DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-11, 13, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diedrich (US 2007/0118652 ) (hereinafter Diedrich) in view of Ramachandran et al (US 10621014 ) (hereinafter Ramachandran).
As per claim 1, Diedrich teaches:
A method comprising:
receiving a service request dispatched from a service at a first location based upon a service extension (Diedrich, [0080]—under BRI, a service request dispatched from a service at a first location based upon a service extension can be receiving a work unit from active server based on the need to extend service onto passive server);
at the first location, executing the code to process the service request to produce an output (Diedrich, [0080]); and
communicating the output back to the service at the first location (Diedrich, [0080]), for processing with reference to a system at a second location remote from the first location (Diedrich, [0080], claim 7—under BRI, for processing with reference to a system can be using a 2nd location system to combine results).
Diedrich does not expressly teach:
at the first location, loading code from a non-transitory computer readable storage medium;
However, Ramachandran discloses:
at the first location, loading code from a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Ramachandran, col 3, ll30-33);
Both Ramachandran and Diedrich pertain to the art of code generation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Ramachandran’s method to load code from memory because it is well-known in the art that physical storage media—such as external hard drives, SSDs, USB drives, and optical discs—provide significant benefits including total data control, immunity to internet outages, and no recurring subscription fees.
As per claim 2, Dierich/Ramachandran teaches:
A method as in claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1) further comprising:
generating the code at the first location (Ramachandran, col 3, ll30-33); and
storing the code in the non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Ramachandran, col 3, ll30-33).
As per claim 3, Dierich/Ramachandran teaches:
A method as in claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1) wherein the code is generated using a visual coding interface (Ramachandran, col 4, ll1-13).
As per claim 4, Dierich/Ramachandran teaches:
A method as in claim 1 (See rejection on claim 1) wherein the service request is processed based upon a context (Diedrich, [0080], claim 7—under BRI, a context can be the need to run work unit a passive server).
As per claim 6, Dierich/Ramachandran teaches:
A method as in claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1) wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium is at the first location (Ramachandran, col 6, ll58-62).
As per claim 7, Dierich/Ramachandran teaches:
A method as in claim 1 (see rejection on claim 1) wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprises a database (Ramachandran, col 6, ll58-62).
As per claim 10, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 11, see rejection on claim 2.
As per claim 13, see rejection on claim 6.
As per claim 16, see rejection on claim 1.
As per claim 17, see rejection on claim 2.
As per claim 18, see rejection on claim 4.
As per claim 20, Dierich/Ramachandran teaches:
A computer system as in claim 16 (See rejection on claim 16) wherein the in-memory database engine is configured to recognize the service extension (Diedrich, [0080]) .
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierich/Ramachandran as applied above, and further in view of Yang et al ( US 2023/0205553).
As per claim 5, Dierich/Ramachandran teaches:
A method as in claim 4 (see rejection on claim 4).
Dierich/Ramachandran does not expressly teach:
wherein:
the context includes a timer; and
processing the service request further comprising triggering a timeout based upon the timer.
However, Yang discloses:
wherein:
the context includes a timer (Yang, [0100]); and
processing the service request further comprising triggering a timeout based upon the timer (Yang, [0100])
Both Yang and Dierich/Ramachandran pertain to the art of code processing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Yang’s method to trigger timeout with a timer because it is well-known in the art that service request timeouts prevent system resource exhaustion, improve user experience by closing idle connections, and enhance reliability through failure detection.
As per claim 12, see rejection on claim 2.
As per claim 19, see rejection on claim 2.
Claims 8-9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierich/Ramachandran as applied above, and further in view of Kunz et al ( US 2024/0184652 ) (hereinafter Kunz).
As per claim 8, Dierich/Ramachandran teaches:
A method as in claim 7 (see rejection on claim 7)
Dierich/Ramachandran does not expressly teach:
wherein the database comprises an in-memory database.
However, Kunz discloses:
wherein the database comprises an in-memory database (Kunz, [0028]).
Both Kunz and Dierich/Ramachandran pertain to the art of code processing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kunz’s method to adopt an in-memory database because it is well-known in the art that in-memory databases (IMDBs) offer unmatched performance benefits by storing data directly in RAM, eliminating slow disk I/O, and enabling sub-millisecond response times, high throughput for real-time analytics, gaming leaderboards, and session management
As per claim 9, Dierich/Ramachandran/Kunz teaches:
A method as in claim 8 (see rejection on claim 8) wherein an in-memory database engine of the in-memory database executes the code (Ramachandran, col 7, ll 110-14—under BRI, executing can be executing search).
As per claim 14, see rejection on claim 8.
As per claim 15, see rejection on claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12536348 teaches a method of generating code in memory.
/CHARLIE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198