DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1, 3-9 have been examined in this application. This communication is a final rejection in response to the “Amendments to the claims” and “Remarks” filed 9/1/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “an interior first rail on the front side” and “an interior second rail on the back side” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if these are the same as the “a first rail disposed on an interior of the front side” and “a second rail disposed on an interior of the back side” that are previously claimed.
Claims 3-9 are dependent on claim 1 and do not correct the indefinite issues of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 4,815,231 to McQueen.
Regarding claim 1, McQueen discloses a concealed catch insect trap comprising:
A non-translucent top side (top 20, see Figure 1) that is free of through-apertures (Figure 3 shows an embodiment where the ceiling 66 is free of through-apertures, and Figures 1 and 3 shows the top side being non-translucent);
A front side connected along one edge to the top side (side wall 24), wherein the front side includes a first rail disposed on an interior of the front side and offset from the top side so as to create a gap between a top of the first rail and an interior surface of the top side (channel 34);
A back side connected along one edge to the top side (side wall 22), wherein the back side includes a second rail disposed on an interior of the back side and offset from the top side so as to create a gap between a top of the second rail and an interior surface of the top side (channel 34); and
A bottom side (bottom 18), wherein the bottom side includes one or more insect ingress apertures (holes 54 on bottom 18),
Wherein an interior first rail on the front side and an interior second rail on the back side are offset below the top side to cooperatively define a slot directly beneath the top side, the slot slidingly receiving a removable glue board (column 4, lines 12-16 disclose “Two pairs of oppositely positioned and aligned U-shaped channels 34, 36 are secured to the opposite side walls 22, 24 and the shelves are then slid into position in the space defined by U-shaped channels 34, 36”) having an adhesive surface and a non-adhesive perimeter border (see sticky glue surface on 38 in Figure 1 and the non-adhesive perimeter border around surface 38), with the adhesive surface facing the bottom side when inserted (column 4, lines 19-21 disclose “Each of the shelves has sticky glue surfaces on both of its sides 38, 40 so that insects can be trapped on either or both sides”); and wherein the non-translucent top side conceals trapped insects from view from above (a solid ceiling 66 as shown in Figure 3 conceals trapped insects from view from above).
Regarding claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), McQueen discloses a hinged first side (cover 28, see column 4, lines 1-8), the hinged first side is connected to the bottom side via the hinge (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9 (dependent on claim 1), McQueen discloses an opening configured to permit removal and insertion of the blue board (see opening for cover 28 in Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over US Patent Number 4,815,231 to McQueen in view of US Patent Number 8,104,223 to Rodriguez.
Regarding claim 4 (dependent on claim 1), McQueen discloses one or more feet (glued sticker 46).
McQueen does not disclose each feet being disposed adjacent to an exterior corner of the bottom side. However, this limitation is taught by Rodriguez. Rodriguez discloses an insect capture box with feet 28 disposed adjacent exterior corners of the bottom side. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify McQueen using the teachings from Rodriguez in order to have more points of attachment in order to better distribute the weight.
Regarding claim 5 (dependent on claim 4), Rodriguez further teaches the one or more feet include a non-adhesive elastomeric material. Column 4, line 66 to column 5, line 4 discloses “Said fastening devices 28 may comprise attachment means such as, but not limited to: adhesive-backed foam pads, hook-and-loop strips, or the like. Additionally, said fastening devices 28 may also act as coasters to reduce scratching when the apparatus 10 is placed upon a flat furniture surface 100”. The foam portion of the adhesive-backed foam pads and the hook-and-loop strips both comprise non-adhesive elastomeric materials.
Regarding claim 6 (dependent on claim 4), Rodriguez discloses each of the one or more feet include an adhesive elastomeric material. Column 4, line 66 to column 5, line 1 discloses “Said fastening devices 28 may comprise attachment means such as, but not limited to: adhesive-backed foam pads”
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over US Patent Number 4,815,231 to McQueen.
Regarding claim 7 (dependent on claim 1)¸ McQueen does not explicitly disclose the width of the first rail and a width of the second rail corresponds to a width of the glue board’s non-adhesive perimeter border to permit insertion and removal of the glue board. However, column 4, lines 12-16 disclose “Two pairs of oppositely positioned and aligned U-shaped channels 34, 36 are secured to the opposite side walls 22, 24 and the shelves are then slid into position in the space defined by U-shaped channels 34, 36”. Since the edges of the shelves 14 and 16 are inserted into U-shaped channels 34, 36, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make the non-adhesive border correspond to the width of the U-shaped channels so that the adhesive does not interfere with sliding the shelves into the channels.
Regarding claim 8 (dependent on claim 1)¸ McQueen discloses the bottom side includes insect ingress apertures arranged in a distributed pattern (see holes 54 in bottom 18 in Figure 1).
McQueen does not disclose six insect ingress apertures. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make however many holes 54 is desired, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the newly amended claim limitations are moot in view of the current grounds of rejection.
Regarding the argument that the sidewall channels of McQueen are not front/back rails do not cooperatively define a slot directly beneath the top used to receive and index a flat glue board beneath an opaque roof, both channels 34 and 36 form slots, and Figures 1 and 2 show these slots allowing shelves 14 and 16 to be inserted directly beneath the top of the housing. Furthermore, Figure 3 teaches an embodiment with an opaque roof. Furthermore, even with the embodiment with apertures 54 on the ceiling, McQueen discloses “the holes…are not so large as to effectively expose the interior of the housing and the shelf surfaces”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL H. WANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/MICHAEL H WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642