DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1,2, 4-21 are pending.
Claim 21 is new.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 7/10/2026 have been entered.
103 rejections from previous office action have been withdrawn in view of the amendments and arguments. Second non-final action is issued herewith.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is dependent on Claim 20. Numbering is not in sequence.
Claim 21 is dependent on Claim 9. Numbering is not in sequence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al (US 20200274142 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Youn teaches a method for manufacturing an anode electrode (Paragraph 0071). Youn teaches that the electrode may find application in lithium metal negative electrodes to construct a battery that is lighter and has a high energy density (Paragraph 0003).
Youn teaches the method comprising: providing a first substrate (Paragraph 0063; protective layer 20a), a second substrate (Paragraph 0063; substrate 40b), and an anode current collector (Paragraph 0052; current collector 10); forming a first lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0063; lithium metal layer 10a) on the first substrate and a second lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0063; lithium metal layer 10b) on the second substrate. Youn teaches that the lithium metal is deposited on the protective layer (Paragraph 0100), and that substrate (40b) may be formed on protective layer. Hence, this shows that the first lithium metal layer and second lithium metal layer are formed on the first and second substrate as taught in Youn.
Youn also teaches pressing the first lithium metal layer and the second lithium metal layer into the anode current collector to form an anode electrode (Paragraph 0052; the lithium metal layers 10a and 10b are formed on both sides of the current collector 10, and the lithium metal layers 10a and 10b are formed on both sides of the current collector 10 by the transfer process; Paragraph 0110; the transfer may be performed such that the lithium metal layer is transferred onto the current collector using a device such as a roll press).
Youn teaches the use of a protective layer made of polyvinylidene fluoride, cyclo olefin polymer (Paragraph 0059). The instant specification also teaches that the separator layer is made of polyolefin, polyvinylidene fluoride, polyethylene terephthalate. Since the material of the layer in Youn is same as the material claimed, hence the protective layer is capable of being a separator in the electrode assembly. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a separator layer on which the lithium metal layer is formed (Paragraph 0100). The protective layer provides a layer with high moisture barrier properties, stability to the electrolyte, high electrolyte wettability, and excellent oxidation/reduction stability (Paragraph 0102).
Regarding Claim 2,
Youn teaches that the second substrate is removed after the pressing (Paragraph 0063; The substrate 40b are stripped and discarded before the lithium electrode 100 is put into the battery manufacturing process). Furthermore, in Youn a release layer supports the delamination process of the substrate 40b (Paragraph 0068).
Regarding Claim 4,
Youn teaches the presence of protective layer 20a on the lithium metal layer, and does not specifically teach that the protective layer (akin to the first substrate) is removed. In fact, Youn teaches that the lithium electrode manufactured by the process of Youn comprises a current collector, a lithium metal layer and a protective layer (Paragraph 0117). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first substrate/protective layer is retained after pressing in order to form a layer with high moisture barrier properties, stability to the electrolyte, high electrolyte wettability, and excellent oxidation/reduction stability (Paragraph 0102). Youn teaches that the first substrate comprises a polymer film (Paragraph 0059; The protective layers 20a may comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of poly vinylidene fluoride (PVDF), poly vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoroethylne copolymer (PVDF-HFP copolymer), cyclo olefin polymer, cyclo olefin copolymer and styrene butadiene rubber-carboxymethyl cellulose (SBR-CMC)).
Regarding Claim 5,
Youn teaches that the first lithium metal layer is formed on the first substrate by electroplating, vapor deposition (Paragraph 0108; evaporation deposition, chemical vapor deposition (CVD), and physical vapor deposition).
Claims 6-10, 11, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn in view of Son et al (US 20200280104 A1).
Regarding Claims 6-8,
Youn does not teach that the first substrate comprises a solid electrolyte layer, or that the solid electrolyte layer is selected from a group consisting of a polymer electrolyte, an oxide-based electrolyte, and a sulfide-based electrolyte, or that solid electrolyte layer is selected from a group consisting of a solvent-free polymer electrolyte layer, a gel polymer electrolyte layer, a composite polymer electrolyte layer, a polyethylene oxide (PEO) layer, a polyacrylonitrile (PAN) layer, a polycarbonate layer, and a polysiloxane layer.
