DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 3/2/2026.
Claims 2, 3 and 16 have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1, 4-15 and 17-20 is/are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, filed 3/2/2026, with respect to objection of claim 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 2-5 of the remarks, in regard to claims 1, 11 and 15, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. US 20200029316 and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US 20200029316 in view of You et al., “Method for Setting Connection Between User Equipment and Base Station in Communication System Supporting Carrier Aggregation”, 2016-07-06, KR, KR 20160079241.
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Issue #1a:
The present amended claims relate to a configuration in which the state of a base station is classified into a preliminary inactive state, an inactive state, an energy saving state, and an active normal state, and information regarding such state is indicated to a terminal such that, when the base station enters the preliminary inactive state or the like, the terminal performs cell reselection. This is not merely a suspension of operation of a specific cell, but rather a network-level control mechanism that induces a change in the terminal's cell selection itself in response to a change in the operational policy of the base station.
Issue #2a:
Zhou, cited in the Action, discloses a technique in which the state of a specific SCell (active/dormant/inactive) is indicated through an SCell state indicator, for the purpose of controlling operation of a secondary cell in a carrier aggregation (CA) environment. When a dormant or inactive state is indicated in Zhou, the terminal stops PDCCH monitoring and data transmission/reception and operates related timers. However, this merely adjusts the operation of the SCell while maintaining the same PCell, and does not disclose or suggest inducing cell reselection. In contrast, the embodiments corresponding to the present amended independent claims cause the terminal to perform cell reselection when the base station enters a preliminary inactive state, thereby changing the connection structure itself. In this respect, the technical nature of the present embodiments is fundamentally different from that of Zhou.
Issue #3a:
Furthermore, the "preliminary inactive offset" of the present claims is not a mere time delay value or timer setting, but a policy control parameter that is reflected in the cell selection criteria to adjust the priority of a particular base station. That is, it is a value directly incorporated into the cell selection determination logic to induce the terminal to preferentially select another cell in consideration of the likelihood that the base station will become inactive in the near future. In contrast, the SCell deactivation timer in Zhou and the offsets disclosed in You for measurement control or handover determination merely control the timing of specific events and are clearly distinguishable from modifying the cell selection criteria itself.
Issue #4a:
Moreover, Zhou relates to optimization of SCell operation, and You relates to measurement control and handover determination for blind SCells. Neither reference discloses or suggests a structure in which, in connection with an energy saving policy of a base station, a terminal is proactively induced to perform cell reselection, nor do they disclose introducing an offset that is reflected in the cell selection evaluation for such purpose. Accordingly, even if the timer operation of Zhou were combined with the measurement control of You, it would not have been obvious to arrive at the configuration of the presently pending claims in which cell reselection is performed based on the preliminary inactive state of the base station.
Issue #5a:
Thus, the presently pending claims go beyond a mere state indication or timer control and clearly differs from the cited references in that base station state information is reflected in the cell selection criteria to proactively reconfigure the network structure. The amended claims therefore include technical features that would not have been obvious in view of the cited references.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With regards to Issue #1a:
The Examiner notes the claims do NOT teach, “when the base station enters the preliminary inactive state or the like, the terminal performs cell reselection”, as argued by the Applicant, rather the claims teach, “a cell is selected”, there is NO teaching of “reselection.”
Furthermore, the claims do NOT teach, “a change in the terminal's cell selection itself in response to a change in the operational policy of the base station”, as argued by the Applicant, as there is NO mention of “operational policy of the base station” in the claims.
With regards to Issue #2a:
See Issue #1a as discussed above with regards to “reselection”, as noted by Applicant’s argument, “does not disclose or suggest inducing cell reselection”.
Furthermore, the Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument of “the technical nature of the present embodiments is fundamentally different from that of Zhou”, as Zhou teaches a base station configured with a plurality of SCells
transmitting configuration information to a wireless device associated with a
dormant state for an SCell, where the wireless device for an SCell in the dormant
state provides feedback information for quick and accurate activation of an SCell
based on the feedback provide while in the dormant state, where “dormant state” maps to “preliminary inactive state”, where “dormant state” maps to “inactive state”, and is “preliminary”, as the “wireless device” is reporting information for the SCell prior to the “wireless device” “monitoring PDCCH on/for the SCell” (see para. 0361).
