Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 1/22/2026.
Amendments to the specification and to claims 1 and 6, filed 1/22/2026, are acknowledged and accepted.
Newly submitted claim 20, filed 1/22/2026, is acknowledged and accepted.
Due to the amendments to the claims, the prior objections to claims 6-7 are now withdrawn. Furthermore, Applicant’s amendments to the specification are appreciated for addressing much of the issues identified in the prior office action. However, the drawing and specification objections are maintained due to persisting issues, as discussed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks filed 1/22/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically addressed in the Remarks.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because reference numeral 700C (FIG. 12A) remains miscased (compare with line 2 of ¶ 208).
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs that are mentioned in the description (line numbers are referenced with respect to the Marked Up Specification filed 1/22/2026): 518 (¶ 209, line 8), 520 (¶ 209, line 9), 1212 (¶ 209, line 23), 1213 (¶ 209, line 23) .
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of at least the following informalities (line numbers are referenced with respect to the Marked Up Specification filed 1/22/2026):
In ¶ 46, lines 6-7, “image sensors components” should read “image sensor components” in light of the most recent amendment
In ¶ 45, lines 2-3, “cover window stacks 601 and 603 corresponding to the cover windows 512-1 and 512-2 and 522, respectively” mismatches two items to three, which is improper/unclear. A possible correction may involve replacing the identified excerpt with “cover window stack 601 corresponding to cover windows 512-1 and 512-2, and cover window stack 603 corresponding to cover window 522”
In ¶ 47, lines l-2, “an anti-reflective material 602-1 and 602-2” has a plurality mismatch and may be corrected to read “anti-reflective materials 602-1 and 602[“, respectively” which may be added for clearer association with 601 and 603].
In ¶ 47, lines 10-11, “each of anti-reflective material 602-1 and 602-2 has a thickness in a range[…]” has a plurality mismatch which further obscures its meaning (i.e. are 602-1 and 602-2 of a single/equal thickness?)
In ¶ 54, lines 7-9, “514-1 and 514-2 and 524”, “512-1 and 512-2 and 522”, and “504-1 and 504-2 and 506” are not proper list
In ¶ 65, line 2, “storage medium” should read “storage media”
Appropriate correction is required. As in the previous action, Examiner notes that the above list may not be exhaustive, and that the lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's continued cooperation is appreciated in correcting any errors of which Applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Olson et al (WO 2022093405 A2, hereinafter “Olson”) in view of Son and Cho (US 20240196706 A1, hereinafter “Son”)
Regarding claim 1, Olson discloses (see FIGs. 1, 3-4, 6-7; ¶s 24-27, 49-69) a head-wearable device (head-mounted device 10), comprising:
a front-facing outer surface (i.e. of display 14F); a first set of components (i.e. selected from optical components 60, 62, 64, …, 80) arranged along a first dimension (X) of the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M), wherein each component of the first set of components (60, 62, 64, …, 80) includes a respective first set of sensors (60, 62, 64, …, 80), and a respective first cover window (“(optical component) window”), wherein the respective first cover window is a first type of cover window including a first stack of material layers; and
a second set of components (60, 62, 64, …, 80 ∈ 104) arranged along the first dimension (X) of the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M), wherein each component of the second set of components (60, 62, 64, …, 80) includes a respective second set of sensors (60, 62, 64, …, 80), and a respective second cover window (“(optical component) window”), wherein the respective second cover window is a second type of cover window including a second stack of material layers, distinct from the first stack of material layers, and wherein the first stack of material layers and the second stack of material layers include at least a glass layer.
(Regarding the respective first/second set of sensors, respective first/second (type of) cover window with respective first/second stack of material layers that include at least a glass layer, note the following excerpts:
¶ 50: “device 10 includes optical components such as optical components 60, 62, 64, ... these optical components (e.g., optical sensors selected from among sensors 16 of FIG. 2...) may be configured to detect light...”
