DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US Publication No. 20160142037) in view of Tang (US Patent No. 6483415) and in view of Inoue et al (US Publication No. 20070268092) and further in view of Nuebling (US Publication No. 20220311344).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches an insulating transformer (i.e., 10a; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0027]), comprising: an insulation layer (i.e., 16a-16g; the insulating layers 16a through 16g are made of a dielectric material; see for example fig. 3, para. [0028]- [0047]); a transformer (i.e., 10a; the transformer 10a, see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0027]) embedded in the insulation layer (i.e., 16a- 16g; the insulating layers 16a through 16g are made of a dielectric material; see for example fig. 3, para. [0028]- [0047]) and including a first coil (i.e., L1; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via hole conductors v1 and v2; see para. [0031]) and a second coil (i.e., L2; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4; see para. [0034]), the first coil (i.e., L1; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2; see para. [0031]) including a first signal terminal (i.e., 14a; the signal line L1 is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14b; see para. [0025]) and a first ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) and being configured (i.e., the outer terminal 14a is an input terminal into which an unbalanced signal is input, the outer terminals 14b and 14c are output terminals from which a balanced signal is output, and the outer terminal 14d is a ground terminal to be grounded; see para. [0026]) to allow for application of a low voltage (i.e., L1 is the low-side; there is a 18° phase difference between the voltage of a signal output from the signal line L1 and that from the signal line L2; see para. [0041]) to the first signal terminal (i.e., 14a; the signal line L1 is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14b; see para. [0025]), and the second coil (i.e., L2; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4; see para. [0034]), including a second signal terminal (i.e., 14c; the signal line L2 is connected between the outer terminals 14c and 14d; see para. [0025]) and a second ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]), and being configured (i.e., the outer terminal 14a is an input terminal into which an unbalanced signal is input, the outer terminals 14b and 14c are output terminals from which a balanced signal is output, and the outer terminal 14d is a ground terminal to be grounded; see para. [0026]) to allow for application of a high voltage (i.e., L2 is the high-side; That is, the voltage of the signal passing through the capacitor C is in phase with that output from the signal line L2. With this configuration, the amplitude of the second output signal output from the outer terminal 14c is increased; see para. [0042]) to the second signal terminal (i.e., 14c; the signal line L2 is connected between the outer terminals 14c and 14d; see para. [0025]); a capacitor (i.e., C; Capacitor C; see para. [0028]) including a first capacitor electrode (i.e., 14a; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]) and a second capacitor electrode (i.e., 14c; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]), the first capacitor electrode (i.e., 14a; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]) being connected to the first ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) of the first coil (i.e., L1; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2; see para. [0031]), and the second capacitor electrode (i.e., 14c; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]) being connected to the second ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) of the second coil (i.e., L2; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4; see para. [0034]); a first insulation film (i.e., 16d, 16e, 16f; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) located between the first coil (i.e., L1; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2; see para. [0031]) and the first capacitor electrode (i.e., 14a; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]); and a second insulation film (i.e., 16g, 16a, 16b; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) located between the second coil (i.e., L2; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4; see para. [0034]) and the second capacitor electrode (i.e., 14c; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]); wherein the insulation layer (i.e., 16a-16g; the insulating layers 16a through 16g are made of a dielectric material; see for example fig. 3, para. [0028]- [0047]) includes a first insulation layer (i.e., 16d, 16e, 16f; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) and a second insulation layer (i.e., 16g, 16a, 16b; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) which is located on the first insulation layer (i.e., 16d, 16e, 16f; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) so as to be separated (i.e., 16c is the mid-point separating sheet; That is, the coil conductors 18a and 20a oppose each other with the insulating layer 16c interposed therebetween. With this configuration, the coil conductors 18a and 20a are electromagnetically coupled with each other; see para. [0034]) from the first insulation layer (i.e., 16d, 16e, 16f; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]), the first coil (i.e., L1; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via hole conductors v1 and v2; see para. [0031]), the first capacitor electrode (i.e., 14a; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]), and the first insulation film (i.e., 16d, 16e, 16f; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) are embedded (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) in the first insulation layer (i.e., 16d, 16e, 16f; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) and the second coil (i.e., L2; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4; see para. [0034]), the second capacitor electrode (i.e., 14c; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]), and the second insulation film (i.e., 16g, 16a, 16b; insulating layers 16a- 16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) are embedded (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) in the second insulation layer (i.e., 16g, 16a, 16b; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]).
