DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a central axis of the object” (claim 3), “a motor” (claim 9), “its central axis” (claim 9), “a connecting rod” (claim 11), “an assembly hole” (claim 12), “a plurality of connecting rods” (claim 15), “a plurality of distance sensors spaced in a circumferential direction of the object pickup device, wherein distances between the plurality of distance sensors and a central axis of the object pickup device are different from one another” (claim 18), “a central axis of object pickup device” (claim 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “10” has been used to designate both a calculation device and a distance sensor (specification, paragraph 0014).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: S10 (paragraph 0026), S20 (paragraph 0027), S30 (paragraph 0028), S40 (paragraph 0029), S50 (paragraph 0031), S60 (paragraph 0032), S70 (paragraph 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, “the distance data” (line 10) lacks antecedent basis. “[T]he distance data” should be “the distance”.
Claim 5, “a projection of the suction cup and the opening in an axial direction of the object pickup device do not overlap” is unclear. Examiner interprets the limitation to read -- a projection of the suction cup on the top surface and the opening of the top surface in an axial direction of the object pickup device --.
Claim 9, “its central axis” (line 5) lacks antecedent basis. Examiner suggests changing “its central axis” to -- the central axis of the object pickup device --.
Claim 11, “the first bracket to move axially relative to the second bracket along the axial direction of the object pickup device” is unclear. The limitation should read -- the first bracket to move [[axially]] relative to the second bracket along a central axis the central axis
Claim 19, “the distance data” (line 16) lacks antecedent basis. “[T]he distance data” should be “the distance”.
Claim 20,
“a projection of the suction cup and the opening in the axial direction of the object pickup device overlap” is unclear. Examiner interprets the limitation to read – a projection of the suction cup on the top surface and the opening of the top surface in the axial direction of the object pickup device --.
“a projection of the suction cup and the opening in the axial direction of the object pickup device do not overlap” is unclear. Examiner interprets the limitation to read – a projection of the suction cup on the top surface and the opening of the top surface in the axial direction of the object pickup device --.
“the axial direction of the object pickup device” (lines 3-4) lacks antecedent basis. “[T]he axial direction of the object pickup device” should be – an axial direction of the object pickup device --.
The remaining claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Note Regarding 35 USC § 101
Pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (MPEP 2106), the following analysis is made:
Under step 1 of the Guidance, the claims fall within a statutory category.
Under step 2A, prong 1, claims 1 and 19 recite an abstract idea of “calculate a distance from the top surface of the object to the distance sensor and a position of an edge of an opening on the top surface of the object based on the distance data collected by the distance sensor as the top surface is scanned” (mathematical concept).
Under step 2A, prong 2, the claims recite particular machine for performing the abstract idea comprising including
an object pickup device, including:
a first bracket;
a suction cup arranged on the first bracket and adapted to be affixed to a
top surface of an object to be picked up; and
a distance sensor arranged on the first bracket and adapted to rotate with
the first bracket to scan the top surface of the object; and
a calculation device.
Thus, the claims are indicative of integration into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
Accordingly, claims 1 and 19 and their respective dependent claims 2-18 and 20 are patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ban (US 20140121836) in view of Hayashi et al. JP 2002174601 and Heinzmann et al. (US 2021/0213626).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Ban discloses an object pickup system and method (Fig. 1), comprising:
an object pickup device (10), including:
a first bracket (mount for attaching 22);
a suction cup (22, paragraph 0030, lines 5-6) arranged on the first bracket
(Fig. 1) and adapted to be affixed to a top surface of an object (14) to be picked up (paragraph 0030, lines 5-6; Fig. 1); and
a distance sensor to scan the top surface of the object (scanning of
surface of object/workpiece is implied by sensor 28 determining distance between sensor and object/workpiece, paragraph 0049, lines 7-9); and
a calculation device (34) operatively connected to the distance sensor (Fig. 1) and adapted to calculate a distance from the top surface of the object to the distance sensor (paragraph 0049, lines 5-9).
Ban does not disclose the distance sensor arranged on the first bracket and adapted to rotate with the first bracket.
Hayashi et al. discloses a distance sensor arranged for rotating to scan an object surface (paragraph 0010, lines 1-2). It would have been obvious to arrange the distance sensor on a bracket/mount in view of Ban, see rotating mount, Figs. 7’ s, for rotating the distance sensor to scan an object surface and allowing the suction cup 22 to pick up the object (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Ban with rotating a distance sensor as disclosed by Hayashi et al. for the purpose of scanning an object surface.
Further, Ban does not disclose calculate a position of an edge of an opening on the top surface of the object based on the distance data collected by the distance sensor as the top surface is scanned.
Heinzmann et al. discloses calculate a position of an edge of an opening (edge of trough, Fig. 3) on the top surface (16) of the object (12) based on the distance data collected by the distance sensor as the top surface is scanned (camera of 46 captures/identify outer surface of an object to be gripped, paragraph 0054, the capture/identification of object 12 is based on the distance between 46 and outer surface 16 of object 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Ban with calculate a position of an edge of an opening as suggested by Heinzmann et al. for the purpose of suction gripping an object (paragraph 0061) at an elevation 20 rather than at the trough (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Ban discloses the distance sensor (28, paragraph 0049, lines 8-9) is a laser distance sensor emitting a laser beam (paragraph 0033, lines 6-14) towards the top surface of the object (Fig. 1) and scans the top surface of the object with the laser beam (sensor 28 is adapted to scan, paragraph 0033, lines 7-8; Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons For Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The combination as claimed wherein an object pickup system and method comprising the calculation device identifies and calculates the position of the edge of the opening based on the step change of the distance data collected by the distance sensor (claim 2) or when the distance sensor scans the top surface of the object, the driving device drives the first bracket to rotate around a rotation axis that coincides or is parallel to a central axis of the object (claim 3) or a second bracket; a connecting rod connected between the first bracket and the second bracket and adapted to enable the first bracket to move axially relative to the second bracket along the axial direction of the object pickup device; and a spring arranged on the connecting rod and compressed between the first bracket and the second bracket such that the first bracket is floatable along the axial direction of the object pickup device relative to the second bracket (claim 11) or the object pickup device includes a plurality of distance sensors spaced in a circumferential direction of the object pickup device (claim 18) or determining whether the projection of the suction cup and the opening of the object in the axial direction of the object pickup device overlap (claim 20) is not disclosed, suggested, or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Domae et al. (US 2019/0061159) discloses an object recognizer for recognizing a position and attitude of a target object based on data by a sensor (Abstract, lines 1-2).
Contact Information
/MICHAEL P NGHIEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 January 06, 2026