Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the arguments of the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on pages 7-9: Attorney argues that Rushing et al do not disclose the claimed “receiving, based on the location data, configuration information” and
“applying the updated configuration information, including automatically disabling at least one additional wireless channel based on the received updated configuration data”. Rushing et al disclose in Step 402 and Sections 0043, 0045, 0113, 0114, 0183: UE transmits the location data of UE to scan component 122 of server; UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the location of UE.
Step 408: Server identifies one or more channels associated with the location of UE. Step 416: Server transmits, to UE, an indication of the one or more channels associated with the location of UE, so that UE is granted access to the one or more channels. Sections 0027, 0031, 0042, 0113, 0125, 0127, 0129, 0131, 0147, 0150, and 0171: Server enables the one or more channels to enable access of UE to the channels associated with the location of UE. Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192: Server can receive another code by UE indicating that UE has changed locations to another location (a second location) represented by the another code. In response, server disables the one or more communication channels associated with the original code. So, server can also disable channels based on the location of UE when UE has changed locations (to a second location) and is no longer using the channels of the original location (claimed “automatically disabling at least one wireless channel based on the received configuration data”). UE can move again to another location (a third location) that is different from the original location and the first location, and sends the updated third location to the server. The server has to disable channels based on the updated location of UE when UE has changed locations to the third location and is no longer using the channels of the second location (claimed “including automatically disabling at least one additional wireless channel based on the received updated configuration data”). Sections 0099-0109: UE was originally associated with channels 312 at the location in Figure 3A; UE moves to the updated location in Figure 3C and is enabled access to channels 330 associated with the updated location. So: when UE moves from an original location to a second location, server disables the channels associated with the original location (claimed “automatically disabling at least one wireless channel based on the received configuration data”); and when UE moves again from a second location to a third location, UE updates server with the third location and server disables the channels associated with the second location (claimed “including automatically disabling at least one additional wireless channel based on the received updated configuration data”).
The arguments also argue that Stauffer et al only disclose disabling a single channel and not the claimed “additional wireless channel”. However, since Rushing et al disclose that the server disables channels, Stauffer et al was used to teach that UE can also disable channels using a configuration from BS to disable channels. Stauffer et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0073-0079 wherein in step 802: BS transmits a configuration to UE to enable channels. The configuration includes parameters such as a location or duration of a transmission; UE uses the configuration parameters to enable channels. Also in step 812: BS transmits a configuration to disable channels, and UE uses the configuration to disable channels. Stauffer et al also disclose in Sections 0018, 0031, 0035, and 0041 wherein UE and BS communication over a plurality of channels. So: although Stauffer et al only disclose disabling a single channel, Stauffer et al was used to teach that BS transmits a configuration to disable channels, and UE uses the configuration to disable channels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230033027 to Rushing et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190387515 to Stauffer et al.
Referring to claim 1, Rushing et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a wireless access device (UE 104), comprising:
At least one processing circuit (processor 140; Sections 0062-0070).
Memory (computer-readable media 142; Sections 0062-0070), operatively connected to the at least one processing circuit and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing circuit, cause the wireless access device to perform a method (processor 140 executes instructions stored in computer-readable media 142 to perform UE functions; Sections 0062-0070), the method comprising:
Sensing (via location component 128) location data for the wireless access device. Sections 0043, 0045, 0183: UE uses a location component 128, which is a GPS, to determine location data of UE.
Providing (step 402) the location data to a provider network. Step 402 and Sections 0043, 0045, 0113, 0114, 0183: UE transmits the location data of UE to scan component 122 of server; UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the location of UE.
Receiving (step 416), based on the location data, configuration information (channels associated with the location of UE). Step 408: Server identifies one or more channels associated with the location of UE. Step 416: Server transmits, to UE, an indication of the one or more channels associated with the location of UE, so that UE is granted access to the one or more channels.