Tanaka does not teach the first insulation layer and the second insulation layer are stacked so as to be separated from each other in a first direction that is a thickness direction, the first coil is separated from the second coil in the first direction, the first capacitor electrode is located between the first coil and the second coil in the first direction, and the second capacitor electrode is located between the first capacitor electrode and the second coil in the first direction; wherein the first capacitor electrode covering an entirety of the first coil with the first insulation film interposed therebetween in plain view and, the second capacitor electrode covering an entirety of the second coil with the second insulation film interposed therebetween in plain view.
Tang teaches in a similar field of endeavor in integrated transformers (i.e., see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+); wherein the first insulation layer (i.e., dielectric layer 612c; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) and the second insulation layer (i.e., dielectric layer 612f; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) are stacked (i.e., the balun comprises eight vertically stacked dielectric layers 612a-612h; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) so as to be separated (i.e., the balun comprises eight vertically stacked dielectric layers 612a-612h; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) from each other (i.e., the balun comprises eight vertically stacked dielectric layers 612a-612h; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) in a first direction (i.e., vertical/top-bottom and vice versa direction; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+); that is a thickness direction (i.e., such as thickness of all layers 612a-612h in the vertical/top-bottom and vice versa direction; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+), the first coil (i.e., spiral lines/coil 624a on plane 612c; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) is separated from the second coil (i.e., spiral lines/coil 626a on plane 612f; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) in the first direction (i.e., vertical/top-bottom and vice versa direction; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+), the first capacitor electrode (i.e., capacitor electrode CP1 on plane 612d; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) is located between the first coil (i.e., spiral lines/coil 624a on plane 612c; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) and the second coil (i.e., spiral lines/coil 626a on plane 612f; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) in the first direction (i.e., vertical/top-bottom and vice versa direction; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+), and the second capacitor electrode (i.e., capacitor electrode CP2 on plane 612e; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) is located between the first capacitor electrode (i.e., capacitor electrode CP1 on plane 612d; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) and the second coil (i.e., spiral lines/coil 626a on plane 612f; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) in the first direction (i.e., vertical/top-bottom and vice versa direction; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+); wherein the first capacitor electrode (i.e., such as first capacitor electrode CP1/624b; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) covering an entirety (i.e., such as CP1/624b is covering the entire face of coil 624a via insulator layer 612c; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) of the first coil (i.e., such as first coil 624a; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) with the first insulation film (i.e., such as first insulation film 612c; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) interposed therebetween (i.e., such as insulator layer 612c is injected between coil 624a and CP1/624b; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) in plain view (i.e., such as insulator layer 612c is injected between coil 624a and CP1/624b in the plan view of Z-X plane; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) and, the second capacitor electrode (i.e., such as second capacitor electrode CP2/626b; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) covering an entirety (i.e., such as CP2/626b is covering the entire face of coil 626a via insulator layer 612e; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) of the second coil (i.e., such as second coil 626a; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) with the second insulation film (i.e., such as second insulation film 612e; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) interposed therebetween (i.e., such as insulator layer 612e is injected between coil 626a and CP2/626b; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+) in plain view (i.e., such as insulator layer 612e is injected between coil 626a and CP2/626b in the plan view of Z-X plane; see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the capacitor device in Tanaka, as taught by Tang, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards absorbing inductive kickback to protect components.
Neither Tanaka nor Tang teaches wherein the first capacitor electrode, the first insulation film, and the first coil form a metal-insulator-metal structure, and the second capacitor electrode, the second insulation film, and the second coil form a metal-insulator-metal structure.
