Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Claim Objection
Claims 1-2 & 16 utilize a colon in the introductory clause after the term “wherein:” the list of claimed elements begins after the word “comprises”. Examiner suggests the colon occur after the term “comprises”.
Claims 3, 5, 7, 11 & 14 use a capital letter on articles and common words, which impact readability.
Claims 1-16 do not apply the verb plurality tense “is” on singular subjects and “are” for plural subjects consistently, which impacts readability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4-6 & 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 & 6 use the terms “smashing”, “smashed”, and “crushing” which are relative terms that are unclear as to what level of contact is required to structurally avoid the terms. It seems that the term “without damaging” clarifies the terms.
Claims 1, 5-6 & 9-10 recite the term “can” which is unclear as the term is inherently ambiguous, signifying either a required capability or just a potential option, which is problematic for defining a precise boundary for the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “said sensor-chain link is “U” shaped with said enclosed end comprising a curved end of 402” where the number 402 is unclear and seems to refer to the sensor-chain link.
All dependent claims are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Murphy (US 20120046811: “Murphy”).
Claim 2. Murphy discloses a chain tension sensor assembly (Figs. 1 & 2: 40) for monitoring a tension (load bearing structure 42 and 66 with sensor 60) in a chain (39) used in a mechanical brake (22) assembly on a locomotive (10) [0022: monitoring device 40 is a self-contained unit that includes a load bearing member 42 inserted in the linkage 39 of the railcar handbrake 22 system so that the force applied to the brake 16 via the handle 24 passes through the load bearing member 42], wherein: said chain tension sensor assembly (40) comprises two link (links 50 with one on either side of assembly 40) sensor assemblies (40) arranged in series between a plurality of chain links (Figs. 2 & 3: 39); said two link sensor assemblies (40) comprises a first link assembly (50 left) and a second link assembly (50 right); said chain tension sensor assembly (40) is configured to monitor a tension in said chain (39) by installing said chain tension sensor (60) assembly (40) in series between said plurality of chain links (39) and monitoring a force exerted on said chain tension (60) sensor assembly (40) by portions of said chain (39)[0023: Mounted on the load bearing member 42 is a sensor 60 for sensing the force applied to the linkage 39 for operating the handbrake 22. In the illustrated embodiment, the sensor takes the form of a strain gauge 60 to measure the strain in the member 42 as is known in the art (FIGS. 4 and 5). The strain gauge 60 can be used to determine the force (load) on the load bearing member 42. In the illustrated embodiment, the strain gauge 60 is attached to one of the load bearing member inter-links, here inter-link 44a, in any known manner]; each among said two link sensor (50 link on both ends of 40) assemblies (40) comprise at least a sensor-chain link (50) and a sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b); said sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b) comprises one or more sensors (60)[0023-0024]; said chain tension sensor assembly (40) comprises a center axis (Fig. 3: longitudinal central axis between U-shaped links 50) is aligned an anticipated direction of tension applied on said two link (U-shaped links 50 on either end of 40) sensor assemblies (40) along said chain (39) [0023-0024]; and said chain tension sensor assembly (40) is configured to monitor a pressure signal [0024: Electrical circuitry 62 is provided in electrical communication with the strain gauge 60 for receiving signals therefrom and determining the status of the handbrake. The electrical circuitry 62 is preferably wired to the strain gauge 60 as is known in the art for receiving signals, e.g., voltage signals, indicative of the strain measured by the gauge 60. The strain measured can be calibrated to measure force or load as is well known in the art] from said one or more sensors (60) of said sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b) of said two link (U-shaped links 50 on either end of 40) sensor assemblies (40) [0023-0024].
Claim 3. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 2. Murphy further discloses sensor-chain link (50) [0022] comprises half enclosed shape [0022: U-shaped 50] having an enclosed end (56) and an open end (56a&b); said open end (56a&b); is between a link first end (50 left) and a link second end (50 right), and said enclosed end (56) extends out and away from said open end [0022]; and each said sensor-chain link (50) is configured to selectively attach to said sensor base (42 with 44a&b) using said open end and one or more fasteners (58)[0022].