With regards to Issue #3a:
The Examiner notes the claims do NOT teach, “a policy control parameter that is reflected in the cell selection criteria to adjust the priority of a particular base station”, as argued by the Applicant. There is NO mention of “policy control parameter”, or “priority of a particular base station” in the claims.
Furthermore, the claims do NOT teach, “in consideration of the likelihood that the base station will become inactive in the near future” or “modifying the cell selection criteria itself”, as argued by the Applicant, there is NO mention of, “base station will become inactive in the near future” or “modifying the cell selection criteria”, in the claims.
With regards to Issue #4a:
The Examiner notes the claims do NOT teach, “in connection with an energy saving policy of a base station, a terminal is proactively induced to perform cell reselection”, see Issue #1a above with regards to “reselection”, and there is NO mention of “energy saving policy of a base station.”
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument of “it would not have been obvious to arrive at the configuration of the presently pending claims in which cell reselection is performed based on the preliminary inactive state of the base station”, as it is well-known in the prior art at the time of to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement, cell “selection”, as claimed, with regards to an inactive/deactivated SCell, where SCells are associated with a base station.
With regards to Issue #5a:
See the Examiner’s arguments with regards to Issues #1a-#5a as discussed above with regards to, “the presently pending claims go beyond a mere state indication or timer control and clearly differs from the cited references in that base station state information is reflected in the cell selection criteria to proactively reconfigure the network structure”.
On page 5 of the remarks, in regard to the dependent claims, the Applicant states that the claims are allowable at least due to the deficiencies of the ground of rejection applied to the independent claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner kindly refers the Applicant to the reasoning pertaining to the independent claims, detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US 20200029316 in view of You et al., “Method for Setting Connection Between User Equipment and Base Station in Communication System Supporting Carrier Aggregation”, 2016-07-06, KR, KR 20160079241 (citations are from English translation).
As to claim 1:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method of a terminal, comprising:
receiving a first message including state information of a base station from the base station;
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(where
“wireless device” maps to “terminal”
“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. …A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example…The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states.” Maps to “receiving a first message including state information of a base station from the base station”, where “base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages” maps to “receiving a first message…from a base station”, “dormant state”/”inactive state”/”SCell state indicator” maps to “state information”
identifying preliminary inactive state information included in the first message when the state information of the base station indicates a preliminary inactive state; and
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(where
“Receive…hibernation MAC CE”/”SCell in dormant state”/FIG. 21-22/”Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state” maps to “identifying preliminary inactive state information included in the first message”, “dormant state” maps to “preliminary inactive state”, “dormant state…quick…accurate…transitioned back” maps to “preliminary”
performing a cell selection based on the preliminary inactive state information.
(“A base station may activate, hibernate, and/or deactivate at least one of one or more SCells, for example, if the base station is configured with the one or more SCells.”; Zhou et al.; 0369)
(where
“Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state”/”A base station may activate, … at least one of one or more SCells” maps to “performing a cell selection based on the preliminary inactive state information”, where “scheduling on the SCell”/”activate…one…SCells” maps to “performing a cell selection”, “dormant state…”always-updated” CSI…quick…accurate…based on always-updated CSI…if the SCell is transitioned back to the active state” maps to “based on the preliminary inactive state information”
Zhou et al. teaches a base station configured with a plurality of SCells transmitting configuration information to a wireless device associated with a dormant state for an SCell, where the wireless device for an SCell in the dormant state provides feedback information for quick and accurate activation of an SCell based on the feedback provide while in the dormant state.
A method, wherein the preliminary inactive state information includes at least one of an inactive state start time…
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
Zhou et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein when the preliminary inactive state information includes the preliminary inactive offset, a cell is selected in consideration of the preliminary inactive offset.
However, You et al. further teaches an offset/handover capability which includes:
wherein when the preliminary inactive state information includes the preliminary inactive offset, a cell is selected in consideration of the preliminary inactive offset.
