewalls 22, 24, 26, 28) and terminating at a cuff defining a top opening (“The upper end 42 of the bag 12 is reverted in a region 44 of double material thickness.” Col. 2 lines 33-34; Figure 3); and
an insert assembly including a bottom insert (insert 14) defining an outer edge that is substantially similar to the periphery of the base (Figure 1) and a vertical insert (upright insert sections 54),
wherein the top cuff includes one or more pockets (“The upper end 56 of the insert section 54 is beveled to allow the end 56 to be easily tucked under the fold of the upper bag end 42.” Col. 2 lines 54-56),
wherein the outer edge of the bottom insert defines one or more recess(es) set back from said outer edge creating one or more notches (recesses 50; Figure 3),
wherein the vertical insert includes a bottom end sized and shaped to insert into and be retained by one of the one or more notches (Figures 1 and 3), the vertical insert and the sidewall of the bag interdependently buttressed together so as to retain the bottom end of the vertical insert within the one of the one or more notches as the vertical insert carries the sidewall, thereby preventing the sidewall from collapsing (Figures 1-3),
wherein the vertical insert includes a top end (upper end 56) sized and shaped to insert into and be retained within one of the one or more pockets when engaged with and supported by the interior surface of the bag on at least one side (Figures 1 and 3),
wherein the insert assembly is removably positioned within the bag (Figures 1-3), facilitating a rigid structure to keep the bag standing upright with the top opening stretched fully open (Figure 1),
and wherein the bottom insert and the vertical insert are separate, individual components (Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding Claim 15, Mahoney discloses a reinforced flowerpot cover comprising:
a bag (bag 12) having a base defining an interior surface (bottom 30), an exterior surface (outside of bag; Figure 1), and a periphery (Figures 1-3), a sidewall extending upwardly from the periphery (sidewalls 22, 24, 26, 28) and terminating at atop cuff defining a top opening (“The upper end 42 of the bag 12 is reverted in a region 44 of double material thickness.” Col. 2 lines 33-34; Figure 3) and one or more pockets defining a dimension (“The upper end 56 of the insert section 54 is beveled to allow the end 56 to be easily tucked under the fold of the upper bag end 42.” Col. 2 lines 54-56; the dimension is the width of the bag); and
an insert assembly including a bottom insert (insert 14) defining an outer edge that is substantially similar to the periphery of the base (Figure 1) and a vertical insert (upright insert sections 54),
wherein the outer edge of the bottom insert defines one or more a recess(es) set back from said outer edge creating one or more notches (recesses 50; Figure 3),
wherein the vertical insert includes a bottom end sized and shaped to insert into and be retained within one of the one or more notches (Figures 1 and 3), the vertical insert and the sidewall of the bag interdependently buttressed together so as to retain the bottom end of the vertical insert within the one of the one or more notches as the vertical insert carries the sidewall, thereby preventing the sidewall from collapsing (Figures 1-3),
wherein the insert assembly is removably positioned within the bag (Figures 1-3), facilitating a rigid structure to keep the bag standing upright with the top opening stretched fully open (Figures 1 and 3), and
wherein the vertical insert includes a top end defining a width no larger than the dimension of the pocket (Figures 1 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 11-12, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn (US 5070645) in view of Mahoney (US 4930903).
Regarding Claim 1, Vaughn discloses a reinforced flowerpot cover comprising:
a bag (liner 24, cover 28) including having a base defining an interior surface, an exterior surface, and a periphery (Figures 2 and 4), a sidewall extending upwardly from the periphery and terminating at a cuff defining a top opening (hem 26 Figure 2); and
an insert assembly including a bottom insert defining an outer edge that is substantially similar to the periphery of the base (base 16; Figures 1 and 2) and a vertical insert (stays 22),
wherein the top cuff includes one or more pockets (hem 26, gaps between stitching where stays 22 go Figures 2 and 4),
wherein the vertical insert includes a top end sized and shaped to insert into and be retained by one of the one or more pockets (hem 26, gaps between stitching where stays 22 go Figures 2 and 4) when engaged with and supported by the interior surface of the bag on at least one side (so long as the bag and insert are touching- Figure 2- then they are supporting one another through frictional forces),
wherein the insert assembly is positioned within the bag, facilitating a rigid structure to keep the bag standing upright with the top opening stretched fully open (Figures 2 and 4).
