DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 07/29/2026, claim 1 has been amended. Claim 2 was previously cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-9 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (CN 107895693A, hereinafter Sato), in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2020/0171621, herein after Yamazaki), Chen et al. (CN 107009274A, hereinafter Chen), and Wang et al. (CN 102124545A, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a polishing apparatus (fig. 2, wafer grinding polishing device 2) comprising:
a polishing machine for polishing a substrate (fig. 6, a polishing pad 78 mounted on a wheel mounting seat 76 for polishing a wafer on a chuck table 22);
a flow channel for supplying a polishing solution or a cleaning solution to the polishing machine (fig. 6 and Sato English translation, p. 8:37-9:6, a fluid supply path 79 [corresponds to the recited flow channel] supplies polishing liquid or cleaning liquid on to the chuck table 22);
a switching device disposed at an upstream end of the flow channel and configured to switch between the polishing solution and the cleaning solution and to cause the polishing solution or the cleaning solution to flow in the flow channel (fig. 6 and Sato English translation, p. 8:37-9:6, 13:22-27, an electromagnetic switching valve 61 [corresponds to the recited switching device] is disposed at an upstream of the fluid supply path 79 and selectively connects between a polishing liquid supply source 62 and cleaning liquid supply source 63),
a control device, wherein the control device performs: a cleaning process of controlling the switching device such that the cleaning solution flows in the flow channel and then controlling the switching device such that the polishing solution flows in the flow channel (Sato English translation, p. 5:8-13 and 8:37-9:6, a control part 100 [corresponds to the recited control device] controls a process of the wafer polishing device including a grinding process and a cleaning process. Therefore, the control part 100 would control the electromagnetic switching valve 61 to flow the cleaning liquid and the polishing liquid alternatively), but does not disclose a sensor for detecting a pressure or a flow rate of the cleaning solution flowing in the flow channel; a flow rate adjusting device disposed at a position downstream from the switching device in the flow channel and configured to adjust a flow rate of the cleaning solution flowing in the flow channel to a predetermined range; the control device performing a clogging detecting process of detecting whether clogging has occurred in the flow channel based on the pressure or the flow rate of the cleaning solution detected by the sensor when the cleaning solution flows in the flow channel, wherein the sensor is disposed at a position downstream from the flow rate adjusting device in the flow channel.
Yamazaki teaches, in an analogous chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) apparatus field of endeavor, a sensor for detecting a pressure or a flow rate of the cleaning solution flowing in the flow channel (¶ 0086, a flow sensor 74 detects a flow rate of the solution. By combining with Sato, the flow sensor 74 of Yamazaki detects the flow rate of the cleaning liquid in the flow supply path);
a flow rate adjusting device disposed at a position downstream from the switching device in the flow channel and configured to adjust a flow rate of the cleaning solution flowing in the flow channel to a predetermined range (annotated Yamazaki fig. 11 below and fig. 12, a flow-rate adjustment valve 73 [corresponds to the recited flow rate adjusting device] is disposed at downstream from the junction of a slurry line 46 and a pure water line 90. By combining with Sato, the flow-rate adjustment valve 73 of Yamazaki can be disposed at a position downstream from the electromagnetic switching valve 61 of Sato; ¶ 0087, a controller 75 controls degree of opening of the flow-rate adjustment valve 73 so that the flow rate of the solution through the line 46 becomes a preset flow rate [corresponds to the recited predetermined range]); and
the control device performing a clogging detecting process of detecting whether clogging has occurred in the flow channel based on the pressure or the flow rate of the cleaning solution detected by the sensor when the cleaning solution flows in the flow channel (Yamazaki ¶ 0086 and 0091 and figs. 11 and 12, a determiner 72 detects an abnormality of a liquid ejection nozzle 33. When the flow rate of the pure water flowing through the line 46 becomes small and a pressure of the liquid is abnormally increased, the slurry is clogged. The sensor 74 detects the flow rate),
wherein the sensor is disposed at a position downstream from the flow rate adjusting device in the flow channel (Yamazaki, fig. 12, a flow sensor 74 is disposed at a position downstream from the flow-rate adjusting valve 73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing apparatus of Sato to provide the flow rate sensor, the flow rate adjusting device, and the control device as taught by Yamazaki so the polishing apparatus can detect and adjust the flow in response to a flow abnormality (Yamazaki ¶ 0013).
