DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2023 and 03/19/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
The presence of the word “about” in the claims is noted. A review of the specification does not yield a definition of “about”. Thus, the word is given its plain meaning and treated using the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Duplicate Claim Warning
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 or 16 be found allowable, the other of these two claims will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
While court decisions have confirmed applicant’s right to restate (i.e. by plural claiming) the invention in a reasonable number of ways, the instant case’s claims 1 and 16 are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite the slight difference in preamble wording (i.e. ‘composition comprising…’ vs. ‘article comprising a composition, the composition comprising…’)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112/101
Claim 13 is a “use” claim (MPEP 2173.05 q) and is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, and/or 35 U.S.C. 101. Claim 13 attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process and is therefore indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Alternatively, claim 13 is an improper definition of a process under 35 U.S.C. 101.
To be clear, the claimed use of a composition does not constitute a proper process claim and/or set forth the steps required to accomplish a process of using the composition. In the interest of the clarity of the record, while the preamble of claim 13 is “a method of using a composition…”, it is notable that no positive steps to accomplish this method are provided and the last three lines of the claim expressly list various applications for the use of the composition (see at least “…comprises using the composition for a purpose selected from the group consisting of…”).
Claims 14 and 15 depend from rejected claim 13 and do not resolve the 112/101 issue in claim 13. Thus, claims 14 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons in view of their dependency from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyama et al. (U.S. 6,458,318).
Regarding claims 1 and/or 16, Nishiyama teaches a heat resistant nickel base alloy (Title) having a composition as follows:
Element
Claimed
Nishiyama
Citation
Shared
Cr
About 16 to about 21
10 to 25
Col. 4 lines 44-58
About 16 to about 21
Al
About 3.5 to about 6.0
2.1-4.5
Col. 4 lines 65-67
About 3.5 to about 4.5
Fe
About 0.5 to about 1.95
0.1-10
Col. 6 lines 20-27
About 0.5 to about 1.95
Co
About 9 to about 12
0-10
Col. 6 lines 62-67
About 9 to about 10
Mo
About 0.5 to about 1.5
0-15
Col. 5 lines 40-42
About 0.5 to about 1.5
C
About 0.03 to about 0.18
Up to 0.1
Col. 4 lines 1-10
About 0.03 to about 0.1
Ti
About 0.5 to about 2.5
Up to 3
Col. 6 lines 1-5
About 0.5 to about 2.5
W
About 0.5 to about 2.5
0-15
Col. 5 lines 40-42
About 0.5 to about 2.5
Nb
About 1.0 to about 3.5
0-1
Col. 6 lines 29-38
About 1.0
Hf
Less than about 0.25
Up to 0.8
Col. 5 lines 28-30
Less than about 0.25
Ni
Balance
Balance
Abstract, Col. 5 lines 53-57
Lies Within
It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 2, Nishiyama teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above and further teaches that the composition comprises 2.1-4.5 Al which overlaps the claimed range of about 4.0 to about 5.0 (Col. 4 lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 3, Nishiyama teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above and further teaches that the composition comprises 0.1-10 Fe which overlaps the claimed range of about 1.0 to about 1.75 Fe (Col. 6 lines 20-27).
Regarding claim 4, Nishiyama teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above and further teaches that the composition comprises 0-1 Nb which is reasonably close to the claimed range of about 1.5 to about 2.5 (Col. 6 lines 29-38). Notably, the modifier ‘about’ would embrace values below the expressed bound of ‘1.5’ such that lower values nearing 1 would be considered ‘reasonably close’ and that the properties would be expected to be the same absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 5, Nishiyama teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above and further teaches that the composition comprises 2.1-4.5% Al which overlaps the claimed range of about 4.0 to about 5.0% Al (Col. 4 lines 65-67), 0.1-10 Fe which overlaps the claimed range of about 1.0 to about 1.75 Fe (Col. 6 lines 20-27), and 0-1 Nb which is reasonably close to the claimed range of about 1.5 to about 2.5 (Col. 6 lines 29-38).