… including automatically disabling (Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192) at least one wireless channel based on the received configuration data. Sections 0027, 0031, 0042, 0113, 0125, 0127, 0129, 0131, 0147, 0150, and 0171: Server enables the one or more channels to enable access of UE to the channels associated with the location of UE. Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192: Server can receive another code by UE indicating that UE has changed locations to another location represented by the another code. In response, server disables the one or more communication channels associated with the original code. So, server can also disable channels based on the location of UE when UE has changed locations and is no longer using the channels of the original location.
Sensing (via location component 128) updated location data for the wireless access device. Sections 0026, 0028, 0043, 0045, 0055, 0109, 0129, 0183, 0188, 0189, and 0191: UE uses a location component 128, which is a GPS, to determine updated location data of UE. Sections 0099-0109: UE can move from a location in Figure 3A to an updated location in Figure 3C.
Providing (step 402) the updated location data to the provider network. Step 402 and Sections 0026, 0028, 0043, 0045, 0055, 0109, 0129, 0183, 0188, 0189, and 0191: UE transmits the updated location data of UE to scan component 122 of server; UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the updated location of UE. Sections 0099-0109: UE can move from a location in Figure 3A to an updated location in Figure 3C, by transmitting a code to server in Figure 3B.
Receiving (step 416), based on the updated location data, updated configuration information. Step 408: Server identifies one or more channels associated with the updated location of UE. Step 416: Server transmits, to UE, an indication of the one or more channels associated with the updated location of UE, so that UE is granted access to the one or more channels. Sections 0099-0109: UE was originally associated with channels 312 at the location in Figure 3A; UE moves to the updated location in Figure 3C and is enabled access to channels 330 associated with the updated location.
… including automatically disabling at least one additional wireless channel based on the received updated configuration data. Sections 0027, 0031, 0042, 0113, 0125, 0127, 0129, 0131, 0147, 0150, and 0171: Server enables the one or more channels to enable access of UE to the channels associated with the updated location of UE, which comprise channels 330 of the updated location in Figure 3C. Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192: Server can receive another code by UE indicating that UE has changed locations to another location represented by the another code. In response, server disables the one or more communication channels (claimed “disabling at least one additional wireless channel”, since a plurality of channels can be disabled) associated with the original code. Refer to Sections 0014-0215.
Rushing et al do not disclose … applying the configuration information, including automatically disabling at least one wireless channel based on the received configuration data; … ; … ; … ; and applying the updated configuration information, including automatically disabling at least one additional wireless channel based on the received updated configuration data.
Stauffer et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0073-0079 wherein in step 802: BS transmits a configuration to UE to enable channels. The configuration includes parameters such as a location or duration of a transmission; UE uses the configuration parameters to enable channels. Also in step 812: BS transmits a configuration to disable channels, and UE uses the configuration to disable channels.
Refer to Sections 0073-0079. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … applying the configuration information, including automatically disabling at least one wireless channel based on the received configuration data; … ; … ; … ; and applying the updated configuration information, including automatically disabling at least one additional wireless channel based on the received updated configuration data. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can use the configuration information to disable channels, thereby allowing UE control over disabling channels.
Referring to claim 8, Rushing et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a method (performed by server 102) comprising:
Receiving (step 402) location data regarding a location of a wireless access device (UE 104). Sections 0043, 0045, 0183: UE uses a location component 128, which is a GPS, to determine location data of UE. Step 402 and Sections 0043, 0045, 0113, 0114, 0183: UE transmits the location data of UE to scan component 122 of server; UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the location of UE.
Determining (step 402), from the location data, the location of the wireless access device. Step 402 and Sections 0043, 0045, 0113, 0114, 0183: UE transmits the location data of UE to scan component 122 of server; UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the location of UE. Server determines the location of UE based on the received code.
Obtaining restricted bandwidth information (limited bandwidth location), wherein the restricted bandwidth information defines at least one restricted bandwidth area (location where there is limited bandwidth). Sections 0025, 0026, 0041, 0043, 0045, 0055, 0185, 0187, 0188, and 0190-0192: Server determines the location from the code and determines if the location of UE is associated with a limited bandwidth location, such as a location with bandwidth less than 2 Mbps, 4 Mbps, etc., location with limited cellular connectivity.
