Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 6/17/2024 and 5/9/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The disclosure is objected to because the specification is replete with informalities and terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some informalities and unclear, inexact, or verbose terms used in the specification are listed as follows:
In ¶ 1, lines 1-2, “head-wearable devices, including but not limited to, head-wearable devices” has incorrect comma placement; Examiner suggests replacing “devices, including” with “devices including,”
In ¶ 4, line 6, “The illumination source being configured…” is not a complete sentence and may be corrected with “The illumination source is configured…”
In ¶ 5, line 3, “the head-wearable is worn” should read “the head-wearable device is worn” or similar
In ¶ 15, line 1, “components distributed arranged along…” is improperly redundant; either “distributed” or “arranged” should be struck from the sentence
In ¶ 17, line 1, “Figures 7A 7B” is missing a comma between “7A” and “7B”
In ¶ 28, line 24, “field of views” should read “fields of view”
In ¶ 39, line 3, “5A-5C” should read “Figures 5A-5C”
In ¶ 39, line 4, “1A-1H” should read “Figures 1A-1H”
In ¶ 43, line 6, “light reflects back to the one or more of the” should read “light reflects back to one or more of the” or “light reflects back to the one or more” or similar
In ¶ 46, line 6, “image sensor” should read “image sensors”
In ¶ 48, line 5, “ink layers 606 includes” should read “ink layers 606 include”
Examiner notes that this list is not exhaustive, and reiterates that the specification should
be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Applicant’s specification should be provided in clear and proper idiomatic English and contain no new matter.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include several reference characters not mentioned in the description. Examples include: 212-1, 212-2, 214-1, 214-2 (i.e. in FIGs. 2B, 4). Instead, Applicant only uses 212 or 214 (e.g. on line 3 of ¶ 35), apparently to refer to either 212-(1,2) or 214-(1,2) as collectives, though it is unclear if this always meant to be the case at every instance in the specification. Furthermore, several numerals appear to be miscased when compared to the specification – e.g. 700C (FIG. 12A vs. line 2 of ¶ 208), 1215(A,B,C) (FIG. 12B vs. lines 4-8 of ¶ 210).
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include several reference signs that are mentioned in the description. Examples include: 102 (e.g. lines 9, 15, 16, 18, 22 of ¶ 28), 114 (e.g. line 20 of ¶ 28), 124 (e.g. lines 3-4, 11 of ¶ 31), 130 (e.g. line 6 of ¶ 32), 504 (e.g. lines 6, 8, 11, 14 of ¶ 40), 512 (e.g. lines 4, 13 of ¶ 42), 514 (e.g. line 7 of ¶ 54), 516 (e.g. lines 5, 7-8 of ¶ 44), 518 (e.g. lines 7, 11 of ¶ 42), 520 (e.g. lines 8, 11 of ¶ 42), 602 (e.g. lines 1, 10 of ¶ 47), 813 (e.g. line 5 of ¶ 91), 1022 (e.g. line 11 of ¶ 182), 1210A/1210B (e.g. line 4 of ¶ 209), 1212 (e.g. line 6 of ¶ 209), 1213 (e.g. line 6 of ¶ 209), 1215 (e.g. line 2 of ¶ 210).
Examiner notes that the list of drawing issues may not be exhaustive, and reiterates that the drawings and/or specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5). Reference characters not mentioned in the description shall not appear in the drawings. Reference characters mentioned in the description must appear in the drawings.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, line 2, “layers silicon dioxide” should read “layers of silicon dioxide”.
Claim 7 inherits the objection of claim 6 on which it depends.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Olson et al (WO 2022093405 A2, hereinafter “Olson”).
Regarding claim 1, Olson discloses (see FIGs. 1, 3-4, 6-7; ¶s 24-27, 49-69) a head-wearable device (head-mounted device 10), comprising:
a front-facing outer surface (i.e. of display 14F); a first set of components (i.e. selected from optical components 60, 62, 64, …, 80) arranged along a first dimension (X) of the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M), wherein each component of the first set of components (60, 62, 64, …, 80) includes a respective first set of sensors (60, 62, 64, …, 80), and a respective first cover window (“(optical component) window”), wherein the respective first cover window is a first type of cover window including a first stack of material layers; and
a second set of components (60, 62, 64, …, 80 ∈ 104) arranged along the first dimension (X) of the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M), wherein each component of the second set of components (60, 62, 64, …, 80) includes a respective second set of sensors (60, 62, 64, …, 80), and a respective second cover window (“(optical component) window”), wherein the respective second cover window is a second type of cover window including a second stack of material layers, distinct from the first stack of material layers.
