9DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment and remarks received 25 June 2026 have been entered and overcome the claim objections and claim rejections under 35 USC § 112 cited in the previous Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0348624).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim teaches a light emitting display (Fig. 5B, Element 500B; ¶ [0101]) comprising a substrate (Fig. 5B, Element 110; ¶ [0046]) including a first pixel and a second pixel (¶ [0008]); Fig. 5B shows a single pixel, but a light emitting display is inherently comprised of many pixels); a buffer layer (Fig. 5B, Element 111; ¶ [0046]) on the substrate; a reflective layer (Fig. 5B, Elements 540B/124; ¶s [0109], [0053]) on the buffer layer; a nano layer (Fig. 5B, Element 560; ¶ [0101]) on the reflective layer, the nano layer comprising a plurality of nano-particles; and an anode electrode (Fig. 5B, Element 131; ¶ [0046]) on the nano layer.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the reflective layer (540B) extending under the nano layer, and disposed under the anode electrode (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the reflective layer (124) disposed under the nano layer and on the buffer layer (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches a lower conductive layer (Fig. 5B, Element 122; ¶ [0051]) disposed between the reflective layer and the buffer layer (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a third pixel on the substrate, wherein the nano layer is absent from the third pixel, since a light emitting display inherently comprises many pixels.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the nano layer including a nano-based layer (¶ [0101]); and nano-particles having protrusion shape formed on the nano-based layer (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the nano-based layer and the nano-particles including a same material (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the nano layer including a plurality of nano-particles, adjacent nano-particles of the plurality of nano-particles having spaces therebetween (Fig. 5A; spaces between convex portions 550a); and residual thin layers dispersed in the spaces between the adjacent nano-particles (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a thickness of the residual thin layers being far less than a thickness of the nano-particles (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the residual thin layers including a same material as the plurality of nano-particles (Fig. 5A; same layer).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a planarization layer (Fig. 5B, Element 513; ¶ [0100]) under the buffer layer.
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches a driving layer (Fig. 5B, Element 120; ¶ [0046]) disposed between the planarization layer and the substrate, and including driving element coupled to the anode electrode (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches a bank (Fig. 5B, Element 116; ¶ [0070]) covering edge portions of the anode electrode, exposing central area of the anode electrode, and defining an emission area; an emission layer (Fig. 5B, Element 132; ¶ [0046]) on the bank and the anode electrode; and a cathode electrode (Fig. 5B, Element 133; ¶ [0046]) on the emission layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2019/0348624).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 4 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the lower conductive layer comprises a transparent conductive material including indium-tin-oxide. Indium-tin-oxide is a well-known conductive material in the art of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display of Kim with the lower conductive layer comprising indium-tin-oxide, since it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 4 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the lower conductive layer comprising a transparent conductive material including indium-zinc-oxide. Indium-zinc-oxide is a well-known conductive material in the art of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display of Kim with the lower conductive layer comprising indium-zinc-oxide, since it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the nano layer including first nano-particles having a first size; and second nano-particles having a second size smaller than the first size. Kim discloses the nano structures being different (¶s [0101], [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the light emitting display of Kim with the nano layer including first nano-particles having a first size; and second nano-particles having a second size smaller than the first size, since a change in size would not change the performance of the device (MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the nano layer including an oxide including indium, the oxide comprising one or more of indium-tin-oxide, indium-zinc-oxide, indium-gallium-oxide, and indium-gallium-zinc-tin-oxide.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display of Kim with the nano layer including an oxide including indium, the oxide comprising one or more of indium-tin-oxide, indium-zinc-oxide, indium-gallium-oxide, and indium-gallium-zinc-tin-oxide, since it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument, regards to independent claim 1, that Kim fails to teach the limitations directed to a particular order of the layer stack, the Examiner notes that the does not require a particular order. Applicant notes that the claimed structure requires a layer sequence in which the nano layer is interposed between the reflective layer and the anode electrode. However, independent claim 1 requires the nano layer to be on the reflective layer and the anode to be on the nano layer. This claim language can be interpreted in different ways—e.g., a computer mouse would be considered to be on a desk, even though there’s a mouse pad between the desk and the mouse. In the instant case, using the above interpretation on the claim, Figure 5B of Kim shows the nano layer (560) on the reflective layer (540B) and the anode electrode (131) on the nano layer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 11 September 2026