DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Groups I and II and Species A (claims 1-4, 7-11 and 14 in the reply filed on 2/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be at most de minimis burden associated with examining all the claims for examining all the claims. This is not found persuasive because the claims in Group III are drawn to method of manufacturing requiring specific steps to design claimed invention whereas Groups I and II are drawn to a claimed invention. In addition, the species shown in figure 5 requires non-circular rim and associated box/chamber. Therefore, the structure is different. However, these claims could be rejoined if claims require the limitations of the allowed product claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The reference character “14” has been used to refer to “pull wire” in paragraph 0038, line 1 and “distal end” in paragraph 0038, line 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the end” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lundquist et al. (US 5,195,968).
Regarding claim 9, Lundquist teaches a wire lock (see “L” in figure 23 below), comprising:
a spool body 1520, 1530 having a first end (end of elements 1520, 1530 towards elements 1560, 1590) and a second end (ends of elements 1520, 1530 towards elements 1540, 1550);
a first rim (rim of element 1520 connecting to element 1560 and rim of element 1530 connecting to element 1590) around the first end of the spool body;
a second rim (rim of element 1520 connecting to element 1540, rim of element 1530 connecting to element 1550) around the second end of the spool body; and
a through-hole 1620, 1630 extending diametrically through the spool body.
Regarding claim 10, Lundquist teaches wherein the spool body 1520, 1530 comprises a cylindrical spool body (see figure 24 where elements 1520 and 1530 are cylindrical).
Regarding claim 11, Lundquist teaches wherein the first rim (rim of element 1520 connecting to element 1560 and rim of element 1530 connecting to element 1590) comprises a first circular rim (see figures 20 and 23 which shows rim is circular) and the second rim (rim of element 1520 connecting to element 1540, rim of element 1530 connecting to element 1550) comprises a second circular rim (see figures 20 and 24 where the rim is circular).
Regarding claim 14, Lundquist teaches wherein the through-hole tapers from a maximum diameter (diameter where elements 1632 and 1634 in figure 23 are present) at the exterior surface of the spool body to a minimum diameter (towards a center of elements 1620, 1630, due to wedge shape as seen in figure 23, the diameter has to change from maximum diameter to a minimum diameter) within the spool body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundquist et al. (US 5,195,968) in view of Samantha Long Art (“Framing Demo: The Cow Hitch Hanging Wire Knot”, 2018, hereinafter referred as “Samantha”).
Regarding claim 1, Lundquist discloses a pull wire assembly (assembly shown in figures 23, 24) for a steerable medical device, comprising:
a wire lock (see “L” in figure 23 below) comprising:
a spool body 1520, 1530 having a first end (end of elements 1520, 1530 towards elements 1560, 1590) and a second end (ends of elements 1520, 1530 towards elements 1540, 1550);
a first rim (rim of element 1520 connecting to element 1560 and rim of element 1530 connecting to element 1590) around the first end of the spool body;
a second rim (rim of element 1520 connecting to element 1540, rim of element 1530 connecting to element 1550) around the second end of the spool body; and
a through-hole 1620, 1630 extending diametrically through the spool body; and
a wire 1470, 1480 having an end portion (portion of element 1470, 1480 entering into elements 1620, 1630) that enters through a first end (see “F” in figure 23 below, examiner has shown in body 1530 only but same would apply to the body 1520) of the through-hole, emerges through a second end (see “S” in figure 23 below, examiner has shown in body 1530 only but same would apply to the body 1520) of the through-hole opposite the first end of the through-hole, wraps elements 1470 and 1480 wraps around an exterior surface of the spool body 1520, 1530. Lundquist further discloses regarding affixation of the wires by wrapping the steering wire around itself (column 13, lines 46-49) but is silent regarding re-enters into the first end of the through-hole, and re-emerges through the second end of the through-hole.
However, Samantha teaches a method of securing the wire connection with a ring wherein the wire re-enters (see steps 3-6 and last step on pages 5-10) into the first side, and re-emerges through the second side for the purpose of securely attaching the wire to the anchoring element in a failsafe manner (pages 5-10).
Examiner construes that one of ordinary skill in the art when modifying Lundquist in view of Samantha would have the wire re-enters into the first end of the through-hole, and re-emerges through the second end of the through-hole because Lundquist uses a spool body and the spool body has through-hole through which wire has to pass in order to enter from one side and exit from other side in the manner Samatha teaches.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the connection of the wire with the spool body of Lundquist to incorporate the wire re-enters into the first end of the through-hole, and re-emerges through the second end of the through-hole as taught by Samantha for the purpose of securely attaching the wire to the anchoring element in a failsafe manner (pages 5-10).
Regarding claim 2, Lundquist discloses wherein the wire is under tension (column 14, lines 4-11, wire could be placed in tension), and wherein the tension is sufficient for at least partially embed the wire into the exterior surface of the spool body (see figure 24 where wire can be construed as partially embedding the wire into the exterior surface of the spool body).
Regarding claim 3, Lundquist discloses wherein the spool body 1520, 1530 comprises a cylindrical spool body (see figure 24 where elements 1520 and 1530 are cylindrical).
Regarding claim 4, Lundquist discloses wherein the first rim (rim of element 1520 connecting to element 1560 and rim of element 1530 connecting to element 1590) comprises a first circular rim (see figures 20 and 23 which shows rim is circular) and the second rim (rim of element 1520 connecting to element 1540, rim of element 1530 connecting to element 1550) comprises a second circular rim (see figures 20 and 24 where the rim is circular).
Regarding claim 7, Lundquist discloses wherein the through-hole tapers from a maximum diameter (diameter where elements 1632 and 1634 in figure 23 are present) at the exterior surface of the spool body to a minimum diameter (towards a center of elements 1620, 1630, due to wedge shape as seen in figure 23, the diameter has to change from maximum diameter to a minimum diameter) within the spool body.
Regarding claim 8, Lundquist is silent regarding wherein the end of the wire, after re-emerging through the second end of the through-hole, re-wraps around the exterior surface of the spool body, re-enters into the first end of the through hole, and re-emerges through the second end of the through-hole.
While Samanatha discloses regarding re-entering the end of the wire to wrap the exterior surface as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, Samantha is also silent regarding wherein the end of the wire, after re-emerging through the second end of the through-hole, re-wraps around the exterior surface of the spool body, re-enters into the first end of the through hole, and re-emerges through the second end of the through-hole.
However, Samantha already discloses to form an additional loop (i.e. two loops by re-entering the wire from one side and exit from the other side) to securely hold the wire with the ring structure, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try and have the end of the wire, after re-emerging through the second end of the through-hole, re-wraps around the exterior surface of the spool body, re-enters into the first end of the through hole, and re-emerges through the second end of the through-hole to further solidify the connection of the wire with spool body of Lundquist. Furthermore, according to MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), it is obvious to duplicate the parts if the duplication of the parts does not result in a new and unexpected results. By further re-entering the wire after re-emerging through the second end of the through-hole and re-wrapping around the exterior surface of the spool body, does not result in a new and unexpected results. Therefore, Lundquist in view of Samantha discloses the end of the wire, after re-emerging through the second end of the through-hole, re-wraps around the exterior surface of the spool body, re-enters into the first end of the through hole, and re-emerges through the second end of the through-hole.
Conclusion
/NILAY J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783