(Regarding the respective first/second set of sensors, respective first/second (type of) cover window with respective first/second stack of material layers, note the following excerpts:
¶ 50: “device 10 includes optical components such as optical components 60, 62, 64, ... these optical components (e.g., optical sensors selected from among sensors 16 of FIG. 2...) may be configured to detect light...”
¶ 60, regarding shroud 100’s "optical component windows to accommodate components 60, 62, ..., and 80", and how "Display 14F may have a display cover layer that has corresponding optical component windows”
¶ 67: “Layer 92 may include… multiple stacked layers of material”, “Components 104 may be optical components that emit and/or detect light that passes through… window structures in layer 92 and shroud 100.” – Note: layer 92 here corresponds to the display cover layer of display 14F (per ¶ 67) and components 104 correspond to components 60-80 (per ¶ 64).
See also ¶ 88: “Each optical component may potentially have a different type of optical component window structure in shroud 100 and/or layer 92 to accommodate that component.”)
Regarding claim 2, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein:
the first type of cover window (“(optical component) window”) includes a first type of anti-reflective coating (layer 164); and
the second type of cover window (“(optical component) window”) includes a second type of anti-reflective coating (layer 164), distinct from the first type of anti-reflective coating.
(FIG. 13, ¶ 103: “An optional coating layer such as layer 164 may cover the optical window…”, “coating 164… may be configured to form an antireflection coating”. Recall also ¶ 88: “Each optical component may potentially have a different type of optical component window structure in shroud 100 and/or layer 92 to accommodate that component.”)
Regarding claim 3, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 2.
Olson further discloses wherein: the second type of anti-reflective coating (layer 164 for the “(optical component) window”) includes at least one metallic material (See ¶ 46: “covering structures may be formed from... structures that include metal...”; note also from ¶ 49 that “Windows may be provided in the shroud or other cosmetic covering structures”), wherein the metallic material is configured to reduce reflection of incident light having a corresponding wavelength in a first range of wavelengths (Examiner notes that by virtue of belonging to an antireflection coating, any incorporated metallic material would be configured to reduce reflection. Note also that ¶ 103, cited in regards to claim 2 above, further describes thin-film interference and wavelength/band selectivity for coating layer 164).
Regarding claim 8, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses:
wherein each component in the first set of components includes a first type of adhesive to couple the component to the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M), wherein the first type of adhesive has a first characteristic surface pattern; and
each component in the second set of components includes a second type of adhesive to couple the component to the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M), wherein the second type of adhesive has a second characteristic surface pattern.
(See ¶ 76: "Shroud 100 and display cover layer 92 [both provided with the component cover windows, as previously established in regards to claim 1 above] may be attached to main housing portion 26M using adhesive...".
Recall also ¶ 88: “Each optical component may potentially have a different type of optical component window structure in shroud 100 and/or layer 92 to accommodate that component.” Now, since Olson enables different (cover) window structures for different optical components, evidently, the adhesives for such differing structures must also differ in surface patterns/shapes to accommodate the different window structures/shapes.)
Regarding claim 9, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 8.
Olson further discloses wherein the first and second types of adhesives are composed of a pressure-sensitive adhesive material (¶ 77: “A layer of pressure sensitive adhesive… may also be used in attaching cover layer 92 and shroud 100 to housing portion 26M.”).
Regarding claim 12, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein the second stack of material layers includes one or more layers of infrared (IR) ink adapted to allow light having a wavelength in an infrared wavelength range to pass through. (See the following excerpts:
¶s 45-46: "The covering structures may include transparent portions (e.g., optical component windows) that are characterized by sufficient optical transparency to allow overlapped optical components to operate satisfactorily", "an optical component that emits infrared light may be overlapped with a visibly opaque material that is transparent to infrared light", "covering structures may be formed from ink"
¶s 82-83: "Coating 126 may be... a layer of ink", component 104 transmits and/or receives infrared light. In this type of arrangement, coating 126 may be opaque at visible wavelengths and transparent at infrared wavelengths"
¶ 103: "coating layer 164 may be formed from a layer of ink... that blocks visible light and that is transparent to infrared light"
¶ 104: "Filter coating 168 may be provided on window member 166", "component 104 of FIG. 14... may operate at infrared wavelengths. Filter 168 in this type of arrangement may be transparent to infrared light". "Filter coating 168 may be formed from ink")
Regarding claim 13, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein the first stack of material layers includes one or more layers of a first ink configured to allow transmission of light within a first wavelength range. (See the following excerpts:
¶s 45-46: "The covering structures may include transparent portions (e.g., optical component windows) that are characterized by sufficient optical transparency to allow overlapped optical components to operate satisfactorily", "an optical component that emits infrared light may be overlapped with a visibly opaque material that is transparent to infrared light", "covering structures may be formed from ink"
¶s 82-83: "Coating 126 may be... a layer of ink", component 104 transmits and/or receives infrared light. In this type of arrangement, coating 126 may be opaque at visible wavelengths and transparent at infrared wavelengths"
¶ 103: "coating layer 164 may be formed from a layer of ink... that blocks visible light and that is transparent to infrared light"
¶ 104: "Filter coating 168 may be provided on window member 166", "component 104 of FIG. 14... may operate at infrared wavelengths. Filter 168 in this type of arrangement may be transparent to infrared light". "Filter coating 168 may be formed from ink")
Regarding claim 14, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein:
the first set of sensors includes one or more image sensors; and
the second set of sensors includes a depth-tracking component.