(“On the other hand, since the connection to the blind SCell is added to the terminal without the measurement process for the blind SCell, a radio channel environment sufficient to perform communication between the blind SCell and the terminal can not be guaranteed. Accordingly, the base station transmits a measurement control message including information related to the measurement to the terminal so that the terminal can perform measurement on the newly added blind SCell (S260). The measurement control message may include information on a threshold value, an offset value, and the like for determining whether a trigger condition of a specific event is satisfied when the UE performs measurement with the blind SCell. Although not explicitly shown, the terminal may perform measurements on the blind SCell using the information contained in the measurement control message received in S260.”; You et al.; p.6, para. 4)
(“First, the terminal performs handover to a new cell (S510). The target cell to be handed over may be PCell. FIG. 5 shows the case where the blind SCell is set to the target PCell and the case where the blind SCell is not set, respectively. In the box shown in the upper part of FIG. 5, the blind SCell is set to the target PCell (when the adaptive CA is applied) and the lower box is set to the case where the blind SCell is not set (when the adaptive CA is not applied) Respectively.”; You et al.; p.7, last para.)
(“The case where the blind SCell is set in the base station will be described first. When the connection between the MS and the new PCell is established, the BS transmits an RRC connection re-establishment message to the MS (S520). This RRC connection reset message may be a message instructing the base station to add a connection with the blind SCell predetermined. The UE adds a connection with the blind SCell without performing a measurement on the blind SCell, and then transmits an RRC connection reset completion message to the base station indicating that a connection with the blind SCell is added (S530). Meanwhile, since the connection to the blind SCell is added to the terminal without measuring the blind SCell, the base station instructs the terminal to perform the measurement on the blind SCell by transmitting the A2 / A6 measurement control message to the terminal (S540). That is, the BS may transmit information on a threshold value or an offset value to the UE for determining whether the trigger condition for a predetermined event is satisfied through the measurement on the blind SCell.”; You et al.; p.8, first para.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the offset/handover capability of You et al. into Zhou et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Zhou et al. to include the offset/handover capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of improved resource management (Zhou et al.; Abstract) with improved carrier aggregation (You et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 4:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method identifying inactive state information included in the first message when the state information of the base station indicates an inactive state; and
performing a cell selection based on the inactive state information.
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“A base station may activate, hibernate, and/or deactivate at least one of one or more SCells, for example, if the base station is configured with the one or more SCells.”; Zhou et al.; 0369)
As to claim 5:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method wherein the inactive state information includes at least one of an inactive state start time, …
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“A base station may activate, hibernate, and/or deactivate at least one of one or more SCells, for example, if the base station is configured with the one or more SCells.”; Zhou et al.; 0369)
As to claim 6:
Zhou et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein when the inactive state information includes the inactive offset, a cell is selected in consideration of the inactive offset.
However, You et al. further teaches an offset/handover capability which includes:
wherein when the inactive state information includes the inactive offset, a cell is selected in consideration of the inactive offset.
(“On the other hand, since the connection to the blind SCell is added to the terminal without the measurement process for the blind SCell, a radio channel environment sufficient to perform communication between the blind SCell and the terminal can not be guaranteed. Accordingly, the base station transmits a measurement control message including information related to the measurement to the terminal so that the terminal can perform measurement on the newly added blind SCell (S260). The measurement control message may include information on a threshold value, an offset value, and the like for determining whether a trigger condition of a specific event is satisfied when the UE performs measurement with the blind SCell. Although not explicitly shown, the terminal may perform measurements on the blind SCell using the information contained in the measurement control message received in S260.”; You et al.; p.6, para. 4)
(“First, the terminal performs handover to a new cell (S510). The target cell to be handed over may be PCell. FIG. 5 shows the case where the blind SCell is set to the target PCell and the case where the blind SCell is not set, respectively. In the box shown in the upper part of FIG. 5, the blind SCell is set to the target PCell (when the adaptive CA is applied) and the lower box is set to the case where the blind SCell is not set (when the adaptive CA is not applied) Respectively.”; You et al.; p.7, last para.)