Sato as modified by Yamazaki does not disclose the sensor is a pressure sensor.
Chen teaches, in an analogous polishing apparatus field of endeavor, the sensor is a pressure sensor (fig. 1 and Chen English translation, p. 5:22-26, a polishing apparatus comprises a polishing liquid transmission system, and pressure sensor 7 is disposed on a liquid flow channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing apparatus of Sato as modified by Yamazaki to provide the pressure sensor as taught by Chen in order to detect pressure of the liquid in the polishing apparatus. It helps supplying appropriate pressure of liquid to the polishing apparatus.
Sato as modified by Yamazaki and Chen does not disclose the cleaning process control occurs when the number of substrates polished by the polishing machine reaches a predetermined number.
Wang teaches, in an analogous CMP apparatus field of endeavor, the cleaning process control occurs when a number of substrates polished by the polishing machine reaches a predetermined number (Wang English translation ¶ 0033, cleaning step of a polishing apparatus is performed after a predetermined number of polishing operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing apparatus of Sato as modified by Yamazaki and Chen to provide the cleaning process when the predetermined number of substrates is polished as taught by Wang so that the CMP apparatus is cleaned proactively before a problem occurs.
Annotated Yamazaki Figure 11
Regarding claim 3, Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang teaches the polishing apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the control device detects whether clogging has occurred in the flow channel based on a maximum value, an average value, or a minimum value of a value of the pressure detected by the pressure sensor when the flow rate of the cleaning solution is in the predetermined range (Yamazaki ¶ 0091, the determiner 72 detects the clogging as the flow rate of the pure water becomes small and a pressure of the liquid is abnormally increased. Thus, Yamazaki teaches a pressure value reaching the maximum value may indicate the clogging situation. Regarding the flow rate, Yamazaki teaches it could be small. Unlike the pressure, which becomes abnormally increased, the small flow rate could be in a predetermined value. Specification of the instant application explains the predetermined range is between a lower limit and an upper limit. The limit values are not defined so they can be arbitrary numbers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing apparatus of Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang to provide the recited pressure and flow rate of the cleaning solution during clogging. Yamazaki teaches the minor failure and the major failure while flow rate is small (¶ 0091-93). Because there may be a little bit of slurry remaining in the flow channel even during a normal solution flow condition, pressure difference may be a dominant indicator of the clogging, and it would be possible to observe the clogging by the abnormally increased pressure while there is a little change of the flow rate.
Regarding claim 4, Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang teaches the polishing apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the control device determines that clogging has occurred in the flow channel when the value of the pressure detected by the pressure sensor is equal to or greater than a preset first threshold value, and wherein the control device determines that a degree of clogging in the flow channel is low when the value of the pressure detected by the pressure sensor is equal to or greater than the first threshold value and is less than a second threshold value wherein the second threshold value is greater than the first threshold value and determines that a degree of clogging in the flow channel is high when the value of the pressure detected by the pressure sensor is equal to or greater than the second threshold value (Yamazaki fig. 14 and ¶ 0091-93, when the clogging occurs the pressure of the liquid is abnormally increased. A minor failure occurs when the value is larger than a lower-limit-side threshold [corresponds to the recited first threshold value] and a major failure occurs when the value is larger than an upper-limit-side threshold [corresponds the recited second threshold value]. Thus, it can be interpreted as a low degree of clogging and a high degree of clogging respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing apparatus of Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang to provide the control device for determining clogging as taught by Yamazaki so that the polishing process is not abnormally deteriorated.
Regarding claim 5, Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang teaches the polishing apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising a notification device, wherein the control device causes the notification device to notify that clogging has occurred in the flow channel when detecting in the clogging detecting process that clogging has occurred in the flow channel (Yamazaki, ¶ 0097-102, the determiner 72 issues a minor failure alarm or a major failure alarm when the clogging is abnormal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing apparatus of Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang to provide the notification device as taught by Yamazaki so that the polishing operation can be stopped for repair or replacement of the polishing apparatus (Yamazaki ¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 6, Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang teaches the polishing apparatus as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein the control device prohibits the polishing machine from polishing a substrate when determining that a degree of clogging in the flow channel is high (Yamazaki ¶ 0102, when the major failure occurs, the determiner 72 stops the substrate processing operation of the polishing apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing apparatus of Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang to provide the control device for prohibiting the polishing machine from polishing as taught by Yamazaki so that the process prevents the polishing apparatus from being damaged or the wafer from being improperly polished.