(See ¶ 34: “Sensors 16 may include, for example, three-dimensional sensors (e.g., three-dimensional image sensors…, three-dimensional lidar (light detection and ranging [i.e. depth-tracking]) sensors…), … cameras…”. Note: per ¶ 50, sensors 16 here correspond to the optical components/sensors 60, 62, 64, … 80 which were previously cited in regards to claim 1 above.)
Regarding claim 16, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein: the respective second set of sensors includes a projector configured to project structured light onto real-world objects. (See ¶ 34: “Sensors 16 may include, for example, three-dimensional sensors (e.g., three-dimensional image sensors such as structured light sensors that emit [i.e. project] beams of light and that use two-dimensional digital image sensors to gather image data for three-dimensional images from dots or other light spots that are produced when a target [i.e. real-world object] is illuminated by the beams of light...)”. Note: per ¶ 50, sensors 16 here correspond to the optical components/sensors 60, 62, 64, … 80 which were cited previously in regards to claim 1 above.)
Regarding claim 17, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein:
the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M) is curved along the first dimension (X) (see FIGs. 3, 8); and
each of the respective first and second cover windows is uncurved (see, for example, FIG. 8’s optical component window member 116, FIG. 10’s optical component window member 132, FIG. 13’s window member 166).
Regarding claim 18, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein each of the first and second sets of components include respective component mounts for mounting sensors to the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M). (See FIG. 6 and ¶ 66: “Components 104 may be attached to respective left and right sides of bracket 102 and/or other supporting structures in device 10 (e.g., shroud 100) using adhesive, fasteners, press fit connections, and/or other attachment structures [i.e. mounts]”)
Regarding claim 19, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson also discloses (see ¶s 29-34, FIG. 2) the further comprising a processing unit (control circuitry 12) configured for:
projecting, from a projector of the second set of components, structured light towards a controller;
obtaining one or more images from an imaging sensor of the first set of components, wherein the one or more images include imaged patterns corresponding to the structured light; and
performing an operation corresponding to the controller based on a correspondence between the imaged patterns.
(Regarding items A and B above, note from ¶ 34: “Sensors 16 may include, for example, three-dimensional sensors (e.g., three-dimensional image sensors such as structured light sensors that emit [i.e. project] beams of light and that use two-dimensional digital image sensors to gather image data for three-dimensional images from dots or other light spots [i.e. patterns] that are produced when a target [e.g. a controller] is illuminated by the beams of light...)”. Note: per ¶ 50, sensors 16 here correspond to the optical components/sensors 60, 62, 64, … 80 which were previously cited in regards to claim 1 above.
Regarding item C, note from ¶ 29: “Control circuitry 12 may include storage and processing circuitry for controlling the operation of device 10… (e.g., data gathering operations, operations involving the adjustment of the components of device 10 using control signals, etc.).”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson – as applied to claim 1, 2, and 14 above – and further in view of Lee et al (US 20150015959 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 4, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 2.
Olson does not disclose wherein the first type of anti-reflective coating includes two or more layers of silicon dioxide and two or more layers of silicon nitride.
Olson and Lee are related as being directed towards sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses wherein the first type of anti-reflective coating includes two or more layers of silicon dioxide and two or more layers of silicon nitride. (From ¶s 47-48:"Alternating layers of high and low refractive index materials can be used to form optical coatings, such as anti-reflective or anti-glare", "Multilayer coatings consist of a plurality of alternating high and low index layers, for example, HL, HL, HL . . . , etc., or LH, LH, LH..., etc.", "The high refractive index material may be selected from... Si3N4", "The low refractive index material may be selected from the group consisting of SiO--2").
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to be able to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment, thus reducing manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Regarding claim 5, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 2.
