DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant submits that the combination of Ko in view of Huang does not specifically show teach the claimed invention as presented. Specifically, Applicant has submitted:
“…Ko's 1-bit PE duration subfield is located in the triggered response scheduling (TRS) control field, not in the extremely high throughput (EHT) operation parameter…” (Applicant’s Remarks, page 7, 1st par.);
“…Ko's first value indicates only 20 not "16 µs or 20 µs…" (Applicant’s Remarks, page 7, 2nd par.); and
“Huang does not cure the deficiencies of Ko…However, Huang's first subfield "may be set to 0 or 1 to indicate whether the generated trigger frame is a first type trigger frame or a second type trigger frame…" (Applicant’s Remarks, page 7, 3rd par.).
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant and assert that the combination of Ko in view of Huang teaches the claimed invention as presented in independent claim 1.
Regarding argument (a), Applicant is respectfully reminded that MPEP 2141.02 VI states that “a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention…” With respect to the Ko reference, Ko indeed teaches the use of trigger frames and the trigger frames were applied in the rejections. However, Par. 0210 and 0228 shows a trigger frame corresponding to one of triggering frames may be distinguished as a HE trigger frame, an EHT trigger frame, and a NEXT trigger frame. In turn, when a trigger frame is determined to be an EHT trigger frame, the parameters included in such EHT trigger frames are considered EHT operation parameters.
Regarding argument (b), the claim language is presented in alternative form and therefore, the prior art reference only needs to show one of the alternative forms to read on the claim limitation. With respect to the Ko reference, Par. 0339-0341 shows a PE field duration of 20 µs is considered for an EHT TB PPDU. In turn, Ko teaches at least “a first value of the indicator indicates that the PE duration is 16 µs or 20 µs” based from the above reasoning.
Regarding argument (c), Examiner respectfully re-asserts that both Ko and Huang are directed to the use of different trigger frame types and therefore are in the same field of endeavor. Figure 15 and Par. 0119 of Ko states "a frame for soliciting or triggering multi-user (MU) transmission may be transmitted, and one or more STAs may perform transmission on the basis of the frame, or may respond to the frame." Further, Ko teaches that PE duration subfield may indicate different depending on the applied applications. Par. 0340 shows:
[0340] According to another embodiment, the PE duration subfield may solicit whether the use of a PE field of 20 us is allowed. In this case, the PE duration subfield may be 1 bit. This method is advantageous in that a small number of bits of the PE duration subfield are included in the TRS. According to an embodiment, when the PE duration subfield included in the TRS control solicit 20 us, the duration of the PE field included in the PPDU may be 20 us. In addition, when the PE duration subfield included in the TRS control does not allow the use of the PE field of 20 us, the duration of the PE field may be configured by the duration solicited by the default PE duration subfield included in the operation element, described in FIGS. 20 and 21, and transmitted through the PPDU.
As shown above, with the use of a 1-bit indicator above, the Ko reference implies that values may be directed to either “1” or “0” to indicate whether a PE field of 20 us is allowed (EHT application) or not (HE application). However, Ko does not specify which of the applications, i.e. EHT application or HE application, is designated to a particular bit, i.e. “1” or “0”.
On the other hand, Figure 3 and Par. 0048 of Huang illustrates a method 300 for triggering uplink transmission in WLAN 100 wherein a trigger frame is generated by the AP 101 based on a type of PPDU transmissions to be solicited from a plurality of STAs in the WLAN, e.g. the HE STAs 102, R1 EHT STAs 103 and/or R2 EHT STAs 104. Specifically, Par. 0037-0038 shows that the first type of PPDU transmissions are directed to HE TB PPDUs and the second type of PPDU transmissions are directed to EHT TB PPDUs. Par. 0051 further shows that the designation of the bit indicators are based on the particular design or application. Par. 0051 shows:
[0051] In this embodiment, the first subfield may be set to 0 or 1 to indicate whether the generated trigger frame is a first type trigger frame or a second type trigger frame. For example, if the trigger frame is the first type trigger frame, the first subfield is set to 0; and if the trigger frame is the second type trigger frame, the first subfield is set to 1. For another example, if the trigger frame is the first type trigger frame, the first subfield is set to 1; and if the trigger frame is the second type trigger frame, the first subfield is set to 0.