Claim 4. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 3. Murphy further discloses sensor-chain link (50) is “U” shaped [0022](56) with said enclosed end (56) comprising a curved end [0022].
Claim 12. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 2. Murphy further discloses each among said two sensor bases (42 left and right) comprises a sensor controller (62); and said sensor controller (62) comprises a computer [0024] configured to collect and report a status of said one or more sensors (60) of said sensor base (42) of said two link sensor assemblies (40) [0024: The electrical circuitry 62 includes the components and wiring to receive and process the signals from the strain gauge 60. This can include, but is not limited to, analog and digital circuitry, CPUs, processors, circuit boards, memory, firmware, controllers, and other electrical items, as required to operate the strain gauge 60 and process the signals as further described below, including communication circuitry and devices, GPS circuitry and devices, and motion detection circuitry and devices].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11 & 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (US 20120046811: “Murphy”) in view of Couch ( US 5371488: “Couch”).
Claim 1. Murphy discloses a chain tension sensor assembly (Figs. 1 & 2: 40) for monitoring a tension in a chain (39) used in a mechanical brake (22) assembly on a locomotive (10) [0022: monitoring device 40 is a self contained unit that includes a load bearing member 42 inserted in the linkage 39 of the railcar handbrake 22 system so that the force applied to the brake 16 via the handle 24 passes through the load bearing member 42], wherein: said chain tension sensor assembly (40) comprises two link sensor assemblies (40) arranged in series between a plurality of chain links (39)[0022]; said two link (39) sensor assemblies comprises (40) a first link assembly (50 left) and a second link assembly (50 right) [0022]; said chain tension sensor assembly (40) is configured to monitor a tension in said chain (39) by installing said chain tension sensor assembly (40) in series between said plurality of chain links (39) and monitoring a force exerted on said chain tension sensor assembly (40) by portions of said chain (39) [0023-0024: Mounted on the load bearing member 42 is a sensor 60 for sensing the force applied to the linkage 39 for operating the handbrake 22. In the illustrated embodiment, the sensor takes the form of a strain gauge 60 to measure the strain in the member 42 as is known in the art (FIGS. 4 and 5). The strain gauge 60 can be used to determine the force (load) on the load bearing member 42. In the illustrated embodiment, the strain gauge 60 is attached to one of the load bearing member inter-links, here inter-link 44a, in any known manner]; each among said two link sensor assemblies (40) (two half links 50) comprise at least a sensor-chain link (60)[0023] and a sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b); said sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b) comprises one or more sensors (60)[0023]; said chain tension sensor assembly (40) comprises a center axis (Fig. 5: horizontal center line (not depicted)) is aligned an anticipated direction of tension applied on said two link sensor assemblies (40) along said chain (39)[0023-0024]; said chain tension sensor assembly (40) is configured to monitor a pressure signal from said one or more sensors (60)[0023-0024: Mounted on the load bearing member 42 is a sensor 60 for sensing the force applied to the linkage 39 for operating the handbrake 22. In the illustrated embodiment, the sensor takes the form of a strain gauge 60 to measure the strain in the member 42 as is known in the art (FIGS. 4 and 5). The strain gauge 60 can be used to determine the force (load) on the load bearing member 42. In the illustrated embodiment, the strain gauge 60 is attached to one of the load bearing member inter-links, here inter-link 44a, in any known manner] of said sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b) of said two link sensor assemblies (40) [0023]; said sensor-chain link (50) comprises half enclosed shape having an enclosed end and an open end (50)[0022-0023: and U-shaped connectors 50 connecting the inter-links to the linkage 39. Each of the inter-links 44a, 44b have first and second ends 46, 48 connected to one another and to the linkage 39 via the U-shaped connectors 50 which are configured to connect on one end of the inter-links to a chain link 52 and on the other end to a rod opening 54 of the top rod 38 as shown. Any suitable means for being inserted into the linkage 39, depending on the linkage component to which it is to be connected, may be used. In the illustrated embodiment, each connector 50 takes the form of a clevis 56 having a forked end and a non-forked end]; said open end is between a link first end (50 left) and a link second end (50 right), and said enclosed end extends out and away from said open end [0022]; each said sensor-chain link (50) is configured to selectively attach to said sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b)[0022] using said open end and one or more fasteners (56 & 58)[0022]; said sensor-chain link (50) is configured for passing through a portion of said sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b) and