Olson does not disclose wherein the first type of anti-reflective coating is applied via ion sputtering.
Olson and Lee are related as being directed towards sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses wherein the first type of anti-reflective coating is applied via ion sputtering. (From ¶ 44: “optical coatings are applied to glass substrates using PVD coating (sputtered or IAD-EB coated optical coating with thermal evaporation of the ETC coating).”)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to be able to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment, thus reducing manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Regarding claim 6, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 2.
Olson does not disclose wherein the second type of anti-reflective coating includes two or more layers silicon dioxide, and two or more other layers of titanium dioxide.
Olson and Lee are related as being directed towards sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses wherein the second type of anti-reflective coating includes two or more layers silicon dioxide, and two or more other layers of titanium dioxide.
(From ¶s 47-48:"Alternating layers of high and low refractive index materials can be used to form optical coatings, such as anti-reflective or anti-glare", "Multilayer coatings consist of a plurality of alternating high and low index layers, for example, HL, HL, HL . . . , etc., or LH, LH, LH..., etc.", "The high refractive index material may be selected from... TiO2", "The low refractive index material may be selected from the group consisting of SiO--2").
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to be able to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment, thus reducing manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Regarding claim 7, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 6.
Lee further discloses wherein the second type of anti-reflective coating is evaporated onto a surface of the respective second cover window. (From ¶ 44: “optical coatings are applied to glass substrates using PVD coating (sputtered or IAD-EB [i.e. the source materials are evaporated by electron beam EB] coated optical coating with thermal evaporation of the ETC coating).”)
Regarding claim 10, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein the first stack of material layers includes a glass layer (Recall ¶ 60, regarding shroud 100’s "optical component windows to accommodate components 60, 62, ..., and 80", and how "Display 14F may have a display cover layer that has corresponding optical component windows… formed from one or more layers of material such as glass”).
Olson does not disclose wherein the glass layer is composed of alkali aluminosilicate glass.
Olson and Lee are related as being directed towards sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses wherein the glass layer is composed of alkali aluminosilicate glass.
(From ¶ 45: “In the embodiments described herein, the glass used... may be an ion-exchanged or non-ion-exchanged glass. Exemplary glasses include silica glass, aluminosilicate glass…”. Examiner notes also that ion-exchange directly implies the presence of alkali ions.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to be able to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment, thus reducing manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Regarding claim 15, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 14.
Olson further discloses wherein the first stack of material layers includes a glass layer adapted to provide for color passthrough, via a color camera of the one or more image sensors, of physical surroundings of a user of the head-wearable device (head-mounted device 10). (See ¶ 78: “Optical components 78 and 66 may be visible-light [i.e. color] cameras that capture real-time images of the environment surrounding device 10. These cameras, which may sometimes be referred to as scene cameras or pass-through-video cameras, may capture moving images that are displayed in real time”
Recall also ¶ 60, regarding shroud 100’s "optical component windows to accommodate components 60, 62, ..., and 80", and how "Display 14F may have a display cover layer that has corresponding optical component windows… formed from one or more layers of material such as glass”)
Olson does not disclose that the glass layer is an alkali aluminosilicate glass layer.
Olson and Lee are related as being directed towards sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses that the glass layer is an alkali aluminosilicate glass layer.
(From ¶ 45: “In the embodiments described herein, the glass used... may be an ion-exchanged or non-ion-exchanged glass. Exemplary glasses include silica glass, aluminosilicate glass…”. Examiner notes also that ion-exchange directly implies the presence of alkali ions.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment which thus reduces manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jarvis and Quinones (US 20190364179 A1, hereinafter “Jarvis”).
Regarding claim 11, Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses an aperture configured to improve audio received by a microphone of a set of sensors. (See ¶ 34: “Sensors 16 may include, for example… audio sensors (microphones)”; Examiner notes that all microphones must have some form of aperture to allow/improve audio reception)
Olson does not disclose wherein the second type of cover window includes the aperture, or that the microphone is of the second set of sensors. (As noted above in regards to claim 1, much of details provided by Olson are those associated with optical components, rather than audio components which are apparently held as separate features.)
Olson and Jarvis are related as being directed towards sensor-display systems
Jarvis discloses (see FIGs. 2-4A, ¶s 45-54) wherein the second type of cover window (camera cover glass 232) includes the aperture (second opening 414), and that the microphone (audio transducer 226 “can be a microphone” – ¶ 45) is of the second set of sensors (I/O assembly 110).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Olson with design aspects of Jarvis, in order to accommodate consolidated/multifunctional (imaging, audio) sensors.
Conclusion
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872