Inoue teaches in a similar field of endeavor in integrated transformers (i.e., see for example fig. 16, para. [0081]); wherein the first capacitor electrode (i.e., such as first capacitor electrode 76; see for example fig. 16, para. [0081]), the first insulation film (i.e., such as first insulation film 70; see for example fig. 16, para. [0081]), and the first coil (i.e., such as first coil 72; see for example fig. 16, para. [0081]) form a metal-insulator-metal structure (i.e., such as MIM structure; for instance, in the first embodiment, a balun is formed with an integrated passive device, so that L and C with high Q values can be used, and the insertion loss and the phase balance can be made smaller. FIG. 16A is a plan view of an integrated passive device (IPD) chip 41 that constitutes a balun of the first embodiment. FIG. 16B is a cross-sectional view of a capacitor. As shown in FIG. 16A, a spiral coil 72 formed with a metal film such as a copper film is formed on a substrate 70 made of quartz or the like. As shown in FIG. 16B, a lower electrode 76 formed with a metal film such as a copper film, a dielectric film 77 formed with a silicon oxide film or the like, and an upper electrode 78 formed with a metal film are formed on a substrate 70, so as to form a MIM capacitor 74. As shown in FIG. 16A, the MIM capacitor 74 is connected as the first capacitor CS between the unbalanced terminal T1 and the balanced terminal T21, and the spiral coil 72 is connected as the first inductor LP between the balanced terminal T21 and the ground terminal TG. The spiral coil 72 is connected as the second inductor LS between the unbalanced terminal T1 and the balanced terminal T22, and the MIM capacitor 74 is connected as the second capacitor CP between the balanced terminal T22 and the ground terminal TG. With this arrangement, the balun 40 including the IPD is formed; see for example fig. 16, para. [0081]), and the second capacitor electrode (i.e., such as second capacitor electrode 78; see for example fig. 16, para. [0081]), the second insulation film (i.e., such as second insulation film 77; see for example fig. 16, para. [0081]), and the second coil (i.e., such as second coil 72; see for example fig. 16, para. [0081]) form a metal-insulator-metal structure (i.e., such as MIM structure; for instance, in the first embodiment, a balun is formed with an integrated passive device, so that L and C with high Q values can be used, and the insertion loss and the phase balance can be made smaller. FIG. 16A is a plan view of an integrated passive device (IPD) chip 41 that constitutes a balun of the first embodiment. FIG. 16B is a cross-sectional view of a capacitor. As shown in FIG. 16A, a spiral coil 72 formed with a metal film such as a copper film is formed on a substrate 70 made of quartz or the like. As shown in FIG. 16B, a lower electrode 76 formed with a metal film such as a copper film, a dielectric film 77 formed with a silicon oxide film or the like, and an upper electrode 78 formed with a metal film are formed on a substrate 70, so as to form a MIM capacitor 74. As shown in FIG. 16A, the MIM capacitor 74 is connected as the first capacitor CS between the unbalanced terminal T1 and the balanced terminal T21, and the spiral coil 72 is connected as the first inductor LP between the balanced terminal T21 and the ground terminal TG. The spiral coil 72 is connected as the second inductor LS between the unbalanced terminal T1 and the balanced terminal T22, and the MIM capacitor 74 is connected as the second capacitor CP between the balanced terminal T22 and the ground terminal TG. With this arrangement, the balun 40 including the IPD is formed; see for example fig. 16, para. [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the MIM structure in Tanaka, as taught by Inoue, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards high-precision capacitance, low parasitic resistance, and excellent linearity.
Neither Tanaka nor Tang nor Inoue teaches the first ground terminal being electrically connected to a first ground of a low-voltage circuit, the second ground terminal being electrically connected to a second ground of a high-voltage circuit, the second ground being electrically independent from the first ground, and the transformer being configured to restrict transmission of DC voltage between the low-voltage circuit and the high-voltage circuit while permitting transmission of a signal between the low-voltage circuit and the high-voltage circuit.