securing said open end to said sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b) using a first fastener (56 & 58) on said link first end (50 left) and a second fastener on said link second end (50 right)[0022: the clevis 56 on the left in FIGS. 4 and 5 has a similar construction with the order of the forked and non-forked ends switched as shown. The connector devises 56 and inter-links 44a, 44b are connected to one another via locking pins 58 and pin clips 58a as shown. The load bearing link 42, pins 58, etc., are preferably made of carbon steel or other suitable material having the requisite material strength] with said mechanical brake assembly (22) in a relaxed configuration [0025], portions of said link springs can rest within said sensor base; whereas, with said mechanical brake assembly in a range of intermediate pulled configurations [0044] & [0025]. Murphy, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
said sensor-chain link can further be secured to said sensor base using link springs arranged between said sensor base, said first fastener and said second fastener; said link springs comprise a first spring and a second spring; a plurality of apertures comprises a recessed portion configured to allow a portion of said first spring and said second spring to slide within said sensor base; said recessed portion can ensure pressure on said one or more sensors within two sensor bases does not destroy said one or more sensors by ensuring said link springs can fully compress without being smashed between said two sensor bases; said first spring and said second spring are configured to press said sensor base of each said first link assembly and said second link assembly into one another as discussed herein; said link springs is squeezed within a portion or entirely within said recessed portion of said plurality of apertures; and each said sensor base of said first link assembly and said second link assembly can touch one another without crushing said link springs.
Couch teaches the security device receives longitudinal tension from a taut wire of a fence and preferably is placed in-line in the taut wire system away from posts used to support the fence. The security device senses variations in the longitudinal tension in the taut wire and produces a tension signal which is transmitted to a central location when it senses such a tension deviation [Abstract]. Couch further teaches secured to said sensor base (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56) using link springs (50) arranged between said base (28), said first fastener (29) and said second fastener (29); said link springs (50) comprise a first spring (50) and a second spring (50); a plurality of apertures (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40) comprises a recessed portion configured to allow a portion of said first spring (50) and said second spring (50) to slide within said sensor base (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40 with springs); said recessed portion (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56 having a recessed space on either side of spacer 52) can ensure pressure on said one or more sensors within two sensor bases (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40 with springs) does not destroy said one or more sensors (54 & 56) by ensuring said link springs can fully compress without being smashed between said two sensor bases (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56 having a recessed space on either side of spacer 52) [Col. 4 lines 59-67]; said first spring (50) and said second spring (50) are configured to press said sensor base (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40 with springs); of each said first link assembly (40 & 56) and said second link assembly (46 & 54) into one another as discussed herein [Col. 4 lines 59-67]; said link springs (50) is squeezed within a portion or entirely within said recessed portion of said plurality of apertures (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40 with springs) ; and each said sensor base of said first link assembly (40 & 56) and said second link assembly (46 & 54) can touch one another without crushing said link springs [Col. 4 lines 59-67 & Col. 5 lines 1-20].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Couch’s spring-loaded tension sensor as Murphy’s tension/pressure sensor because a spring-loaded bias force on the tension sensor improves monitoring of the break chain by maintaining a level of tension to avoid error inducing spikes due to sudden tensioning and provides a consistent tension reading for brake status monitoring [Couch Col. 5 lines 30-45].
Claim 5. Dependent on the mechanical brake assembly of claim 3. Murphy further discloses said sensor-chain link (50) is configured for passing through a portion of said sensor base (42 formed with 44a & 44b) and securing said open end to said sensor base using A first fastener (58) on said link first end (50 left) and a second fastener (58) on said link second end (50 left)[0022]. Murphy, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
said sensor-chain link can further be secured to said sensor base using link springs arranged between said sensor base, said first fastener and said second fastener; and said link springs comprise a first spring and a second spring.