However, Son teaches a method of making an anode subassembly sheet that comprises a lithium metal layer that is in contact with a functional coating layer (Paragraph 0008). The functional coating layer is applied to a separator layer. The combination of the functional layer with the separator layer can be considered as the first substrate layer. Son also teaches that the lithium metal layer is present on both sides of a current collector layer similar to claimed invention (Paragraph 0024). The functional layer of Son is made of materials such as polyacrylonitrile (PAN), and other polymer binders (Paragraph 0083). Since the material used in the instant disclosure for the solid electrolyte substrate is the same as the material used in Son (i.e. polyacrylonitrile) hence, the layer with the functional coating in Son functions as a solid electrolyte layer consisting of a polymer electrolyte such as PAN. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first substrate in Youn be a solid electrolyte layer as shown in Son in order to provide a functional layer that improves the application of the lithium metal layer to the substrate (Paragraph 0080).
Regarding Claims 9, 10 and 11,
Youn does not teach that a protective layer on the first substrate between the lithium metal and first substrate, and that the protective layer comprises ceramic, or that the protective layer is selected from a group consisting of alumina, zirconia, zeolites, lithiated zeolites, and combinations thereof.
However, Son teaches the presence of a functional coating layer between the separator layer and the lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0008). The functional coating layer is akin to a protective layer that is in between the first substrate (i.e. separator layer) and the lithium metal layer. Son also teaches that the functional coating layer is made of materials such as aluminum oxide which is also known as alumina (Paragraph 0083). The claimed invention also provides the same material used as a ceramic protective layer. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the functional coating layer of Son in the protective layer of Youn in order to improve the application of the lithium metal layer to the substrate (Paragraph 0080).
Regarding Claim 13,
Youn teaches a current collector but does not specifically teach that the current collector comprises one of a mesh current collector, an expanded metal current collector, and a perforated current collector.
However, Son teaches that the current collector layer may be a solid or perforated type depending on the particular design at issue (Paragraph 0077). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a perforated type current collector in the assembly of Youn to suit the design of the anode assembly as stated in Son.
Regarding Claim 14,
Youn teaches that the anode current collector is made of a material selected from a group consisting of copper, aluminum, nickel, titanium, sintered carbon, and stainless steel (Paragraph 0111).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al as evidenced by Raghavan, Prasanth Fatima, Jabeen M. J. (2021). Ceramic and Specialty Electrolytes for Energy Storage Devices, Volume II. CRC Press. Retrieved from https://app.knovel.com/hotlink/toc/id:kpCSEESD05/ceramic-specialty-electrolytes/ceramic-specialty-electrolytes.
Youn teaches the presence of a protective layer between the first substrate and the first lithium metal layer, but does not specifically teach that it is a conductive layer. Youn teaches forming the protective layer on the substrate prior to forming the lithium metal layer. Youn teaches the use of polyvinylidene fluoride as a material used for the protective layer (Paragraph 0059). Polyvinylidene fluoride is conductive as evidenced by Raghavan in Table 5.2. Hence, Youn teaches the presence of a conductive layer between the substrate and the lithium metal layer.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al in view of Son et al, further in view of Youn et al (US 20200274146 A1; referred to as Youn2 et al) and Tiruvannamalai et al (US 20220320504 A1).
Regarding Claim 15,
Youn teaches a method for manufacturing an anode electrode (Paragraph 0071). Youn teaches that the electrode may find application in lithium metal negative electrodes to construct a battery that is lighter and has a high energy density (Paragraph 0003).
Youn teaches the method comprising: providing a first substrate (Paragraph 0063; protective layer 20a or alternatively substrate 40a), a second substrate (Paragraph 0063; substrate 40b), and an anode current collector (Paragraph 0052; current collector 10); forming a first lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0063; lithium metal layer 10a) on the first substrate and a second lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0063; lithium metal layer 10b) on the second substrate. Youn teaches that the lithium metal is deposited on the protective layer (Paragraph 0100), and that substrate (40b) may be formed on protective layer. Hence, this shows that the first lithium metal layer and second lithium metal layer are formed on the first and second substrate as taught in Youn.
Youn also teaches pressing the first lithium metal layer and the second lithium metal layer into the anode current collector to form an anode electrode (Paragraph 0052; the lithium metal layers 10a and 10b are formed on both sides of the current collector 10, and the lithium metal layers 10a and 10b are formed on both sides of the current collector 10 by the transfer process; Paragraph 0110; the transfer may be performed such that the lithium metal layer is transferred onto the current collector using a device such as a roll press).