(“The case where the blind SCell is set in the base station will be described first. When the connection between the MS and the new PCell is established, the BS transmits an RRC connection re-establishment message to the MS (S520). This RRC connection reset message may be a message instructing the base station to add a connection with the blind SCell predetermined. The UE adds a connection with the blind SCell without performing a measurement on the blind SCell, and then transmits an RRC connection reset completion message to the base station indicating that a connection with the blind SCell is added (S530). Meanwhile, since the connection to the blind SCell is added to the terminal without measuring the blind SCell, the base station instructs the terminal to perform the measurement on the blind SCell by transmitting the A2 / A6 measurement control message to the terminal (S540). That is, the BS may transmit information on a threshold value or an offset value to the UE for determining whether the trigger condition for a predetermined event is satisfied through the measurement on the blind SCell.”; You et al.; p.8, first para.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the offset/handover capability of You et al. into Zhou et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Zhou et al. to include the offset/handover capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of improved resource management (Zhou et al.; Abstract) with improved carrier aggregation (You et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 7:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method identifying inactive state information included in the first message when the state information of the base station indicates an inactive state; and
performing a cell selection based on the inactive state information.
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“A base station may activate, hibernate, and/or deactivate at least one of one or more SCells, for example, if the base station is configured with the one or more SCells.”; Zhou et al.; 0369)
As to claim 11:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method of a base station, comprising:
generating a first message including state information of the base station; and
transmitting the first message to a terminal,
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(where
“wireless device” maps to “terminal”
“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. …A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example…The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states.” Maps to “generating a first message including state information of the base station; and transmitting the first message to a terminal”, where “base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages” maps to “transmitting the first message to a terminal”, “dormant state”/”inactive state”/”SCell state indicator” maps to “state information”
wherein when the state information of the base station indicates a preliminary inactive state, the first message includes a preliminary inactive offset, and further includes at least one of an inactive state start time …
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“A wireless device (e.g., MAC entity of a wireless device) and/or a base station (e.g., a MAC entity of a base station) may (e.g., if configured with an SCell associated with an SCell state set to dormant state upon the SCell configuration, or if receiving MAC CE(s) for transitioning the SCell to dormant state): set (e.g., transition) the SCell to dormant state, stop an SCell deactivation timer associated with the SCell, stop an SCell hibernation timer (if configured) associated with the SCell, start or restart a dormant SCell deactivation timer associated with the SCell, and/or flush all HARQ buffers associated with the SCell. The wireless device (e.g., MAC entity of a wireless device) and/or a base station (e.g., a MAC entity of a base station) may (e.g., if the SCell hibernation timer associated with the activated SCell expires): hibernate the SCell…”; Zhou et al.; 0375)
(where
“Receive…hibernation MAC CE”/”SCell in dormant state”/FIG. 21-22/”Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state” maps to “wherein when the state information of the base station indicates a preliminary inactive state”, “dormant state” maps to “preliminary inactive state”, “dormant state…quick…accurate…transitioned back” maps to “preliminary”
“send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells”/“Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate … a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer)”/”if the SCell hibernation timer associated with the activated SCell expires): hibernate the SCell”/”SCell in dormant state”/FIG. 23 maps to “the first message includes at least one of an inactive state start time …”, where “configuration parameters”/”messages” maps to “the first message”, “a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer)” maps to “inactive state start time”, where the “hibernate the SCell”/”SCell in dormant state” starts when the “SCell hibernation timer” “expires” where “second value” maps to “start time”, “hibernate”/”dormant state” maps to “inactive state”
Zhou et al. teaches a base station configured with a plurality of SCells transmitting configuration information to a wireless device associated with a dormant state for an SCell, where the wireless device for an SCell in the dormant state provides feedback information for quick and accurate activation of an SCell based on the feedback provide while in the dormant state, where a value for hibernation/dormancy is communicated to the wireless device for transitioning to the dormant state.
Zhou et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first message causes the terminal to perform a cell selection in consideration of the preliminary inactive offset.
However, You et al. further teaches an offset/handover capability which includes:
wherein the first message causes the terminal to perform a cell selection in consideration of the preliminary inactive offset.
(“On the other hand, since the connection to the blind SCell is added to the terminal without the measurement process for the blind SCell, a radio channel environment sufficient to perform communication between the blind SCell and the terminal can not be guaranteed. Accordingly, the base station transmits a measurement control message including information related to the measurement to the terminal so that the terminal can perform measurement on the newly added blind SCell (S260). The measurement control message may include information on a threshold value, an offset value, and the like for determining whether a trigger condition of a specific event is satisfied when the UE performs measurement with the blind SCell. Although not explicitly shown, the terminal may perform measurements on the blind SCell using the information contained in the measurement control message received in S260.”; You et al.; p.6, para. 4)
(“First, the terminal performs handover to a new cell (S510). The target cell to be handed over may be PCell. FIG. 5 shows the case where the blind SCell is set to the target PCell and the case where the blind SCell is not set, respectively. In the box shown in the upper part of FIG. 5, the blind SCell is set to the target PCell (when the adaptive CA is applied) and the lower box is set to the case where the blind SCell is not set (when the adaptive CA is not applied) Respectively.”; You et al.; p.7, last para.)
