DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (Figs. 1-8,1-6 and 9) in the reply filed on 07/28/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Moriya et al. (US 20190148055).
Regarding claim 1, Moriya et al. (figure 1-15 and para 0042-0140) discloses a drum core (10) including a winding core portion having a columnar shape (see figure 1), a first flange portion connected to a first end in a direction parallel to a central axis of the winding core portion (see figure 1), and a second flange portion connected to a second end of the winding core portion on a side opposite to the first end (see figure 1); a first metal terminal (30) attached to the first flange portion(see figure 1 and para 0046); and a wire (41 or 42) wound around the winding core portion and having a first wire end joined to the first metal terminal (see figure 1 and para 0046), wherein assuming that a specific axis orthogonal to the central axis is defined as a first axis(see figure 1), and one of directions parallel to the first axis is defined as a first positive direction, and an axis orthogonal to the central axis and the first axis is defined as a second axis (see figure 1), and one of directions parallel to the second axis is defined as a second positive direction, the first flange portion (12) includes: a main body portion connected to the winding core portion(see figures 1-5); a first protruding portion (see figure 1) protruding from an outer end surface of the main body portion on a side opposite to a surface connected to the winding core portion (see figures 1-5); and a second protruding portion (see figure 1) that protrudes toward the first positive direction from a bottom surface that is a surface of the main body portion facing the first positive direction(see figure 1), the second protruding portion having a side end surface facing the second positive direction (see figures 1-2); and the first metal terminal includes: a bonding portion located in the second positive direction with respect to the first protruding portion (see figure 2) and bonded to the outer end surface of the main body portion(see figure 1 and para 0093); a connecting portion extending from the bonding portion toward the first positive direction (see figure 2); a mounting portion which is connected to the connecting portion and faces a facing surface which is a surface of the second protruding portion facing the first positive direction (see figures 1-2); an extending portion extending from the mounting portion or the bonding portion (see figures 2/4 and para 0068); and a joining portion connected to the extending portion and facing the bottom surface on a side of the second positive direction with respect to the second protruding portion(see figures 1-8), and wherein a shortest distance from an end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the joining portion in the second axis direction is larger than a maximum distance from the end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the side end surface in the second axis direction(see figures 1-2/4)
Regarding claim 2, Moriya et al. (figure 1-2/4) discloses wherein when a direction opposite to the second positive direction is defined as a second negative direction, the extending portion is located on a side of the second negative direction with respect to the joining portion, and a shortest distance from the end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the extending portion in the second axis direction is larger than the maximum distance from the end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the side end surface in the second axis direction
Regarding claim 3, Moriya et al. (figures 2/4) discloses wherein a boundary portion between the first protruding portion and the outer end surface has a chamfered shape.
Regarding claim 5, Moriya et al. (figures 1-6) discloses wherein the facing surface is located further in the first positive direction than a farthest portion of the first protruding portion located in the first positive direction.
2 Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US 20170288626).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi et al. (figure 1-3 and para 0032-0048) discloses a drum core (20) including a winding core portion having a columnar shape (see figure 2), a first flange portion connected to a first end in a direction parallel to a central axis of the winding core portion (see figure 2), and a second flange portion connected to a second end of the winding core portion on a side opposite to the first end (see figures 1-2); a first metal terminal (31) attached to the first flange portion(see figure 1 and para 0032-0034); and a wire (41 or 42) wound around the winding core portion and having a first wire end joined to the first metal terminal (see figure 1 and para 0032), wherein assuming that a specific axis orthogonal to the central axis is defined as a first axis(see figures 1-2), and one of directions parallel to the first axis is defined as a first positive direction, and an axis orthogonal to the central axis and the first axis is defined as a second axis (see figures 1-2), and one of directions parallel to the second axis is defined as a second positive direction, the first flange portion (21) includes: a main body portion connected to the winding core portion(see figures 1-3); a first protruding portion (see figures 2 and para 0033-0040) protruding from an outer end surface of the main body portion on a side opposite to a surface connected to the winding core portion (see figures 1-2); and a second protruding portion (see figure 2 and para 0033) that protrudes toward the first positive direction from a bottom surface that is a surface of the main body portion facing the first positive direction(see figures 1-2), the second protruding portion having a side end surface facing the second positive direction (see figures 1-2); and the first metal terminal includes: a bonding portion located in the second positive direction with respect to the first protruding portion (see figure 2) and bonded to the outer end surface of the main body portion(see figure 1 and para 0035-0036); a connecting portion extending from the bonding portion toward the first positive direction (see figures 1-3 and para 0035-0037); a mounting portion which is connected to the connecting portion and faces a facing surface which is a surface of the second protruding portion facing the first positive direction (see figures 1/3); an extending portion extending from the mounting portion or the bonding portion (see figures 1/3 and para 0035-0038); and a joining portion connected to the extending portion and facing the bottom surface on a side of the second positive direction with respect to the second protruding portion(see figures 1-3), and wherein a shortest distance from an end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the joining portion in the second axis direction is larger than a maximum distance from the end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the side end surface in the second axis direction(see figure 1)
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi et al.(figure 1) discloses wherein when a direction opposite to the second positive direction is defined as a second negative direction, the extending portion is located on a side of the second negative direction with respect to the joining portion, and a shortest distance from the end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the extending portion in the second axis direction is larger than the maximum distance from the end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the side end surface in the second axis direction
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi et al.(figure 1) discloses wherein a boundary portion between the first protruding portion and the outer end surface has a chamfered shape.