Nuebling teaches in a similar field of endeavor in integrated transformers (i.e., transformer 10; fig. 1); wherein the first ground terminal (GND2; fig. 1) being electrically connected to a first ground (GND2; fig. 1) of a low-voltage circuit (low-voltage circuit 12; fig. 1), the second ground terminal (GND1; fig. 1) being electrically connected to a second ground (GND1; fig. 1) of a high-voltage circuit (high-voltage circuit 11; fig. 1), the second ground being electrically independent from the first ground (i.e., The two ground nodes GND.sub.1 and GND.sub.2 are galvanically isolated and the voltage between the two ground potentials can vary; para. [0016]), and the transformer being configured to restrict transmission of DC voltage (i.e., blocking DC voltages via the parasitic capacitive coupling Cpar; fig. 1) between the low-voltage circuit and the high-voltage circuit while permitting transmission of a signal (i.e., signal Sin to be transmitted via 11 to receiver 12; fig. 1) between the low-voltage circuit and the high-voltage circuit (implicit, as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the independent ground scheme in Tanaka, as taught by Nuebling, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein: the first insulation film (i.e., 16d, 16e, 16f; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) includes a first open portion (i.e., v1, v2; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]) exposing part of the first ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) of the first coil (i.e., L1; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2; see para. [0031]); the first capacitor electrode (i.e., 14a; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]) is connected to the first ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) of the first coil (i.e., L1; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2; see para. [0031]) exposed by the first open portion (i.e., v1, v2; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]); the second insulation film (i.e., 16g, 16a, 16b; insulating layers 16a-16g; see for example fig. 3, para. [0038]) includes a second open portion (i.e., v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]) exposing part of the second capacitor electrode (i.e., 14c; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]); and the second ground terminal (i.e., 14d- 14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) of the second coil (i.e., L2; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4; see para. [0034]) includes a portion (i.e., element 26 on plane 16b because 26 corresponds to 14d which is a ground terminal) in the second open portion (i.e., v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]), and the second capacitor electrode (i.e., 14c; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]) is connected to the second ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) in the second open portion (i.e., v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein: the first coil (i.e., L1; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2; see para. [0031]) includes first coil wiring having a spiral form (i.e., spiral shape; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]), the first ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) connected to one end (i.e., 22 = 14a, 24 = 14b; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 22 is connected to the outer terminal 14a; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 24 is connected to the outer terminal 14b; see para. [0032]- [0033]) of the first coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape; the signal line LI includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors vi and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]), and the first signal terminal (i.e., 14a; the signal line LI is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14b; see para. [0025]) connected to another end (i.e., 22 = 14a, 24 = 14b; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 22 is connected to the outer terminal 14a; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 24 is connected to the outer terminal 14b; see para. [0032]- [0033]) of the first coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape; the signal line LI includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors vi and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]); and the second coil (i.e., L2; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4; see para. [0034]) includes second coil wiring having a spiral form (i.e., spiral shape; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]), the second ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) connected to one end (i.e., 26 = 14d, 28 = 14c; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 26 is connected to the outer terminal 14d; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 28 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0035]- [0036]) of the second coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]), and the second signal terminal (i.e., 14c; the signal line L2 is connected between the outer terminals 14c and 14d; see para. [0025]) connected to another end (i.e., 26 = 14d, 28 = 14c; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 26 is connected to the outer terminal 14d; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 28 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0035]- [0036]) of the second coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein: the first capacitor electrode (i.e., 14a; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]) includes first electrode wiring (i.e., 22 = 14a, 24 = 14b; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 22 is connected to the outer terminal 14a; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 24 is connected to the outer terminal 14b; see para. [0032]- [0033]) overlapping the first coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/vl, v2; the signal line Ll includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors vi and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]) as viewed in the thickness (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) direction (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa), a first capacitor end (i.e., 40 = 14a; the capacitor conductor 40 is connected to the outer terminal 14a; see para. [0037]) overlapping the first signal terminal (i.e., 14a; the signal line L1 is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14b; see para. [0025]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa), and a first capacitor ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) overlapping the first ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa); and the second capacitor electrode (i.e., 14c; The capacitor C is connected between the outer terminals 14a and 14c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0025]) includes second electrode wiring (i.e., 26 = 14d, 28 = 14c; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 26 is connected to the outer terminal 14d; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 28 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0035]- [0036]) overlapping the second coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa), a second capacitor end (i.e., 42 = 14c; the capacitor conductor 42 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0038]) overlapping the second signal terminal (i.e., 14c; the signal line L2 is connected between the outer terminals 14c and 14d; see para. [0025]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa), and a second capacitor ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) overlapping the second ground terminal (i.e., 14d-14f; the outer terminals 14d through 14f are ground terminals; see for example fig. 2, para. [0030]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein: the first electrode wiring (i.e., 22 = 14a, 24 = 14b; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 22 is connected to the outer terminal 14a; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 24 is connected to the outer terminal 14b; see para. [0032]- [0033]) has a line width-to-line interval ratio (i.e., the distance between verticals v1 and v2 is equal to the distance between verticals v3 and v4, due to the identical coil length of L1 and L2; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]- [0040]) that is the same as that of the first coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v1, v2; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]); and the second electrode wiring (i.e., 26 = 14d, 28 = 14c; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 26 is connected to the outer terminal 14d; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 28 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0035]- [0036]) has a line width-to-line interval ratio (i.e., the distance between verticals v1 and v2 is equal to the distance between verticals v3 and v4, due to the identical coil length of L1 and L2; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]- [0040]) that is the same as that of the second coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein an outer end (i.e., plot v3 on plane 16b at 26; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second electrode wiring (i.e., 26 = 14d, 28 = 14c; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 26 is connected to the outer terminal 14d; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 28 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0035]- [0036]) is located outward from an outer end (i.e., plot v3 on plane 16c at 20a; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa).
