DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III in the reply filed on 11/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2023 and 08/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 12, 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shrestha et al. (US 2022/0225415).
Regarding Claim 1, Shrestha teaches a method for selecting a random access resource, comprising: selecting, by a terminal device, the random access resource based on at least one of predefined manners, wherein the predefined manners comprise: selection based on a round-trip time (RTT) acquired by the terminal device; selection based on an absolute distance of a service link; selection based on a delay compensation of a feeder link; selection based on service identity information for triggering a random access procedure by the terminal device; selection based on a terminal type of the terminal device; and selection based on an access probability parameter ([0036] the UE may evaluate other factors to determine whether to select a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure to improve a probability of successful reception of a random access message of a random access procedure; [0037] a UE may select a two-step RACH procedure over a four-step RACH procedure based on an RTD ... using the two-step RACH procedure over the four-step RACH procedure may depend on the UE latency requirements; [0083] In the example of a non-terrestrial network, a UE 115 may select between a two-step RACH procedure and a 4-step RACH procedure. A UE 115 may select resources for a random access procedure in a non-terrestrial network. The UE 115 may perform a random access procedure over a BWP, which may be configured for one or multiple random access procedures. For example, a BWP may be configured for a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure, or both. When a BWP is configured to support multiple random access procedures, the UE 115 may select a type of the resources (e.g., two-step random access resources, four-step random access resources) for the random access procedure that the UE 115 selects to perform over the BWP; [0102] if a BWP for a random access procedure is configured with both types of random access procedures (e.g., two-step RACH and four-step RACH), the UE 115-a may set the type to two-step RACH based on a criterion or a criteria (e.g., one or more factors), as described below. That is, the UE 115-a may be configured to select between a two-step RACH procedure over a four-step RACH procedure; [0104] the UE 115-a may select and perform the two-step RACH procedure or the four-step RACH procedure based on a UE type; [0105] the UE 115-a may select and perform a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure based on an RTD, which may be estimated by the UE 115-a using position information. ...The UE 115-a may thereby estimate an RTD based on position information of the satellite 120-a, and determine to perform the two-step RACH procedure based on the estimated RTD. Otherwise, the UE 115-a may select and perform the four-step RACH procedure based on the estimated RTD; [0106] the UE 115-a may select a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure based on a delay offset broadcasted by the network (e.g., representing the RTD between the satellite 120-a and the base station 105-a). The UE 115-a may, in some other examples, determine to select a two-step RACH procedure over a four-step RACH procedure based on time and frequency synchronization or compensation accuracy of the UE 115-a; [0107] the UE 115-a may select between a two-step RACH procedure and a four-step RACH procedure based on a timing advance, a logical channel, a location of the UE 115-a in the wireless communications system 200, a distance between the UE 115-a and the satellite 120-a, a quality-of-service (QoS), or an intra-satellite; [0114] the UE 115-b may select to perform the two-step RACH procedure based on ... a type of the UE 115-b, a RTD between the UE 115-b and the base station 105-b satisfying a threshold, a delay offset parameter satisfying a threshold, a time and frequency synchronization-compensation parameter satisfying a threshold).
Regarding Claim 6, Shrestha teaches the selection based on the delay compensation of the feeder link comprises: in response to the delay compensation of the feeder link being less than or equal to a third threshold, the terminal device selects a two-step type random access resource; and otherwise, the terminal device selects a four-step type random access resource ([0114] the UE 115-b may select to perform the two-step RACH procedure based on a RSRP parameter configured for the non-terrestrial network satisfying a threshold, a power class parameter associated with the UE 115-b, a type of the UE 115-b, a RTD between the UE 115-b and the base station 105-b satisfying a threshold, a delay offset parameter satisfying a threshold, a time and frequency synchronization-compensation parameter satisfying a threshold, a GNSS capability of the UE 115-b, a type of the base station 105-b, an elevation angle of the base station 105-b (e.g., in non-terrestrial scenarios as described herein), or a requested-delay parameter satisfying a threshold, or a combination thereof).