Determining (step 408), based on the location of the wireless access device and the restricted bandwidth information, configuration information (channels associated with the location of UE) for the wireless access device. Step 408: Server identifies one or more channels associated with the location of UE. If the location is a limited bandwidth location, the location is also associated with channels of the limited bandwidth location. So: server identifies the channels associated location of the UE, wherein the location can be an limited bandwidth location with channels of the limited bandwidth location.
Providing (step 416) the configuration information to the wireless access device, wherein the configuration information is configured to … automatically disable (Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192) at least one wireless channel at the wireless access device. Step 416: Server transmits, to UE, an indication of the one or more channels associated with the location of UE, so that UE is granted access to the one or more channels. Sections 0027, 0031, 0042, 0113, 0125, 0127, 0129, 0131, 0147, 0150, and 0171: Server enables the one or more channels to enable access of UE to the channels associated with the location of UE. Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192: Server can receive another code by UE indicating that UE has changed locations to another location represented by the another code. In response, server disables the one or more communication channels associated with the original code. So, server can also disable channels based on the location of UE when UE has changed locations and is no longer using the channels of the original location (claimed “automatically disable at least one wireless channel at the wireless access device”).
Receiving updated location data regarding an updated location of the wireless access device. Sections 0026, 0028, 0043, 0045, 0055, 0109, 0129, 0183, 0188, 0189, and 0191: UE uses a location component 128, which is a GPS, to determine updated location data of UE. Sections 0099-0109: UE can move from a location in Figure 3A to an updated location in Figure 3C.
Determining, from the updated location data, the updated location of the wireless access device. Step 402 and Sections 0026, 0028, 0043, 0045, 0055, 0109, 0129, 0183, 0188, 0189, and 0191: UE transmits the updated location data of UE to scan component 122 of server; UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the updated location of UE. Sections 0099-0109: UE can move from a location in Figure 3A to an updated location in Figure 3C, by transmitting a code to server in Figure 3B. Server determines the updated location of UE from the code.
Determining, based on the updated location of the wireless access device and the restricted bandwidth information, updated configuration information for the wireless access device. Step 408: Server identifies one or more channels associated with the updated location of UE. Step 416: Server transmits, to UE, an indication of the one or more channels associated with the updated location of UE, so that UE is granted access to the one or more channels. Sections 0099-0109: UE was originally associated with channels 312 at the location in Figure 3A; UE moves to the updated location in Figure 3C and is enabled access to channels 330 associated with the updated location. If the updated location is a limited bandwidth location, the updated location is also associated with channels of the limited bandwidth location. So: server identifies the channels associated location of the UE, wherein the location can be an limited bandwidth location with channels of the limited bandwidth location.
Providing the updated configuration information to the wireless access device, wherein the configuration information is configured … to disable at least one additional wireless channel at the wireless access device. Step 416: Server transmits, to UE, an indication of the one or more channels associated with the updated location of UE, so that UE is granted access to the one or more channels. Sections 0027, 0031, 0042, 0113, 0125, 0127, 0129, 0131, 0147, 0150, and 0171: Server enables the one or more channels to enable access of UE to the channels associated with the updated location of UE, which comprise channels 330 of the updated location in Figure 3C. Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192: Server can receive another code by UE indicating that UE has changed locations to another location represented by the another code. In response, server disables the one or more communication channels (claimed “to disable at least one additional wireless channel at the wireless access device”, since a plurality of channels can be disabled) associated with the original code. Refer to Sections 0014-0215.
Rushing et al do not disclose … providing the configuration information to the wireless access device, wherein the configuration information is configured to cause the wireless access device to automatically disable at least one wireless channel at the wireless access device; … ; … ; … ; and providing the configuration information to the wireless access device, wherein the configuration information is configured to cause the wireless access device to automatically disable at least one additional wireless channel at the wireless access device.
