DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
The claims 1-13 are pending in this application. This is a non-final office action in response to Application Number 18/474,939 filed on 26 September 2023 and claiming foreign priority to JP 2022/154700 filed on 28 September 2022. The applicant of record is Canon Kabushiki Kaisha and the inventor of record is Kazunari Watanabe.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 September 2023 was filed on the filing date of the instant application on 26 September 2023 and before the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The claims have been considered according to the latest Patent Eligibility Guidelines and are considered eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirota (U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0235878) in view of Shibuta et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0305028).
Regarding claim 1, Hirota disclosed a communication apparatus that performs time synchronization using a received time synchronization packet (see Hirota Fig. 5, [0059]: monitoring for conflicts between synchronization messages and non-synchronization messages; Fig. 9, [0068]: synchronization messages are PTP [Precision Time Protocol] messages), the communication apparatus comprising:
a division unit (see Hirota Fig. 13 #111, [0102]: packet dividing unit is part of QoS circuit; Fig. 21 #111: sending node #100-1b includes packet dividing unit) configured to, in a case where an image (see Shibuta combination below) packet to be transferred to a different communication apparatus exists during a period during which the time synchronization packet is to be transmitted, divide the image packet into a plurality of divided image packets (see Hirota [0099]: adjusting the length of conflicting packets when there is a conflict | Fig. 12, [0101]: monitoring for conflicts with synchronization messages and when the conflict probability is equal to or higher than a first threshold, the conflicting packet is divided into a smaller packet length; [0059]: synchronization messages have a higher priority than non-synchronization messages | [0103]: “…when the conflict probability of synchronization messages is equal to or higher than the first threshold, the parameter determination unit 110 determines fragment length of the conflicting traffic in addition to the packet interval of the conflicting traffic. The fragment length is an upper limit of the packet length of the conflicting packets. Therefore, any conflicting packet whose length exceeds the fragment length is divided into plural packets with a packet length equal to or smaller than the fragment length…”; [0107]: “…the packet dividing unit 111 divides the conflicting packets to be stored in the non-priority class queue 106n into a packet length equal to or smaller than the fragment length…”); and
a transfer unit (see Hirota Fig. 21 #107, [0107]: “…Subsequently, the conflicting packets after division are read by the selector 107…” | Fig. 21, [0152]: “…Consequently, on the rely device located upstream along the conflicting traffic between adjacent nodes, packets are divided into sizes equal to or smaller than the specified packet length and the conflicting traffic is sent out at intervals equal to or larger than the specified packet interval.”; Fig. 21 illustrates three transmission paths (solid, dotted, and double lines) – the double line illustrates a transmission path from node #100-1b through the packet dividing unit #111, through the selector #107, and out to another node #100-2b) configured to transfer the plurality of divided image packets to the different communication apparatus (see Hirota Fig. 21, [0152]: “…Consequently, on the rely device located upstream along the conflicting traffic between adjacent nodes, packets are divided into sizes equal to or smaller than the specified packet length and the conflicting traffic is sent out at intervals equal to or larger than the specified packet interval.”; Fig. 21 illustrates three transmission paths (solid, dotted, and double lines) – the double line illustrates a transmission path from node #100-1b through the packet dividing unit #111, through the selector #107, and out to another node #100-2b).
Hirota did not explicitly disclose that the non-synchronization conflicting packets are “image packets”. The following explanation applies to all claimed recitations of “image packets”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the type of non-synchronization packet is a matter of implementation choice and that image packets are commonly sent in time-sensitive networks.
However in a related art of using the PTP [Precision Time Protocol] (see Shibuta [0052]), Shibuta disclosed detecting a collision between a synchronization message and a VoIP packet (see Shibuta [0107]). A VoIP packet is an example of a periodic packet and that the periodic packet may include an image packet (see Shibuta [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirota and Shibuta to further describe the types of non-synchronization packets that can conflict with a synchronization packet. Including Shibuta’s teachings would improve existing synchronization issues in a communication system (see Shibuta [0007]), reduce call interruptions (see Shibuta [0101]), improve synchronization precision (see Shibuta [0117]) and reduce delays in synchronization processing while also balancing load (see Shibuta [0100]).
