DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
The examiner finds 35 USC 112(a) support for the claims within Provisional Application No. 63/409,863 (filed 9/26/2022). See fig. 12 and paragraphs [0149] – [0160] of the Provisional Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/27/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/02/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/26/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first computing device" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 14-16 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected parent claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first computing device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 18-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0373456) in view of Yang et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0354377).
As per claim 1, Iwai et al. teach a method, comprising:
receiving, by a first computing device from an access point (AP), a first frame [Iwai, fig. 9, “MU-RTS TXS TF to STA1 and STA2”, ¶ 0072, “using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame”, The AP sends trigger frame to the STAs (see also ¶ 0049).] indicating:
a plurality of frequency allocations for a plurality of computing devices [Iwai, ¶ 0072, “the AP may allocate orthogonal frequency resources (e.g., 20 MHz channel×N) to STA 1 and STA 2, respectively, using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, for example. Here, since P2P communication by STA 1 with STA 3 and P2P communication by STA 2 with STA 4 are performed in a band subjected to FDM”, The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a frequency allocation for FDM operations that support STA1↔STA3 and STA2↔STA4 (see also ¶s 0070, 0083, and 0084).], wherein the plurality of frequency allocations comprise a first frequency allocation for the first computing device [Iwai, ¶ 0084, “when the TXOP sharing for multiple STAs is applied by FDM, the allocated radio resource may include channels (e.g., bands in 20-MHz unit) to be assigned to STAs 200”, Allocated frequency resources are assigned to the STAs according to FDM.]; and
a sharing mode in which the first computing device is allowed to transmit to another computing device using the first frequency allocation [Iwai, ¶ 0070, “when the TxOP Sharing Mode=2 (e.g., case of inter-STA communication where scheduled STA communicates with another STA), an AP performs the TXOP sharing for STA 1 and STA 2 by FDM”, The STAs perform P2P TXOP sharing using their respective channel (or frequency) allocation (see also ¶ 0082). The trigger frame includes an indicated sharing mode value (e.g., “2”, see fig. 5).]; and
transmitting, by the first computing device to a second computing device, via the first frequency allocation…a second frame [Iwai, ¶ 0071, “Note that the inter-STA communication is also referred to as peer to peer (P2P) or Direct Link (DiL)”, P2P supports direct communication between STAs. STA1↔STA3 and STA2↔STA4 are FDMA paired. The Data frame sent by STA1/STA2 is considered the second frame.].
Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach transmitting, by the first computing device to a second computing device, via the first frequency allocation, and based on the second computing device not belonging to the plurality of computing devices, a second frame.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach transmitting, by the first computing device to a second computing device, via the first frequency allocation [Yang, ¶ 0072, “The trigger frame 500 transferred in steps 206/304 may indicate that channels 1 to 4 are all allocated to the terminal device. For example, the RU Allocation field may specify ‘67’ which indicates that an 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated. This together with the P2P Mode indicator and the AID of the direct wireless link indicates that the 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated to the direct wireless link between the terminal devices 100 and 102. Accordingly, the terminal device 100 may transmit the P2P PPDU on channels 1 to 4, each having a 20 MHz bandwidth. Channel 1 is denoted here as the primary channel of the wireless network while the channels 2 to 4 are secondary channels. In an embodiment, the terminal device acknowledges the reception of the PPDU on all channels 1 to 4”, The trigger frame includes frequency allocations for the direct communication between terminal devices 100 and 102 (see also fig. 1 and ¶ 0070).], and based on the second computing device not belonging to the plurality of computing devices [Yang, ¶ 0070, “Accordingly, the access node 110 and the terminal device 100 establish an association in steps 200 and 300 in the above-described manner. Furthermore, the terminal devices 100 and 102 establish the direct wireless link (the sidelink) in step 202”, Terminal device 100 is able to receive trigger messages (see step 208), but terminal device 102 cannot. In other words, the access node 110 is able to differentiate between devices that may receive a trigger signal and those devices that are setup for P2P (but cannot/do not receive the trigger signal). Figs. 6 and 8 contemplate that multiple devices may not receive the trigger signal (see terminal device 104).], a second frame [Yang, ¶ 0071, “Upon