CTNF 18/474,704 CTNF 101033 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Youn et al (US 20200274142 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Youn teaches a method for manufacturing an anode electrode (Paragraph 0071). Youn teaches that the electrode may find application in lithium metal negative electrodes to construct a battery that is lighter and has a high energy density (Paragraph 0003). Youn teaches the method comprising: providing a first substrate (Paragraph 0062; substrate 40a), a second substrate ((Paragraph 0062; substrate 40b), and an anode current collector (Paragraph 0052; current collector 10); forming a first lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0063; lithium metal layer 10a) on the first substrate and a second lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0063; lithium metal layer 10b) on the second substrate; and pressing the first lithium metal layer and the second lithium metal layer into the anode current collector to form an anode electrode (Paragraph 0052; the lithium metal layers 10 a and 10 b are formed on both sides of the current collector 10, and the lithium metal layers 10 a and 10 b are formed on both sides of the current collector 10 by the transfer process; Paragraph 0110; the transfer may be performed such that the lithium metal layer is transferred onto the current collector using a device such as a roll press). Regarding Claim 2, Youn teaches that the first substrate and the second substrate are removed after the pressing (Paragraph 0063; The substrates 40 a and 40 b are stripped and discarded before the lithium electrode 100 is put into the battery manufacturing process). Furthermore, in Youn a release layer supports the delamination process of the substrates 40a and 40b (Paragraph 0068). Regarding Claim 4, Youn teaches that the first substrate comprises a polymer film (Paragraph 0064; The substrates 40 a and 40 b may comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), poly(methylmethacrylate) (PMMA), cellulose tri-acetate (TAC), polypropylene, polyethylene and polycarbonate). Regarding Claim 5, Youn teaches that the first lithium metal layer is formed on the first substrate by electroplating, vapor deposition (Paragraph 0108; evaporation deposition, chemical vapor deposition (CVD), and physical vapor deposition). Regarding Claim 9, Youn teaches that there is a protective layer between the first substrate and the first lithium metal layer (Figure 2, Elements 30a and 30b). PNG media_image1.png 313 365 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 14, Youn teaches that the anode current collector is made of a material selected from a group consisting of copper, aluminum, nickel, titanium, sintered carbon, and stainless steel (Paragraph 0111) . 07-15 AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Youn et al as evidenced by Raghavan, Prasanth Fatima, Jabeen M. J. (2021). Ceramic and Specialty Electrolytes for Energy Storage Devices, Volume II. CRC Press. Retrieved from https://app.knovel.com/hotlink/toc/id:kpCSEESD05/ceramic-specialty-electrolytes/ceramic-specialty-electrolytes . Youn teaches the presence of a protective layer between the first substrate and the first lithium metal layer, but does not specifically teach that it is a conductive layer. Youn teaches forming the protective layer on the substrate prior to forming the lithium metal layer. Youn teaches the use of polyvinylidene fluoride as a material used for the protective layer (Paragraph 0059). Polyvinylidene fluoride is conductive as evidenced by Raghavan in Table 5.2. Hence, Youn teaches the presence of a conductive layer between the substrate and the lithium metal layer . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al . Youn teaches the use of a protective layer made of polyvinylidene fluoride, cyclo olefin polymer (Paragraph 0059). The instant specification also teaches that the separator layer is made of polyolefin, polyvinylidene fluoride, polyethylene terephthalate. Since the material of the layer in Youn is same as the material claimed, hence the protective layer is capable of being a separator in the electrode assembly. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a separator layer on which the lithium metal layer is formed (Paragraph 0100). The protective layer provides a layer with high moisture barrier properties, stability to the electrolyte, high electrolyte wettability, and excellent oxidation/reduction stability (Paragraph 0102) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6,7, 8, 10, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn in view of Son et al (US 20200280104 A1) . Regarding Claims 6-8, Youn does not teach that the first substrate comprises a solid electrolyte layer, or that the solid electrolyte layer is selected from a group consisting of a polymer electrolyte, an oxide-based electrolyte, and a sulfide-based electrolyte, or that solid electrolyte layer is selected from a group consisting of a solvent-free polymer electrolyte layer, a gel polymer electrolyte layer, a composite polymer electrolyte layer, a polyethylene oxide (PEO) layer, a polyacrylonitrile (PAN) layer, a polycarbonate layer, and a polysiloxane layer. However, Son teaches a method of making an anode subassembly sheet that comprises a lithium metal layer that is in contact with a functional coating layer (Paragraph 0008). The functional coating layer is applied to a separator layer. The combination of the functional layer with the separator layer can be considered as the first substrate layer. Son also teaches that the lithium metal layer is present on both sides of a current collector layer similar to claimed invention (Paragraph 0024). The functional layer of Son is made of materials such as polyacrylonitrile (PAN), and other polymer binders (Paragraph 0083). Since the material used in the instant disclosure for the solid electrolyte substrate is the same as the material used in Son (i.e. polyacrylonitrile) hence, the layer with the functional coating in Son functions as a solid electrolyte layer consisting of a polymer electrolyte such as PAN. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first substrate in Youn be a solid electrolyte layer as shown in Son in order to provide a functional layer that improves the application of the lithium metal layer to the substrate (Paragraph 0080). Regarding Claims 10 and 11, Youn does not teach that the protective layer comprises ceramic, or that the protective layer is selected from a group consisting of alumina, zirconia, zeolites, lithiated zeolites, and combinations thereof. However, Son teaches the presence of a functional coating layer between the separator layer and the lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0008). The functional coating layer is akin to a protective layer that is in between the first substrate (i.e. separator layer) and the lithium metal layer. Son also teaches that the functional coating layer is made of materials such as aluminum oxide which is also known as alumina (Paragraph 0083). The claimed invention also provides the same material used as a ceramic protective layer. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the functional coating layer of Son in the protective layer of Youn in order to improve the application of the lithium metal layer to the substrate (Paragraph 0080). Regarding Claim 13, Youn teaches a current collector but does not specifically teach that the current collector comprises one of a mesh current collector, an expanded metal current collector, and a perforated current collector. However, Son teaches that the current collector layer may be a solid or perforated type depending on the particular design at issue (Paragraph 0077). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a perforated type current collector in the assembly of Youn to suit the design of the anode assembly as stated in Son . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al in view of Son et al and further in view of Youn et al (US 20200274146 A1; referred to as Youn2 et al) . Regarding Claim 15, Youn teaches a method for manufacturing an anode electrode (Paragraph 0071). Youn teaches that the electrode may find application in lithium metal negative electrodes to construct a battery that is lighter and has a high energy density (Paragraph 0003). Youn teaches the method comprising: providing a first substrate (Paragraph 0062; substrate 40a), a second substrate ((Paragraph 0062; substrate 40b), and an anode current collector (Paragraph 0052; current collector 10); forming a first lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0063; lithium metal layer 10a) on the first substrate and a second lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0063; lithium metal layer 10b) on the second substrate; and pressing the first lithium metal layer and the second lithium metal layer into the anode current collector to form an anode electrode (Paragraph 0052; the lithium metal layers 10 a and 10 b are formed on both sides of the current collector 10, and the lithium metal layers 10 a and 10 b are formed on both sides of the current collector 10 by the transfer process; Paragraph 0110; the transfer may be performed such that the lithium metal layer is transferred onto the current collector using a device such as a roll press). Youn teaches that the first lithium metal layer is formed on the first substrate by electroplating, vapor deposition (Paragraph 0108; evaporation deposition, chemical vapor deposition (CVD), and physical vapor deposition). Youn teaches that the anode current collector is made of a material selected from a group consisting of copper, aluminum, nickel, titanium, sintered carbon, and stainless steel (Paragraph 0111). Youn teaches a current collector but does not teach that the anode current collector includes voids, and does not specifically teach that the current collector comprises one of a mesh current collector, an expanded metal current collector, and a perforated current collector. However, Son teaches that the current collector layer may be a solid or perforated type depending on the particular design at issue (Paragraph 0077). The perforations in the current collector can be considered as voids. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a perforated type current collector (with voids) in the assembly of Youn to suit the design of the anode assembly as stated in Son. Youn teaches pressing the first lithium metal layer and the second lithium metal layer into the anode current collector to form an anode electrode, but does not specifically teach pressing into the voids of the anode current collector. However, Youn2 teaches the use of a porous current collector (Paragraph 0049) and the formation of a lithium metal layer on a surface of the current collector (Paragraph 0047). Youn2 teaches that the lithium metal layer may be included in a pore of the porous current collector (Paragraph 0049), and that the transfer of the lithium metal layer on the current collector uses a device such as a roll press (Paragraph 0098). This is akin to pressing the lithium metal layers into the voids of the anode current collector. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first and second lithium layers of Youn are pressed into the voids of current collector as shown in Youn2 in order to form a lithium electrode without the problem of breakage (Paragraph 0103), and having excellent thickness uniformity (Paragraph 0104). Regarding Claim 16, Youn teaches that the the first substrate and the second substrate are removed after the pressing (Paragraph 0063; The substrates 40 a and 40 b are stripped and discarded before the lithium electrode 100 is put into the battery manufacturing process). Furthermore, in Youn a release layer supports the delamination process of the substrates 40a and 40b (Paragraph 0068). Regarding Claim 17, and Claim 18, Youn teaches that the first substrate comprises a polymer film (Paragraph 0064; The substrates 40 a and 40 b may comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), poly(methylmethacrylate) (PMMA), cellulose tri-acetate (TAC), polypropylene, polyethylene and polycarbonate). Youn does not teach that the first substrate comprises a solid electrolyte layer. However, Son teaches a method of making an anode subassembly sheet that comprises a lithium metal layer that is in contact with a functional coating layer (Paragraph 0008). The functional coating layer is applied to a separator layer. The combination of the functional layer with the separator layer can be considered as the first substrate layer. Son also teaches that the lithium metal layer is present on both sides of a current collector layer similar to claimed invention (Paragraph 0024). The functional layer of Son is made of materials such as polyacrylonitrile (PAN), and other polymer binders (Paragraph 0083). Since the material used in the instant disclosure for the solid electrolyte substrate is the same as the material used in Son (i.e. polyacrylonitrile) hence, the layer with the functional coating in Son functions as a solid electrolyte layer consisting of a polymer electrolyte such as PAN. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first substrate in Youn be a solid electrolyte layer as shown in Son in order to provide a functional layer that improves the application of the lithium metal layer to the substrate (Paragraph 0080). Regarding Claim 19, Youn teaches the presence of a protective layer between the substrate and the metal layer, but does not teach that the protective layer comprises ceramic. However, Son teaches the presence of a functional coating layer between the separator layer and the lithium metal layer (Paragraph 0008). The functional coating layer is akin to a protective layer that is in between the first substrate (i.e. separator layer) and the lithium metal layer. Son also teaches that the functional coating layer is made of materials such as aluminum oxide which is also known as alumina (Paragraph 0083). The claimed invention also provides the same material used as a ceramic protective layer. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the functional coating layer of Son in the protective layer of Youn in order to improve the application of the lithium metal layer to the substrate (Paragraph 0080) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al in view of Son et al, and Youn2 et al as evidenced by Raghavan . Youn teaches the presence of a protective layer between the first substrate and the first lithium metal layer, but does not specifically teach that it is a conductive layer. Youn teaches forming the protective layer on the substrate prior to forming the lithium metal layer. Youn teaches the use of polyvinylidene fluoride as a material used for the protective layer (Paragraph 0059). Polyvinylidene fluoride is conductive as evidenced by Raghavan in Table 5.2. Hence, Youn teaches the presence of a conductive layer between the substrate and the lithium metal layer. Furthermore, Youn2 also teaches that the protective layer formed on the substrate is an ion conducting polymer (Paragraph 0024). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL whose telephone number is (571)272-6278. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Maria Veronica D. Ewald can be reached on 571-272-8519 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783 /MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783 Application/Control Number: 18/474,704 Page 2 Art Unit: 1783 Application/Control Number: 18/474,704 Page 3 Art Unit: 1783 Application/Control Number: 18/474,704 Page 4 Art Unit: 1783 Application/Control Number: 18/474,704 Page 5 Art Unit: 1783 Application/Control Number: 18/474,704 Page 6 Art Unit: 1783 Application/Control Number: 18/474,704 Page 7 Art Unit: 1783 Application/Control Number: 18/474,704 Page 8 Art Unit: 1783 Application/Control Number: 18/474,704 Page 9 Art Unit: 1783 Application/Control Number: 18/474,704 Page 10 Art Unit: 1783