Stauffer et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0073-0079 wherein in step 802: BS transmits a configuration to UE to enable channels. The configuration includes parameters such as a location or duration of a transmission; UE uses the configuration parameters to enable channels. Also in step 812: BS transmits a configuration to disable channels, and UE uses the configuration to disable channels.
Refer to Sections 0073-0079. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … providing the configuration information to the wireless access device, wherein the configuration information is configured to cause the wireless access device to automatically disable at least one wireless channel at the wireless access device; … ; … ; … ; and providing the configuration information to the wireless access device, wherein the configuration information is configured to cause the wireless access device to automatically disable at least one additional wireless channel at the wireless access device.
One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can use the configuration information to disable channels, thereby allowing UE control over disabling channels.
Referring to claim 13, Rushing et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a method (performed by server 102) comprising:
Receiving (step 402) second location data regarding a second location of a second wireless access device (second UE 104; Sections 0033-0034: there are a plurality of UEs 104, which can include a second UE with a second location). Sections 0043, 0045, 0183: second UE uses a location component 128, which is a GPS, to determine second location data of second UE. Step 402 and Sections 0043, 0045, 0113, 0114, 0183: second UE transmits the second location data of second UE to scan component 122 of server; second UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the second location of second UE.
Determining (step 402), from the second location data, the second location of the wireless access device. Step 402 and Sections 0043, 0045, 0113, 0114, 0183: second UE transmits the second location data of second UE to scan component 122 of server; second UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the second location of second UE. Server determines the second location of second UE based on the received code.
Determining (step 408), based on the second location of the second wireless access device and the restricted bandwidth information, second configuration information (channels associated with the location of UE) for the second wireless access device. Step 408: Server identifies one or more channels associated with the second location of second UE. If the second location is a limited bandwidth location, the second location is also associated with channels of the limited bandwidth location. So: server identifies the channels associated the second location of the second UE, wherein the location can be an limited bandwidth location with channels of the limited bandwidth location.
Sending (step 416) the sending configuration information to the second wireless access device, wherein the second configuration information is configured to … disable (Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192) at least one different wireless channel at the second wireless access device than is disabled at the first wireless device. Step 416: Server transmits, to UE, an indication of the one or more channels associated with the location of UE, so that UE is granted access to the one or more channels. Sections 0027, 0031, 0042, 0113, 0125, 0127, 0129, 0131, 0147, 0150, and 0171: Server enables the one or more channels to enable access of UE to the channels associated with the location of UE. Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192: Server can receive another code by UE indicating that UE has changed locations to another location represented by the another code. In response, server disables the one or more communication channels associated with the original code. So, server can also disable channels based on the location of UE when UE has changed locations and is no longer using the channels of the original location; each UE is associated with a different location and different respective channels, so different channels are disabled by each UE depending on the location of UE (claimed “disable at least one different wireless channel at the second wireless access device than is disabled at the first wireless device”). Refer to Sections 0014-0215.
Rushing et al do not disclose … sending configuration information to the second wireless access device, wherein the second configuration information is configured to cause the second wireless access device to disable at least one different wireless channel at the second wireless access device than is disabled at the first wireless device.
Stauffer et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0073-0079 wherein in step 802: BS transmits a configuration to UE to enable channels. The configuration includes parameters such as a location or duration of a transmission; UE uses the configuration parameters to enable channels. Also in step 812: BS transmits a configuration to disable channels, and UE uses the configuration to disable channels.
Refer to Sections 0073-0079. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sending configuration information to the second wireless access device, wherein the second configuration information is configured to cause the second wireless access device to disable at least one different wireless channel at the second wireless access device than is disabled at the first wireless device. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can use the configuration information to disable channels, thereby allowing UE control over disabling channels.
Referring to claim 14, Rushing et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein the method is performed by at least one wireless access control server (sever 102) of a provider network (network 110) that is remote from the wireless access device (UE 104). Server 102 is a wireless server that provides access control of UE 104 to network 110. Refer to Sections 0014-0215.