receiving the trigger frame in step 206 and detecting that the resource unit has been allocated to the direct wireless link, the terminal device may perform transmission of the data packet in step 208. The data packet may comprise a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU). The transmission in step 208 denotes a start of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) of the terminal device. During the TXOP, the terminal device 100 may transmit multiple PPDUs (step 404), provided that a predefined duration of the TXOP is long enough for the multiple frame transmissions by the terminal device 100. The duration may be specified in the trigger frame, e.g. by Duration field specified in 802.11 specifications”, After receiving the trigger frame (see fig. 5, step 206), the first terminal device 100 sends a second (or data, P2P) data frame to the second terminal device 102 (see step 208).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing sidelink relaying of Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 2, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. also teach further comprising:
receiving the first frame comprising: a signal during a triggered transmit opportunity (TXOP) sharing (TXS) mode for a TXOP [Iwai, fig. 9, “MU-RTS TXS TF to STA1 and STA2”, ¶ 0072, “using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame”, The AP sends trigger frame to the STAs (see also ¶ 0049).] obtained by the AP [Iwai, fig. 9, “CTS to self”, The AP obtains a clear-to-send (CTS), which triggers the MU-RTS transmission.];
an indication that a computing device of the plurality of computing devices transmits to the AP or to another computing device using a frequency allocation of the plurality of frequency allocations [Iwai, ¶ 0072, “the AP may allocate orthogonal frequency resources (e.g., 20 MHz channel×N) to STA 1 and STA 2, respectively, using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, for example. Here, since P2P communication by STA 1 with STA 3 and P2P communication by STA 2 with STA 4 are performed in a band subjected to FDM”, The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a frequency allocation for FDM operations that support STA1↔STA3 and STA2↔STA4 (see also ¶s 0070, 0083, and 0084).]; and
an indication of whether a Frequency Division Multiple Access (FDMA) mode [Iwai, ¶ 0084, “when the TXOP sharing for multiple STAs is applied by FDM, the allocated radio resource may include channels (e.g., bands in 20-MHz unit) to be assigned to STAs 200”, Allocated frequency resources are assigned to the STAs according to FDM.] is used during the TXOP [Iwai, ¶ 0070, “when the TxOP Sharing Mode=2 (e.g., case of inter-STA communication where scheduled STA communicates with another STA), an AP performs the TXOP sharing for STA 1 and STA 2 by FDM”, The STAs perform P2P TXOP sharing (see also ¶ 0082). TXOP sharing may be for P2P or STA↔AP communications (see other embodiments). The embodiment for fig. 9 explicitly supports FDMA for P2P and therefore its indication as such is conveyed to the STAs so they may perform the embodiment of fig. 9.].
Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach configuring, based on the first computing device not belonging to the plurality of computing devices allocated by the first frame and based on the indication indicating FDMA mode use during the TXOP, a receiver of the first computing device to monitor a plurality of frequency subchannels supported by the FDMA mode.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach configuring, based on the first computing device not belonging to the plurality of computing devices allocated by the first frame and based on the indication indicating FDMA mode use during the TXOP, a receiver of the first computing device to monitor a plurality of frequency subchannels supported by the FDMA mode [Yang, ¶ 0072, “In an embodiment, the terminal device acknowledges the reception of the PPDU on all channels 1 to 4. In another embodiment, the terminal device transmits the acknowledgment only on the primary channel 1. The acknowledgment may indicate a single data packet or it may be a block acknowledgment acknowledging multiple data packets. It may equally be a multi-STA block acknowledgment or a multi-TID (traffic identifier) block acknowledgment of the 802.11 specification”, Fig. 5 shows four distinct channels. Terminal device 100 monitors each of the four channels for ACK signals from terminal device 102, where the ACK signals are in response to the transmitted second frame (P2P PPDU).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing sidelink relaying of Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 3, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. also teach wherein the first frame comprises:
… a sharing mode for the first computing device [Iwai, ¶ 0070, “when the TxOP Sharing Mode=2 (e.g., case of inter-STA communication where scheduled STA communicates with another STA), an AP performs the TXOP sharing for STA 1 and STA 2 by FDM”, The STAs perform P2P TXOP sharing (see also ¶ 0082). TXOP sharing may be for P2P or STA↔AP communications (see other embodiments). The embodiment for fig. 9 explicitly supports FDMA for P2P and therefore its indication as such is conveyed to the STAs so they may perform the embodiment of fig. 9.].
Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach a second frequency allocation for a second computing device; an indication that the first computing device is allowed, based on the sharing mode, to transmit to another computing device using the first frequency allocation; and transmitting, by the first computing device to the second computing device, via the first frequency allocation, and based on the second frequency allocation being non-adjacent to the first frequency allocation, a second frame.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach a second frequency allocation for a second computing device [Yang, ¶ 0072, “In an embodiment, the terminal device acknowledges the reception of the PPDU on all channels 1 to 4. In another embodiment, the terminal device transmits the acknowledgment only on the primary channel 1. The acknowledgment may indicate a single data packet or it may be a block acknowledgment acknowledging multiple data packets. It may equally be a multi-STA block acknowledgment or a multi-TID (traffic identifier) block acknowledgment of the 802.11 specification”, Fig. 5 shows four distinct channels. These four channels are received as part of the trigger frame and used for P2P communication with the second device.];
…
an indication that the first computing device is allowed, based on the sharing mode, to transmit to another computing device using the first frequency allocation [Yang, ¶ 0072, “The trigger frame 500 transferred in steps 206/304 may indicate that channels 1 to 4 are all allocated to the terminal device. For example, the RU Allocation field may specify ‘67’ which indicates that an 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated. This together with the P2P Mode indicator and the AID of the direct wireless link indicates that the 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated to the direct wireless link between the terminal devices 100 and 102. Accordingly, the terminal device 100 may transmit the P2P PPDU on channels 1 to 4, each having a 20 MHz bandwidth. Channel 1 is denoted here as the primary channel of the wireless network while the channels 2 to 4 are secondary channels. In an embodiment, the terminal device acknowledges the reception of the PPDU on all channels 1 to 4”, The trigger frame includes frequency allocations for the direct communication between terminal devices 100 and 102 (see also fig. 1 and ¶ 0070).]; and
transmitting, by the first computing device to the second computing device, via the first frequency allocation, and based on the second frequency allocation being non-adjacent to the first frequency allocation [Yang, ¶ 0072, “ For example, the RU Allocation field may specify ‘67’ which indicates that an 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated. This together with the P2P Mode indicator and the AID of the direct wireless link indicates that the 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated to the direct wireless link between the terminal devices 100 and 102”, The RU allocation field is used to indicate the channels that will be utilized (see ¶ 0067). There is no requirement that these channels be adjacent, but rather the reference offers an exemplary embodiment.], a second frame [Yang, ¶ 0071, “Upon receiving the trigger frame in step 206 and detecting that the resource unit has been allocated to the direct wireless link, the terminal device may perform transmission of the data packet in step 208. The data packet may comprise a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU). The transmission in step 208 denotes a start of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) of the terminal device. During the TXOP, the terminal device 100 may transmit multiple PPDUs (step 404), provided that a predefined duration of the TXOP is long enough for the multiple frame transmissions by the terminal device 100. The duration may be specified in the trigger frame, e.g. by Duration field specified in 802.11 specifications”, After receiving the trigger frame (see fig. 5, step 206), the first terminal device 100 sends a second (or data, P2P) data frame to the second terminal device 102 (see step 208). Fig. 4 shows the frequency allocation used.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing sidelink relaying of Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 4, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach further comprising determining, by the first computing device, that the first computing device has buffered traffic for transmission to the second computing device.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach determining, by the first computing device, that the first computing device has buffered traffic for transmission to the second computing device [Yang, ¶ 0066, “the at least one information element indicating the direct wireless link in blocks 204 and 302 is an indicator of a peer-to-peer transmission mode (the P2P Mode bit in the buffer status report above)”, As part of the P2P setup, the terminal device 100 transmits to the access node 110 whether it has a buffer associated with P2P (indicated by the P2P Mode bit).