Regarding claim 2, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first generation unit configured to generate a plurality of communication headers corresponding to the plurality of divided image packets (see Hirota [0112]: “When dividing a conflicting packet, the packet dividing unit 111 sets values in the identifier, flags, and fragment offset fields of the IP header so that the receiver-side apparatus can reassemble the divided conflicting packet.”; [0113]: “…the packet dividing unit 111 adds, for example, identifier, flags, and fragment offset fields of four bytes between sender MAC address and type fields in the MAC header (see FIG. 9) as in the case of the IP header to guarantee that the receiver-side can assemble the fragment packets.”); and
a second generation unit configured to generate a plurality of new image packets by combining the plurality of communication headers with the plurality of divided image packets (see Hirota Fig. 15: the third row second transmission window illustrates a combined transmission of two fragments),
wherein the transfer unit transfers the plurality of new image packets generated by the second generation unit, to the different communication apparatus (see Hirota Fig. 21, [0152]: “…Consequently, on the rely device located upstream along the conflicting traffic between adjacent nodes, packets are divided into sizes equal to or smaller than the specified packet length and the conflicting traffic is sent out at intervals equal to or larger than the specified packet interval.”; Fig. 21 illustrates three transmission paths (solid, dotted, and double lines) – the double line illustrates a transmission path from node #100-1b through the packet dividing unit #111, through the selector #107, and out to another node #100-2b).
Examiner relies upon Shibuta to teach “image packets”. In a related art of using the PTP [Precision Time Protocol] (see Shibuta [0052]), Shibuta disclosed detecting a collision between a synchronization message and a VoIP packet (see Shibuta [0107]). A VoIP packet is an example of a periodic packet and that the periodic packet may include an image packet (see Shibuta [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirota and Shibuta to further describe the types of non-synchronization packets that can conflict with a synchronization packet. Including Shibuta’s teachings would improve existing synchronization issues in a communication system (see Shibuta [0007]), reduce call interruptions (see Shibuta [0101]), improve synchronization precision (see Shibuta [0117]) and reduce delays in synchronization processing while also balancing load (see Shibuta [0100]).
Regarding claim 3, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the image packet is an image packet received from an outside (see Hirota Fig. 1: traffic is sent through multiple relay devices in a network), or an image packet generated by acquiring an image from an imaging apparatus associated with the communication apparatus.
Examiner relies upon Shibuta to teach “image packets”. In a related art of using the PTP [Precision Time Protocol] (see Shibuta [0052]), Shibuta disclosed detecting a collision between a synchronization message and a VoIP packet (see Shibuta [0107]). A VoIP packet is an example of a periodic packet and that the periodic packet may include an image packet (see Shibuta [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirota and Shibuta to further describe the types of non-synchronization packets that can conflict with a synchronization packet. Including Shibuta’s teachings would improve existing synchronization issues in a communication system (see Shibuta [0007]), reduce call interruptions (see Shibuta [0101]), improve synchronization precision (see Shibuta [0117]) and reduce delays in synchronization processing while also balancing load (see Shibuta [0100]).
Regarding claim 4, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the period during which the time synchronization packet is to be transmitted is a period from when the time synchronization packet is received to when a predetermined time elapses (see Hirota [0116]: “The PTP makes it possible to send synchronization messages periodically from a master device. According to the third embodiment, the rely device estimates period of synchronization messages and adjusts the packet interval according to the period of synchronization messages. Again, in the third embodiment, description overlapping with the first and second embodiments will be omitted.”; [0120]: “The reception interval detection unit 112 receives synchronization messages as input from the synchronization message identification unit 103 and monitors reception intervals among synchronization messages. The PTP stipulates 32 messages per second, 64 messages per second, 128 messages per second, and so on as frequencies of synchronization messages, and any of the stipulated frequencies is used. The reception interval detection unit 112 estimates the period in use among the stipulated periods by, for example, collecting statistics of durations of reception intervals among synchronization messages, and measuring the number of synchronization messages received per second, and estimates the reception timing of synchronization messages. The reception interval detection unit 112 outputs the estimated reception timing of synchronization messages to the parameter determination unit 110. The reception timing of synchronization messages is estimated regularly.”; [0121]: “The reception timing of synchronization messages may be specified based on the time managed by the rely device 100: for example, receive a synchronization message at time x and subsequently receive synchronization messages every y seconds. Alternatively, the reception timing may be specified based on an elapsed time duration from the present time: for example, receive a synchronization message after .alpha. seconds and subsequently receive synchronization messages every .beta. seconds. Also, the reception timing may be specified based on a clock count: for example, receive a synchronization message after m clock pulses and subsequently receive synchronization messages every n clock pulses.”).
Regarding claim 5, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the predetermined time is a time at which all predetermined packets for time synchronization are received from apparatuses connected to the communication apparatus (see Hirota [0120]: “The reception interval detection unit 112 receives synchronization messages as input from the synchronization message identification unit 103 and monitors reception intervals among synchronization messages. The PTP stipulates 32 messages per second, 64 messages per second, 128 messages per second, and so on as frequencies of synchronization messages, and any of the stipulated frequencies is used. The reception interval detection unit 112 estimates the period in use among the stipulated periods by, for example, collecting statistics of durations of reception intervals among synchronization messages, and measuring the number of synchronization messages received per second, and estimates the reception timing of synchronization messages. The reception interval detection unit 112 outputs the estimated reception timing of synchronization messages to the parameter determination unit 110. The reception timing of synchronization messages is estimated regularly.”; [0121]: “The reception timing of synchronization messages may be specified based on the time managed by the rely device 100: for example, receive a synchronization message at time x and subsequently receive synchronization messages every y seconds. Alternatively, the reception timing may be specified based on an elapsed time duration from the present time: for example, receive a synchronization message after .alpha. seconds and subsequently receive synchronization messages every .beta. seconds. Also, the reception timing may be specified based on a clock count: for example, receive a synchronization message after m clock pulses and subsequently receive synchronization messages every n clock pulses.”).
Regarding claim 6, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the time synchronization packet is a Sync packet used in a Precision Time Protocol, and the predetermined packets are Delay Request packets (see Hirota Fig. 5, [0059]: monitoring for conflicts between synchronization messages and non-synchronization messages | Fig. 9, [0068]: synchronization messages are PTP [Precision Time Protocol] messages; [0069]: Sync messages and Delay_Req messages).
Regarding claim 7, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication apparatus does not use standards of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.1Qbu and 802.3br (see Hirota Fig. 5, [0059]: monitoring for conflicts between synchronization messages and non-synchronization messages; Fig. 9, [0068]: synchronization messages are PTP [Precision Time Protocol] messages, i.e. not IEEE 802.1QBu or IEEE 802.3br).
Regarding claim 8, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein connection connecting apparatuses connected to the communication apparatus and the communication apparatus is daisy chain connection (see Hirota Fig. 21: relay node #1 transmits in series to relay node #2 | Fig. 1: traffic is sent through multiple relay devices in a network).
Regarding claim 9, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image packet before being divided has a size larger than or equal to 1.5 kilobytes (see Hirota [0103]: “…The fragment length is an upper limit of the packet length of the conflicting packets. Therefore, any conflicting packet whose length exceeds the fragment length is divided into plural packets with a packet length equal to or smaller than the fragment length…”; examiner notes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the particular size threshold, e.g., 1.5 kilobytes, is a matter of implementation choice).
Examiner relies upon Shibuta to teach “image packets”. In a related art of using the PTP [Precision Time Protocol] (see Shibuta [0052]), Shibuta disclosed detecting a collision between a synchronization message and a VoIP packet (see Shibuta [0107]). A VoIP packet is an example of a periodic packet and that the periodic packet may include an image packet (see Shibuta [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirota and Shibuta to further describe the types of non-synchronization packets that can conflict with a synchronization packet. Including Shibuta’s teachings would improve existing synchronization issues in a communication system (see Shibuta [0007]), reduce call interruptions (see Shibuta [0101]), improve synchronization precision (see Shibuta [0117]) and reduce delays in synchronization processing while also balancing load (see Shibuta [0100]).
Regarding claim 10, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where a payload length of the image packet does not exceed a predetermined length, the division unit does not divide the image packet into the plurality of divided image packets (see Hirota [0103]: “…The fragment length is an upper limit of the packet length of the conflicting packets. Therefore, any conflicting packet whose length exceeds the fragment length is divided into plural packets with a packet length equal to or smaller than the fragment length…”, i.e. if the packet size is smaller than the fragment size, then the packet is not divided | [0106]: “…When the conflict probability of synchronization messages becomes lower than the second threshold, the parameter determination unit 110 outputs Reset Packet Interval to the read control unit 105 and instructs the packet dividing unit 111 to stop dividing packets.”).
Examiner relies upon Shibuta to teach “image packets”. In a related art of using the PTP [Precision Time Protocol] (see Shibuta [0052]), Shibuta disclosed detecting a collision between a synchronization message and a VoIP packet (see Shibuta [0107]). A VoIP packet is an example of a periodic packet and that the periodic packet may include an image packet (see Shibuta [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirota and Shibuta to further describe the types of non-synchronization packets that can conflict with a synchronization packet. Including Shibuta’s teachings would improve existing synchronization issues in a communication system (see Shibuta [0007]), reduce call interruptions (see Shibuta [0101]), improve synchronization precision (see Shibuta [0117]) and reduce delays in synchronization processing while also balancing load (see Shibuta [0100]).
Regarding claim 11, Hirota-Shibuta disclosed the communication apparatus according to claim 10, further comprising a rewriting unit configured to rewrite a communication header of the image packet, wherein, in a case where the division unit does not divide the image packet into the plurality of divided image packets, the transfer unit transfers the image packet using the rewritten communication header (see Hirota [0107]: packets are divided when their size exceeds a threshold, i.e., packets are not divided when their size is below a threshold; [0112]: “When dividing a conflicting packet, the packet dividing unit 111 sets values in the identifier, flags, and fragment offset fields of the IP header so that the receiver-side apparatus can reassemble the divided conflicting packet.”; Fig. 14, [0109]: “The flags field is a 3-bit field…The third bit, when containing "0," indicates that the given packet has not been divided or is the last fragment of a divided packet. When containing "1," the third bit indicates that the given packet is followed by another packet resulting from division, i.e., the given packet is an intermediate packet.”, i.e. header is modified to specify whether or not the packet has been divided | Fig. 21, [0152]: “…Consequently, on the rely device located upstream along the conflicting traffic between adjacent nodes, packets are divided into sizes equal to or smaller than the specified packet length and the conflicting traffic is sent out at intervals equal to or larger than the specified packet interval.”; Fig. 21 illustrates three transmission paths (solid, dotted, and double lines) – the double line illustrates a transmission path from node #100-1b through the packet dividing unit #111, through the selector #107, and out to another node #100-2b).
Examiner relies upon Shibuta to teach “image packets”. In a related art of using the PTP [Precision Time Protocol] (see Shibuta [0052]), Shibuta disclosed detecting a collision between a synchronization message and a VoIP packet (see Shibuta [0107]). A VoIP packet is an example of a periodic packet and that the periodic packet may include an image packet (see Shibuta [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirota and Shibuta to further describe the types of non-synchronization packets that can conflict with a synchronization packet. Including Shibuta’s teachings would improve existing synchronization issues in a communication system (see Shibuta [0007]), reduce call interruptions (see Shibuta [0101]), improve synchronization precision (see Shibuta [0117]) and reduce delays in synchronization processing while also balancing load (see Shibuta [0100]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim contains the limitations, substantially as claimed, as described in claim 1 above. Examiner notes that claim 1 describes a communication apparatus whereas claim 12 describes a method.
Hirota disclosed, as recited in claim 12: A control method of a communication apparatus that performs time synchronization using a received time synchronization packet (see Hirota Fig. 5, [0059]: monitoring for conflicts between synchronization messages and non-synchronization messages; Fig. 9, [0068]: synchronization messages are PTP [Precision Time Protocol] messages), the control method comprising:
in a case where an image (see Shibuta combination below) packet to be transferred to a different communication apparatus exists during a period during which the time synchronization packet is to be transmitted, dividing the image packet into a plurality of divided image packets (see Hirota [0099]: adjusting the length of conflicting packets when there is a conflict | Fig. 12, [0101]: monitoring for conflicts with synchronization messages and when the conflict probability is equal to or higher than a first threshold, the conflicting packet is divided into a smaller packet length; [0059]: synchronization messages have a higher priority than non-synchronization messages | [0103]: “…when the conflict probability of synchronization messages is equal to or higher than the first threshold, the parameter determination unit 110 determines fragment length of the conflicting traffic in addition to the packet interval of the conflicting traffic. The fragment length is an upper limit of the packet length of the conflicting packets. Therefore, any conflicting packet whose length exceeds the fragment length is divided into plural packets with a packet length equal to or smaller than the fragment length…”; [0107]: “…the packet dividing unit 111 divides the conflicting packets to be stored in the non-priority class queue 106n into a packet length equal to or smaller than the fragment length…”); and
transferring the plurality of divided image packets to the different communication apparatus (see Hirota Fig. 21, [0152]: “…Consequently, on the rely device located upstream along the conflicting traffic between adjacent nodes, packets are divided into sizes equal to or smaller than the specified packet length and the conflicting traffic is sent out at intervals equal to or larger than the specified packet interval.”; Fig. 21 illustrates three transmission paths (solid, dotted, and double lines) – the double line illustrates a transmission path from node #100-1b through the packet dividing unit #111, through the selector #107, and out to another node #100-2b).
