DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15, 21-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bottari et al. (hereinafter Bottari)(US 2017/0272931) in view of Kuhlman et al. (hereinafter Kuhlman)(US 2023/0314550).
Regarding claim 1, Bottari teaches a system comprising: a processor; and a memory storing programming instructions for execution by the processor, the programming instruction, upon execution by the processor, causing the system to perform the following operations(Figs 1A and 1B and Fig. 9): determining a location of the cell tower(P[0034], location of the vehicle; items 51, 52 in Fig. 1Band tracking locations of internet of things (IoT) devices within a PRS range of the cell tower based on the location of the cell tower, wherein the IoT devices are not equipped with GPS technology(P[0028], radio terminal 52 (cell tower) may be configured to communicate with the network using first RAT and with the UEs using a second RAT (e.g., Wi-Fi); P[0089], network to determine the location for the UE and does not require GPS on the user equipment).
Bottari did not teach specifically receiving positioning reference signal (PRS) timing data from fixed wireless access (FWA) devices having known global positioning system (GPS) locations, the PRS timing data being based on PRSs emitted from a cell tower; determining a location of the cell tower based on the PRS timing data and the known GPS locations of the FWA devices. However, Kuhlman teaches in an analogous art receiving positioning reference signal (PRS) timing data from fixed wireless access (FWA) devices having known global positioning system (GPS) locations, the PRS timing data being based on PRSs emitted from a cell tower; determining a location of the cell tower based on the PRS timing data and the known GPS locations of the FWA devices(P[0065], arrival times of multiple signals at anchor nodes together with known positions of the anchor nodes may generate one or more observed positions of the UWB antenna(cell tower); P[0003], GNSS signsls). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to receive positioning reference signal (PRS) timing data from fixed wireless access (FWA) devices having known global positioning system (GPS) locations, the PRS timing data being based on PRSs emitted from a cell tower; determining a location of the cell tower based on the PRS timing data and the known GPS locations of the FWA devices in order to have improved network planning.
Regarding claim 21, Kuhlman teaches the system of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the cell tower based on the PRS timing data and the known GPS locations of the FWA devices comprises: periodically receiving updated GPS locations of the FWA devices and updated PRS timing data from the FWA devices; and updating the location of the cell tower based on the updated GPS locations and the updated timing data(P[0083], anchor nodes may transmit signals periodically; P[0137], every time the system determines the motion of the train; periodically checking; updating uncertainties associate with the distances determined with respect to anchor nodes).
Regarding claim 22, Kuhlman teaches the system of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the cell tower based on the PRS timing data and the known GPS locations of the FWA devices comprises: determining an equipment-based time delay of the cell tower using the PRS timing data; and determining the location of the cell tower at least partially based on the equipment- based time delay(P[0083], known delays also considered).
Regarding claim 23, Kuhlman teaches the system of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the cell tower further comprises: determining distances between the cell tower and the FWA devices based on the PRS timing data; and determining the location of the cell tower at least partially based on the distances between the cell tower and the FWA devices(Figs 9-10; P[0134-0141]).
Regarding claim 24, Kuhlman teaches the system of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the cell tower based on the PRS timing data and the known GPS locations of the FWA devices comprises: determining an equipment-based time delay of the cell tower using the PRS timing data; determining distances between the cell tower and the FWA devices based on the PRS timing data; and determining the location of the cell tower at least partially based on the equipment- based time delay and the distances between the cell tower and the FWA devices(P[0083], known delays also considered; Figs 9-10; P[0134-0141]).
Regarding claim 25, Kuhlman teaches the system of claim 24, wherein determining the location of the cell tower at least partially based on the equipment-based time delay and the distances between the cell tower and the FWA devices comprises: triangulating the location of the cell tower and the known GPS locations of the FWA devices based on the equipment-based time delay and the distances between the cell tower and the FWA devices(P[0083]; P[0167], triangulated position of GNSS in combination with the geometry of the train track; P[0087], triangulated position from the train; multiple triangulated position over time; Figs 9-10; P[0134-0141]).
Regarding claim 26, Kuhlman teaches the system of claim 1, wherein determining the location of the cell tower comprises: periodically receiving updated GPS locations of the FWA devices and updated PRS timing data from the FWA device over a period of time; determining an average equipment-based time delay of the cell tower for each of the FWA devices using the received PRS timing data; calculating an average distance for each of the FWA devices using the average equipment-based time delay; and triangulating the location of the cell tower and the known GPS locations of the FWA devices based on the average equipment-based time delay and the average distances between the cell tower and the FWA devices(P[0083], anchor nodes may transmit signals periodically; P[0137], every time the system determines the motion of the train; periodically checking; updating uncertainties associate with the distances determined with respect to anchor nodes; P[0167], triangulated position of GNSS in combination with the geometry of the train track; P[0087], triangulated position from the train; multiple triangulated position over time; Figs 9-10; P[0134-0141]; P[0006-0007], used Kalman filter which includes averaging; P[0083], The distance may be determined by subtracting from the round-trip travel time any known delays, such as a delay between when the anchor node 102 receives the first signal and transmits the second signal, dividing the round-trip travel time by two to obtain the one-way travel time, and multiplying the one-way travel time by the wave speed of the first and second signals (e.g., the speed of light in air). In some embodiments, the RF antenna(s) may transmit signals periodically, such as 10-100 times per second (e.g., 40 Hz), and anchor nodes 102 may be responsive to received signals. Alternatively or additionally, anchor nodes 102 may transmit signals periodically, and the RF antenna(s) may be responsive to received signals.).
Claims 8, 27-32 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 21-26 respectively.
Claims 15, 33-37 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 21-25 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647