Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-14, 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nokia (EP 3,467,617).
In claims 1,9, and 16 Nokia discloses
at least one processor assembly configured to: (device 200 and processor 210, fig 2 paragraph 52)
receive information pertaining to a first user’s sensitivity to at least one visual artifact; (receive a predicting sickness factor (sensitivity) of a user viewing immersive visual content including flicker (artifact), fig 4, paragraphs 59-60)
determine that the visual artifact is to be presented in a video (as described, the artifact is flicker, as per the abstract, paragraph 61 describes the flicker being reduced, and still determining the sickness risk factor after adjustments, to further lower the flicker)
encode the video for presentation on a first display according to the information pertaining to the first user’s sensitivity to the visual artifact; (graphical settings of a source encoded video are temporarily decremented by the graphic processing module (post-processing) on a display of a user-0facing application 770 according to the user facing sickness mitigation policy. Fig. 7, paragraphs 56, 87, 96)
transmit, via a network, the video to be presented on the first display based on the encoding (paragraph 56 discloses transmission of the data, paragraph 50 discloses components being located separately such as via a cloud or within a network)
In claims 2 and 10, Nokia discloses wherein the video comprises at least one computer game. (paragraph 80)
In claims 3 and 11, Nokia discloses encode the video for presentation on a second display according to the information pertaining to a second user’s sensitivity to the visual artifact. (source encoding the video for display of a user facing application 770 on a display according to the user facing sickness mitigation policy, fig.7 paragraphs 56, 87, 96, 105)
In claims 4 and 12, Nokia discloses decode the video for presentation on the first display according to the information pertaining to the first user’s sensitivity to the visual artifact; and decode the video for presentation on the second display according to the information pertaining to the second user’s sensitivity to the visual artifact. (source encoding the video according to user facing sickness mitigation policy inherently requires the user graphical processing module 780 to decode the video for display for the user and other users (second), fig. 7, paragraph 94)
In claims 6 and 19, Nokia discloses post-process the at least one video for presentation on the first display according to the information pertaining to the first user’s sensitivity to the visual artifact; and post-process the video for presentation on the second display according to the information pertaining to the second user’s sensitivity to the visual artifact. (graphical settings of a source encoded video are temporarily decremented by the graphic processing module (post processing) of a display of a user-facing application 770 and other users (second) according to the user facing sickness mitigation policy. Fig. 7 paragraphs 56, 87, 96)
In claims 7, 13, and 14 Nokia discloses the visual artifact comprises flickering or flashing. (the sickness threshold is due to flicker paragraph 61, and includes flashing lights paragraph 77)
In claim 17, Nokia discloses the display is associated with the at least one input device from whence the indication is received (the device 200, video player comprises the display device 240 to display the video received by a communications unit 250. Fig. 2, paragraphs 51-54)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia.
In claims 5, 18, and 20 Nokia discloses the claimed invention except for pre-processing, however since Nokia discloses source encoding the video (paragraph 105) and post processing the video according to the information pertaining to the first user’s sensitivity to the visual artifact (see fig. 7, paragraph 56, 87, 96), and Official notice is taken that pre processing is a well known method, which may be in combination or as an alternative to post processing as part of the processing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Nokia with this well-known technique as it would reach the same result and would be based upon the preference of the operator to optimize the timing of the usage of computer resources to maximize efficiency.
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia in view of Qualcomm (JP 6995744).
In claims 8 and 15, Nokia discloses the claimed invention except the visual artifact comprises blockiness, however Qualcomm teaches the visual artifact comprises blackness (a deblocking filter to remove blockiness artifacts from the restructured video paragraph 273). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Nokia with Qualcomm for the purposes of improving video quality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that VR and AR devices of Nokia are different to video for presentation on a first display, however the VR and AR of Nokia is also displayed on a display, and Nokia further shows transmission over a network, and according to the information pertaining to the first user’s sensitivities as disclosed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS H HENRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715