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein an outer end (i.e., plot v3 on plane 16b at 26; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second electrode wiring (i.e., 26 = 14d, 28 = 14c; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 26 is connected to the outer terminal 14d; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 28 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0035]- [0036]) and an outer end (i.e., plot v3 on plane 16c at 20a; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]) are located at the same position (i.e., both plotted on the vertical v3) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa).
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein an inner end (i.e., plot v4 on plane 16b at 28; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second electrode wiring (i.e., 26 = 14d, 28 = 14c; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 26 is connected to the outer terminal 14d; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 28 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0035]- [0036]) and an inner end (i.e., plot v4 on plane 16c at 20a; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]) are located at the same position (i.e., both plotted on the vertical v4) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa).
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein an inner end (i.e., plot v4 on plane 16b at 28; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second electrode wiring (i.e., 26 = 14d, 28 = 14c; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 26 is connected to the outer terminal 14d; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 28 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0035]- [0036]) is located inward from an inner end (i.e., plot v4 on plane 16c at 20a; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via-hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa).
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein an outer end (i.e., plot v1 on plane 16e at 22; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the first electrode wiring (i.e., 22 = 14a, 24 = 14b; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 22 is connected to the outer terminal 14a; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 24 is connected to the outer terminal 14b; see para. [0032]- [0033]) is located outward from an outer end (i.e., plot v1 on plane 16d at 18a; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the first coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v1, v2; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa).
Regarding claim 14, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein an outer end (i.e., plot v3 on plane 16b at 26; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second electrode wiring (i.e., 26 = 14d, 28 = 14c; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 26 is connected to the outer terminal 14d; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 28 is connected to the outer terminal 14c; see para. [0035]- [0036]) and an outer end (i.e., plot v3 on plane 16c at 20a; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the second coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v3, v4; the signal line L2 includes a coil conductor 20a, extended conductors 26 and 28, and via hole conductors v3 and v4. The coil conductor 20a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16c and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0034]) are located at the same position (i.e., both plotted on the vertical v3) in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa).
Regarding claim 15, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein an inner end (i.e., plot v2 on plane 16e at 24; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the first electrode wiring (i.e., 22 = 14a, 24 = 14b; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 22 is connected to the outer terminal 14a; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 24 is connected to the outer terminal 14b; see para. [0032]- [0033]) and an inner end (i.e., plot v2 on plane 16d at 18a; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the first coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v1, v2; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via hole conductors v1 and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]) are located at the same position (i.e., both plotted on the vertical v2) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa).
Regarding claim 16, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tanaka further teaches the insulating transformer; wherein an inner end (i.e., plot v2 on plane 16e at 24; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the first electrode wiring (i.e., 22 = 14a, 24 = 14b; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 22 is connected to the outer terminal 14a; as viewed from above, while the other end of the extended conductor 24 is connected to the outer terminal 14b; see para. [0032]- [0033]) is located inward from an inner end (i.e., plot v2 on plane 16d at 18a; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]) of the first coil wiring (i.e., spiral shape/v1, v2; the signal line L1 includes a coil conductor 18a, extended conductors 22 and 24, and via-hole conductors v1 and v2. The coil conductor 18a is disposed on the top surface of the insulating layer 16d and preferably has a spiral shape in which it advances toward the center while turning around clockwise, as viewed from above; see para. [0031]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., 12; a multilayer body 12 of the balun transformer 10a; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]) (i.e., body view from Top to Bottom and vice versa).