Vaughn fails to disclose wherein the outer edge of the bottom insert defines one or more recess(es) set back from said outer edge creating one or more notches, wherein the vertical insert includes a bottom end sized and shaped to insert into and be retained by one of the one or more notches, the vertical insert and the sidewall of the bag interdependently buttressed together so as to retain the bottom end of the vertical insert within the one of the one or more notches as the vertical insert carries the sidewall, thereby preventing the sidewall from collapsing, wherein the insert assembly is removably positioned within the bag and wherein the bottom insert and the vertical insert are separate, individual components.
However, Mahoney teaches a bag with an insert, wherein the outer edge of the bottom insert defines one or more recess(es) set back from said outer edge creating one or more notches (recesses 50; Figure 3), wherein the vertical insert includes a bottom end sized and shaped to insert into and be retained by one of the one or more notches (Figures 1 and 3), the vertical insert and the sidewall of the bag interdependently buttressed together so as to retain the bottom end of the vertical insert within the one of the one or more notches as the vertical insert carries the sidewall, thereby preventing the sidewall from collapsing (Figures 1-3), wherein the insert assembly is removably positioned within the bag (Figures 1-3), facilitating a rigid structure to keep the bag standing upright with the top opening stretched fully open (Figure 1), and wherein the bottom insert and the vertical insert are separate, individual components (Figures 1 and 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insert of Vaughn, with the notches and pockets, and removability of Mahoney, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for in order to allow for easier disassembly for storage and shipping of the cover, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding Claim 9, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 1. Vaughn further discloses the reinforced flowerpot cover, wherein the bottom insert defines an opening (base 16 of frame 12 Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 1. Vaughn further discloses the reinforced flowerpot cover, wherein the outer edge of the bottom insert defines a square shape (Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 12, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 1. Vaughn further discloses the reinforced flowerpot cover, wherein the outer edge of the bottom insert defines a circle shape (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 15, Vaughn discloses a reinforced flowerpot cover comprising:
a bag (liner 24, cover 28) having a base defining an interior surface, an exterior surface, and a periphery (Figures 2 and 4), a sidewall extending upwardly from the periphery and terminating at a top cuff defining a top opening (hem 26 Figure 2) and one or more pockets defining a dimension (hem 26, gaps between stitching where stays 22 go Figures 2 and 4); and
an insert assembly including a bottom insert defining an outer edge that is substantially similar to the periphery of the base (base 16; Figures 1 and 2) and a vertical insert (stays 22),
wherein the insert assembly is positioned within the bag, facilitating a rigid structure to keep the bag standing upright with the top opening stretched fully open (Figures 2 and 4), and
wherein the vertical insert includes a top end defining a width no larger than the dimension of the pocket (hem 26, gaps between stitching where stays 22 go Figures 2 and 4; stays are not larger than gaps in stitching).
Vaughn fails to disclose wherein the outer edge of the bottom insert defined one or more recess(es) set back from said outer edge creating one or more notches, wherein the vertical insert includes a bottom end sized and shaped to insert into and be retained within one of the one or more notches, the vertical insert and the sidewall of the bag interdependently buttressed together so as to retain the bottom end of the vertical insert within the one of the one or more notches as the vertical insert carries the sidewall, thereby preventing the sidewall from collapsing, and wherein the insert assembly (50) is removably positioned within the bag.
However, Mahoney teaches a bag with an insert, wherein the outer edge of the bottom insert defines one or more recess(es) set back from said outer edge creating one or more notches (recesses 50; Figure 3), wherein the vertical insert includes a bottom end sized and shaped to insert into and be retained by one of the one or more notches (Figures 1 and 3), the vertical insert and the sidewall of the bag interdependently buttressed together so as to retain the bottom end of the vertical insert within the one of the one or more notches as the vertical insert carries the sidewall, thereby preventing the sidewall from collapsing (Figures 1-3), and wherein the insert assembly is removably positioned within the bag (Figures 1-3), facilitating a rigid structure to keep the bag standing upright with the top opening stretched fully open (Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insert of Vaughn, with the notches and pockets, and removability of Mahoney, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for in order to allow for easier disassembly for storage and shipping of the cover, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding Claim 18, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 15.
Vaughn fails to disclose the reinforced flowerpot cover, wherein the vertical insert and the bottom insert are individual, separate components.
However, Mahoney teaches the bag with an insert wherein the vertical insert and the bottom insert are individual, separate components (Figures 1 and 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insert of Vaughn, with the individual parts of Mahoney, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for easier storage during shipping and transportation of the cover, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding Claim 20, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 15.
Vaughn fails to disclose the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 15, wherein an exterior surface of the sidewall and the exterior surface of the base include an aesthetic element.