In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked into Huang to cure the deficiencies of Ko in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Given the current rejections and having the additional reasoning as presented above, Ko in view of Huang teaches the claimed invention as presented in the independent claim.
Regarding claims 2, 4-10, 13-14 and 16-18, Applicant submits the same argument as already presented with respect to claim 1. Therefore, Examiner also submits the same reasoning as already applied with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 2023/0354098; hereinafter Ko) in view Huang (US 2023/0309070; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Ko shows a communication method (Figures 15, 20 and 24 shows a method performed in part by an access point (AP).), comprising:
sending, by an access device, an extremely high throughput (EHT) operation parameter to a station device (Figures 15 and 24; Par. 0227, 0338-0341; sending, by the AP, a trigger frame to an STA. The STA may identify whether the format of the triggered PPDU is an EHT TB PPDU or a HE TB PPDU on the basis of a value of a specific field included in the trigger frame.), wherein the EHT operation parameter comprises an indicator for indicating a value of a packet extension (PE) duration (Figure 24; Par. 0338-0341, 0352; a duration of a PE field included in the PPDU may be configured as a value solicited by a default PE duration subfield included in an operation element (for example, a HE operation element, an EHT operation element, etc.).), a first value of the indicator indicates that the PE duration is 16 μs or 20 μs (Par. 0339-0341; the PE duration subfield may solicit whether the use of a PE field of 20 us is allowed. The PE field duration of 20 us may be restricted to be used only for an EHT TB PPDU.), and a second value of the indicator indicates that the PE duration is duration specified by a high efficiency (HE) operation parameter (Par. 0339-0341; In addition, when the PE duration subfield included in the TRS control does not allow the use of the PE field of 20 us, the duration of the PE field may be configured by the duration solicited by the default PE duration subfield included in the operation element (i.e. HE operation element), described in FIGS. 20 and 21.) and wherein the indicator is 1 bit (Par. 0340, 0453; PE duration field is 1 bit.).
Ko shows all of the elements except the first value is 1, and the second value is 0.
However, the above-mentioned claim limitations are well-established in the art as evidenced by Huang. Specifically, Huang shows the first value is 1, and the second value is 0 (Par. 0037-0038, 0051; the first subfield may be set to 0 or 1 to indicate whether the generated trigger frame is a first type trigger frame or a second type trigger frame. For example, if the trigger frame is the first type trigger frame (for soliciting HE TB PPDUs), the first subfield is set to 0; and if the trigger frame is the second type trigger frame (for soliciting EHT TB PPDUs), the first subfield is set to 1.).
In view of the above, having the system of Ko, then given the well-established teaching of Huang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko as taught by Huang, in order to provide motivation for efficient triggering uplink transmission in WLAN.).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ko shows wherein the PE duration is used for packet extension of a trigger-based physical layer protocol data unit (TB PPDU) triggered by trigger response scheduling (TRS) (Ko: Figure 15; Par. 0341; In this case, the terminal may recognize whether the TB PPDU, the transmission of which is triggered by the TRS or the trigger frame, is an EHT TB PPDU or a HE TB PPDU on the basis of the TB PPDU format signaling described in FIGS. 17, 18, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ko shows wherein a default PE duration (Default PE Duration) subfield of the HE operation parameter comprises three bits, wherein when values of the default PE duration subfield are 0 to 4, the default PE duration subfield respectively corresponds to predefined PE duration 0 μs, 4 μs, 8 μs, 12 μs or 16 μs, and wherein values 5 to 7 of the default PE duration subfield are reserved values (Ko: Par. 0292; the HE operation parameters field may include a default PE duration subfield. In this case, the default PE duration subfield may be 3 bits, and values 5 to 7 may be reserved. That is, the values 5 to 7 of the default PE duration subfield are reserved, and thus only values 0 to 4 are only valid values. Accordingly, the duration which can be indicated by the default PE duration subfield may be 0, 4, 8, 12, and 16 μs. When a reserved value 5 is used, the default PE duration subfield may be indicated up to 20 μs.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ko shows wherein the first value of the indicator indicates that the PE duration is 16 μs or 20 μs (Ko: Par. 0339-0341; the PE duration subfield may solicit whether the use of a PE field of 20 us is allowed. The PE field duration of 20 us may be restricted to be used only for an EHT TB PPDU.), and the method further comprises:
sending, by the access device, a first PPDU to the station device, wherein the first PPDU carries indication information (Ko: Figures 15-16; AP sends a trigger frame to the STA which carries different information for the STA.), the indication information indicates bandwidth information of the first PPDU, and the indication information is used to determine the PE duration (Ko: Par. 0270-0275; a PE field having a pre-configured duration may be used only for a configuration that is pre-configured. The pre-configured value may be based on a channel width, a bandwidth, or the size of an RU. For example, when the channel width for transmission, the bandwidth, or the size of the RU is configured with a pre-configured value, the duration of the PE field may be determined as the pre-configured specific value.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ko shows sending, by the access device, a first PPDU to the station device, wherein the first PPDU carries indication information (Ko: Figures 15-16; AP sends a trigger frame to the STA which carries different information for the STA.), the indication information indicates a resource unit (RU) size for a second PPDU, and the RU size is used to determine the PE duration (Ko: Par. 0270-0275; a PE field having a pre-configured duration may be used only for a configuration that is pre-configured. The pre-configured value may be based on a channel width, a bandwidth, or the size of an RU. For example, when the channel width for transmission, the bandwidth, or the size of the RU is configured with a pre-configured value, the duration of the PE field may be determined as the pre-configured specific value.).
Regarding claim 7, Ko shows a communication method (Figures 15, 20 and 24 shows a method performed in part by an STA.), comprising:
receiving, by a station device, an extremely high throughput (EHT) operation parameter from an access device (Figures 15 and 24; Par. 0227, 0338-0341; sending, by the AP, a trigger frame to an STA. The STA may identify whether the format of the triggered PPDU is an EHT TB PPDU or a HE TB PPDU on the basis of a value of a specific field included in the trigger frame.), wherein the EHT operation parameter comprises an indicator for indicating a value of a packet extension (PE) duration (Figure 24; Par. 0338-0341, 0352; a duration of a PE field included in the PPDU may be configured as a value solicited by a default PE duration subfield included in an operation element (for example, a HE operation element, an EHT operation element, etc.).), a first value of the indicator indicates that the PE duration is 16 μs or 20 μs (Par. 0339-0341; the PE duration subfield may solicit whether the use of a PE field of 20 us is allowed. The PE field duration of 20 us may be restricted to be used only for an EHT TB PPDU.), and a second value of the indicator indicates that the PE duration is duration specified by a high efficiency (HE) operation parameter (Par. 0339-0341; In addition, when the PE duration subfield included in the TRS control does not allow the use of the PE field of 20 us, the duration of the PE field may be configured by the duration solicited by the default PE duration subfield included in the operation element (i.e. HE operation element), described in FIGS. 20 and 21.) and wherein the indicator is 1 bit (Par. 0340, 0453; PE duration field is 1 bit.); and
determining, by the station device, the PE duration based on the EHT operation parameter (Figures 15 and 24; Par. 0227, 0338-0341; The STA may identify whether the format of the triggered PPDU is an EHT TB PPDU or a HE TB PPDU on the basis of a value of a specific field included in the trigger frame.).
Ko shows all of the elements except the first value is 1, and the second value is 0.
However, the above-mentioned claim limitations are well-established in the art as evidenced by Huang. Specifically, Huang shows the first value is 1, and the second value is 0 (Par. 0037-0038, 0051; the first subfield may be set to 0 or 1 to indicate whether the generated trigger frame is a first type trigger frame or a second type trigger frame. For example, if the trigger frame is the first type trigger frame (for soliciting HE TB PPDUs), the first subfield is set to 0; and if the trigger frame is the second type trigger frame (for soliciting EHT TB PPDUs), the first subfield is set to 1.).