Regarding Claim 7, Shrestha teaches the delay compensation of the feeder link is determined by a network device according to a position of a serving satellite and a position of the network device; or, the delay compensation of the feeder link is determined by the network device according to a time synchronization reference point specified by a serving cell, wherein the time synchronization reference point comprises a point between the serving satellite and the network device ([0106] the UE 115-a may select a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure based on a delay offset broadcasted by the network (e.g., representing the RTD between the satellite 120-a and the base station 105-a). The UE 115-a may, in some other examples, determine to select a two-step RACH procedure over a four-step RACH procedure based on time and frequency synchronization or compensation accuracy of the UE).
Regarding Claim 12, Shrestha teaches determining, by the terminal device, whether a measurement result of a target cell or a serving cell is greater than or equal to a fourth threshold; and if yes, the terminal device performs said selecting the random access resource based on the at least one of predefined manners; and otherwise, the terminal device selects a four-step type random access resource ([0034] The UE may select to perform the two-step RACH procedure over the four-step RACH procedure based on the path loss and the RSRP. For example, if a BWP selected for random access is configured with both two-step and four-step random access (RA) type random access resources and the RSRP satisfies a threshold; [0103] The UE 115-a may determine that the RSRP satisfies a threshold (e.g., an RSRP threshold). As a result, the UE 115-a may select and perform the two-step RACH procedure. Otherwise, if the RSRP does not satisfy a threshold, the UE 115-a may select and perform the four-step RACH procedure; [0114] the UE 115-b may select to perform the two-step RACH procedure based on a RSRP parameter configured for the non-terrestrial network satisfying a threshold; [0132] the criterion includes a RSRP parameter configured for the non-terrestrial network satisfying a threshold).
Regarding Claim 14, Shrestha teaches a method for selecting a random access resource, comprising: sending, by a network device, a delay compensation of a feeder link to a terminal device through a system broadcast message or a dedicated signaling ([0106] the UE 115-a may select a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure based on a delay offset broadcasted by the network (e.g., representing the RTD between the satellite 120-a and the base station 105-a). The UE 115-a may, in some other examples, determine to select a two-step RACH procedure over a four-step RACH procedure based on time and frequency synchronization or compensation accuracy of the UE), wherein the delay compensation is configured for the terminal device to select the random access resource ([0106] the UE 115-a may select a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure based on a delay offset broadcasted by the network (e.g., representing the RTD between the satellite 120-a and the base station 105-a). The UE 115-a may, in some other examples, determine to select a two-step RACH procedure over a four-step RACH procedure based on time and frequency synchronization or compensation accuracy of the UE; [0114] the UE 115-b may select to perform the two-step RACH procedure based on ... a type of the UE 115-b, a RTD between the UE 115-b and the base station 105-b satisfying a threshold, a delay offset parameter satisfying a threshold, a time and frequency synchronization-compensation parameter satisfying a threshold).
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 16, Shrestha teaches sending, by the network device, ephemeris information or real-time position information of a serving satellite to the terminal device through a system broadcast message, wherein the ephemeris information or the real-time position information is configured for the terminal device to select the random access resource ([0105] the UE 115-a may select and perform a two-step RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure based on an RTD, which may be estimated by the UE 115-a using position information. For example, the UE 115-a may receive an ephemeris from the base station 105-a (or the satellite 120-a). The ephemeris may be a data structure, for example, a table or file indicating positions of a celestial objects (e.g., the satellite 120-a). The UE 115-a may thereby estimate an RTD based on position information of the satellite 120-a, and determine to perform the two-step RACH procedure based on the estimated RTD. Otherwise, the UE 115-a may select and perform the four-step RACH procedure based on the estimated RTD).
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 20, Shrestha teaches a network device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor, through invoking and executing the computer program stored in the memory, is configured to implement the method according to claim 14 ([0190] The various illustrative blocks and components described in connection with the disclosure herein may be implemented or performed with a general-purpose processor, a DSP, an ASIC, a CPU, an FPGA; [0191] If implemented in software executed by a processor, the functions may be stored on or transmitted over as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium. Other examples and implementations are within the scope of the disclosure and appended claims).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. in view of Cheng et al. (US 2023/0328794).
