DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the phrase “MC outputs” because “MC” has not been defined by the claims and it is unclear whether this is a reference to the previously recited “master cylinder.”
Regarding independent claim 1, the phrase “first and second PTU outputs” is indefinite because neither the specification nor the claims define the meaning of “PTU.” Furthermore, it is unclear whether “PTU” refers to the previously recited “secondary brake module,” or rather, some other element.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “a same iso valve type” is indefinite because the addition of the word “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite (see MPEP 2173.05(b).III.E).
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “the first and second bypass iso valves” lack antecedent basis. It is suggested that the dependency of claim 15 be amended to depend from claim 8 instead of claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase “a PIA piston” is indefinite because “PIA” has not been defined by the claims and it is unclear whether this is a reference to the pump inlet attenuator or some other element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohnishi et al. (US 2014/0026557) in view of Knechtges et al. (US 2015/0314686) and further in view of Dolmaya et al. (US 2020/0189546).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ohnishi discloses a brake system (see Abstract, FIG. 1) for actuating a plurality of wheel brakes (32FL, 32RR, 32RL, 32FR) comprising first (32FL, 32RR) and second (32RL, 32FR) pairs of wheel brakes, the system comprising: a reservoir (84); a motor-driven master cylinder (16) operable during a normal non-failure braking mode (see ¶ 0164) by actuation of an electric motor (72) of the master cylinder to generate brake actuating pressure at first (24b) and second (24a) MC outputs for hydraulically actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes, respectively (see ¶¶ 0164, 0165; FIG. 1); a secondary brake module (136) configured for selectively providing pressurized hydraulic fluid at first and second PTU outputs (140) for actuating the first and second pairs of wheel brakes in at least one of a normal non-failure braking mode and a backup braking mode (see e.g. ¶ 0213), the secondary brake module including an electric PTU motor (M) configured to selectively pressurize the hydraulic fluid by transmitting rotary motion to at least two pumps 136), each pump piston providing pressurized hydraulic fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second PTU outputs (see FIG. 1), each of the first and second PTU outputs providing fluid to a corresponding one of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes (see FIG. 1) and an electronic control unit for controlling at least one of the secondary brake module and the master cylinder responsive to at least one brake pressure signal (see ¶¶ 0166, 0167).
Ohnishi does not disclose that the pumps are pump pistons.
Knechtges teaches a brake system (see Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising a pump that is configured as a pump piston (see ¶ 0035).
It would have been obvious to configure the pump of Ohnishi as a pump piston to implement a configuration of a pump that is known to be suitable for use in brake systems.
Ohnishi does not disclose a single return line placing the reservoir and each pump piston in hydraulic connection; a pump inlet attenuator interposed hydraulically between the reservoir and the pump pistons and in direct fluid connection with the reservoir via the single return line; wherein the pump inlet attenuator regulates pressure in the single return line to reduce pressure fluctuations at an inlet side of each pump piston via solely mechanical pressure attenuation.
Dolmaya teaches a brake system (see Abstract, FIG. 2) comprising a reservoir (4), a pump (2a, 2b), and a single return line (34) placing the reservoir and each pump in hydraulic connection (see FIG. 2); a pump inlet attenuator (5a) interposed hydraulically between the reservoir and the pumps (see FIG. 2) and in direct fluid connection with the reservoir via the single return line (see FIG. 2); wherein the pump inlet attenuator regulates pressure in the single return line to reduce pressure fluctuations at an inlet side of each pump piston via solely mechanical pressure attenuation (see ¶ 0048).
It would have been obvious to combine the single return line and the pump inlet attenuator of Dolmaya with the device of Ohnishi to provide the advantage that pressure medium is held ready and can be drawn out directly , thereby minimizing flow resistances and ensuring availability of building up pressure (see Dolmaya, ¶ 0048).
Regarding claim 2, Ohnishi discloses an iso/dump control valve arrangement (120, 124, 128, 130) associated with each wheel brake of the plurality of wheel brakes (see FIG. 1), each iso/dump control valve arrangement being controlled by the electronic control unit (see e.g. ¶ 0160).
Regarding claim 3, Ohnishi discloses that each iso/dump control valve arrangement is in fluid communication with both a selected one of the first (24b) and second (24a) MC outputs (see FIG. 1) and a selected one of the first and second PTU outputs (140) for selectively receiving pressurized hydraulic fluid therefrom (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Knechtges teaches that the secondary brake module includes a plurality of pump pistons associated with each of the first and second PTU outputs (see ¶ 0035).
Regarding claim 5, Ohnishi discloses a first traction control iso valve (116) hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the first pair of wheel brakes via the first MC outlet (24b) (see FIG. 1); and a second traction control iso valve (116) hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the second pair of wheel brakes via the second MC outlet (24a) (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Ohnishi discloses that a first brake pressure sensor (Pp) is interposed hydraulically between the first MC output and a corresponding first traction control iso valve (see FIG. 1) and a second brake pressure sensor (Ph) is interposed hydraulically between the second MC output and a corresponding second traction control iso valve (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Ohnishi discloses an iso/dump control valve arrangement (120, 124, 128, 130) associated with each wheel brake of the first and second pairs of wheel brakes (see FIG. 1), wherein the first traction control iso valve (116) is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the iso/dump control valve arrangements of the first pair of wheel brakes (see FIG. 1), and wherein the second traction control iso valve (116) is hydraulically interposed between the motor-driven master cylinder and the iso/dump control valve arrangements of the second pair of wheel brakes (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Dolmaya discloses that at least a portion of the pump inlet attenuator is in fluid communication with an ambient space outside the brake system (see ¶ 0047).
Regarding claim 20, Ohnishi discloses that the motor-driven master cylinder includes an electric MC drive motor (72), a primary MC chamber (98b), a secondary MC chamber (98a), a primary MC piston (88b) configured for selective movement longitudinally within the primary MC chamber responsive to longitudinal motion imparted by a ball nut assembly (80) along a ball nut axis (see ¶ 0105), and a secondary MC piston (88a) configured for selective movement longitudinally within at least one of the primary and secondary MC chambers responsive to longitudinal motion imparted by the ball nut assembly along the ball nut axis (see ¶ 0105), and wherein the MC drive motor rotates a drive shaft having a drive shaft axis which extends substantially parallel to the ball nut axis (see FIG. 1), and wherein rotational motion of the drive shaft is transferred to rotational motion of a spindle of the ball nut assembly via an MC gear train (78) (see ¶ 0105).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohnishi et al. (US 2014/0026557) in view of Knechtges et al. (US 2015/0314686) and further in view of Dolmaya et al. (US 2020/0189546), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Ganzel (US 2021/0155215).
Regarding claim 19, neither Ohnishi nor Dolmaya disclose that the pump inlet attenuator is a single pump inlet attenuator.
Ganzel teaches a brake system (see Abstract, FIGS. 16, 17) comprising a pump inlet attenuator (1010) (see FIG. 16), wherein the pump inlet attenuator is a single pump inlet attenuator (see ¶ 0162; FIG. 16).
It would have been obvious to use a single pump inlet attenuator to provide a more cost effective and simplistic brake system (see e.g. Ganzel, ¶ 0162).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
February 7, 2026