Regarding claim 18, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Tang further teaches the insulating transformer (i.e., see for example fig. 6a, Col. 5 lines 50+); wherein: the first capacitor electrode (CP1; fig. 6a) includes first electrode wiring (pattern 624b; fig. 6a) identical in shape (i.e. pattern 624b is identical to pattern 624a; fig. 6a) to first coil wiring of the first coil (624a; fig. 6a); and the second capacitor electrode (CP2; fig. 6a) includes second electrode wiring (pattern 626b; fig. 6a) identical in shape (i.e. pattern 626b is identical to pattern 626a; fig. 6a) to second coil wiring of the second coil (626a; fig. 6a).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US Publication No. 20160142037) in view of Tang (US Patent No. 6483415) and in view of Inoue et al (US Publication No. 20070268092) and in view of Nuebling (US Publication No. 20220311344) and further in view of Scarlett (US Patent No. 3671793).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Neither Tanaka nor Tang nor Inoue nor Nuebling teaches wherein the first coil and the second coil are formed from a material containing aluminum.
Scarlett teaches in a similar field of endeavor in integrated transformers (i.e., see for example fig. 3, Col. 3 lines 57+); wherein the first coil (i.e., primary coil 9; see for example fig. 3, Col. 3 lines 57+) and the second coil (i.e., secondary coil 10; see for example fig. 3, Col. 3 lines 57+) are formed from a material containing aluminum (i.e., The primary coil 9 is comprised of a suitable conductive material such as aluminum, platinum or copper; This secondary winding will, of course, consist of a highly conductive material, such as aluminum or copper, and can, in effect, consist of a single winding or sheet; see Col. 4 lines 14+).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the aluminum material in Tanaka, as taught by Scarlett, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards reducing the overall cost of the transformer.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US Publication No. 20160142037) in view of Tang (US Patent No. 6483415) and in view of Inoue et al (US Publication No. 20070268092) and in view of Nuebling (US Publication No. 20220311344) and further in view of Jung et al (US Publication No. 20170062385).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Neither Tanaka nor Tang nor Inoue nor Nuebling teaches wherein at least one of the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode is formed from a material including a non-magnetic material.
Jung teaches in a similar field of endeavor in integrated transformers (i.e., see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]- [0057]); wherein at least one of the first capacitor electrode (i.e., 110a; At least one electronic device 140 may be disposed on upper surfaces of the non-magnetic substrates 110a to 110c; see para. [0034]) and the second capacitor electrode (i.e., 110c; At least one electronic device 140 may be disposed on upper surfaces of the non-magnetic substrates 110a to 110c; The electronic device 140 may be a capacitor 140c; see para. [0034]) is formed from a material including a non-magnetic material (i.e., In an embodiment, two electronic devices 140 may be disposed between the first non-magnetic substrate 110a and the second non-magnetic substrate 110b. Being disposed between the non-magnetic substrates 110a to 110c adjacent to each other, the electronic device 140 may be disposed inside the first laminate 110. Thus, the size of the power converting device 10 may be miniaturized by minimizing an area in which the electronic device 140 is mounted; see para. [0034]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the non-magnetic electrodes in Tanaka, as taught by Jung, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards ensuring stable performance and preventing interferences.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US Publication No. 20160142037) in view of Tang (US Patent No. 6483415) and in view of Inoue et al (US Publication No. 20070268092) and in view of Nuebling (US Publication No. 20220311344) and further in view of Azuma et al (US Publication No. 20030095016).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Neither Tanaka nor Tang nor Inoue nor Nuebling teaches wherein: the first capacitor electrode has the form of an open loop with a first slit extending from a center of the first coil toward an outer side of the first coil as viewed in the thickness direction; and the second capacitor electrode has the form of an open loop with a second slit extending from a center of the second coil toward an outer side of the second coil as viewed in the thickness direction.