In view of the above, having the system of Ko, then given the well-established teaching of Huang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko as taught by Huang, in order to provide motivation for efficient triggering uplink transmission in WLAN.).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claims 2 and 4, respectively.
Regarding claim 11, modified Ko shows all of the elements including wherein the first value of the indicator indicates that the PE duration is 16 μs or 20 μs (Ko: Par. 0339-0341; the PE duration subfield may solicit whether the use of a PE field of 20 us is allowed. The PE field duration of 20 us may be restricted to be used only for an EHT TB PPDU.), and the method further comprises: receiving, by the station device, a first PPDU from the access device, wherein the first PPDU carries indication information (Ko: Figures 15-16; AP sends a trigger frame to the STA which carries different information for the STA.), and the indication information indicates bandwidth information of the first PPDU (Ko: Par. 0270-0275; a PE field having a pre-configured duration may be used only for a configuration that is pre-configured. The pre-configured value may be based on a channel width, a bandwidth, or the size of an RU. For example, when the channel width for transmission, the bandwidth, or the size of the RU is configured with a pre-configured value, the duration of the PE field may be determined as the pre-configured specific value.).
Modified Ko does not specifically show when a bandwidth of the first PPDU is greater than a first threshold, determining, by the station device, that the PE duration is 20 μs; or when a bandwidth of the first PPDU is less than or equal to a first threshold, determining, by the station device, that the PE duration is 16 μs.
However, the above-mentioned claim limitations are well-established in the art as evidenced by Huang. Specifically, Huang shows when a bandwidth of the first PPDU is greater than a first threshold, determining, by the station device, that the PE duration is 20 μs (Par. 0106; Table 3; When the trigger frame is used to solicit a second type PPDU transmission, i.e. the PPDU BW subfield of the special user information field indicates the BW allocated for the solicited EHT TB PPDU transmission, i.e. the BW in the U-SIG of each solicited EHT TB PPDU. An example of a predetermined encoding rule of the PPDU BW subfield when the trigger frame is used to solicit EHT TB PPDU transmission is shown in Table 3. PE duration is 20 μs is used for EHT TB PPDUs.); or
when a bandwidth of the first PPDU is less than or equal to a first threshold, determining, by the station device, that the PE duration is 16 μs (Par. 0104; Table 1; When the trigger frame is used to solicit a first type PPDU transmission, i.e. the UL BW subfield is set to indicate the BW allocated for the solicited HE TB PPDU transmission, i.e. the BW in the HE-SIG-A field of each solicited HE TB PPDU. PE duration is 16 μs or below is used for HE TB PPDUs.).
In view of the above, having the system of Ko, then given the well-established teaching of Huang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko as taught by Huang, in order to provide motivation for efficient triggering uplink transmission in WLAN.).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ko shows all of the elements including receiving, by the station device, a first PPDU from the access device, wherein the first PPDU carries indication information (Ko: Figures 15-16; AP sends a trigger frame to the STA which carries different information for the STA.), and the indication information indicates a resource unit (RU) size for a second PPDU (Ko: Par. 0270-0275; a PE field having a pre-configured duration may be used only for a configuration that is pre-configured. The pre-configured value may be based on a channel width, a bandwidth, or the size of an RU. For example, when the channel width for transmission, the bandwidth, or the size of the RU is configured with a pre-configured value, the duration of the PE field may be determined as the pre-configured specific value.).
Modified Ko does not specifically show when the RU size is greater than a second threshold size, determine, by the station device, that the PE duration is 20 μs; or when the RU size is less than or equal to a second threshold size, determine, by the station device, that the PE duration is 16 μs.