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating the buffering of a sidelink device as taught by Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 5, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach further comprising adding the second computing device to a set of candidate computing devices.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach adding the second computing device to a set of candidate computing devices [Yang, ¶ 0070, “Thereafter, the terminal device transmits the buffer status report to the access node in step 204. The buffer status report indicating the direct wireless link, e.g. with the association identifier of the direct wireless link, may serve as a request for allocating a resource unit to the direct wireless link. The request may be called a request to send a trigger-based peer-to-peer PPDU to the terminal device 102 specified with the association identifier”, The direct wireless link is used for P2P (see ¶ 0066). Terminal device 100 manages buffer status reports from associated terminal devices (where there may be a third, see figs. 6 and 8). The buffer status report indicates whether terminal devices 102 and 104 are candidates for FDMA allocation for P2P. Trigger messaging allocates resources to handle the P2P connection needs.].
As per claim 6, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach further comprising adding, to a set of candidate computing devices, and based on data being available for transmission to a third computing device, the third computing device.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach comprising adding, to a set of candidate computing devices, and based on data being available for transmission to a third computing device, the third computing device [Yang, ¶ 0070, “Thereafter, the terminal device transmits the buffer status report to the access node in step 204. The buffer status report indicating the direct wireless link, e.g. with the association identifier of the direct wireless link, may serve as a request for allocating a resource unit to the direct wireless link. The request may be called a request to send a trigger-based peer-to-peer PPDU to the terminal device 102 specified with the association identifier”, The direct wireless link is used for P2P (see ¶ 0066). Terminal device 100 manages buffer status reports from associated terminal devices (where there may be a third, see figs. 6 and 8). The buffer status report indicates whether terminal devices 102 and 104 are candidates for FDMA allocation for P2P. Trigger messaging allocates resources to handle the P2P connection needs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing sidelink relaying of Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. also teach further comprising:
transmitting a Clear to Send (CTS) frame prior to transmitting the second frame [Iwai, fig. 9, “CTS Response to AP”, STA1 and STA2 transmit CTS frames prior to the data (or second) frames.];
receiving, from the second computing device and based on the second frame, a BlockAck (BA) frame [Iwai, fig. 9, “Block ACK to STA1/STA2”, The second computing device (STA3/STA4) transmits a BlockACK in response to the data (or second) frame.].
Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach transmitting, to a third computing device, via the first frequency allocation, and based on the third computing device not belonging to the plurality of computing devices allocated by the first frame, a third frame.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach transmitting, to a third computing device, via the first frequency allocation, and based on the third computing device not belonging to the plurality of computing devices allocated by the first frame, a third frame [Yang, ¶ 0076, “the terminal device 100 may transmit a first PPDU 702 to the terminal device 102 on channels 3 and 4 and a second PPDU 704 to the terminal device 104 on channels 1 and 2. The terminal devices 102 and 104 may acknowledge the reception of the PPDUs on the respective channels or on one of the channels where the PPDUs 702, 704 were received”, Fig. 7 shows supporting a third computing device (terminal device 104), which is not part of the group of devices that receives a trigger signal. Terminal device 100 (the first device) transmits P2P frames (or third frames) to terminal device 104.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing sidelink relaying of Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 8, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. also teach further comprising receiving a BlockAck (BA) frame from the second computing device based on the second frame [Iwai, fig. 9, “Block ACK to STA1/STA2”, The second computing device (STA3/STA4) transmits a BlockACK in response to the data (or second) frame.].
As per claim 9, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. also teach wherein the first frame is a trigger frame [Iwai, fig. 9, “MU-RTS TXS TF to STA1 and STA2”, ¶ 0072, “using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame”, The AP sends trigger frame to the STAs (see also ¶ 0049).].