(“The case where the blind SCell is set in the base station will be described first. When the connection between the MS and the new PCell is established, the BS transmits an RRC connection re-establishment message to the MS (S520). This RRC connection reset message may be a message instructing the base station to add a connection with the blind SCell predetermined. The UE adds a connection with the blind SCell without performing a measurement on the blind SCell, and then transmits an RRC connection reset completion message to the base station indicating that a connection with the blind SCell is added (S530). Meanwhile, since the connection to the blind SCell is added to the terminal without measuring the blind SCell, the base station instructs the terminal to perform the measurement on the blind SCell by transmitting the A2 / A6 measurement control message to the terminal (S540). That is, the BS may transmit information on a threshold value or an offset value to the UE for determining whether the trigger condition for a predetermined event is satisfied through the measurement on the blind SCell.”; You et al.; p.8, first para.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the offset/handover capability of You et al. into Zhou et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Zhou et al. to include the offset/handover capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of improved resource management (Zhou et al.; Abstract) with improved carrier aggregation (You et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method, wherein when the state information of the base station indicates an inactive state, the first message includes at least one of an inactive state start time, ….
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“A base station may activate, hibernate, and/or deactivate at least one of one or more SCells, for example, if the base station is configured with the one or more SCells.”; Zhou et al.; 0369)
As to claim 14:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method, wherein the first message is at least one of a system information message broadcast by the base station, a system message transmitted to the terminal, or a dedicated message transmitted to the terminal.
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(“FIG. 2B shows an example control plane protocol stack. A PDCP (e.g., 233 and 242), RLC (e.g., 234 and 243), and MAC (e.g., 235 and 244) sublayers, and a PHY (e.g., 236 and 245) layer, may be terminated in a wireless device (e.g., 110), and in a base station (e.g., 120) on a network side, and perform service and/or functions described above. RRC (e.g., 232 and 241) may be terminated in a wireless device and a base station on a network side. Services and/or functions of RRC may comprise broadcast of system information related to AS and/or NAS; paging (e.g., initiated by a 5GC or a RAN); establishment, maintenance, and/or release of an RRC connection between the wireless device and RAN; security functions such as key management, establishment, configuration, maintenance, and/or release of Signaling Radio Bearers (SRBs) and Data Radio Bearers (DRBs); mobility functions; QoS management functions; wireless device measurement reporting and control of the reporting; detection of and recovery from radio link failure; and/or NAS message transfer to/from NAS from/to a wireless device. NAS control protocol (e.g., 231 and 251) may be terminated in the wireless device and AMF (e.g., 130) on a network side. NAS control protocol may perform functions such as authentication, mobility management between a wireless device and an AMF (e.g., for 3GPP access and non-3GPP access), and/or session management between a wireless device and an SMF (e.g., for 3GPP access and non-3GPP access).”; Zhou et al.; 0219)
As to claim 15:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A terminal comprising a processor,
wherein the processor causes the terminal to perform:
receiving a first message including state information of a base station from the base station;
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(where
“wireless device” maps to “terminal”
“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. …A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example…The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states.” Maps to “receiving a first message including state information of a base station from the base station”, where “base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages” maps to “receiving a first message…from a base station”, “dormant state”/”inactive state”/”SCell state indicator” maps to “state information”
identifying preliminary inactive state information included in the first message when the state information of the base station indicates a preliminary inactive state; and
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(where
“Receive…hibernation MAC CE”/”SCell in dormant state”/FIG. 21-22/”Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state” maps to “identifying preliminary inactive state information included in the first message”, “dormant state” maps to “preliminary inactive state”, “dormant state…quick…accurate…transitioned back” maps to “preliminary”
performing a cell selection based on the preliminary inactive state information.
(“A base station may activate, hibernate, and/or deactivate at least one of one or more SCells, for example, if the base station is configured with the one or more SCells.”; Zhou et al.; 0369)
(where
“Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state”/”A base station may activate, … at least one of one or more SCells” maps to “performing a cell selection based on the preliminary inactive state information”, where “scheduling on the SCell”/”activate…one…SCells” maps to “performing a cell selection”, “dormant state…”always-updated” CSI…quick…accurate…based on always-updated CSI…if the SCell is transitioned back to the active state” maps to “based on the preliminary inactive state information”
Zhou et al. teaches a base station configured with a plurality of SCells transmitting configuration information to a wireless device associated with a dormant state for an SCell, where the wireless device for an SCell in the dormant state provides feedback information for quick and accurate activation of an SCell based on the feedback provide while in the dormant state.
Zhou et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein when the preliminary inactive state information includes the preliminary inactive offset, a cell is selected in consideration of the preliminary inactive offset.
However, You et al. further teaches an offset/handover capability which includes:
wherein when the preliminary inactive state information includes the preliminary inactive offset, a cell is selected in consideration of the preliminary inactive offset.
(“On the other hand, since the connection to the blind SCell is added to the terminal without the measurement process for the blind SCell, a radio channel environment sufficient to perform communication between the blind SCell and the terminal can not be guaranteed. Accordingly, the base station transmits a measurement control message including information related to the measurement to the terminal so that the terminal can perform measurement on the newly added blind SCell (S260). The measurement control message may include information on a threshold value, an offset value, and the like for determining whether a trigger condition of a specific event is satisfied when the UE performs measurement with the blind SCell. Although not explicitly shown, the terminal may perform measurements on the blind SCell using the information contained in the measurement control message received in S260.”; You et al.; p.6, para. 4)
(“First, the terminal performs handover to a new cell (S510). The target cell to be handed over may be PCell. FIG. 5 shows the case where the blind SCell is set to the target PCell and the case where the blind SCell is not set, respectively. In the box shown in the upper part of FIG. 5, the blind SCell is set to the target PCell (when the adaptive CA is applied) and the lower box is set to the case where the blind SCell is not set (when the adaptive CA is not applied) Respectively.”; You et al.; p.7, last para.)
(“The case where the blind SCell is set in the base station will be described first. When the connection between the MS and the new PCell is established, the BS transmits an RRC connection re-establishment message to the MS (S520). This RRC connection reset message may be a message instructing the base station to add a connection with the blind SCell predetermined. The UE adds a connection with the blind SCell without performing a measurement on the blind SCell, and then transmits an RRC connection reset completion message to the base station indicating that a connection with the blind SCell is added (S530). Meanwhile, since the connection to the blind SCell is added to the terminal without measuring the blind SCell, the base station instructs the terminal to perform the measurement on the blind SCell by transmitting the A2 / A6 measurement control message to the terminal (S540). That is, the BS may transmit information on a threshold value or an offset value to the UE for determining whether the trigger condition for a predetermined event is satisfied through the measurement on the blind SCell.”; You et al.; p.8, first para.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the offset/handover capability of You et al. into Zhou et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Zhou et al. to include the offset/handover capability as taught by the processing/communications of You et al., the benefits of improved resource management (Zhou et al.; Abstract) with improved carrier aggregation (You et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 17:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method identifying inactive state information included in the first message when the state information of the base station indicates an inactive state; and
performing a cell selection based on the inactive state information.
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“A base station may activate, hibernate, and/or deactivate at least one of one or more SCells, for example, if the base station is configured with the one or more SCells.”; Zhou et al.; 0369)
As to claim 18:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method wherein the inactive state information includes at least one of an inactive state start time, …
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“A base station may activate, hibernate, and/or deactivate at least one of one or more SCells, for example, if the base station is configured with the one or more SCells.”; Zhou et al.; 0369)
As to claim 19:
Zhou et al. discloses:
A method identifying inactive state information included in the first message when the state information of the base station indicates an inactive state; and
performing a cell selection based on the inactive state information.
