DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rasheed et al. (US 20160312360 A1).
Rasheed et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a chamber 100 configured to provide a space (see reproduced Fig. 1 below) for processing a substrate 110 (Fig. 1); a substrate support 112 configured to support the substrate 110 in the chamber (Fig. 1); an upper supply port 134 (Fig. 1) provided in an upper portion of the chamber 100 and configured to supply a supercritical fluid on an upper surface of the substrate 110; a recess 164 provided in an upper wall (see reproduced Fig. 1 below) of the chamber 100, the recess having a diffuser shape whose diameter gradually increases from an outlet (see reproduced Fig. 1 below) of the upper supply port 134 (Fig. 1); and a fluidic baffle 125 disposed in the recess between the upper supply port 134 and the substrate 110 (Fig. 1), the fluidic baffle 125 including unit cells 126 (Figs. 2-3) repeatedly arranged in a space with same phases and geometric sizes and in fluid communication with each other (Figs. 1-3). Wherein the fluidic baffle 125 is spaced apart from an inner wall (see reproduced Fig. 1 below) of the recess by at least 0.2 mm (Figs. 1-3). As for the limitations, “an upper supply port … configured to supply a supercritical fluid” in lines 4-5 of claim 1, it is viewed as functional or intended use limitations. As MPEP 2114 states, “[a] claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim”. In this case, the limitation above does not add any structural limitations to the claim and Rasheed et al. discloses all the structural limitations. Additionally while not disclosed, the upper supply port of Rasheed et al. is capable of being used for supplying a supercritical fluid.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason for allowance of claims 2-9, 11-20 is the inclusion of the limitations “wherein each of the unit cells includes, upper holes disposed in a first plane and which the fluid enters; lower holes disposed in a second plane parallel with the first plane and spaced apart from the first plane along a vertical direction; an crossover passage hole disposed between the first plane and the second plane; and branch passages extending along oblique directions between the first plane and the second plane, the branch passages including upper branch passages communicating the upper holes to/with the crossover passage hole, respectively and lower branch passages communicating the crossover passage hole to/with the lower holes, respectively” in claims 2 and 20; “wherein the unit cells have a lattice structure designed by Triply Periodic Minimal Surface (TPMS)” in claim 6; “wherein the fluidic baffle includes, an upper baffle having a first cone shape; and a lower baffle having a second cone shape and formed integrally with the upper baffle” in claim 8; “the fluidic baffle having a three-dimensional curved structure where an interior is divided into two subspaces twisted with each other by an interface and having triperiodic minimum curved surface (TPMS)” in claim 11 in combination with the remaining claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang (US 11,139,152 B2) discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising a recess 2340 having a diffuser shape whose diameter gradually increases from an outlet of the upper supply port and a fluidic baffle 2130 including unit cells repeatedly arranged in a space with same phases and geometric sizes and in fluid communication with each other (Fig. 1). Yang et al. (US 9,514,919 B2) discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising a recess 132 having a diffuser shape whose diameter gradually increases from an outlet of the upper supply port and a fluidic baffle 140 including unit cells repeatedly arranged in a space with same phases and geometric sizes and in fluid communication with each other (Fig. 1). Chandrasekharan et al. (US 2015/0315706 A1) discloses a semiconductor processing apparatus comprising a recess 130 having a diffuser shape whose diameter gradually increases from an outlet of the upper supply port and a fluidic baffle 110 disposed in the recess 130 (Fig. 1). Driscoll et al. (EP 0702392 A2) discloses a semiconductor processing apparatus comprising a recess 35a having a diffuser shape whose diameter gradually increases from an outlet of the upper supply port and a fluidic baffle 20a disposed in the recess (Fig. 1A).
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY