DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the following amendments made to the claims:
Claims 1-4, 6 amended
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 USC 102(a) and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the amendment made to further specify a plurality of first and second base tabs overcomes the previously applied prior art. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jang (US 20190067665 A1), which teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, in combination with the previously applied prior art in regard to the dependent claims. There is currently not considered to be any allowable subject matter present in the claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 regarding the definition of metal processing grain and the previously applied rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, examiner still finds that by forming the electrode via a rolling process that the metal processing grain would inherently be the same as required by the claim, without requiring further specification. The reasoning provided in the previous rejection is still considered valid and thus the claims remain rejected and the rejections unchanged other than now being in view of Jang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang (US 20190067665 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches all of the following elements:
A secondary battery comprising: (“Embodiments of the present invention provide a secondary battery and an assembling method thereof, which can ensure a battery capacity and improve welding quality of a current collector.” Jang [0005])
a case; an electrode assembly in the case and comprising; (“In addition, the electrode assembly 110 is housed in the case 180 together with an electrolyte.” Jang [0043])
a first electrode plate: a plurality of first base tabs electrically connected to the first electrode plate and located at a first end in a longitudinal direction of the case; (The first electrode plate is formed by coating a first electrode active material, such as a transition metal oxide, on a first electrode current collector formed of a metal foil made of aluminum. The first electrode plate includes a first electrode uncoated portion that is a region without the first electrode active material coated thereon.” Jang [0037] and “The first electrode tab 111 and second electrode tab 112 may be formed by stacking a plurality of first electrode uncoated portions and a plurality of second electrode uncoated portions.” Jang [0042])
a second electrode plate; a plurality of second base tabs electrically connected to the second electrode plate and located at a second end in the longitudinal direction of the case (“The second electrode plate is formed by coating a second electrode active material, such as graphite or carbon, on a second electrode current collector formed of a metal foil made of copper or nickel. The second electrode plate includes a second electrode uncoated portion that is a region without the second electrode active material coated thereon.” Jang [0038] and “The first electrode tab 111 and second electrode tab 112 may be formed by stacking a plurality of first electrode uncoated portions and a plurality of second electrode uncoated portions.” Jang [0042])
and a separator between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate; (“The electrode assembly 110 is formed by winding or laminating a stacked structure including a first electrode plate, a separator, and a second electrode plate, which are thin plates or layers.” Jang [0036])
and a cap assembly coupled to the case, (The cap assembly 150 is coupled to the case 180. In one embodiment, the cap assembly 150 includes the cap plate 151, the fastening plate 155, and the insulation plate 157.” Jang [0063])
and comprising a pair of collectors electrically connected to the first base tabs and the second base tabs respectively, (“The gasket 152 may be formed between the first current collecting terminal 122 and the cap plate 151 and between the second current collecting terminal 132 and the cap plate 151.” Jang [0065])
wherein the first base tabs and the second base tabs are laser welded to the collectors, (“in one or more embodiments, the first sub-tab 140 and the second sub-tab 141 may be provided separately from the first current collector 121 and second current collector 131 and then be connected to the first current collector 121 and the second current collector 131, respectively, by welding.” Jang [0058] Jang doesn’t explicitly teach that this weld is a laser weld, but does state “In one embodiment, the cap plate 151 may be coupled to the case 180 by laser welding.” Jang [0064]. Therefore, it would be implied that all welds in the specification are either laser welds or at least that is an option for the kind of welding to be performed.)
and each of the first base tabs at the first end of the case are bent in a same direction. (“Bending the first sub-tab may include bending the first sub-tab in a first direction, and bending the second sub-tab may include bending the second sub-tab in a second direction opposite the first direction.” Jang [0021] and “In one embodiment, the first current collector 121 may be coupled to the first electrode tab 111 through the sub-tab 140.” Jang [0045]. Since both the first and second sub-tabs can be considered multi-tabs “The first electrode tab 111 and second electrode tab 112 may also be referred to as multi-tabs.” Jang [0042]), by bending the entirety of either the first and second electrode tab in one direction, this is considered to comprise bending each of the first and second tabs in the same direction, thus meeting the limitation.)
Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches all of the following elements:
The secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first base tabs and the second base tabs are bent in one direction to be in surface contact with the collectors. (“Bending the first sub-tab may include bending the first sub-tab in a first direction, and bending the second sub-tab may include bending the second sub-tab in a second direction opposite the first direction.” Jang [0021].” The limitation does not require the first base tabs and second base tabs to be bent in the same direction. Since each set of multi tabs is bent in one [i.e. one singular] direction, this limitation is met even if the tabs are bent in opposite directions.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 20190067665 A1) in view of Guen (US 20180040918 A1) .
Regarding claim 3, Jang teaches all of the elements of claim 2, as shown above. Jang is silent on the following elements of claim 3:
The secondary battery as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first base tab and the second base tab are welded to back beads on rear surfaces of the collectors by the laser welding.
However, Guen teaches all of the elements of claim 3 that are not found in Jang. Specifically, Guen teaches a back bead on a rear surface of the collector, which the electrode tab is welded to:
The secondary battery as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first base tab and the second base tab are welded to back beads on rear surfaces of the collectors by the laser welding. (“The first groove 417 is formed in a thickness direction of the first current collector 41 to be recessed, the first groove 417 receives the first electrode tab 11a inserted therein, and the bonding part 11aa welded to the first current collector 41 is positioned at the first groove 417.” Guen [0059] and “As shown in FIG. 4, in an embodiment, a first groove 417 is formed on a first surface of the first current collector 41 facing toward the first electrode 11, and a plurality of minute protrusions 417a are arranged in the first groove 417 while forming a pattern. The first groove 417 is formed at the lower surface of the electrode attaching part 413.” Guen [0058]. Compare figures 2 and 4 of Guen to instant figure 6 to see how the collector and electrode tab are formed in the same manner, with a weld between the two and a bead/protrusion in between that protrudes from the collector towards the electrode tab.)
Jang and Guen are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of batteries contained in casings which have current collectors welded to electrode tabs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the weld of Jang which connects the electrode multi-tab to a collector to include a bead/protrusion extending from a rear surface of the collector to weld the collector and tab together in order to reduce or minimize the load applied to the current collector during welding (“According to an aspect of one or more exemplary embodiments of the present invention, since the current collector is formed with the groove, an anvil or a horn may be inserted into the groove such that a load applied to the current collector may be minimized or reduced during welding.” Guen [0016]). Examiner acknowledges that the weld of Guen is performed ultrasonically whereas that of Hagino is laser, and believes that one skilled in the art would still find it obvious to make this modification since both kinds of welding are commonly performed in the art.
The additional limitations of claim 4 would be met without requiring any further motivation or modification.
Regarding claim 4, modified Jang teaches all of the elements of claim 3, as shown above. Jang is silent on the following elements of claim 4:
The secondary battery as claimed in claim 3, wherein the back beads protrude toward the first base tab and the second base tab.
However, Guen teaches all of the elements of claim 4 that are not found in Jang:
The secondary battery as claimed in claim 3, wherein the back beads protrude toward the first base tab and the second base tab. (See above in claim 3 for comparison of Guen to instant application. Guen figure 4 clearly depicts protrusions that extend down from the current collector towards where the electrode tab is welded to it.)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 20190067665 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Jang teaches all of the following elements:
The secondary battery as claimed in claim 4, wherein a laser output range of the laser welding is in a range of 550 W to 630 W. (One skilled in the art would understand that the laser output range would be whatever is required to form an effective weld. This is a product by process claim, as the laser output range of the welding device is not part of the claimed product. Jang teaches a method that includes laser welding “the cap plate 151 may be coupled to the case 180 by laser welding” Jang [0064] and discusses the optimization of welding techniques for the assembly of the battery “Embodiments of the present invention provide a secondary battery and an assembling method thereof, which can ensure a battery capacity and improve welding quality of a current collector.” Jang [0005]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of choosing a laser welding with a laser output within the claimed range.)
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 20190067665 A1) in view of Wakimoto (US 20200251711 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Jang, when modified by Wakimoto, teaches all of the following elements. Specifically, if the electrode body and tabs were formed by a rolling process, as taught by Wakimoto, the metal would have a processing grain that extends longitudinally across the electrode tab (anisotropy, formed by lengthening metal via a rolling process.) Therefore, by forming a weld between the tab and the collector, who are already parallel to each other (“Coupling the first terminal assembly to the first electrode tab of the electrode assembly includes bending the first sub-tab relative to the first current collector to be substantially parallel to the first electrode tab of the electrode assembly,” Jang [0019] and “Coupling the second terminal assembly to the second electrode tab of the electrode assembly may include bending the second sub-tab relative to the second current collector to be substantially parallel to the second electrode tab of the electrode assembly” Jang [0020]), it would be obvious that the direction of the welding would be parallel to those as well, as this is the only way the proper surface area would be welded in order to secure the two parts together:
The secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein, when the collectors and the first base tab and the second base tab are welded, a direction in which the laser welding is performed is parallel to a metal processing grain of each of the first base tab and the second base tab. (Since the electrode base tabs are bent to be parallel with the collector of Jang, the weld would also be made in parallel to the direction of the electrode tabs. This would additionally be obvious/known to one skilled in the art as by making it parallel, the weld would cover a larger surface area between the two pieces and therefore would secure it more effectively. By forming the weld in parallel to the collector and the electrode tab, it would also be parallel to the metal processing grain, which extends longitudinally across the metal part that was rolled.)
Wakimoto is considered to be analogous to Jang because they are both within the same field of secondary batteries including electrode tabs welded to collectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode/electrode plate/electrode tab structure of Jang to be formed via a rolling process, as Wakimoto teaches that this is a known method in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would consider it as a method for forming a wound electrode inside of a battery casing.
The additional limitations of claim 7 would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 7, Jang teaches all of the elements of claim 6, as shown above. Jang is silent on the following elements of claim 7:
The secondary battery as claimed in claim 6, wherein the direction of the metal processing grain is formed by a rolling process.
However, Wakimoto teaches all of the elements of claim 7 that are not found in Jang. Specifically, Wakimoto teaches a secondary battery that includes electrode tabs welded to current collectors, and also teaches a rolling process for forming the electrodes:
The secondary battery as claimed in claim 6, wherein the direction of the metal processing grain is formed by a rolling process. (“In the embodiment described above, the electrode body 3 is composed of two electrode body elements 3a and 3b. However, this is not a limitation. The electrode body 3 may be a single stacked electrode body. The electrode body 3 may be a single rolled electrode body in which an elongated positive electrode plate and an elongated negative electrode plate are rolled with a separator interposed therebetween.” Wakimoto [0159])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752