Couch teaches the security device receives longitudinal tension from a taut wire of a fence and preferably is placed in-line in the taut wire system away from posts used to support the fence. The security device senses variations in the longitudinal tension in the taut wire and produces a tension signal which is transmitted to a central location when it senses such a tension deviation [Abstract]. Couch further teaches said sensor-chain link (12) can further be secured to said sensor base (40 & 56) and (46 & 54) using link springs (50) arranged between said sensor base (40 & 56) and (46 & 54), said first fastener (nuts on plate 40 to secure rods 36) and said second fastener (nuts on plate 42 to secure rods 36); and said link springs (50 for each rod 36) comprise a first spring (50) and a second spring (50) [Col. 4 lines 59-67 & Col. 5 lines 1-20].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Couch’s spring-loaded tension sensor as Murphy’s, as modified, tension/pressure sensor because a spring-loaded bias force on the tension sensor improves monitoring of the break chain by maintaining a level of tension to avoid error inducing spikes due to sudden tensioning and provides a consistent tension reading for brake status monitoring [Couch Col. 5 lines 30-45].
Claim 6. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 5. Murphy further discloses with said mechanical brake assembly (22) in a relaxed configuration, portions of said link (50) can rest within said sensor base (42 w/ 44a&b apertures). Murphy, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
A plurality of apertures comprises a recessed portion configured to allow a portion of said first spring and said second spring to slide within said sensor base; said recessed portion can ensure pressure on said one or more sensors within two sensor bases does not destroy said one or more sensors by ensuring said link springs can fully compress without being smashed between said two sensor bases; said first spring and said second spring are configured to press said sensor base of each said first link assembly and said second link assembly into one another as discussed herein; with said mechanical brake assembly in a relaxed configuration, portions of said link springs can rest within said sensor base; whereas, with said mechanical brake assembly in a range of intermediate pulled configurations, said link springs is squeezed within a portion or entirely within said recessed portion of said plurality of apertures; and each said sensor base of said first link assembly and said second link assembly can touch one another without crushing said link springs.
Couch teaches the security device receives longitudinal tension from a taut wire of a fence and preferably is placed in-line in the taut wire system away from posts used to support the fence. The security device senses variations in the longitudinal tension in the taut wire and produces a tension signal which is transmitted to a central location when it senses such a tension deviation [Abstract]. Couch further teaches a plurality of apertures (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40) comprises a recessed portion (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56 having a recessed space on either side of spacer 52) configured to allow a portion of said first spring (50) and said second spring (50) to slide within said sensor base (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40 with springs); said recessed portion (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56 having a recessed space on either side of spacer 52) can ensure pressure on said one or more sensors within two sensor bases (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40 with springs) does not destroy said one or more sensors (54 & 56) by ensuring said link springs can fully compress without being smashed between said two sensor bases (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56 having a recessed space on either side of spacer 52) [Col. 4 lines 59-67]; said first spring (50) and said second spring (50) are configured to press said sensor base (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40 with springs); of each said first link assembly (40 & 56) and said second link assembly (46 & 54) into one another as discussed herein [Col. 4 lines 59-67]; whereas, with tension in a range of intermediate pulled configurations said link (40 & 56) and (46 & 54) is within a portion or entirely within said recessed portion (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56 having a recessed space on either side of spacer 52 that the sensors 54 & 56 reside in a compressed spring state) of said plurality of aperture said link springs (50) is squeezed within a portion or entirely within said recessed portion [Col. 4 lines 59-67 & Col. 5 lines 1-20] of said plurality of apertures (Fig. 3: apertures in plate 40 with springs) ; and each said sensor base of said first link assembly (40 & 56) and said second link assembly (46 & 54) can touch one another without crushing said link springs [Col. 4 lines 59-67 & Col. 5 lines 1-20].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Couch’s spring-loaded tension sensor with recessed portions as Murphy’s, as modified, tension/pressure sensor because a recess protected spring-loaded bias force on the tension sensor improves monitoring of the break chain by maintaining a level of tension to avoid error inducing spikes due to sudden tensioning and provides a consistent tension reading for brake status monitoring [Couch Col. 5 lines 30-45].