As per claim 10, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. also teach wherein the first frame is a multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) Transmit Opportunity (TXOP) Sharing (TXS) Trigger (MRTT) frame [Iwai, fig. 9, “MU-RTS TXS TF to STA1 and STA2”, ¶ 0072, “using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame”, The AP sends trigger frame to the STAs (see also ¶ 0049). While the acronym is not exact, the MU-RTS trigger frame of the reference supports TXOP sharing (P2P).].
As per claim 11, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. also teach wherein the first frame comprises a Common Info field, and wherein the Common Info field comprises the sharing mode [Iwai, ¶ 0054, “In 11be, in the case of MU-RTS Trigger frame, for example, the area of B20 to B21 in the Common Info field illustrated in FIG. 2 is recognized as a “TXOP Sharing Mode” subfield for the TXOP sharing configuration”, The MU-RTS TXOP sharing trigger frame includes a common info field, according to IEEE 802.11be. The TXOP Sharing mode subfield is carried within Common Info.].
As per claim 12, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Iwai et al. also teach wherein the first frame comprises an indication of FDMA mode use [Iwai, ¶ 0072, “the AP may allocate orthogonal frequency resources (e.g., 20 MHz channel×N) to STA 1 and STA 2, respectively, using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, for example. Here, since P2P communication by STA 1 with STA 3 and P2P communication by STA 2 with STA 4 are performed in a band subjected to FDM”, The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a frequency allocation for FDM operations that support STA1↔STA3 and STA2↔STA4 (see also ¶s 0070, 0083, and 0084).].
As per claim 13, Iwai et al. teach a method, comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, from an access point (AP) [Iwai, fig. 9, “MU-RTS TXS TF to STA1 and STA2”, ¶ 0072, “using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame”, The AP sends trigger frame to the STAs (see also ¶ 0049).], a first frame indicating:
a plurality of frequency allocations for a plurality of computing devices [Iwai, ¶ 0072, “the AP may allocate orthogonal frequency resources (e.g., 20 MHz channel×N) to STA 1 and STA 2, respectively, using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, for example. Here, since P2P communication by STA 1 with STA 3 and P2P communication by STA 2 with STA 4 are performed in a band subjected to FDM”, The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a frequency allocation for FDM operations that support STA1↔STA3 and STA2↔STA4 (see also ¶s 0070, 0083, and 0084).];
a signal during a triggered transmit opportunity (TXOP) sharing (TXS) mode for a TXOP [Iwai, fig. 9, “MU-RTS TXS TF to STA1 and STA2”, ¶ 0072, “using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame”, The AP sends trigger frame to the STAs (see also ¶ 0049).] obtained by the AP [Iwai, fig. 9, “CTS to self”, The AP indicates a TXOP period, which is used to indicate the station sending a clear-to-send (CTS), which triggers the MU-RTS transmission.];
an indication that a computing device of the plurality of computing devices transmits to the AP or to another computing device using a frequency allocation of the plurality of frequency allocations [Iwai, ¶ 0072, “the AP may allocate orthogonal frequency resources (e.g., 20 MHz channel×N) to STA 1 and STA 2, respectively, using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, for example. Here, since P2P communication by STA 1 with STA 3 and P2P communication by STA 2 with STA 4 are performed in a band subjected to FDM”, The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a frequency allocation for FDM operations that support STA1↔STA3 and STA2↔STA4 (see also ¶s 0070, 0083, and 0084).]; and
an indication of whether FDMA mode [Iwai, ¶ 0084, “when the TXOP sharing for multiple STAs is applied by FDM, the allocated radio resource may include channels (e.g., bands in 20-MHz unit) to be assigned to STAs 200”, Allocated frequency resources are assigned to the STAs according to FDM.] is used during the TXOP [Iwai, ¶ 0070, “when the TxOP Sharing Mode=2 (e.g., case of inter-STA communication where scheduled STA communicates with another STA), an AP performs the TXOP sharing for STA 1 and STA 2 by FDM”, The STAs perform P2P TXOP sharing (see also ¶ 0082). TXOP sharing may be for P2P or STA↔AP communications (see other embodiments). The embodiment for fig. 9 explicitly supports FDMA for P2P and therefore its indication as such is conveyed to the STAs so they may perform the embodiment of fig. 9.].
Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach configuring, based on the first computing device not belonging to the plurality of computing devices and based on the indication indicating FDMA mode use during the TXOP, a receiver of the first computing device to monitor a plurality of frequency subchannels supported by the FDMA mode.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach configuring, based on the first computing device not belonging to the plurality of computing devices and based on the indication indicating FDMA mode use during the TXOP [Yang, ¶ 0070, “Accordingly, the access node 110 and the terminal device 100 establish an association in steps 200 and 300 in the above-described manner. Furthermore, the terminal devices 100 and 102 establish the direct wireless link (the sidelink) in step 202”, Terminal device 100 is able to receive trigger messages (see step 208), but terminal device 102 cannot. In other words, the access node 110 is able to differentiate between devices that may receive a trigger signal and those devices that are setup for P2P (but cannot/do not receive the trigger signal). Figs. 6 and 8 contemplate that multiple devices may not receive the trigger signal (see terminal device 104).], a receiver of the first computing device to monitor a plurality of frequency subchannels supported by the FDMA mode [Yang, ¶ 0072, “In an embodiment, the terminal device acknowledges the reception of the PPDU on all channels 1 to 4. In another embodiment, the terminal device transmits the acknowledgment only on the primary channel 1. The acknowledgment may indicate a single data packet or it may be a block acknowledgment acknowledging multiple data packets. It may equally be a multi-STA block acknowledgment or a multi-TID (traffic identifier) block acknowledgment of the 802.11 specification”, Fig. 5 shows four distinct channels. Terminal device 100 monitors each of the four channels for ACK signals from terminal device 102, where the ACK signals are in response to the transmitted second frame (P2P PPDU).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing sidelink relaying of Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 14, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 13. Iwai et al. also teach wherein the first frame is a trigger frame [Iwai, fig. 9, “MU-RTS TXS TF to STA1 and STA2”, ¶ 0072, “using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame”, The AP sends trigger frame to the STAs (see also ¶ 0049).].
As per claim 15, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 14. Iwai et al. also teach wherein the first frame is a multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) Transmit Opportunity (TXOP) Sharing (TXS) Trigger (MRTT) frame [Iwai, fig. 9, “MU-RTS TXS TF to STA1 and STA2”, ¶ 0072, “using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame”, The AP sends trigger frame to the STAs (see also ¶ 0049). While the acronym is not exact, the MU-RTS trigger frame of the reference supports TXOP sharing (P2P).].
As per claim 16, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 15. Iwai et al. also teach wherein the first frame comprises a Common Info field, and wherein the Common Info field comprises the sharing mode [Iwai, ¶ 0054, “In 11be, in the case of MU-RTS Trigger frame, for example, the area of B20 to B21 in the Common Info field illustrated in FIG. 2 is recognized as a “TXOP Sharing Mode” subfield for the TXOP sharing configuration”, The MU-RTS TXOP sharing trigger frame includes a common info field, according to IEEE 802.11be. The TXOP Sharing mode subfield is carried within Common Info.].