However, Mahoney teaches a bag with an insert wherein an exterior surface of the sidewall and the exterior surface of the base includes an aesthetic element (“If desired, suitable decorative ribbons (not shown) may be wrapped about the bag 12 and lid 16 and decorative ribbon bows (not shown) or other decorations, tags or the like may be affixed to the package 10.” Col. 3 lines 34-37).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the exterior surface of Vaughn, with the aesthetic element of Mahoney, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help make the cover more aesthetically pleasing for the user.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn in view of Mahoney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weder (US 2005/0178060).
Regarding Claim 6, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 1.
Vaughn fails to disclose the reinforced flowerpot cover, wherein the base includes a drain hole.
However, Weder ‘060 teaches a similar flowerpot cover wherein the base includes a drain hole (“The bottom may further have at least one drain opening therein,” Paragraph [0075]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the base of Vaughn, with the drain hole of Weder ‘060, with reasonable expectations of success, in order to help ensure the plant has proper drainage to help prevent root rot.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn in view of Mahoney and Weder as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Nelson et al. (WO 2010/104590).
Regarding Claim 7, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 6.
Vaughn fails to disclose the reinforced flowerpot cover, wherein the drain hole is reinforced with a grommet.
However, Nelson teaches a plant container wherein the drain hole (apertures 912; Figures 10A and12) is reinforced with a grommet (“The apertures 912 are aligned such that a grommet, rivet, eyelet or other fastener 914 (Figs. 10A and 10C) can be inserted and secured therethrough to provide further reinforcing” Page 14 lines 17-19).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the pot of Vaughn, with the grommet reinforced hole of Nelson, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the plant receives proper drainage, while helping maintain the structure and durability of the container.
Regarding Claim 8, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 1.
Vaughn fails to disclose wherein the bag is formed of a polyester material.
However, Nelson teaches a plant container wherein the bag (container 100 with material 102) is formed of a polyester material (“the breathable material 102 is a synthetic polymer, such as polypropylene, polyester, polyethylene and polyamides.” Page 9 lines 15-16).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bag of Vaughn, to be polyester as taught by Nelson, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the cover is durable while remaining cost effective, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn in view of Mahoney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weder (US 4300312).
Regarding Claim 10, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 1.
Vaughn fails to disclose the reinforced flowerpot cover, wherein the vertical insert defines a trapezoidal shape.
However, Weder ‘312 teaches a similar reinforced plant cover wherein the vertical insert defines a trapezoidal shape (Fingers 30; Figures 1 and 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vertical inserts of Vaughn, to be trapezoidal in shape as taught by Weder ‘312, with reasonable expectations of success, in order to help increase the stability of the insert.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn in view of Mahoney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patten (US 1087702).
Regarding Claim 13, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 1. Vaughn further discloses the reinforced flowerpot cover, wherein the top cuff is formed with a lower stitching sewn at a bottom edge (“the edges are folded over the mouth 14 and affixed such as by stitching to form a hem 26.” Col. 2 lines 1-3; Figure 2).
Vaughn fails to disclose wherein the top cuff is formed with an upper stitching sewn at a top edge.
However, Patten teaches a similar flowerpot cover wherein the top cuff is formed with an upper stitching sewn at a top edge (“the stays terminate adjacent to the pocket 6,” Page 2 lines 25-28 “held in place by pockets 3 stitched, or otherwise secured to the body blank” Page 1 lines 82-85, stiches shown above stays in Figure 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the top cuff of Vaughn, with the upper stitching as taught by Patten, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the security of the inserts within the pockets, as well as increase the overall stability of the cover.
Regarding Claim 14, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 13.
Vaughn fails to disclose the reinforced flowerpot cover, wherein the upper stitching is sewn around the entire top edge.
However, Patten teaches wherein the upper stitching is sewn around the entire top edge (Figures 1 and 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the top cuff of Vaughn, with the upper stitching as taught by Patten, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the security of the inserts within the pockets, as well as increase the overall stability of the cover.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn in view of Mahoney as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Nelson et al. (WO 2010/104590).
Regarding Claim 19, Vaughn as modified teaches the reinforced flowerpot cover of claim 15.
Vaughn fails to disclose wherein the bag is formed of a polyester material.
However, Nelson teaches a plant container wherein the bag (container 100 with material 102) is formed of a polyester material (“the breathable material 102 is a synthetic polymer, such as polypropylene, polyester, polyethylene and polyamides.” Page 9 lines 15-16).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bag of Vaughn, to be polyester as taught by Nelson, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the cover is durable while remaining cost effective, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly added reference Mahoney (US 4930903) in combination with previously used references teaches the claims as amended, as discussed in the currently presented rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mack (US 4900163) is considered relevant prior art as it pertains to a similar bag with an insert.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642