(“A base station may send (e.g., transmit), to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more messages may comprise, for example, one or more RRC messages (e.g., RRC connection reconfiguration message, and/or RRC connection reestablishment message, and/or RRC connection setup message). A first cell of the one or more cells may be, for example, a PCell or a PSCell. A second cell of the one or more cells may be an SCell, for example, if carrier aggregation and/or dual connectivity is configured. The second cell may be associated with an SCell state indicator (e.g., sCellState), for example, if a second cell is an SCell configured without PUCCH. An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of an active state (e.g., “activated”), a dormant state (e.g., “dormant”), or an inactive state (e.g., “inactive”). An SCell state indicator associated with an SCell may be set to one of “activated” or “dormant” states. An SCell may be set to inactive state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). An SCell may be set to dormant state, for example, if the SCell is configured without the SCell state indicator (e.g., if the SCell state indicator is absent). Configuration parameters, associated with at least one of the one or more cells, may further indicate a first value of a first SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), a second value of a second SCell timer (e.g., sCellHibernationTimer), and/or a third value of a third SCell timer (e.g., dormantSCellDeactivationTimer).”; Zhou et al.; 0394)
(“…Not transmitting, not monitoring, not receiving, and/or not performing an action may comprise, for example, refraining from transmitting, refraining from monitoring, refraining from receiving, and/or refraining from performing an action, respectively. Reporting CSI for an SCell, that has been transitioned to a dormant state, and not monitoring the PDCCH on/for the SCell, may provide the base station an “always-updated” CSI for the SCell. The base station may use a quick and/or accurate channel adaptive scheduling on the SCell, based on the always-updated CSI, if the SCell is transitioned back to active state. Using the always-updated CSI may speed up an activation procedure of the SCell. Reporting CSI for the SCell and not monitoring the PDCCH on and/or for the SCell (e.g., that may have been transitioned to a dormant state), may provide advantages such as increased battery efficiency, reduced power consumption of the wireless device, and/or increased timeliness and/or accuracy of channel feedback information feedback. A PCell/PSCell and/or a PUCCH SCell, for example, may not be configured or transitioned to a dormant state.”; Zhou et al.; 0361)
(“A base station may activate, hibernate, and/or deactivate at least one of one or more SCells, for example, if the base station is configured with the one or more SCells.”; Zhou et al.; 0369)
Claim(s) 8, 9, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US 20200029316 in view of You et al., “Method for Setting Connection Between User Equipment and Base Station in Communication System Supporting Carrier Aggregation”, 2016-07-06, KR, KR 20160079241 (citations are from English translation) and in further view of Zhou et al. US 20230284065 (hereinafter “Zhou2”).
As to claim 8:
Zhou et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the energy saving state information includes at least one of an energy saving offset or…
However, Zhou2 further teaches an R bit/power offset/energy saving state which includes:
wherein the energy saving state information includes at least one of an energy saving offset or…
(“A MAC CE comprising the energy saving indication may reuse an existing MAC CE. A R bit of SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE (e.g., based on example of FIG. 21A and/or FIG. 21B) may be used for energy saving indication. The R bit may indicate a power offset value for RS (e.g., SSB/CSI-RS) transmission (e.g., of a PCell, or of a PCell and all active SCells) in energy saving state.”; Zhou et al.; 0398)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the R bit/power offset/energy saving state capability of Zhou2 into Zhou et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Zhou et al. to include the R bit/power offset/energy saving state capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhou2, the benefits of improved resource management (Zhou et al.; Abstract) with improved reporting (Zhou2; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
Zhou et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein when the energy saving state information includes the energy saving offset, a cell is selected in consideration of the energy saving offset.
However, Zhou2 further teaches an R bit/power offset/energy saving state/handover which includes:
wherein when the energy saving state information includes the energy saving offset, a cell is selected in consideration of the energy saving offset.