Claim 10. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 2. Murphy further discloses said chain tension sensor assembly (40) comprises said two sensor bases (42 right and left) comprising said sensor base (42 right and left) of said first link assembly (50 left) and said sensor base (42 right and left) of said second link assembly (50 right)[0022]; said two sensor bases (42 right and left with extensions 44a&b) are configured to extend through a portion of both said sensor-chain link (50 with extensions 44a&b overlapping) of said first link assembly (50 left) and said second link assembly (50 right) [0022]; and said two sensor bases (42 right and left) can each comprise said one or more sensors (60). Murphy, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
two sensor bases can each comprise said one or more sensors configured to measure a proximity between said two sensor bases.
Couch further teaches two sensor bases (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56) each comprise said one or more sensors (54 & 56) configured to measure a proximity between said two sensor bases (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56)[Col. 5 lines 10-20: The tension sensor elements 54 and 56 are adapted to produce the tension signal when the first tension sensor element 54 moves out of a tension sensor proximity from the second tension sensor element 56. Preferably, the tension sensor elements 54 and 56 comprise, respectively, a magnet and a magnetically activated switch, such as the GRI 2020-12 model sensor by GRI Telemark Corporation. The distance between sensor elements 54 and 56 required to produce a tension signal may be as little as 3/8 of an inch] & [Col. 5 lines 50-60].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Couch’s spring-loaded proximity tension sensor as Murphy’s tension sensor because a spring-loaded bias force on the tension sensor improves monitoring of the break chain by maintaining a level of tension to avoid error inducing spikes due to sudden tensioning and provides a consistent tension reading for brake status monitoring [Couch Col. 5 lines 30-45].
Claim 11. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 2. Murphy, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
chain tension sensor assembly is configured for transitioning between said relaxed configuration, said range of intermediate pulled configurations and A fully compressed configuration; said chain tension sensor assembly is configured for measuring a relative proximity between said sensor base of said first link assembly and said second link assembly; and with said chain tension sensor assembly in said fully compressed configuration, said sensor base of each said two link sensor assemblies is pulled completely against one another with said one or more sensors at a minimum distance from one another.
Couch teaches the security device receives longitudinal tension from a taut wire of a fence and preferably is placed in-line in the taut wire system away from posts used to support the fence. The security device senses variations in the longitudinal tension in the taut wire and produces a tension signal which is transmitted to a central location when it senses such a tension deviation [Abstract]. Couch further teaches two sensor bases (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56) each comprise said one or more sensors (54 & 56) chain tension sensor assembly (12) is configured for transitioning between said relaxed configuration, said range of intermediate pulled configurations and A fully compressed configuration [Col. 4 lines 59-67 & Col. 5 lines 1-20]; said chain tension sensor assembly is configured for measuring a proximity between said two sensor bases (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56)[Col. 5 lines 10-20: The tension sensor elements 54 and 56 are adapted to produce the tension signal when the first tension sensor element 54 moves out of a tension sensor proximity from the second tension sensor element 56. Preferably, the tension sensor elements 54 and 56 comprise, respectively, a magnet and a magnetically activated switch, such as the GRI 2020-12 model sensor by GRI Telemark Corporation. The distance between sensor elements 54 and 56 required to produce a tension signal may be as little as 3/8 of an inch] & [Col. 5 lines 50-60] and with said chain tension sensor assembly in said fully compressed configuration, said sensor base of each said two link sensor assemblies is pulled completely against one another with said one or more sensors at a minimum distance from one another [Col. 4 lines 59-67 & Col. 5 lines 1-20].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Couch’s spring-loaded tension sensor as Murphy’s, as modified, tension/pressure sensor because a spring-loaded bias force on the tension sensor improves monitoring of the break chain by maintaining a level of tension to avoid error inducing spikes due to sudden tensioning and provides a consistent tension reading for brake status monitoring [Couch Col. 5 lines 30-45].