As per claim 17, Iwai et al. teach a method, comprising:
receiving, by a computing device from an access point (AP), a first frame [Iwai, fig. 9, “MU-RTS TXS TF to STA1 and STA2”, ¶ 0072, “using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame”, The AP sends trigger frame to the STAs (see also ¶ 0049).] indicating:
a first frequency allocation for the first computing device [Iwai, ¶ 0072, “the AP may allocate orthogonal frequency resources (e.g., 20 MHz channel×N) to STA 1 and STA 2, respectively, using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, for example. Here, since P2P communication by STA 1 with STA 3 and P2P communication by STA 2 with STA 4 are performed in a band subjected to FDM”, The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a frequency allocation for FDM operations that support STA1↔STA3 and STA2↔STA4 (see also ¶s 0070, 0083, and 0084).];
a second frequency allocation for a second computing device [Iwai, ¶ 0072, “the AP may allocate orthogonal frequency resources (e.g., 20 MHz channel×N) to STA 1 and STA 2, respectively, using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, for example. Here, since P2P communication by STA 1 with STA 3 and P2P communication by STA 2 with STA 4 are performed in a band subjected to FDM”, The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a frequency allocation for FDM operations that support STA1↔STA3 and STA2↔STA4 (see also ¶s 0070, 0083, and 0084).]; and
a sharing mode according to which the first computing device is allowed to transmit to another computing device using the first frequency allocation [Iwai, ¶ 0070, “when the TxOP Sharing Mode=2 (e.g., case of inter-STA communication where scheduled STA communicates with another STA), an AP performs the TXOP sharing for STA 1 and STA 2 by FDM”, The STAs perform P2P TXOP sharing using their respective channel (or frequency) allocation (see also ¶ 0082). The trigger frame includes an indicated sharing mode value (e.g., “2”, see fig. 5).].
Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach transmitting, by the first computing device to the second computing device, via the first frequency allocation, and based on the second frequency allocation being non-adjacent to the first frequency allocation, a second frame.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et a. teach transmitting, by the first computing device to the second computing device, via the first frequency allocation [Yang, ¶ 0072, “The trigger frame 500 transferred in steps 206/304 may indicate that channels 1 to 4 are all allocated to the terminal device. For example, the RU Allocation field may specify ‘67’ which indicates that an 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated. This together with the P2P Mode indicator and the AID of the direct wireless link indicates that the 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated to the direct wireless link between the terminal devices 100 and 102. Accordingly, the terminal device 100 may transmit the P2P PPDU on channels 1 to 4, each having a 20 MHz bandwidth. Channel 1 is denoted here as the primary channel of the wireless network while the channels 2 to 4 are secondary channels. In an embodiment, the terminal device acknowledges the reception of the PPDU on all channels 1 to 4”, The trigger frame includes frequency allocations for the direct communication between terminal devices 100 and 102 (see also fig. 1 and ¶ 0070).], and based on the second frequency allocation being non-adjacent to the first frequency allocation [Yang, ¶ 0072, “ For example, the RU Allocation field may specify ‘67’ which indicates that an 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated. This together with the P2P Mode indicator and the AID of the direct wireless link indicates that the 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated to the direct wireless link between the terminal devices 100 and 102”, The RU allocation field is used to indicate the channels that will be utilized (see ¶ 0067). There is no requirement that these channels be adjacent, but rather the reference offers an exemplary embodiment.], a second frame [Yang, ¶ 0071, “Upon receiving the trigger frame in step 206 and detecting that the resource unit has been allocated to the direct wireless link, the terminal device may perform transmission of the data packet in step 208. The data packet may comprise a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU). The transmission in step 208 denotes a start of a transmission opportunity (TXOP) of the terminal device. During the TXOP, the terminal device 100 may transmit multiple PPDUs (step 404), provided that a predefined duration of the TXOP is long enough for the multiple frame transmissions by the terminal device 100. The duration may be specified in the trigger frame, e.g. by Duration field specified in 802.11 specifications”, After receiving the trigger frame (see fig. 5, step 206), the first terminal device 100 sends a second (or data, P2P) data frame to the second terminal device 102 (see step 208).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing sidelink relaying of Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 18, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 17. Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach further comprising configuring a receiver of the first computing device to monitor a plurality of frequency bands that exclude a first frequency band corresponding to the first frequency allocation of the first computing device.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach configuring a receiver of the first computing device to monitor a plurality of frequency bands that exclude a first frequency band corresponding to the first frequency allocation of the first computing device [Yang, fig, 7, “ACK”, The ACK messages of Yang may be selectively monitored. In other words, ACK messages may only be monitored on CH#1 (for terminal device 104) and CH#3 (for terminal device 102). The dashed lines around the ACK messages indicate that the monitoring and transmission of those ACKs is optional.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing sidelink relaying of Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 19, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 17. Iwai et al. do not explicitly teach further comprising: determining, based on buffered traffic availability at the first computing device, a set of candidate computing devices; determining that every computing device of the set of candidate computing devices for transmission is allocated, by the first frame, a frequency allocation that is adjacent to the first frequency allocation by the first frame; and transmitting, to the AP and via the first frequency allocation, a third frame.