Referring to claim 16, Rushing et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a method (performed by UE 104) comprising:
Sensing (via location component 128), by a wireless access device (UE 104), location data for the wireless access device. Sections 0043, 0045, 0183: UE uses a location component 128, which is a GPS, to determine location data of UE.
Providing (step 402) the location data to a provider network. Step 402 and Sections 0043, 0045, 0113, 0114, 0183: UE transmits the location data of UE to scan component 122 of server; UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the location of UE.
Receiving (step 416), based on the location data, configuration information (channels associated with the location of UE). Step 408: Server identifies one or more channels associated with the location of UE. Step 416: Server transmits, to UE, an indication of the one or more channels associated with the location of UE, so that UE is granted access to the one or more channels.
… including automatically disabling (Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192) at least one wireless channel based on the received configuration data. Sections 0027, 0031, 0042, 0113, 0125, 0127, 0129, 0131, 0147, 0150, and 0171: Server enables the one or more channels to enable access of UE to the channels associated with the location of UE. Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192: Server can receive another code by UE indicating that UE has changed locations to another location represented by the another code. In response, server disables the one or more communication channels associated with the original code. So, server can also disable channels based on the location of UE when UE has changed locations and is no longer using the channels of the original location.
Sensing (via location component 128) updated location data for the wireless access device. Sections 0026, 0028, 0043, 0045, 0055, 0109, 0129, 0183, 0188, 0189, and 0191: UE uses a location component 128, which is a GPS, to determine updated location data of UE. Sections 0099-0109: UE can move from a location in Figure 3A to an updated location in Figure 3C.
Providing (step 402) the updated location data to the provider network. Step 402 and Sections 0026, 0028, 0043, 0045, 0055, 0109, 0129, 0183, 0188, 0189, and 0191: UE transmits the updated location data of UE to scan component 122 of server; UE transmits a code to server, wherein the code indicates the updated location of UE. Sections 0099-0109: UE can move from a location in Figure 3A to an updated location in Figure 3C, by transmitting a code to server in Figure 3B.
Receiving (step 416), based on the updated location data, updated configuration information. Step 408: Server identifies one or more channels associated with the updated location of UE. Step 416: Server transmits, to UE, an indication of the one or more channels associated with the updated location of UE, so that UE is granted access to the one or more channels. Sections 0099-0109: UE was originally associated with channels 312 at the location in Figure 3A; UE moves to the updated location in Figure 3C and is enabled access to channels 330 associated with the updated location.
… including automatically disabling at least one additional wireless channel based on the received updated configuration data. Sections 0027, 0031, 0042, 0113, 0125, 0127, 0129, 0131, 0147, 0150, and 0171: Server enables the one or more channels to enable access of UE to the channels associated with the updated location of UE, which comprise channels 330 of the updated location in Figure 3C. Sections 0027, 0042, 0130, 0187, and 0192: Server can receive another code by UE indicating that UE has changed locations to another location represented by the another code. In response, server disables the one or more communication channels (claimed “disabling at least one additional wireless channel”, since a plurality of channels can be disabled) associated with the original code. Refer to Sections 0014-0215.
Rushing et al do not disclose … applying the configuration information, including automatically disabling at least one wireless channel based on the received configuration data; … ; … ; … ; and applying the updated configuration information, including automatically disabling at least one additional wireless channel based on the received updated configuration data.
Stauffer et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0073-0079 wherein in step 802: BS transmits a configuration to UE to enable channels. The configuration includes parameters such as a location or duration of a transmission; UE uses the configuration parameters to enable channels. Also in step 812: BS transmits a configuration to disable channels, and UE uses the configuration to disable channels.
Refer to Sections 0073-0079. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … applying the configuration information, including automatically disabling at least one wireless channel based on the received configuration data; … ; … ; … ; and applying the updated configuration information, including automatically disabling at least one additional wireless channel based on the received updated configuration data. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can use the configuration information to disable channels, thereby allowing UE control over disabling channels.
Claims 4 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230033027 to Rushing et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190387515 to Stauffer et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20120183928 to Finlayson.