Regarding Claim 13, Shrestha does not teach receiving, by the terminal device, predefined manner indication information through a system broadcast message or a dedicated signaling; and determining, according to the predefined manner indication information, a predefined manner for selecting the random access resource.
In an analogous art, Cheng teaches receiving, by the terminal device, predefined manner indication information through a system broadcast message or a dedicated signaling; and determining, according to the predefined manner indication information, a predefined manner for selecting the random access resource ([0012] The RACH configuration and the RACH operation may be for a 4-step RACH and/or a 2-step RACH. An indication of the set of RACH configurations may be received from a base station via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a system information block (SIB), or a non-access stratum (NAS) message; [0090] The SI includes information that enables a UE to determine how to conduct an initial access to a RAN (e.g., the RAN 200 of FIG. 2). In some examples, SIB2 includes random access configuration information (e.g., a RACH configuration) that indicates the resources that the UE is to use to communicate with the RAN during initial access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Cheng’s method with Shrestha’s method so that it may be advantageous to use different RACH configurations for different slices. For example, more frequent RACH occasions could be used for URLLC, thereby improving the RACH performance for URLLC (Cheng [0118]).
Regarding Claim 18, Shrestha does not teach sending, by the network device, predefined manner indication information to the terminal device through a system broadcast message or a dedicated signaling, wherein the predefined manner indication information is configured for indicating the terminal device to determine a predefined manner for selecting the random access resource.
In an analogous art, Cheng teaches sending, by the network device, predefined manner indication information to the terminal device through a system broadcast message or a dedicated signaling, wherein the predefined manner indication information is configured for indicating the terminal device to determine a predefined manner for selecting the random access resource ([0012] The RACH configuration and the RACH operation may be for a 4-step RACH and/or a 2-step RACH. An indication of the set of RACH configurations may be received from a base station via a radio resource control (RRC) message, a system information block (SIB), or a non-access stratum (NAS) message; [0090] The SI includes information that enables a UE to determine how to conduct an initial access to a RAN (e.g., the RAN 200 of FIG. 2). In some examples, SIB2 includes random access configuration information (e.g., a RACH configuration) that indicates the resources that the UE is to use to communicate with the RAN during initial access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Cheng’s method with Shrestha’s method so that it may be advantageous to use different RACH configurations for different slices. For example, more frequent RACH occasions could be used for URLLC, thereby improving the RACH performance for URLLC (Cheng [0118]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. in view of Huang (US 2021/0219349).
Regarding Claim 17, Shrestha does not teach sending, by the network device, a terminal type of the terminal device to the terminal device through a NAS procedure, wherein the terminal type is configured for the terminal device to select the random access resource.
In an analogous art, Huang teaches sending, by the network device, a terminal type of the terminal device to the terminal device through a NAS procedure, wherein the terminal type is configured for the terminal device to select the random access resource ([0096] an operator may configure the UEs to perform a 2-step RACH or a 4-step RACH based on the subscription information. In this case, the RA type selection can be configured to the UE, e.g. via NAS signaling which will be also applicable to UEs in IDLE mode. This may be overridden by any connected mode signaling when the UE enters INACTIVE state, etc. In addition, with this alternative, a UE that is not yet attached to the wireless network is never configured to use 2-step RACH. It can use 4-step RACH for attach procedure and may be configured via NAS signaling or connected mode signaling to use 2-step RACH subsequently. This decision may be based on the subscription information available to the operator (i.e., the terminal type is 2-step RA type or 4-step RA type)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Huang’s method with Shrestha’s method so that the network can efficiently configure RACH resources and assign different RA types to UEs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hoang et al. (US 2022/0159741) teaches method for network access for non-terrestrial networks.
Xu et al. (US 2024/0032105) teaches method for performing random access.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413