However, in an analogous art, Yang et al. teach determining, based on buffered traffic availability at the first computing device, a set of candidate computing devices [Yang, ¶ 0070, “Thereafter, the terminal device transmits the buffer status report to the access node in step 204. The buffer status report indicating the direct wireless link, e.g. with the association identifier of the direct wireless link, may serve as a request for allocating a resource unit to the direct wireless link. The request may be called a request to send a trigger-based peer-to-peer PPDU to the terminal device 102 specified with the association identifier”, The direct wireless link is used for P2P (see ¶ 0066). Terminal device 100 manages buffer status reports from associated terminal devices (where there may be a third, see figs. 6 and 8). The buffer status report indicates whether terminal devices 102 and 104 are candidates for FDMA allocation for P2P. Trigger messaging allocates resources to handle the P2P connection needs.]; determining that every computing device of the set of candidate computing devices for transmission is allocated, by the first frame, a frequency allocation that is adjacent to the first frequency allocation by the first frame [Yang, ¶ 0072, “ For example, the RU Allocation field may specify ‘67’ which indicates that an 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated. This together with the P2P Mode indicator and the AID of the direct wireless link indicates that the 80 Megahertz (MHz) band has been allocated to the direct wireless link between the terminal devices 100 and 102”, The RU allocation field is used to indicate the channels that will be utilized (see ¶ 0067). There is no requirement that these channels be adjacent, but rather the reference offers an exemplary embodiment. That said, visually the channels are adjacent and may be seen as such.]; and transmitting, to the AP and via the first frequency allocation, a third frame [Yang, ¶ 0070, “Thereafter, the terminal device transmits the buffer status report to the access node in step 204. The buffer status report indicating the direct wireless link, e.g. with the association identifier of the direct wireless link, may serve as a request for allocating a resource unit to the direct wireless link. The request may be called a request to send a trigger-based peer-to-peer PPDU to the terminal device 102 specified with the association identifier”, The direct wireless link is used for P2P (see ¶ 0066). Terminal device 100 manages buffer status reports from associated terminal devices (where there may be a third, see figs. 6 and 8). The buffer status report indicates whether terminal devices 102 and 104 are candidates for FDMA allocation for P2P. Trigger messaging allocates resources to handle the P2P connection needs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the P2P TXOP sharing operations of Yang et al. into Iwai et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing sidelink relaying of Yang et al. into the P2P operations of Iwai et al. would reduce latency via direct connection (see Yang, paragraph 0002) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 20, Iwai et al. in view of Yang et al. teach the method of claim 17. Iwai et al. also teach further comprising transmitting an indication of FDMA support [Iwai, ¶ 0072, “the AP may allocate orthogonal frequency resources (e.g., 20 MHz channel×N) to STA 1 and STA 2, respectively, using an MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, for example. Here, since P2P communication by STA 1 with STA 3 and P2P communication by STA 2 with STA 4 are performed in a band subjected to FDM”, The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a frequency allocation for FDM operations that support STA1↔STA3 and STA2↔STA4 (see also ¶s 0070, 0083, and 0084).].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Lou et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0119191), teaches a MU-RTS for TXOP P2P between STA devices (see at least fig. 10).
The reference, Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0397551), teaches a MRTT followed by PPDU between STA devices (see at least fig. 11).
The reference, Baron et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0209512), teaches P2P PPDUs transmitted following a trigger frame (see at least fig. 4b).
The reference, Lu et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0353910), teaches triggered TXOP sharing between STAs (see at least fig. 1).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417