Claim 13. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 12. Murphy further discloses the sensor controller (62) comprises at least one or more processors [0024], a power system (64)[0026], and a memory [0024: The electrical circuitry 62 includes the components and wiring to receive and process the signals from the strain gauge 60. This can include, but is not limited to, analog and digital circuitry, CPUs, processors, circuit boards, memory, firmware, controllers, and other electrical items, as required to operate the strain gauge 60 and process the signals as further described below, including communication circuitry and devices, GPS circuitry and devices, and motion detection circuitry and devices. In the illustrated embodiment, two circuit boards 62 are provided, one board having the strain gauge circuitry, the other the communications circuitry] having a device application [0044]; said one or more sensors (60) are configured to create said pressure signal [0023-0024] associated with a tension on said chain tension sensor assembly (40) by said chain (39)[0023-0024];said pressure signal [0031: with the strain gauge 60 for receiving signals therefrom, is capable of obtaining information regarding the status of the handbrake, here determining the amount of force on the inter-link of the load bearing member 42. Next, using the firmware of the circuitry 62, it is determined if the amount of force exceeds a predetermined threshold level indicating that the brake is on. For example, in a preferred embodiment, this threshold level is met if a force of 800 lbs or higher is measured in the linkage 39, which is believed to be sufficient to apply the brakes. If it is determined that the brake 16 is on, information indicating that the brake is on can be communicated elsewhere to a remote receiver 78]; said range of intermediate pulled configurations and said relaxed configuration [0025] & [0044]; and said device application [0044] receives said pressure signal and calculates a state of said chain tension sensor assembly (40)[0024-0025] & [0044]. Murphy does not explicitly disclose:
to determine whether said chain tension sensor assembly is in a fully compressed configuration.
Couch further teaches a sensor base (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56) using link springs (50) arranged between said base (28), said first fastener (29) and said second fastener (29); said link springs (50) comprise a first spring (50) and a second spring (50) to determine whether said chain tension sensor assembly (40) is in a fully compressed configuration (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56 having a recessed space on either side of spacer 52 to measure through proximity compression from tension [Col. 4 lines 59-67].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Couch’s spring-loaded tension sensor as Murphy’s tension/pressure sensor because a spring-loaded bias force on the tension sensor improves monitoring of the break chain by maintaining a level of tension to avoid error inducing spikes due to sudden tensioning and provides a consistent tension reading for brake status monitoring [Couch Col. 5 lines 30-45].
Claim 14. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 13. Murphy further discloses the sensor controller (62) further comprises a communication hardware (68) [0024] to communicate said pressure signal [0024] and a status of said chain tension sensor assembly (40) to other computers (70)[0029-0030].
Claim 15. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 13. Murphy further discloses said pressure signal [0023-0024] comprises a pressure between said sensor base (42 w/ 44 a&b)[0023-0024] of said first link assembly (50 left) and said second link assembly (50 right)[0022].
Claim 16. Murphy discloses a chain tension sensor assembly (Figs. 1 & 2: 40) for monitoring a tension in a chain (39) used in a mechanical brake assembly (22) on a locomotive (10) [0022: monitoring device 40 is a self-contained unit that includes a load bearing member 42 inserted in the linkage 39 of the railcar handbrake 22 system so that the force applied to the brake 16 via the handle 24 passes through the load bearing member 42], wherein: said chain tension sensor assembly (40) comprises two link sensor (u-shaped links 50 on either side of 40) assemblies (40) arranged in series between a plurality of chain links (39)[0022]; said two link sensor assemblies (40) comprises a first link assembly (50 left) and a second link assembly (50 right); said chain tension sensor assembly (40) is configured to monitor a tension in said chain (39)[0023-0024] by installing said chain tension sensor assembly (40) in series between said plurality of chain links (39)[0022] and monitoring a force exerted on said chain tension sensor assembly (40) by portions of said chain (39) [0023-0024]; each among said two link sensor assemblies (40) comprise at least a sensor-chain link (50) and a sensor base (42 w/ 44a&b); said sensor base (42 w/ 44a&b) comprises one or more sensors (60) [0023-0024]; said chain tension sensor assembly (40) comprises a center axis is aligned an anticipated direction (Fig.4: along central longitudinal axis between links 50) of tension applied on said two link sensor assemblies (40) along said chain (39) [0023-0024]; said chain tension sensor assembly (40) is configured to monitor a pressure signal from said one or more sensors of said sensor base of said two link sensor assemblies (40)[0023-0024]; said