(“A MAC CE comprising the energy saving indication may reuse an existing MAC CE. A R bit of SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE (e.g., based on example of FIG. 21A and/or FIG. 21B) may be used for energy saving indication. The R bit may indicate a power offset value for RS (e.g., SSB/CSI-RS) transmission (e.g., of a PCell, or of a PCell and all active SCells) in energy saving state.”; Zhou et al.; 0398)
(“Examples described herein may comprise scaling beam/cell measurements (e.g., layer 1 scaling of beam/cell measurements) received over one or more reference signals (e.g., one or more SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) of a cell in an energy saving state using a power offset determined, for example, based on a power difference between a first transmission power of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) in a non-energy-saving state and a second transmission power of reference signals (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs) in an energy saving state. The wireless device may determine/derive, the (layer 3) beam/cell measurement of the cell for beam/cell measurement reporting, for example, based on the scaled (layer 1) beam/cell measurements. By making the adjustments corresponding to the power offset, advantages may be achieved such as improved accuracy of beam/cell measurement report, reduction of wrong assignment and/or handover decisions, etc.”; Zhou et al.; 0381)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the R bit/power offset/energy saving state/handover capability of Zhou2 into Zhou et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Zhou et al. to include the R bit/power offset/energy saving state/handover capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhou2, the benefits of improved resource management (Zhou et al.; Abstract) with improved reporting (Zhou2; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 13:
Zhou et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the energy saving state information includes at least one of an energy saving offset or…
However, Zhou2 further teaches an R bit/power offset/energy saving state which includes:
wherein the energy saving state information includes at least one of an energy saving offset or…
(“A MAC CE comprising the energy saving indication may reuse an existing MAC CE. A R bit of SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE (e.g., based on example of FIG. 21A and/or FIG. 21B) may be used for energy saving indication. The R bit may indicate a power offset value for RS (e.g., SSB/CSI-RS) transmission (e.g., of a PCell, or of a PCell and all active SCells) in energy saving state.”; Zhou et al.; 0398)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the R bit/power offset/energy saving state capability of Zhou2 into Zhou et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Zhou et al. to include the R bit/power offset/energy saving state capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhou2, the benefits of improved resource management (Zhou et al.; Abstract) with improved reporting (Zhou2; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 20:
Zhou et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the energy saving state information includes at least one of an energy saving offset or…
However, Zhou2 further teaches an R bit/power offset/energy saving state which includes:
wherein the energy saving state information includes at least one of an energy saving offset or…
(“A MAC CE comprising the energy saving indication may reuse an existing MAC CE. A R bit of SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE (e.g., based on example of FIG. 21A and/or FIG. 21B) may be used for energy saving indication. The R bit may indicate a power offset value for RS (e.g., SSB/CSI-RS) transmission (e.g., of a PCell, or of a PCell and all active SCells) in energy saving state.”; Zhou et al.; 0398)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the R bit/power offset/energy saving state capability of Zhou2 into Zhou et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Zhou et al. to include the R bit/power offset/energy saving state capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhou2, the benefits of improved resource management (Zhou et al.; Abstract) with improved reporting (Zhou2; Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US 20200029316 in view of You et al., “Method for Setting Connection Between User Equipment and Base Station in Communication System Supporting Carrier Aggregation”, 2016-07-06, KR, KR 20160079241 (citations are from English translation) and in further view of Xu et al. US 20200128479.
As to claim 10:
Zhou et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
generating a first message for notifying that there is no other cell that satisfies cell selection criteria when there is no other cell that satisfies the cell selection criteria except for the base station to which the terminal is currently accessing; and
transmitting the first message to the base station.
However, Xu et al. further teaches a quantity of SCells supported which includes:
generating a first message for notifying that there is no other cell that satisfies cell selection criteria when there is no other cell that satisfies the cell selection criteria except for the base station to which the terminal is currently accessing; and
transmitting the first message to the base station.
(“Step 3: After the base station receives the overheating problem indication message reported by the UE, if the overheating problem indication message includes information about a quantity of activated-state SCells that can be currently supported by the UE, the base station determines whether to deactivate an SCell for the UE and determines which SCell is to be deactivated, or determines whether to release a configured component carrier/serving cell/SCell for the UE. If a decision result of the base station is to deactivate an SCell for the UE, a Media Access Control (Medium Access Control, MAC) layer of the base station generates activation/deactivation control signaling (Activation/Deactivation MAC CE), indicates the SCell that shall (shall) be deactivated in the activation/deactivation MAC CE, and sends the SCell to the UE. If a decision result of the base station is not to deactivate any SCell for the UE, the base station does not need to send any message to the UE.”; Xu et al.; 0125)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the quantity of SCells supported capability of Xu et al. into Zhou et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Zhou et al. to include the quantity of SCells supported capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xu et al., the benefits of improved resource management (Zhou et al.; Abstract) with improved overheating alleviation (Xu et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464