DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites “wherein thickness of the residual…” in line 1 of the claim. The article “a” should precede “thickness” in the claim—i.e., a thickness.
Claim 17 recites “…including driving element…” spanning lines 2-3 of the claim. The article “a” should precede “driving” in the claim—i.e., a driving element. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the oxide including indium" in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9, upon which claim 10 depends, recites the nano layer including at least one of indium-tin-oxide and indium-zinc-oxide. Thus, it is unclear which oxide is being referred to by “the oxide including indium” in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the recitation as reciting the nano layer including at least one of the materials listed in claim 10.
The phrase “far less” in claim 14 is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “far less” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim recitation of the thickness of the residual thin layers being far less than a thickness of the nano-particles is rendered indefinite by use of the phrase “far less” in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets a thickness of a residual thin layer less than that of nano-particles to read on the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0348624).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim teaches a light emitting display (Fig. 5B, Element 500B; ¶ [0101]) comprising a substrate (Fig. 5B, Element 110; ¶ [0046]) including a first pixel and a second pixel (¶ [0008]); Fig. 5B shows a single pixel, but a light emitting display is inherently comprised of many pixels); a buffer layer (Fig. 5B, Element 111; ¶ [0046]) on the substrate; a nano layer (Fig. 5B, Element 560; ¶ [0101]) on the buffer layer; an anode electrode (Fig. 5B, Element 131; ¶ [0046]) on the nano layer; and a reflective layer (Fig. 5B, Elements 540B/124; ¶s [0109], [0053]) between the buffer layer and the anode electrode.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the reflective layer (540B) covering the nano layer, and disposed under the anode electrode (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the reflective layer (124) disposed under the nano layer and on the buffer layer (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches a lower conductive layer (Fig. 5B, Element 122; ¶ [0051]) disposed between the reflective layer and the buffer layer (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a third pixel on the substrate, wherein there is no nano layer at the third pixel, since a light emitting display inherently comprises many pixels.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the nano layer including a nano-based layer (¶ [0101]); and nano-particles having protrusion shape formed on the nano-based layer (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the nano-based layer and the nano-particles including a same material (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the nano layer including a plurality of nano-particles, adjacent nano-particles of the plurality of nano-particles having spaces therebetween (Fig. 5A; spaces between convex portions 550a); and residual thin layers dispersed in the spaces between the adjacent nano-particles (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a thickness of the residual thin layers being far less than a thickness of the nano-particles (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the residual thin layers including a same material as the plurality of nano-particles (Fig. 5A; same layer).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a planarization layer (Fig. 5B, Element 513; ¶ [0100]) under the buffer layer.
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches a driving layer (Fig. 5B, Element 120; ¶ [0046]) disposed between the planarization layer and the substrate, and including driving element coupled to the anode electrode (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches a bank (Fig. 5B, Element 116; ¶ [0070]) covering edge portions of the anode electrode, exposing central area of the anode electrode, and defining an emission area; an emission layer (Fig. 5B, Element 132; ¶ [0046]) on the bank and the anode electrode; and a cathode electrode (Fig. 5B, Element 133; ¶ [0046]) on the emission layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2019/0348624).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 4 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the lower conductive layer comprises a transparent conductive material including indium-tin-oxide. Indium-tin-oxide is a well-known conductive material in the art of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display of Kim with the lower conductive layer comprising indium-tin-oxide, since it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 4 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the lower conductive layer comprising a transparent conductive material including indium-zinc-oxide. Indium-zinc-oxide is a well-known conductive material in the art of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display of Kim with the lower conductive layer comprising indium-zinc-oxide, since it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the nano layer including first nano-particles having a first size; and second nano-particles having a second size smaller than the first size. Kim discloses the nano structures being different (¶s [0101], [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the light emitting display of Kim with the nano layer including first nano-particles having a first size; and second nano-particles having a second size smaller than the first size, since a change in size would not change the performance of the device (MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the nano layer including at least one of indium-tin-oxide and indium-zinc-oxide.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display of Kim with the nano layer including at least one of indium-tin-oxide and indium-zinc-oxide, since it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 9 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the nano layer including at least one of indium-tin-oxide, indium-zinc-oxide, indium-gallium-oxide and indium-gallium-zinc-tin-oxide.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display of Kim with the nano layer including at least one of indium-tin-oxide, indium-zinc-oxide, indium-gallium-oxide and indium-gallium-zinc-tin-oxide, since it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koo (US 2015/0380466) teaches an organic light emitting display device with an overcoating layer including a plurality of protrusions. Oh (US 2013/0146878) teaches an organic light-emitting display apparatus with a buffer layer including nanoparticles. Park (US 2013/0001602) teaches an organic light emitting display apparatus with a buffer layer including nano-particles. Jo (US 2012/0138937) teaches an organic light-emitting display device with light-scattering substrate.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 28 March 2026