sensor-chain link (50) [0022] comprises half enclosed shape having an enclosed end (56) and an open end (56 a&b); said open end (56 a&b) is between a link first end (39 left full link) and a link second end (39 right full link)[0022], and said enclosed end (56) extends out and away from said open end (56 a&b); each said sensor-chain link (50) is configured to selectively attach to said sensor base (42 w/ 44a&b) using said open end (56 a & b) and one or more fasteners (58); each among two sensor bases (44) comprises a sensor controller (62)[0024]; said sensor controller (62) comprises a computer [0024] configured to collect and report a status of said one or more sensors (60) of said sensor base (42) of said two link sensor assemblies (40 w/ two links 50); said sensor controller (62) comprises at least one or more processors [0024: The electrical circuitry 62 includes the components and wiring to receive and process the signals from the strain gauge 60. This can include, but is not limited to, analog and digital circuitry, CPUs, processors, circuit boards, memory, firmware, controllers, and other electrical items, as required to operate the strain gauge 60 and process the signals as further described below, including communication circuitry and devices, GPS circuitry and devices, and motion detection circuitry and devices. In the illustrated embodiment, two circuit boards 62 are provided, one board having the strain gauge circuitry, the other the communications circuitry], a power system (64)[0026], and a memory [0039] having a device application [0044]; said one or more sensors (60) are configured to create said pressure signal associated with a tension on said chain tension sensor assembly (40) by said chain (39)[0023-0024]; said pressure signal [0023-0024], a range of intermediate pulled configurations and a relaxed configuration [0025: The higher the force in the linkage, the greater the braking force applied. Thus the monitoring device 40 obtains information related to the status of the handbrake and which can be used to determine additional information related to the status of the handbrake, e.g., is the brake on or off and/or the percentage of maximum braking force applied] & [0044]; and said device application receives said pressure signal and calculates a state of said chain tension sensor assembly (40) [0024-0025]. Murphy does not explicitly disclose:
to determine whether said chain tension sensor assembly is in a fully compressed configuration.
Couch further teaches a sensor base (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56) using link springs (50) arranged between said base (28), said first fastener (29) and said second fastener (29); said link springs (50) comprise a first spring (50) and a second spring (50) to determine whether said chain tension sensor assembly (40) is in a fully compressed configuration (40 & 46 with sensors 54 & 56 having a recessed space on either side of spacer 52 to measure through proximity compression from tension [Col. 4 lines 59-67].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Couch’s spring-loaded tension sensor as Murphy’s tension/pressure sensor because a spring-loaded bias force on the tension sensor improves monitoring of the break chain by maintaining a level of tension to avoid error inducing spikes due to sudden tensioning and provides a consistent tension reading for brake status monitoring [Couch Col. 5 lines 30-45].
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (US 20120046811: “Murphy”) in view of Brewster (US 20160339828: “Brewster”).
Claim 7. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 3. Murphy, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
a sensor-chain link comprises A first threading and a second threading on said link first end, and said link second end, respectively; and each among said first threading and said second threading is threaded and configured to selectively attach to said first fastener, and said second fastener, respectively.
Brewster teaches chain or tie-down assembly, the apparatus may decompress and shorten, thereby taking up the slack and maintaining tension in the chain or tie-down assembly [Abstract]. Brewster further teaches a chain link (26 & 27) comprises a first threading [0012-0013 & 0055] and a second threading on said link first end (26), and said link second end (27), respectively; and each among said first threading and said second threading is threaded and configured to selectively attach to said first fastener (26), and said second fastener (27), respectively [0055: the legs of the first and second U-bolts 26, 27 may be inserted through the appropriate holes in the center guide plate 11 and further inserted through the other parts, such as the first and second end caps 12, 13, until the threaded ends of the U-bolts 26, 27 protrude through the end caps 12, 13 allowing nuts 22, 24 and 23, 25, respectively, to be installed onto the threaded ends of the U-bolts 26, 27. The nuts 22, 24 and 23, 25, respectively, may effectively hold the apparatus 10 together and prevent it from coming apart].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Brewster’s 90 degree offset u-shaped threaded tension loops as a tensioning arrangement for Murphy’s, as modified, U-shaped sensory links because the 90 degree offset improves the measuring accuracy by reducing error inducing torsion when the secured tethered chains rotate separately by providing an opposing compression [Brewster 0010].
