DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 217598237 U).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses a hub assembly (comprised of 10, 20 and 30 as shown in Fig. 4) for a human powered vehicle (“bicycle” per the Abstract), the hub assembly comprising: a hub axle 22 having a center axis defining an axial direction (evident from Fig. 4); a hub shell 20 rotatably mounted on the hub axle to rotate about the center axis (evident from Figs. 4 and 5), the hub shell including at least one first tooth (unlabeled teeth of 20 best shown in Fig. 4); a sprocket support body 30 rotatably mounted on the hub axle to rotate about the center axis (evident from Fig. 5); and a seal member 10 including: a fixed portion (11 and/or 12 as shown in Fig. 3) configured to be mounted to one of the hub shell and the sprocket support body (Figs. 5-7); a sealing portion 15 extending in a first direction so as to slide relative to the sprocket support body (evident from Figs. 5-7); and a branching portion 14 extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Figs. 3 and 5-7) so that a grease keeping space 13 is formed between the sealing portion and the branching portion (Figs. 3 and 5-7; second and third paragraphs on page 4 of the English-language machine translation), the sealing portion having a first length (length of 15 shown in Fig. 3) defined from the fixed portion in the first direction in a detached state where the seal member is detached from the one of the hub shell and the speocket support body (Fig. 3), the branching portion having a second length (length of 14 shown in Fig. 3) defined from the fixed portion in the second direction in the detached state (Fig. 3), and the first length being longer than the second length (clearly shown in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US 2020/0398611 A1) in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 17, Nakajima discloses a hub assembly 10 for a human powered vehicle (“bicycle” per the Abstract), the hub assembly comprising: a hub axle 12 having a center axis A1 defining an axial direction (Fig. 2); a hub shell 14 rotatably mounted on the hub axle to rotate about the center axis (Fig. 2; paragraph [0065]), the hub shell including at least one first tooth 34; a sprocket support body 16 rotatably mounted on the hub axle to rotate about the center axis (Fig. 2; paragraph [0065]); and a seal member (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) including: a fixed portion (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) configured to be mounted to one of the hub shell and the sprocket support body (Fig. 7); and a sealing portion (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided below) extending in a first direction so as to slide relative to the sprocket support body (Fig. 7).
Nakajima fails to disclose the seal member having a branching portion extending in a second direction different from the first direction so that a grease keeping space is formed between the sealing portion and the branching portion.
Chen, however, as noted above, teaches a hub assembly that includes a seal member 10 including: a fixed portion (11 and/or 12 as shown in Fig. 3) configured to be mounted to one of the hub shell and the sprocket support body (Figs. 5-7); a sealing portion 15 extending in a first direction so as to slide relative to the sprocket support body (evident from Figs. 5-7); and a branching portion 14 extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Figs. 3 and 5-7) so that a grease keeping space 13 is formed between the sealing portion and the branching portion (Figs. 3 and 5-7; second and third paragraphs on page 4 of the English-language machine translation), the sealing portion having a first length (length of 15 shown in Fig. 3) defined from the fixed portion in the first direction in a detached state where the seal member is detached from the one of the hub shell and the speocket support body (Fig. 3), the branching portion having a second length (length of 14 shown in Fig. 3) defined from the fixed portion in the second direction in the detached state (Fig. 3), and the first length being longer than the second length (clearly shown in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hub assembly of Nakajima by substituting its seal member for the claimed seal member, such as taught by Chen, as a well-known alternative seal member that would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing predictable results for preventing the ingress of water, dirt and debris in the hub assembly while helping ensure the clutch structure is properly lubricated for smooth operation, thus improving the durability of the hub assembly.
Regarding claim 18, Nakajima further discloses a dust cover (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided above) configured to be mounted to the sprocket support body (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Nakajima further discloses a labyrinth seal (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 7 provided above) is formed between the seal member and the dust cover (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, Nakajima further discloses the sprocket support body includes a first spline 38, and the hub assembly further comprises: a first ratchet member 26 including: at least one first ratchet tooth 44; and a second spline 46 configured to engage with the first spline (paragraph [0084]); a second ratchet member 28 including: at least one second ratchet tooth 56 configured to engage with the at least one first ratchet tooth (paragraph [0089]); and at least one second tooth 36 configured to engage with the at least one first tooth (paragraph [0080]); and a biasing member 60 provided between the hub shell and the first ratchet member in the axial direction to bias the first ratchet member toward the second ratchet member in the axial direction (paragraph [0091]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding Chen (i.e., “the length of the sealing portion (14) is shorter than the length of the branching portion (15)”) with respect to independent claim 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the interpretation of any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, as noted above, the sealing portion of Chen is now considered to be the “leakage-proof ring sheet” 15 while the branching portion of Chen is now considered to be the “stopping ring part” 14. The length of the sealing portion 15 is longer than the length of the branching portion 14 as shown in Fig. 3 and as acknowledged by Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615