Referring to claim 4, Rushing et al disclose in Figures 1-10 further comprising at least one GPS … (Sections 0043 and 0183), wherein sensing the location data comprises … the location data from the GPS ... UE uses a location component 128, which is a GPS, to determine location data of UE. Refer to Sections 0014-0215.
Rushing et al and Stauffer et al do not disclose further comprising at least one GPS transceiver, wherein sensing the location data comprises receiving the location data from the GPS transceiver.
Finlayson et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0037-0038 a computing device with a GPS transceiver for communicating with a GPS satellite and receiving location information from GPS satellite. GPS transceiver is coupled with a processor; processor receives location and positioning data from GPS transceiver. Refer to Sections 0022-0054. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising at least one GPS transceiver, wherein sensing the location data comprises receiving the location data from the GPS transceiver. One would have been motivated to do so so that a computing device can determine its location using location information received from a conventional GPS transceiver.
Referring to claim 19, refer to the rejection of claim 4.
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230033027 to Rushing et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190387515 to Stauffer et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20070143824 to Shahbazi et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240113780 to Germe et al.
Referring to claim 5, Rushing et al and Stauffer et al do not disclose wherein sensing the location data comprises determining the location data based on determining a connection to an …l network terminal and determining a location of the … network terminal.
Shahbazi et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0029, 0054 wherein a system comprises a connection between an access point and a mobile device connected by optical links. The location of the mobile device is determined based on the location of the computing node or access point to which the mobile is connected (claimed “determining the location data based on determining a connection to an … network terminal and determining a location of the … network terminal”). Refer to Sections 0027-0099. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein sensing the location data comprises determining the location data based on determining a connection to an … network terminal and determining a location of the … network terminal. One would have been motivated to do so since the location of a UE can be determined by determining the location of an AP to which the UE is connected.
Rushing et al, Stauffer et al, and Shahbazai et al do not disclose wherein sensing the location data comprises determining the location data based on determining a connection to an optical network terminal and determining a location of the optical network terminal.
Germe et al disclose in Figures 1-8, and Sections 0016, 0017, and 0034 wherein terminals are connected by optical links to optical access points. Refer to Sections 0067-0092. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein sensing the location data comprises determining the location data based on determining a connection to an optical network terminal and determining a location of the optical network terminal. One would have been motivated to do so to apply the method in an optical network with optical access points, thereby allowing for optical communication.
Referring to claim 20, refer to the rejection of claim 5.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230033027 to Rushing et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190387515 to Stauffer et al, and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 10931324 to Ichapurapu et al.
Referring to claim 6, Rushing et al and Stauffer et al do not disclose wherein the wireless access device comprises a router. Rushing et al only disclose in Section 0034 wherein the user computing device 104 includes a tablet computing device, a smart phone, a mobile communication device, a laptop, a netbook, a desktop computing device, a terminal computing device, a wearable computing device, an augmented reality device, an IOT device, or any other computing device.
Ichapurapu et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Column 4 line 61 to Column 6 line 32 wherein a communication device includes network devices (e.g., routers, switches, access points, extenders, servers, etc.), personal computing devices (e.g., desktop computers, laptop computers, smartphones, tablets, wearable devices, etc.), smart devices, and/or any other type of devices. Refer to Column 2 line 39 to Column 16 line 61. By applying Ichapurapu et al to Rushing et al: since the computing devices of Ichapurapu et al and Rushing et al can be smartphones, desktop computers, laptop, and wearables, the computing device of Rushing et al can also be a router, as disclosed by Ichapurapu et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the wireless access device comprises a router. One would have been motivated to do so so that the method can be performed by routers, thereby making the system more flexible by supporting different computing devices.
Referring to claim 7, Rushing et al and Stauffer et al do not disclose wherein the wireless access device comprises an extender. Rushing et al only disclose in Section 0034 wherein the user computing device 104 includes a tablet computing device, a smart phone, a mobile communication device, a laptop, a netbook, a desktop computing device, a terminal computing device, a wearable computing device, an augmented reality device, an IOT device, or any other computing device.