However, the above-mentioned claim limitations are well-established in the art as evidenced by Huang. Specifically, Huang shows when the RU size is greater than a second threshold size, determine, by the station device, that the PE duration is 20 μs (Par. 0119; A R2 EHT STA would treat the user information field with the AID12 subfield matched with its AID as the HE format user information field or the EHT format user information field depending on whether the allocated RU or MRU is located within the BW allocated for HE TB PPDU transmission or EHT TB PPDU transmission. Specifically, a R2 EHT STA would treat the user info field with the AID12 subfield matched with its AID as the HE format user information field when the allocated RU or MRU is located within the BW allocated for the HE TB PPDU transmission; and would treat the user information field with the AID12 subfield matched with its AID as the EHT format user info field when the allocated RU or MRU is located within the BW allocated for the EHT TB PPDU transmission. PE duration is 20 μs is used for EHT TB PPDUs.); or
when the RU size is less than or equal to a second threshold size, determine, by the station device, that the PE duration is 16 μs (Par. 0119; A R2 EHT STA would treat the user information field with the AID12 subfield matched with its AID as the HE format user information field or the EHT format user information field depending on whether the allocated RU or MRU is located within the BW allocated for HE TB PPDU transmission or EHT TB PPDU transmission. Specifically, a R2 EHT STA would treat the user info field with the AID12 subfield matched with its AID as the HE format user information field when the allocated RU or MRU is located within the BW allocated for the HE TB PPDU transmission; and would treat the user information field with the AID12 subfield matched with its AID as the EHT format user info field when the allocated RU or MRU is located within the BW allocated for the EHT TB PPDU transmission. PE duration is 16 μs or below is used for HE TB PPDUs.).
In view of the above, having the system of Ko, then given the well-established teaching of Huang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko as taught by Huang, in order to provide motivation for efficient triggering uplink transmission in WLAN.).
Regarding claim 13, Ko shows a communication apparatus (Figures 15, 20 and 24 shows a method performed in part by an access point (AP) of Figure 4.), comprising:
a transceiver (Figure 4 shows AP including a communication unit.) configured to send an extremely high throughput (EHT) operation parameter (Figures 15 and 24; Par. 0227, 0338-0341; sending, by the AP, a trigger frame to an STA. The STA may identify whether the format of the triggered PPDU is an EHT TB PPDU or a HE TB PPDU on the basis of a value of a specific field included in the trigger frame.), wherein the EHT operation parameter comprises an indicator for indicating a value of a packet extension (PE) duration (Figure 24; Par. 0338-0341, 0352; a duration of a PE field included in the PPDU may be configured as a value solicited by a default PE duration subfield included in an operation element (for example, a HE operation element, an EHT operation element, etc.).), a first value of the indicator indicates that the PE duration is 16 μs or 20 μs (Par. 0339-0341; the PE duration subfield may solicit whether the use of a PE field of 20 us is allowed. The PE field duration of 20 us may be restricted to be used only for an EHT TB PPDU.), and a second value of the indicator indicates that the PE duration is duration specified by a high efficiency (HE) operation parameter (Par. 0339-0341; In addition, when the PE duration subfield included in the TRS control does not allow the use of the PE field of 20 us, the duration of the PE field may be configured by the duration solicited by the default PE duration subfield included in the operation element (i.e. HE operation element), described in FIGS. 20 and 21.) and wherein the indicator is 1 bit (Par. 0340, 0453; PE duration field is 1 bit.).
Ko shows all of the elements except the first value is 1, and the second value is 0.
However, the above-mentioned claim limitations are well-established in the art as evidenced by Huang. Specifically, Huang shows the first value is 1, and the second value is 0 (Par. 0037-0038, 0051; the first subfield may be set to 0 or 1 to indicate whether the generated trigger frame is a first type trigger frame or a second type trigger frame. For example, if the trigger frame is the first type trigger frame (for soliciting HE TB PPDUs), the first subfield is set to 0; and if the trigger frame is the second type trigger frame (for soliciting EHT TB PPDUs), the first subfield is set to 1.).
In view of the above, having the system of Ko, then given the well-established teaching of Huang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ko as taught by Huang, in order to provide motivation for efficient triggering uplink transmission in WLAN.).
Regarding claims 14, 16, 17 and 18, these claims are rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claims 2, 4, 5 and 6, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11515982 B2 Special user information field for trigger frame
/REDENTOR PASIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413