Claim 8. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 3. Murphy, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
sensor-chain link of said first link assembly and said sensor-chain link of said second link assembly are aligned with one another along said center axis and rotated 90 degrees relative to one another about said center axis; and said link first end and said link second end overlap with one another but do not interfere with one another being out of phase.
Brewster teaches chain or tie-down assembly, the apparatus may decompress and shorten, thereby taking up the slack and maintaining tension in the chain or tie-down assembly [Abstract]. Brewster further teaches a chain link (26 & 27) of said first link assembly (26) and said sensor-chain link (26 & 27) of said second link assembly (27) are aligned with one another along said center axis (Fig. 3: 26 and 27 cross planes at the center axis) and rotated 90 degrees relative to one another about said center axis (Fig. 3: 26 and 27 are 90 degrees rotated from each other in their respective longitudinal planes); and said link first end (Fig. 4: 26 u-shaped rounded end) and said link second end (Fig. 4: 27u-shaped rounded end) overlap with one another but do not interfere with one another being out of phase (Figs.3 & 4: the ends are opposing and threaded through different apertures as shown Figs. 3 & 4)[0054-0055].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Brewster’s 90 degree offset u-shaped tension loops as a tensioning arrangement for Murphy’s, as modified, U-shaped sensory links because the 90 degree offset improves the measuring accuracy by reducing error inducing torsion when the tethered chains rotate separately by providing an opposing compression [Brewster 0010].
Claim 9. Dependent on the chain tension sensor assembly of claim 8. Murphy, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
The link first end, and said link second end of said sensor-chain link are aligned with A first axis and a second axis, respectively; said sensor base comprises said plurality of apertures comprising a first aperture, a second aperture, a third aperture, and a fourth aperture; said link first end, and said link second end of said two link sensor assemblies can pass through said plurality of apertures; and said plurality of apertures comprises two sets of two aperture each aligned 90 degrees out of phase from one another about said center axis.
Brewster teaches chain or tie-down assembly, the apparatus may decompress and shorten, thereby taking up the slack and maintaining tension in the chain or tie-down assembly [Abstract]. Brewster further teaches the link first end (26 rounded closed end), and said link second end (27 rounded closed end) of said chain link (26 & 27) are aligned with a first axis (26 longitudinally creates a first plane axis) and a second axis (27 longitudinally creates a second plane axis), respectively; said base (12 & 13) comprises said plurality of apertures (four apertures on each of bases 12 & 13) comprising a first aperture, a second aperture, a third aperture, and a fourth aperture (Figs. 3 & 4: four apertures on each of bases 12 & 13); said link first end (Fig. 4: 26 passes through apertures in bases 12 and 13 and fastened by nuts 23 & 25 to back of base 13) and (Fig. 4: 27 passes through apertures in bases 12 and 13 and fastened by nuts 22 & 24 to back of base 12) , and said link second end of said two link sensor assemblies can pass through said plurality of apertures [0055]; and said plurality of apertures (Fig. 4)[0055] comprises two sets of two aperture each aligned 90 degrees out of phase (Fig. 3: 26 is perpendicular to 27) from one another about said center axis (Fig. 4: the plane of 26 secured on the first axis by bolts 23 & 25 are 90 degrees from the plane of 27 secured on the second axis by nuts 22 & 24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Brewster’s 90 degree offset u-shaped tension loops as a tensioning arrangement for Murphy’s, as modified, U-shaped sensory links because the 90 degree offset improves the measuring accuracy by reducing error inducing torsion when the tethered chains rotate separately by providing an opposing compression [Brewster 0010].
Conclusion
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855