Notably, the modifier ‘about’ would embrace values below the expressed bound of ‘1.5’ such that lower values nearing 1 would be considered ‘reasonably close’ and that the properties would be expected to be the same absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 6, Nishiyama teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above and further teaches:
Element
Claimed
Nishiyama
Citation
Shared
Cr
About 17 to about 19
10 to 25
Col. 4 lines 44-58
About 17 to about 19
Al
About 4.0 to about 5.0
2.1-4.5
Col. 4 lines 65-67
About 4.0 to about 4.5
Fe
About 1.00 to about 1.75
0.1-10
Col. 6 lines 20-27
About 1.00 to about 1.75
Co
About 10 to about 11
0-10
Col. 6 lines 62-67
About 10
Mo
About 0.5 to about 1.0
0-15
Col. 5 lines 40-42
About 0.5 to about 1.0
C
About 0.5 to about 0.10
Up to 0.1
Col. 4 lines 1-10
About 0.5 to about 0.1
Ti
About 0.5 to about 1.0
Up to 3
Col. 6 lines 1-5
About 0.5 to about 1.0
W
About 1.0 to about 2.0
0-15
Col. 5 lines 40-42
About 1.0 to about 2.0
Nb
About 1.5 to about 2.5
0-1
Col. 6 lines 29-38
Reasonably close
Hf
Less than about 0.25
Up to 0.8
Col. 5 lines 28-30
Less than about 0.25
Ni
Balance
Balance
Abstract, Col. 5 lines 53-57
Lies Within
It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to the claimed Nb range, Nishiyama teaches 0-1 Nb which is reasonably close to the claimed range of about 1.5 to about 2.5 (Col. 6 lines 29-38). Notably, the modifier ‘about’ would embrace values below the expressed bound of ‘1.5’ such that lower values nearing 1 would be considered ‘reasonably close’ and that the properties would be expected to be the same absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 7, Nishiyama teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above and further teaches:
Element
Claimed
Nishiyama
Citation
Shared
Cr
About 17 to about 19
10 to 25
Col. 4 lines 44-58
About 17 to about 19
Al
About 4.0 to about 5.0
2.1-4.5
Col. 4 lines 65-67
About 4.0 to about 4.5
Fe
About 1.00 to about 1.75
0.1-10
Col. 6 lines 20-27
About 1.00 to about 1.75
Co
About 10 to about 11
0-10
Col. 6 lines 62-67
About 10
Mo
About 0.5 to about 1.0
0-15
Col. 5 lines 40-42
About 0.5 to about 1.0
C
About 0.5 to about 0.10
Up to 0.1
Col. 4 lines 1-10
About 0.5 to about 0.1
Ti
About 0.5 to about 1.0
Up to 3
Col. 6 lines 1-5
About 0.5 to about 1.0
W
About 1.0 to about 2.0
0-15
Col. 5 lines 40-42
About 1.0 to about 2.0
Nb
About 1.5 to about 2.5
0-1
Col. 6 lines 29-38
Reasonably close
Hf
Less than about 0.25
Up to 0.8
Col. 5 lines 28-30
Less than about 0.25
Ni
Balance
Balance
Abstract, Col. 5 lines 53-57
Lies Within
It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to the claimed Nb range, Nishiyama teaches 0-1 Nb which is reasonably close to the claimed range of about 1.5 to about 2.5 (Col. 6 lines 29-38). Notably, the modifier ‘about’ would embrace values below the expressed bound of ‘1.5’ such that lower values nearing 1 would be considered ‘reasonably close’ and that the properties would be expected to be the same absent evidence to the contrary.
With regard to the instant claim’s closed transitional phrase ‘consisting of’, Nishiyama does teach the presence of additional elements. However, it would be well within the routine skill in the art to select an appropriate combination of components/elements such that a desirable composition embodying improved properties is achieved.
In KSR, the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art” and reaffirmed principles based on precedent that “the combination of familiar elements according to known method is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results” (MPEP 2141.I.).
In the instant case, the combination of elements has not been demonstrated to have achieved unexpected results.
Regarding claims 8-11, Nishiyama teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above but is silent to the gamma prima solvus temperature being from about 1700 to about 2100F or from about 1800 to about 2000F and/or that the composition has a gamma prime volume fraction of from about 40 to about 75% or from about 45 to about 70%.
However, it has been held that ‘where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
In the instant case, Nishiyama discloses a substantially similar composition to that claimed by Applicant and so there is sufficient prima facie basis to presume that the Nishiyama composition would possess the same properties as claimed, i.e. that the composition has a gamma prime solvus temperature of from about 1700 to about 2100 and a gamma prime volume fraction of from about 40 to about 75% absent evidence to the contrary.
It has been held that ‘[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties’. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Additionally, the USPTO does not possess the capabilities to procure or manufacture compositions of the prior art and make physical comparisons therewith.