Youn teaches that the first lithium metal layer is formed on the first substrate by electroplating, vapor deposition (Paragraph 0108; evaporation deposition, chemical vapor deposition (CVD), and physical vapor deposition). Youn teaches that the anode current collector is made of a material selected from a group consisting of copper, aluminum, nickel, titanium, sintered carbon, and stainless steel (Paragraph 0111).
Youn teaches a current collector but does not teach that the anode current collector includes voids, and does not specifically teach that the current collector comprises one of a mesh current collector, an expanded metal current collector, and a perforated current collector.
However, Son teaches that the current collector layer may be a solid or perforated type depending on the particular design at issue (Paragraph 0077). The perforations in the current collector can be considered as voids. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a perforated type current collector (with voids) in the assembly of Youn to suit the design of the anode assembly as stated in Son. Figure 2E shows the current collector 212D in between the two lithium layers 212A, and is embedded into the layer per Son (Paragraph 0078).
Youn teaches pressing the first lithium metal layer and the second lithium metal layer into the anode current collector to form an anode electrode, but does not specifically teach pressing into the voids of the anode current collector.
However, Youn2 teaches the use of a porous current collector (Paragraph 0049) and the formation of a lithium metal layer on a surface of the current collector (Paragraph 0047). Youn2 teaches that the lithium metal layer may be included in a pore of the porous current collector (Paragraph 0049), and that the transfer of the lithium metal layer on the current collector uses a device such as a roll press (Paragraph 0098). The lithium metal layer is present in the voids of the anode current collector as a result of the process step involving the roll press which is used to transfer the lithium layer on the collector. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first and second lithium layers of Youn are pressed into the voids of current collector as shown in Youn2 in order to form a lithium electrode without the problem of breakage (Paragraph 0103), and having excellent thickness uniformity (Paragraph 0104).
Youn2 does not specifically teach that the pressing of anode current collector through one or more sets of rollers has a predefined gap therebetween to homogeneously force the first lithium metal layer and the second method lithium metal layer into the voids of the anode current collector to mechanically connect the first lithium metal layer and the second lithium metal layer to the anode current collector to form an anode electrode.
However, Tiruvannamalai teaches that a metal foil 332 is laminated on one or each side of the current-collector web 324 (Paragraph 0036). The current-collector web 324 may have any of a variety of forms, such as solid foil, perforated foil, woven mesh, or expanded mesh (Paragraph 0023). The lamination of the metal foil 332 may first include engaging the metal foil 332 with the current-collector web 324. The engaging of the metal foil 332 can be performed in any suitable manner, such as, for example, via transfer from a temporary holding substrate. In some embodiments, the metal foil 332 may be pressed into firm engagement with the current-collector web 324. Such pressing may be performed in any suitable manner, such as, for example, using a roller press or stationary press, among others. In some embodiments, lamination of the metal foil 332 may be performed using a roll-mill or calendaring machine, wherein the lamination pressure is determined by the gap setting between the rolls (Paragraph 0036). The pressure applied by the rollers should not deform the metal foil 332 significantly, i.e., there should be a negligible reduction in thickness or increase in width and/or length of lithium foil. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the roller gap per Tiruvannamalai to obtain proper engagement of the metal foil into the current collector web.
Regarding Claim 16,
Youn teaches that the first substrate (when considered to be substrate 40a) and the second substrate are removed after the pressing (Paragraph 0063; The substrates 40a and 40b are stripped and discarded before the lithium electrode 100 is put into the battery manufacturing process). Furthermore, in Youn a release layer supports the delamination process of the substrates 40a and 40b (Paragraph 0068).
Regarding Claim 17, and Claim 18,
Youn teaches the presence of protective layer 20a on the lithium metal layer, and does not specifically teach that the protective layer (akin to the first substrate) is removed. In fact, Youn teaches that the lithium electrode manufactured by the process of Youn comprises a current collector, a lithium metal layer and a protective layer (Paragraph 0117). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first substrate/protective layer is retained after pressing in order to form a layer with high moisture barrier properties, stability to the electrolyte, high electrolyte wettability, and excellent oxidation/reduction stability (Paragraph 0102). Youn teaches that the first substrate comprises a polymer film (Paragraph 0059; The protective layers 20a may comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of poly vinylidene fluoride (PVDF), poly vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoroethylne copolymer (PVDF-HFP copolymer), cyclo olefin polymer, cyclo olefin copolymer and styrene butadiene rubber-carboxymethyl cellulose (SBR-CMC)).
