DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Request of Continued Examination filed on 01/30/2026 has been entered.
Upon entry of the RCE, the amendment and written response filed 01/30/2026 is now entered and considered.
Claims 1-20 and 24 have been cancelled.
Claims 21, 37 and 39 have been amended.
Claim 41 has been added.
Claims 21-23 and 25-41 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 21-23 and 25-40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tran, Cumming and Chou et al (“Chou”, U.S. Publication No. 2025/0283819 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 and 25-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (“Tran” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0405148 A1) in view of Cumming et al (“Cumming” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2021/0248419 A1), and further in view of Chou et al (“Chou” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2025/0283819 A1).
As per claim 21, Tran discloses a method of analyzing an image taken without specialized equipment to provide a health assessment of a human in non-laboratory environments (abstract), the method comprising: receiving an image from an unmodified camera of a smartphone (the examiner notes the camera in Tran is a smartphone camera. Various kinds of adaptor 10 were able to attached to the camera to enhance the imaging, but the camera itself was never modified), the image including a biological sample of the human, wherein the image is a non-microscopic image of the biological sample, and wherein the biological sample includes an external physiological area of the human; (paragraph [0019] & figures 3A and 3B: “the user device” may be a “smart phone” with a camera for capturing images of an eye); identifying and extracting one or more regions of interest within the image for further analysis, the one or more regions of interest including at least a first region of interest having only the biological sample therein (paragraph [0054]: “A small color block 62 is shown in the picture 52, which indicates the area of focusing zone”, the focusing zone is the claim “region of interest”); calculating one or more of a geometric attribute, a texture attribute, and a color attribute in the first region of interest to identify one or more features of the biological sample (paragraph [0060]: “The phone cameras can register corneal curvature changes”; paragraph [0066]: “the smart-phone can be adjusted for a range of scope settings. For example, with ophthalmoscopes in particular, red filters may be used to decrease the percentage of color spectrum received that is in the red spectrum. This would increase image contrast while imaging the retina, as it is mostly pigmented red. Also, it is often difficult for a clinician to obtain a good view of the retina through an undilated pupil for long periods of time which would typically be required for good photography”); and without performing a laboratory analysis of the biological sample (the analysis in Tran is done on image data captured by a smartphone camera), applying a model to the one or more features of the biological sample, the model predicting a health characteristic of a human from which the biological sample originated (abstract & paragraph [0005]: deep learning machines), wherein the health characteristic is related to a weight of the human (paragraph [0301]: the machine learning model is also capable of predicting patient’s weight factor and recommending the patient for weight loss program) based on correlating image-based features with health characteristics using the model (as explained above in response to arguments, the neural network model is capable of using image feature vectors to identify a plurality of diseases).
Tran teaches the above analysis for a human. However, Tran does not explicitly teach performing the analysis for an animal. Cumming teaches analyzing stool sample to detect parasite ova in an animal.
At the time of the invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tran in light of Cumming’s teaching to apply the smartphone imaging for animals. One would be motivated to do so because it would extend Tran’s system to be applicable in the field of animal health.
Tran teaches using smartphone with an additional adaptor 10 for capturing images of subjects/biological sample for medical diagnosis and treatment. However, Tran does not explicitly teach “without an intermediate viewing aid between a biological sample and the unmodified camera”.
Chou in paragraphs [0185] & [0331] teaches using Iphone or fluorescent microscope for capturing biological sample at cellular level.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art modify Tran in view of Chou’s teaching to employ an Iphone or smartphone device that has an imaging sensor/camera with a high resolution. One would be motivated to do so because as the smartphone camera become more and more advanced, the image quality will be higher and higher, and it would no longer require an additional adaptor for image improvement as taught in Tran.
As per claim 22, Tran teaches wherein the biological sample includes one or more of skin of the animal, fur of the animal, a portion of a mouth of the animal, a portion of an ear of the animal, a portion of an eye of the animal, and a portion of a nose of the animal (as explained above, Tran teaches imaging patient’s eye using a smartphone).
As per claim 23, as explained above, Tran teaches an eye is a portion of the animal.
As per claim 25, as explained above, Tran recommends weight loss treatment for patients in paragraph [0301].
As per claim 26, Tran teaches wherein the biological sample includes one or more of urine, vomit, bile, blood, and biological discharge (paragraph [0123]: “watery discharge”).
As per claim 27, as explained above, Tran teaches an eye.
As per claim 28, Tran teaches for Paget’s disease, the physician may need to examiner arms and legs.
As per claim 29, Tran teaches imaging blood vessel in paragraph [0019] & [0021].
As per claim 30, Tran teaches retinal injury (paragraph [0012]).
As per claim 31, Tran teaches treatment plan from physicians (paragraph [0012]) as well as recommending weight-loss program if required in paragraph [0301].
As per claim 32, Tran’s treatment plan from physician is personalized for each patient’s injury.
As per claim 33, the treatment plan in Tran may be food, supplement or medicine.
As per claim 34, as explained above, for eye injury, the treatment may be eye drops.
As per claim 35, Tran teaches convolutional neural network (CNN) in paragraph [0047].
As per claim 36, Tran teaches patient history in paragraph [0174] and Cumming discloses receiving metadata associated with the image, the metadata including a questionnaire response related to one or more of a health, a behavior, a current diet, a supplement, a medication, ethnographic information, a breed, a of the animal, a weight of the stool sample, and a size of the animal, and wherein the metadata is used at least in part in predicting the health characteristic (paragraph [0205]: “the algorithm may accept information such as patient history, any existing condition or other infections, geographical location, age, ethnicity, species, breed or any other information which may be used to increase the precision of identification”).
As per claim 37, see explanation in claim 21. The examiner notes Cumming’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a non-transitory computer readable medium.
As per claim 38, see explanation in claim 22.
As per claim 39, see explanation in claim 21. The examiner notes Cumming’s system is a computer system, which is connected to a server.
As per claim 40, see explanation in claim 22.
As per claim 41, Chou in paragraph [0462] teaches comparing biological sample, epithelial cells, of a smoker with a non-smoker in an oral cancer diagnosis.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667