¶ 60, regarding shroud 100’s "optical component windows to accommodate components 60, 62, ..., and 80", and how "Display 14F may have a display cover layer that has corresponding optical component windows… formed from one or more layers of material such as glass”
¶ 67: “Layer 92 may include… multiple stacked layers of material”, “Components 104 may be optical components that emit and/or detect light that passes through… window structures in layer 92 and shroud 100.” – Note: layer 92 here corresponds to the display cover layer of display 14F (per ¶ 67) and components 104 correspond to components 60-80 (per ¶ 64).
See also ¶ 88: “Each optical component may potentially have a different type of optical component window structure in shroud 100 and/or layer 92 to accommodate that component.”)
Olson does not specifically disclose an anti-reflective layer, a glass layer underlying the anti-reflective layer, and an ink layer underlying the glass layer.
Olson and Son commonly relate to cover window structures for display systems.
Son discloses an anti-reflective layer, a glass layer underlying the anti-reflective layer, and an ink layer underlying the glass layer.
(See ¶s 6-7 regarding standard cover windows – “in which an antiscattering film having various functional layers (for example… an anti-reflection layer…)… is attached onto a top surface of a thin cover glass”, and “a black ink layer is coated on… a lower surface of the cover glass”.
See also FIG. 4, ¶s 53-59 detailing Son’s cover window 190, notably including base film BF instead of a more typical glass layer – this change, as discussed in ¶s 6-16, is motivated by applications where more flexibility is desirable. Other features, including those analogous to the claimed {anti-reflective layer, ink layer} remain in Son’s invention and, in FIG. 4, will correspond to {anti-reflection layer AR, light-blocking layer 185}.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Olson and Son, in order to apply known cover window arrangements to hide device components (Son ¶ 58) and protect them from impact, moisture, and heat (Son ¶ 47).
Regarding claim 2, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein:
the first type of cover window (“(optical component) window”) includes a first type of anti-reflective coating (layer 164); and
the second type of cover window (“(optical component) window”) includes a second type of anti-reflective coating (layer 164), distinct from the first type of anti-reflective coating.
(FIG. 13, ¶ 103: “An optional coating layer such as layer 164 may cover the optical window…”, “coating 164… may be configured to form an antireflection coating”. Recall also ¶ 88: “Each optical component may potentially have a different type of optical component window structure in shroud 100 and/or layer 92 to accommodate that component.”)
Regarding claim 3, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 2.
Olson further discloses wherein: the second type of anti-reflective coating (layer 164 for the “(optical component) window”) includes at least one metallic material (See ¶ 46: “covering structures may be formed from... structures that include metal...”; note also from ¶ 49 that “Windows may be provided in the shroud or other cosmetic covering structures”), wherein the metallic material is configured to reduce reflection of incident light having a corresponding wavelength in a first range of wavelengths (Examiner notes that by virtue of belonging to an antireflection coating, any incorporated metallic material would be configured to reduce reflection. Note also that ¶ 103, cited in regards to claim 2 above, further describes thin-film interference and wavelength/band selectivity for coating layer 164).
Regarding claim 8, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses:
wherein each component in the first set of components includes a first type of adhesive to couple the component to the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M), wherein the first type of adhesive has a first characteristic surface pattern; and
each component in the second set of components includes a second type of adhesive to couple the component to the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M), wherein the second type of adhesive has a second characteristic surface pattern.
(See ¶ 76: "Shroud 100 and display cover layer 92 [both provided with the component cover windows, as previously established in regards to claim 1 above] may be attached to main housing portion 26M using adhesive...".
Recall also ¶ 88: “Each optical component may potentially have a different type of optical component window structure in shroud 100 and/or layer 92 to accommodate that component.” Now, since Olson enables different (cover) window structures for different optical components, evidently, the adhesives for such differing structures must also differ in surface patterns/shapes to accommodate the different window structures/shapes.)
Regarding claim 9, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 8.