Azuma teaches in a similar field of endeavor in integrated transformers (i.e., see for example fig. 2A, para. [0043]- [0048]); wherein: the first capacitor electrode (i.e., 15; each of the ground-side capacitor electrodes 15 included in the capacitor unit 3 has an electrode-free area 24 around the penetrating electrode (via-hole electrode) 10 formed at the approximate center thereof and a cross-shaped cut portion (electrode-free area) 41. The cross-shaped cut portion 41 includes two slit shaped cut portions (electrode-free areas) 25a and 25b which extend approximately vertically, and another two slit-shaped cut portions (electrode free areas) 26a and 26b which extend approximately horizontally; see para. [0043]) has the form of an open loop (10) with a first slit (25a, 25b) extending from a center (10) of the first coil (i.e., 1; a first coil unit 1; see para. [0040]) toward an outer side (i.e., 12; see for example fig. 1, para. [0040]) of the first coil (i.e., 1; a first coil unit 1; see para. [0040]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., along the z-axis); and the second capacitor electrode (i.e., 15; each of the groundside capacitor electrodes 15 included in the capacitor unit 3 has an electrode-free area 24 around the penetrating electrode (via-hole electrode) 10 formed at the approximate center thereof and a cross shaped cut portion (electrode-free area) 41. The cross-shaped cut portion 41 includes two slit-shaped cut portions (electrode-free areas) 25a and 25b which extend approximately vertically, and another two slit shaped cut portions (electrode free areas) 26a and 26b which extend approximately horizontally; see para. [0043]) has the form of an open loop (10) with a second slit (26a, 26b) extending from a center (10) of the second coil (i.e., 2; a second coil unit 2; see para. [0040]) toward an outer side (18) of the second coil (i.e., 2; a second coil unit 2; see para. [0040]) as viewed in the thickness direction (i.e., along the z-axis).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the slit in the capacitor device in Tanaka, as taught by Azuma, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards minimizing the parasitic inductance thereby improving the signal quality.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US Publication No. 20160142037) in view of Tang (US Patent No. 6483415) and in view of Inoue et al (US Publication No. 20070268092) and in view of Nuebling (US Publication No. 20220311344) and further in view of Burghartz et al (US Patent No. 5793272).
Regarding claim 17, Tanaka in view of Tang and in view of Inoue and further in view of Nuebling and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Tang have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Inoue and the teachings of Tanaka as modified by Nuebling have been discussed above as well.
Neither Tanaka nor Tang nor Inoue nor Nuebling teaches further comprising: a chip main surface and a chip back surface that are located at opposite sides in the thickness direction, wherein the second coil is located at the side of the chip main surface; and a dummy coil pattern arranged around the second coil and connected to the second coil.
Burghartz teaches in a similar field of endeavor in integrated transformers (i.e., see for example fig. 8, Col. 7 lines 2+); wherein a chip main surface (i.e., 14; dielectric layer or film 14 is formed over the substrate 12, see Col. 4 lines 64+) and a chip back surface (i.e., 12; dielectric layer or film 14 is formed over the substrate 12, see Col. 4 lines 64+) that are located at opposite sides in the thickness direction (i.e., y axis), wherein the second coil (i.e., 16s; coil 16 by the dielectric film 14. Illustratively, the metal 16 is copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), tin (Ti), gold (Au), silver (Ag), or a combined alloy thereof; see Col. 5 lines 3+) is located at the side of the chip main surface (i.e., 14; dielectric layer or film 14 is formed over the substrate 12, see Col. 4 lines 6 +); and a dummy coil pattern (i.e., 30; a further increase of Lis achieved by adding laminated dummy structures of ferromagnetic and copper material in a central or core region of the inductor structure. The ferromagnetic core is also beneficial in a transformer structure, comprising two or more vertically stacked or side-by-side spiral coils, because the ferromagnetic core increases the mutual inductance between the coils without increasing the parasitic capacitance; see Col. 4 lines 16+) arranged around the second coil (i.e., 16s; coil 16 by the dielectric film 14. Illustratively, the metal 16 is copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), tin (Ti), gold (Au), silver (Ag), or a combined alloy thereof; see Col. 5 lines 3+) and connected to the second coil (i.e., 16s; coil 16 by the dielectric film 14. Illustratively, the metal 16 is copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), tin (Ti), gold (Au), silver (Ag), or a combined alloy thereof; see Col. 5 lines 3+).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the dummy coil device in Tanaka, as taught by Burghartz, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards improving mechanical balance and maintaining symmetry in the winding layout.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838