Regarding claim 7, Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang teaches the polishing apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the flow channel includes a single pipe, and wherein a downstream end of the flow channel is constituted by an end of the single pipe (Sato presents a single fluid supply path 79, but does not disclose whether there is a single pipe. Yamazaki fig. 4 and annotated Yamazaki fig. 5 below, a downstream end of the flow channel comprises a single pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing apparatus of Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang to provide the single pipe at the downstream end of the flow channel as taught by Yamazaki. The single pipe instead of multiple pipes for the polishing liquid and the cleaning liquid would be easier to control the flow and to maintain the apparatus.
Annotated Yamazaki Fig. 5
Regarding claim 8, Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang teaches the polishing apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the flow channel includes a single pipe and a discharge nozzle connected to a downstream end of the single pipe and including at least one discharge hole (as discussed in the rejection of claim 7, Yamazaki teaches the flow channel includes the single pipe. Sato English translation, p. 13:22-27 and fig. 12, in another embodiment, a processing liquid supply nozzle 60 [corresponds to the recited discharge nozzle] supplies the polishing liquid or the cleaning liquid at a downstream end of the fluid supply path. The nozzle 60 would include at least one discharge hole to supply the liquid).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Okada (US 2014/0065732).
Regarding claim 9, Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang teaches the polishing apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the control device stores the number of substrates polished by the polishing machine whenever the polishing machine polishes the substrate (Wang English translation ¶ 0033, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, the cleaning step of a polishing apparatus is performed after a predetermined number of polishing operation; ¶ 0035, a controller 188 controls a CMP device. Therefore, the controller stores the number of processed substrates), but does not disclose the control device resets the stored number of substrates to zero when the cleaning solution flows in the flow channel.
Okada teaches, in an analogous CMP apparatus field of endeavor, the control device resets the stored number of substrates to zero when the cleaning solution flows in the flow channel (¶ 0052-53, a processed number counting unit 324 of a CMP device 30 counts a number of wafers that undergo polishing process. After counting a predetermined number of processed wafers, the process number counting unit resets the counted number of the processed wafers. Therefore, the counting unit of Okada can be combined with the CMP device of Wang to reset the counting number after the cleaning step of the polishing apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polishing apparatus of Sato as modified by Yamazaki, Chen, and Wang to provide the control device to reset the stored number of substrates as taught by Okada so that the CMP system resumes the operation until the next reset counts (Okada ¶ 0053).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sato.
Applicant argues Yamazaki, Watanabe, Chen, and Wang do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that a switching device is disposed at an upstream end of a flow channel.
Prior to the claim amendment, it was claimed that the switching device is disposed in the flow channel. Examiner acknowledges Yamazaki and Watanabe do not disclose explicitly the switching device is disposed at the upstream end of the flow channel.
However, Sato teaches the CMP apparatus comprises the polishing liquid supply source 62 and the cleaning liquid supply source 63 wherein the switching valve 61 selectively connects the polishing liquid supply source or the cleaning liquid supply source to the fluid supply path. The switching valve is disposed at an upstream end of the fluid supply path.
Then, by combining with Yamazaki, Yamazaki teaches the recited flow rate adjusting device can be disposed at a position downstream of the switching device, and the recited sensor can be disposed at a position downstream of the flow rate adjusting device in the flow channel because the flow rate adjustment valve 73 and the sensor 74 are disposed at downstream of a junction between the polishing solution line 46 and the pure water line 90 as shown in Yamazaki figs. 11 and 12.
Sato does not disclose the flow channel includes the sensor and the flow rate adjusting device, therefore, Yamazaki can be combined and provide motivation to add the sensor and the flow rate adjusting device to the flow channel of Sato.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hakata (US 2005/0026425) discloses a CMP apparatus providing slurry and cleaning fluid to a polishing pad.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723