Youn does not teach that the first substrate comprises a solid electrolyte layer.
However, Son teaches a method of making an anode subassembly sheet that comprises a lithium metal layer that is in contact with a functional coating layer (Paragraph 0008). The functional coating layer is applied to a separator layer. The combination of the functional layer with the separator layer can be considered as the first substrate layer. Son also teaches that the lithium metal layer is present on both sides of a current collector layer similar to claimed invention (Paragraph 0024). The functional layer of Son is made of materials such as polyacrylonitrile (PAN), and other polymer binders (Paragraph 0083). Since the material used in the instant disclosure for the solid electrolyte substrate is the same as the material used in Son (i.e. polyacrylonitrile) hence, the layer with the functional coating in Son functions as a solid electrolyte layer consisting of a polymer electrolyte such as PAN. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first substrate in Youn be a solid electrolyte layer as shown in Son in order to provide a functional layer that improves the application of the lithium metal layer to the substrate (Paragraph 0080).
Claim(s) 20 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al in view of Son et al, and Youn2 et al as evidenced by Raghavan.
Regarding Claim 20,
Youn teaches the presence of a protective layer between the first substrate and the first lithium metal layer, but does not specifically teach that it is a conductive layer. Youn teaches forming the protective layer on the substrate prior to forming the lithium metal layer. Youn teaches the use of polyvinylidene fluoride as a material used for the protective layer (Paragraph 0059). Polyvinylidene fluoride is conductive as evidenced by Raghavan in Table 5.2. Hence, Youn teaches the presence of a conductive layer between the substrate and the lithium metal layer. Furthermore, Youn2 also teaches that the protective layer formed on the substrate is an ion conducting polymer (Paragraph 0024).
Regarding Claim 19,
Youn does not teach a protective layer on the first substrate between the lithium metal and first substrate, and that the protective layer comprises ceramic, or that the protective layer is selected from a group consisting of alumina, zirconia, zeolites, lithiated zeolites, and combinations thereof.
However, Son teaches the presence of a functional coating layer between the separator layer and the lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0008). The functional coating layer is akin to a protective layer that is in between the first substrate (i.e. separator layer) and the lithium metal layer. Son also teaches that the functional coating layer is made of materials such as aluminum oxide which is also known as alumina (Paragraph 0083). The claimed invention also provides the same material used as a ceramic protective layer. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the functional coating layer of Son in the protective layer of Youn in order to improve the application of the lithium metal layer to the substrate (Paragraph 0080).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn in view of Son, further in view of Yao et al (US 20200266418 A1).
Youn teaches many methods for coating the lithium layer on the protective layer (Paragraph 0106, 0108), but does not limit the type of method. Youn does not specifically teach that the first substrate is masked at one or more mask locations to prevent deposition of the first lithium metal layer in the one or more masking locations.
However, Yao teaches method for forming an electrode wherein it includes applying a mask to the substrate (Paragraph 0068). This mask may include any suitable material and/or structure configured to adhere to the substrate and prevent it from being coated by the active material composite deposited in subsequent steps (Paragraph 0068). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mask the first substrate at one or more locations to prevent deposition of the lithium metal layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7, filed 7/10/2026, with respect to Claim 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejection from previous office action has been withdrawn. A second non-final action has been issued herewith.
Applicant argues that for Claim 15, the prior art reference of Youn2 does not teach the claimed pressing step. Examiner asserts that the combination of Youn in view of Son, and further in view of Youn2 and Tiruvannamalai suggests the pressing step wherein the lithium metal would be pressed into the voids of the current collector by adjusting the gap of the roller based pressing process. Furthermore, Applicant argues that the prior art does not show mechanical connection. Examiner asserts that the equipment used is same in the combination of references and the suggestion related to adjusting the gap width further supports the formation of a mechanical connection between the lithium metal layer and the protective layer/substrate. Refer to rejection above for details.
Conclusion
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783