Olson further discloses wherein the first and second types of adhesives are composed of a pressure-sensitive adhesive material (¶ 77: “A layer of pressure sensitive adhesive… may also be used in attaching cover layer 92 and shroud 100 to housing portion 26M.”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein the second stack of material layers includes one or more layers of infrared (IR) ink adapted to allow light having a wavelength in an infrared wavelength range to pass through. (See the following excerpts:
¶s 45-46: "The covering structures may include transparent portions (e.g., optical component windows) that are characterized by sufficient optical transparency to allow overlapped optical components to operate satisfactorily", "an optical component that emits infrared light may be overlapped with a visibly opaque material that is transparent to infrared light", "covering structures may be formed from ink"
¶s 82-83: "Coating 126 may be... a layer of ink", component 104 transmits and/or receives infrared light. In this type of arrangement, coating 126 may be opaque at visible wavelengths and transparent at infrared wavelengths"
¶ 103: "coating layer 164 may be formed from a layer of ink... that blocks visible light and that is transparent to infrared light"
¶ 104: "Filter coating 168 may be provided on window member 166", "component 104 of FIG. 14... may operate at infrared wavelengths. Filter 168 in this type of arrangement may be transparent to infrared light". "Filter coating 168 may be formed from ink")
Regarding claim 13, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein the first stack of material layers includes one or more layers of a first ink configured to allow transmission of light within a first wavelength range. (See the following excerpts:
¶s 45-46: "The covering structures may include transparent portions (e.g., optical component windows) that are characterized by sufficient optical transparency to allow overlapped optical components to operate satisfactorily", "an optical component that emits infrared light may be overlapped with a visibly opaque material that is transparent to infrared light", "covering structures may be formed from ink"
¶s 82-83: "Coating 126 may be... a layer of ink", component 104 transmits and/or receives infrared light. In this type of arrangement, coating 126 may be opaque at visible wavelengths and transparent at infrared wavelengths"
¶ 103: "coating layer 164 may be formed from a layer of ink... that blocks visible light and that is transparent to infrared light"
¶ 104: "Filter coating 168 may be provided on window member 166", "component 104 of FIG. 14... may operate at infrared wavelengths. Filter 168 in this type of arrangement may be transparent to infrared light". "Filter coating 168 may be formed from ink")
Regarding claim 14, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein:
the first set of sensors includes one or more image sensors; and
the second set of sensors includes a depth-tracking component.
(See ¶ 34: “Sensors 16 may include, for example, three-dimensional sensors (e.g., three-dimensional image sensors…, three-dimensional lidar (light detection and ranging [i.e. depth-tracking]) sensors…), … cameras…”. Note: per ¶ 50, sensors 16 here correspond to the optical components/sensors 60, 62, 64, … 80 which were previously cited in regards to claim 1 above.)
Regarding claim 16, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein: the respective second set of sensors includes a projector configured to project structured light onto real-world objects. (See ¶ 34: “Sensors 16 may include, for example, three-dimensional sensors (e.g., three-dimensional image sensors such as structured light sensors that emit [i.e. project] beams of light and that use two-dimensional digital image sensors to gather image data for three-dimensional images from dots or other light spots that are produced when a target [i.e. real-world object] is illuminated by the beams of light...)”. Note: per ¶ 50, sensors 16 here correspond to the optical components/sensors 60, 62, 64, … 80 which were cited previously in regards to claim 1 above.)
Regarding claim 17, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein:
the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M) is curved along the first dimension (X) (see FIGs. 3, 8); and
each of the respective first and second cover windows is uncurved (see, for example, FIG. 8’s optical component window member 116, FIG. 10’s optical component window member 132, FIG. 13’s window member 166).
Regarding claim 18, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein each of the first and second sets of components include respective component mounts for mounting sensors to the front-facing outer surface (i.e. of main housing portion 26M). (See FIG. 6 and ¶ 66: “Components 104 may be attached to respective left and right sides of bracket 102 and/or other supporting structures in device 10 (e.g., shroud 100) using adhesive, fasteners, press fit connections, and/or other attachment structures [i.e. mounts]”)
Regarding claim 19, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson also discloses (see ¶s 29-34, FIG. 2) the further comprising a processing unit (control circuitry 12) configured for:
projecting, from a projector of the second set of components, structured light towards a controller;
obtaining one or more images from an imaging sensor of the first set of components, wherein the one or more images include imaged patterns corresponding to the structured light; and
performing an operation corresponding to the controller based on a correspondence between the imaged patterns.