Hirota did not explicitly disclose that the non-synchronization conflicting packets are “image packets”. The following explanation applies to all claimed recitations of “image packets”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the type of non-synchronization packet is a matter of implementation choice and that image packets are commonly sent in time-sensitive networks.
However in a related art of using the PTP [Precision Time Protocol] (see Shibuta [0052]), Shibuta disclosed detecting a collision between a synchronization message and a VoIP packet (see Shibuta [0107]). A VoIP packet is an example of a periodic packet and that the periodic packet may include an image packet (see Shibuta [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirota and Shibuta to further describe the types of non-synchronization packets that can conflict with a synchronization packet. Including Shibuta’s teachings would improve existing synchronization issues in a communication system (see Shibuta [0007]), reduce call interruptions (see Shibuta [0101]), improve synchronization precision (see Shibuta [0117]) and reduce delays in synchronization processing while also balancing load (see Shibuta [0100]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim contains the limitations, substantially as claimed, as described in claim 1 above. Examiner notes that claim 1 describes a communication apparatus whereas claim 12 describes a non-transitory storage medium.
Hirota disclosed, as recited in claim 13: A non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a communication apparatus that performs time synchronization using a received time synchronization packet (see Hirota Fig. 5, [0059]: monitoring for conflicts between synchronization messages and non-synchronization messages; Fig. 9, [0068]: synchronization messages are PTP [Precision Time Protocol] messages) to execute a control method, the control method comprising:
in a case where an image (see Shibuta combination below) packet to be transferred to a different communication apparatus exists during a period during which the time synchronization packet is to be transmitted, dividing the image packet into a plurality of divided image packets (see Hirota [0099]: adjusting the length of conflicting packets when there is a conflict | Fig. 12, [0101]: monitoring for conflicts with synchronization messages and when the conflict probability is equal to or higher than a first threshold, the conflicting packet is divided into a smaller packet length; [0059]: synchronization messages have a higher priority than non-synchronization messages | [0103]: “…when the conflict probability of synchronization messages is equal to or higher than the first threshold, the parameter determination unit 110 determines fragment length of the conflicting traffic in addition to the packet interval of the conflicting traffic. The fragment length is an upper limit of the packet length of the conflicting packets. Therefore, any conflicting packet whose length exceeds the fragment length is divided into plural packets with a packet length equal to or smaller than the fragment length…”; [0107]: “…the packet dividing unit 111 divides the conflicting packets to be stored in the non-priority class queue 106n into a packet length equal to or smaller than the fragment length…”); and
transferring the plurality of divided image packets to the different communication apparatus (see Hirota Fig. 21, [0152]: “…Consequently, on the rely device located upstream along the conflicting traffic between adjacent nodes, packets are divided into sizes equal to or smaller than the specified packet length and the conflicting traffic is sent out at intervals equal to or larger than the specified packet interval.”; Fig. 21 illustrates three transmission paths (solid, dotted, and double lines) – the double line illustrates a transmission path from node #100-1b through the packet dividing unit #111, through the selector #107, and out to another node #100-2b).
Hirota did not explicitly disclose that the non-synchronization conflicting packets are “image packets”. The following explanation applies to all claimed recitations of “image packets”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the type of non-synchronization packet is a matter of implementation choice and that image packets are commonly sent in time-sensitive networks.
However in a related art of using the PTP [Precision Time Protocol] (see Shibuta [0052]), Shibuta disclosed detecting a collision between a synchronization message and a VoIP packet (see Shibuta [0107]). A VoIP packet is an example of a periodic packet and that the periodic packet may include an image packet (see Shibuta [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirota and Shibuta to further describe the types of non-synchronization packets that can conflict with a synchronization packet. Including Shibuta’s teachings would improve existing synchronization issues in a communication system (see Shibuta [0007]), reduce call interruptions (see Shibuta [0101]), improve synchronization precision (see Shibuta [0117]) and reduce delays in synchronization processing while also balancing load (see Shibuta [0100]).
Conclusion
/ANGELA WIDHALM DE RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2443