Ichapurapu et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Column 4 line 61 to Column 6 line 32 wherein a communication device includes network devices (e.g., routers, switches, access points, extenders, servers, etc.), personal computing devices (e.g., desktop computers, laptop computers, smartphones, tablets, wearable devices, etc.), smart devices, and/or any other type of devices. Refer to Column 2 line 39 to Column 16 line 61. By applying Ichapurapu et al to Rushing et al: since the computing devices of Ichapurapu et al and Rushing et al can be smartphones, desktop computers, laptop, and wearables, the computing device of Rushing et al can also be am extender, as disclosed by Ichapurapu et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the wireless access device comprises an extender. One would have been motivated to do so so that the method can be performed by extenders, thereby making the system more flexible by supporting different computing devices.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230033027 to Rushing et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190387515 to Stauffer et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20120183928 to Finlayson.
Rushing et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein the location data includes location data from a GPS … of the wireless access device (Sections 0043 and 0183). UE uses a location component 128, which is a GPS, to determine location data of UE. Refer to Sections 0014-0215.
Rushing et al and Stauffer et al do not disclose wherein the location data includes location data from a GPS transceiver of the wireless access device.
Finlayson et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0037-0038 a computing device with a GPS transceiver for communicating with a GPS satellite and receiving location information from GPS satellite. GPS transceiver is coupled with a processor; processor receives location and positioning data from GPS transceiver. Refer to Sections 0022-0054. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the location data includes location data from a GPS transceiver of the wireless access device. One would have been motivated to do so so that a computing device can determine its location using location information received from a conventional GPS transceiver.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230033027 to Rushing et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190387515 to Stauffer et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230035360 to Holland et al.
Rushing et al and Stauffer et al do not disclose wherein the location data includes location data for a device to which the wireless access device is operatively connected.
Holland et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0150-0155 wherein a first device receives an identification output from all devices connected to the first device. The first device then determines a location of a connected device relative to the first device; and maps the connected device in the system of the device based on the location of the connected device. Refer to Sections 0064-0189. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the location data includes location data for a device to which the wireless access device is operatively connected. One would have been motivated to do so so that a device can determine the location of another device to the device is connected, thereby facilitating location determination of devices in the network.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230033027 to Rushing et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190387515 to Stauffer et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20170086162 to Osterlund.
Rushing et al and Stauffer et al do not disclose further comprising querying, by a wireless access control server of a provider network, the wireless access device for the location data upon determining that the wireless access device has been connected to the provider network.
Osterlund et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0018 and 0058 wherein a PDN-GW/AAA server request for location information for a UE, wherein UE is connected to the access network, and receives a response comprising location information for UE. Refer to Sections 0025-0061. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising querying, by a wireless access control server of a provider network, the wireless access device for the location data upon determining that the wireless access device has been connected to the provider network. One would have been motivated to do so so that a server can query the UE for location information when the UE is connected to the network, thereby facilitating communication with the UE.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20180316733 to Chandran et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0094-0099 wherein the communication system enables a voice chat channel based on the location of a wireless device. Refer to Sections 0020-0109.
U.S. Publication No. 20180316733 to Vu et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0068-0085 wherein a user device is moving and the location of the user device is detected by a wearable device; based on the location of the user device, the system enables creation of a channel. Refer to Sections 0016-0150.
U.S. Publication No. 20060094972 to Drew et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Sections 0086-0113 wherein an implanted device can enable or disable or prioritize sensor channels based on sensor location. Refer to Sections 0037-0140.
U.S. Publication No. 20210119817 to DeLapa et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0049-0053, 0089, and 0102 wherein a device transmits commands to other devices to enable the other devices to open channels based on a location log of the devices, such as an Open Channel Device to User command which enables a user using a device to open a channel to a device which is closest to a specified user based on the location log. Refer to Sections 0040-0117.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
March 9, 2026