(Regarding items A and B above, note from ¶ 34: “Sensors 16 may include, for example, three-dimensional sensors (e.g., three-dimensional image sensors such as structured light sensors that emit [i.e. project] beams of light and that use two-dimensional digital image sensors to gather image data for three-dimensional images from dots or other light spots [i.e. patterns] that are produced when a target [e.g. a controller] is illuminated by the beams of light...)”. Note: per ¶ 50, sensors 16 here correspond to the optical components/sensors 60, 62, 64, … 80 which were previously cited in regards to claim 1 above.
Regarding item C, note from ¶ 29: “Control circuitry 12 may include storage and processing circuitry for controlling the operation of device 10… (e.g., data gathering operations, operations involving the adjustment of the components of device 10 using control signals, etc.).”)
Claims 4-7, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson in view of Son – as applied to claim 1, 2, and 14 above – and in further view of Lee et al (US 20150015959 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 2.
Modified Olson does not disclose wherein the first type of anti-reflective coating includes two or more layers of silicon dioxide and two or more layers of silicon nitride.
Olson and Lee commonly relate to sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses wherein the first type of anti-reflective coating includes two or more layers of silicon dioxide and two or more layers of silicon nitride. (From ¶s 47-48:"Alternating layers of high and low refractive index materials can be used to form optical coatings, such as anti-reflective or anti-glare", "Multilayer coatings consist of a plurality of alternating high and low index layers, for example, HL, HL, HL . . . , etc., or LH, LH, LH..., etc.", "The high refractive index material may be selected from... Si3N4", "The low refractive index material may be selected from the group consisting of SiO--2").
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to be able to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment, thus reducing manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Regarding claim 5, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 2.
Modified Olson does not disclose wherein the first type of anti-reflective coating is applied via ion sputtering.
Olson and Lee commonly relate to sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses wherein the first type of anti-reflective coating is applied via ion sputtering. (From ¶ 44: “optical coatings are applied to glass substrates using PVD coating (sputtered or IAD-EB coated optical coating with thermal evaporation of the ETC coating).”)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to be able to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment, thus reducing manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Regarding claim 6, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 2.
Modified Olson does not disclose wherein the second type of anti-reflective coating includes two or more layers silicon dioxide, and two or more other layers of titanium dioxide.
Olson and Lee commonly relate to sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses wherein the second type of anti-reflective coating includes two or more layers of silicon dioxide, and two or more other layers of titanium dioxide.
(From ¶s 47-48:"Alternating layers of high and low refractive index materials can be used to form optical coatings, such as anti-reflective or anti-glare", "Multilayer coatings consist of a plurality of alternating high and low index layers, for example, HL, HL, HL . . . , etc., or LH, LH, LH..., etc.", "The high refractive index material may be selected from... TiO2", "The low refractive index material may be selected from the group consisting of SiO--2").
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to be able to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment, thus reducing manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Regarding claim 7, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 6.
Lee further discloses wherein the second type of anti-reflective coating is evaporated onto a surface of the respective second cover window. (From ¶ 44: “optical coatings are applied to glass substrates using PVD coating (sputtered or IAD-EB [i.e. the source materials are evaporated by electron beam EB] coated optical coating with thermal evaporation of the ETC coating).”)
Regarding claim 10, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses wherein the first stack of material layers includes a glass layer (Recall ¶ 60, regarding shroud 100’s "optical component windows to accommodate components 60, 62, ..., and 80", and how "Display 14F may have a display cover layer that has corresponding optical component windows… formed from one or more layers of material such as glass”).
Modified Olson does not disclose wherein the glass layer is composed of alkali aluminosilicate glass.
Olson and Lee commonly relate to sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses wherein the glass layer is composed of alkali aluminosilicate glass.