Regarding claim 12, Nishiyama teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above and further teaches that the composition is obtained by melting, refining processing, and then casting such that it is formed into products such as tubes by way of various processing steps such as forging, hot working, and cold working (Col. 7 lines 58-65). Thus, the composition qualifies as, at least, a metal casting composition as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Nishiyama teaches the composition as applied to claim 1 above and further teaches that the composition is obtained by melting, refining processing, and then casting such that it is formed into products such as tubes by way of various processing steps such as forging, hot working, and cold working (Col. 7 lines 58-65). Thus, Nishiyama teaches that the composition is used for at least metal casting as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, Nishiyama teaches the method as applied to claim 13 above and further teaches that the composition comprises 2.1-4.5% Al which overlaps the claimed range of about 4.0 to about 5.0% Al (Col. 4 lines 65-67), 0.1-10 Fe which overlaps the claimed range of about 1.0 to about 1.75 Fe (Col. 6 lines 20-27), and 0-1 Nb which is reasonably close to the claimed range of about 1.5 to about 2.5 (Col. 6 lines 29-38).
Notably, the modifier ‘about’ would embrace values below the expressed bound of ‘1.5’ such that lower values nearing 1 would be considered ‘reasonably close’ and that the properties would be expected to be the same absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 15, Nishiyama teaches the method as applied to claim 13 above but is silent to the gamma prima solvus temperature being from about 1700 to about 2100F.
However, it has been held that ‘where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
In the instant case, Nishiyama discloses a substantially similar composition to that claimed by Applicant and so there is sufficient prima facie basis to presume that the Nishiyama composition would possess the same properties as claimed, i.e. that the composition has a gamma prime solvus temperature of from about 1700 to about 2100 absent evidence to the contrary.
It has been held that ‘[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties’. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Additionally, the USPTO does not possess the capabilities to procure or manufacture compositions of the prior art and make physical comparisons therewith.
Regarding claim 19, it is noted that this is a product by process claim (MPEP 2113). Notably, the claim is directed to a product produced by a technique.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2113).
In the instant case, Nishiyama teaches that the alloy/article of claim 16 is obtained by melting, refining processing, and then casting such that it is formed into products such as tubes by way of various processing steps such as forging, hot working, and cold working (Col. 7 lines 58-65). Additionally, Nishiyama teaches that the alloys are formed into plate materials (Col. 8 lines 5-10). Thus, the article qualifies as, at least, having been made by a metal casting technique as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Nishiyama teaches the article as applied to claim 16 above and further teaches that the composition comprises 2.1-4.5% Al which overlaps the claimed range of about 4.0 to about 5.0% Al (Col. 4 lines 65-67), 0.1-10 Fe which overlaps the claimed range of about 1.0 to about 1.75 Fe (Col. 6 lines 20-27), and 0-1 Nb which is reasonably close to the claimed range of about 1.5 to about 2.5 (Col. 6 lines 29-38).
Notably, the modifier ‘about’ would embrace values below the expressed bound of ‘1.5’ such that lower values nearing 1 would be considered ‘reasonably close’ and that the properties would be expected to be the same absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyama as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Cui et al. (U.S. 10,640,849; Cited in IDS of 09/26/2023).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Nishiyama teaches the article as applied to claim 16 above but is silent to the article being the blade of a gas turbine or a squealer tip of a blade of a gas turbine.
Cui et al. (hereinafter “Cui”) teaches a nickel-based superalloy and articles (Title) and that the alloy may be used in super-alloy articles, such as a blade, nozzle, a shroud, a splash plate, a squealer tip of the blade, and a combustor of a gas turbine engine (Col. 2 lines 58-62).
Additionally, Cui teaches generally that nickel-based superalloys are used extensively throughout the turbomachines in turbine blade, nozzle, and shroud applications and demand improved creep resistance and high temperature capability (Col. 1 lines 9-15).
It would be obvious to use the alloy/article of Nishiyama for a blade of a gas turbine or a squealer tip of a blade of a gas turbine in view that it is a nickel-based alloy having high temperature performance and improved creep resistance (see Col. 2 lines 35-37 and Col. 10 lines 15-28 of Nishiyama) as noted by Cui.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 8-13, and 15-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 7-14, and 16-19 of copending Application No. 18/303,254 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and reference claims share overlapping compositions such that there would be an unjust extension of the right to exclude if both should issue. To be clear, both references would serve as art over the other and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Malley (U.S. 5,938,863) directed to a low cycle fatigue strength nickel base superalloy; Patrick (U.S. 2010/0008778) directed to monolithic and bi-metallic turbine blade dampers formed of a nickel or cobalt base superalloy; Andryszak et al. (EP 196513) directed to a nickel-chromium alloy having a dispersed phase to be used as an industrial gas turbine structure including gamma prime hardening precipitate and an oxidic yttrium dispersed phase in addition to 19-24% Cr, 1-3.4$ Al, 1.75-5% Ti and balanced amounts of Co, W, Ta, B, and Zr.
/ALEXANDRA M MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738
ALEXANDRA M MOORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1738