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi et al.(figure 1) discloses wherein the facing surface is located further in the first positive direction than a farthest portion of the first protruding portion located in the first positive direction.
3 Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Arimitsu et al. (US 20150042436).
Regarding claim 1, Arimitsu et al. (figure 1-8 and para 0023-0052) discloses a drum core (10) including a winding core portion having a columnar shape (see figures 1/6a), a first flange portion connected to a first end in a direction parallel to a central axis of the winding core portion (see figures 1/6a), and a second flange portion connected to a second end of the winding core portion on a side opposite to the first end (see figures 1-2); a first metal terminal (41) attached to the first flange portion(see figures 1/6a and para 0032-0044); and a wire (31 or 31) wound around the winding core portion and having a first wire end joined to the first metal terminal (see figures 1/6b), wherein assuming that a specific axis orthogonal to the central axis is defined as a first axis(see figures 1-2), and one of directions parallel to the first axis is defined as a first positive direction, and an axis orthogonal to the central axis and the first axis is defined as a second axis (see figures 1-2), and one of directions parallel to the second axis is defined as a second positive direction, the first flange portion (12) includes: a main body portion connected to the winding core portion(see figures 1/6a); a first protruding portion (see figures 2 and para 0033-0040) protruding from an outer end surface of the main body portion on a side opposite to a surface connected to the winding core portion (see figures 2-6b); and a second protruding portion (see figures 2-6b) that protrudes toward the first positive direction from a bottom surface that is a surface of the main body portion facing the first positive direction(see figures 1/6a), the second protruding portion having a side end surface facing the second positive direction (see figures 1/6a); and the first metal terminal includes: a bonding portion located in the second positive direction with respect to the first protruding portion (see figure 6a) and bonded to the outer end surface of the main body portion(see figure 6a and para 0040-0045); a connecting portion extending from the bonding portion toward the first positive direction (see figures 6a-6b and para 0042-0045); a mounting portion which is connected to the connecting portion and faces a facing surface which is a surface of the second protruding portion facing the first positive direction (see figures 6a-6b); an extending portion extending from the mounting portion or the bonding portion (see figures 6a-6b and para 0040-0045); and a joining portion connected to the extending portion and facing the bottom surface on a side of the second positive direction with respect to the second protruding portion(see figures 1/6a), and wherein a shortest distance from an end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the joining portion in the second axis direction is larger than a maximum distance from the end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the side end surface in the second axis direction(see figures 1/6a)
Regarding claim 2, Arimitsu et al. (figure 1-8 and para 0023-0052) discloses wherein when a direction opposite to the second positive direction is defined as a second negative direction, the extending portion is located on a side of the second negative direction with respect to the joining portion, and a shortest distance from the end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the extending portion in the second axis direction is larger than the maximum distance from the end of the first protruding portion in the second positive direction to the side end surface in the second axis direction
Regarding claim 3, Arimitsu et al. (figure 1-8 and para 0023-0052) discloses wherein a boundary portion between the first protruding portion and the outer end surface has a chamfered shape.
Regarding claim 5, Arimitsu et al. (figure 1-8 and para 0023-0052) discloses wherein the facing surface is located further in the first positive direction than a farthest portion of the first protruding portion located in the first positive direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4 Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arimitsu et al. (US 20150042436).
Regarding claim 4, Arimitsu et al. (figure 4-8 and para 0027-0038) discloses wherein when a direction opposite to the second positive direction is defined as a second negative direction, an edge of the first metal terminal on the side of the second negative direction and a side close to the first flange portion has a chamfered shape; designing wherein a chamfering dimension of the chamfered shape of the first metal terminal is larger than a chamfering dimension of the chamfered shape of the boundary portion would have been an obvious design consideration based intended application/environment use. Such as to prevents terminal stubbing or scraping during mating, and localizes stress away from the critical joint boundary
5 Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US 20170288626).
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi et al. (figure 1-3 and para 0032-0048) discloses wherein when a direction from the winding core portion toward the first flange portion in the central axis direction is defined as an outward direction; designing wherein an outermost portion of the bonding portion in the outward direction is located further outward with respect to an outermost portion of the first protruding portion in the outward direction would have been an obvious design consideration based intended application/environment use. Such as to stop cracks or separation from starting at the outer edges while also increasing the mechanical strength thereby making the bond between the core and flange last longer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837