(From ¶ 45: “In the embodiments described herein, the glass used... may be an ion-exchanged or non-ion-exchanged glass. Exemplary glasses include silica glass, aluminosilicate glass…”. Examiner notes also that ion-exchange directly implies the presence of alkali ions.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to be able to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment, thus reducing manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Regarding claim 15, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 14.
Olson further discloses wherein the first stack of material layers includes a glass layer adapted to provide for color passthrough, via a color camera of the one or more image sensors, of physical surroundings of a user of the head-wearable device (head-mounted device 10). (See ¶ 78: “Optical components 78 and 66 may be visible-light [i.e. color] cameras that capture real-time images of the environment surrounding device 10. These cameras, which may sometimes be referred to as scene cameras or pass-through-video cameras, may capture moving images that are displayed in real time”
Recall also ¶ 60, regarding shroud 100’s "optical component windows to accommodate components 60, 62, ..., and 80", and how "Display 14F may have a display cover layer that has corresponding optical component windows… formed from one or more layers of material such as glass”)
Modified Olson does not disclose that the glass layer is an alkali aluminosilicate glass layer.
Olson and Lee commonly relate to sensor-display systems with antireflective coatings.
Lee discloses that the glass layer is an alkali aluminosilicate glass layer.
(From ¶ 45: “In the embodiments described herein, the glass used... may be an ion-exchanged or non-ion-exchanged glass. Exemplary glasses include silica glass, aluminosilicate glass…”. Examiner notes also that ion-exchange directly implies the presence of alkali ions.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Olson and Lee, in order to provide glass articles with multiple coatings that all use the same basic procedure and equipment which thus reduces manufacturing costs (Lee ¶s 2-4).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson in view of Son, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Jarvis and Quinones (US 20190364179 A1, hereinafter “Jarvis”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Olson further discloses an aperture configured to improve audio received by a microphone of a set of sensors. (See ¶ 34: “Sensors 16 may include, for example… audio sensors (microphones)”; Examiner notes that all microphones must have some form of aperture to allow/improve audio reception)
Modified Olson does not disclose wherein the second type of cover window includes the aperture, or that the microphone is of the second set of sensors. (As noted above in regards to claim 1, much of details provided by Olson are those associated with optical components, rather than audio components which are apparently held as separate features.)
Olson and Jarvis commonly relate to sensor-display systems.
Jarvis discloses (see FIGs. 2-4A, ¶s 45-54) wherein the second type of cover window (camera cover glass 232) includes the aperture (second opening 414), and that the microphone (audio transducer 226 “can be a microphone” – ¶ 45) is of the second set of sensors (I/O assembly 110).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Olson with design aspects of Jarvis, in order to accommodate consolidated/multifunctional (imaging, audio) sensors.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson in view of Son, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kim et al (US 20170364172 A1, hereinafter "Kim")
Regarding claim 20, modified Olson discloses the head-wearable device of claim 1.
Son further discloses wherein
the anti-reflective layer (anti-reflection layer AR) has a thickness in a range from greater than or equal to 200 nm to less than or equal to 2000 nm (¶ 56: “A thickness of the anti-reflection layer AR can be in a range of 0.1 μm to 1 μm”),
the glass layer (base film BF) has a thickness in a range from greater than or equal to 200 nm to less than or equal 1000 μm (“A thickness of the base film BF can be in a range of 80 μm to 150 μm”. Note, per ¶s 6-16, and as established with respect to claim 1 above, that Son’s base film BF acts as a functional substitute for thin cover glasses of more conventional cover windows).
Modified Olson does not disclose that the ink layer has a thickness in a range from greater than or equal to 1 nm to less than or equal to 10 μm
Olson and Kim commonly relate to cover window structures for display systems.
Kim discloses (see ¶s 76-89) that the ink layer (color layer 430) has a thickness in a range from greater than or equal to 1 nm to less than or equal to 10 μm (¶ 88: “a thickness of the color layer 430 realized through printing may be 5 μm to 50 μm”)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to also combine teachings of Olson and Kim, in order to further contribute to hiding underlying device components, and also to improve visual blending of the cover window with its surroundings while preserving device functionality (Kim ¶s 86-87).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872