DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 07/01/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
The drawings [filed 09/26/2023] are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the membrane sheet recited in claims 12-14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 9, 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng [US 2020/0042101].
In regard to claims 7 and 10, Cheng discloses [in Fig. 2A] a keycap, comprising: a keycap main body [11]; a plurality of metal oxides [par. 0045]; and a character layer [par. 0045] disposed on an outer surface of the keycap main body [11], the character layer comprises an opaque region [region outside 11a] and a light-transmitting region [11a], and a transmittancy of the light-transmitting region is greater than a transmittancy of the opaque region, a shape of the light-transmitting region is a character or a graphic [Fig. 5B], wherein the plurality of metal oxides are distributed throughout the character layer [par. 0045], and wherein the light-transmitting region has a thickness to cover the keycap main body [11]. With respect to the limitations that the metal oxides are doped in the character layer and the light-transmitting region is formed by irradiating a portion of the opaque region with an energy beam, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, these limitations have not been given significant patentable weight. 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965).
In regard to claim 9, Cheng discloses [in Fig. 2A] the keycap according to claim 7, wherein the character layer comprises ink [par. 0045].
In regard to claims 12 and 13, Cheng discloses [in Fig. 2A] a keycap, comprising: a keycap main body [11]; a plurality of metal oxides [par. 0045]; and a membrane sheet [par. 0045] disposed on an outer surface of the keycap main body [11], the membrane sheet comprises an opaque region [region outside of 11a] and a light-transmitting region [region of 11a], and a transmittancy of the light-transmitting region is greater than a transmittancy of the opaque region, and a shape of the light-transmitting region is a character or a graphic [Fig. 5B], wherein the plurality of metal oxides are distributed throughout the membrane sheet [par. 0045], and wherein the membrane sheet [par. 0045] is covered on the outer surface of the keycap main body [11]. With respect to the limitations that the metal oxides are doped in the membrane sheet and the light-transmitting region is formed by irradiating a portion of the opaque region with an energy beam, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, these limitations have not been given significant patentable weight. 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965).
In regard to claim 14, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given significant patentable weight. 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwan et al. Cheng [US 2020/0042101] in view of Shi et al. [Shi hereinafter, US 2023/0223212]. Cheng discloses [in Fig. 2A] the keycap according to claim 7. Cheng does not disclose that the character layer comprises a light curing layer. Shi teaches [in Fig. 3 and par. 0023] that the character layer comprises a light curing layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a character layer comprising a light curing layer in order to enhance the durability of the keycap.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwan et al. Cheng [US 2020/0042101] in view of Huang et al. [Huang hereinafter, US 2022/0189716]. Cheng discloses [in Fig. 2] the keycap according to claim 7. Cheng does not disclose that the light-transmitting region has the transmittancy of more than 20%. Huang teaches [in Fig. 10B and par. 0063] a light-transmitting region has the transmittancy of more than 20%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a light-transmitting region that has the transmittancy of more than 20% in order to illuminate the keycap as desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 are allowed. In regard to claim 1, in combination with other limitations, the plurality of metal oxides being distributed throughout the kecap main body is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831